4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Change Of Ownership Without Runner Procedure, D.I.Y / Runner / Home Appointment

Chrix
post Sep 25 2017, 08:50 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(berman517 @ Sep 25 2017, 06:00 PM)
hi quick question, i purchased a car from a private seller and I have fully paid to him the agreed selling amount but now he refuse to complete the transfer.
Can I change the ownership of the car to my name without him?
The car has zero debt, I got the car and original car title with me.
Why in the world did you hand the money over without changing name.

To my knowledge, No, you cant transfer ownership without current owner's thumbprint.

Be careful, he may report the car stolen.
Chrix
post Sep 26 2017, 04:08 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(Palermo @ Sep 26 2017, 11:50 AM)
my 15 years old wira power windows not working anymore (2 of them).
will this fail puspakom inspection for transfer of ownership?
Dont remember them checking power (or non-powered) window funtion, they dont even check if you still have brake pads in the B5 laugh.gif
Chrix
post Oct 15 2017, 11:57 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Oct 15 2017, 10:01 AM)
Secondly, just wondering how many days does it take to transfer ownership of vehicle from myself to third party? Everything, including puspakom, jpj, insurance. Myself and buyer will need to take holiday to settle this.
Immediate effect once completed at JPJ.
Chrix
post Jan 15 2018, 05:41 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Jan 15 2018, 11:02 AM)
Morning, guys. Please advise on my situation.
My relative(aunt) want to transfer car ownership to his son. I'm just wondering about road tax and insurance stuff to help them. Please note that the car is fully paid, no loan whatsoever and it's not urgent.
1) From what my understanding, when changing ownership, road tax is cancelled, yes?
2) Now both of them are insured. Still need to change main driver/first driver name on insurance? Would it involve buying new insurance?
3) As the situation and my wondering suggest, would it be wise to do the ownership transfer now or just wait when road tax/insurance expired/nearly expire?

Thank you.
1) So far, every time I change ownership (either buy or sell), JPJ would cancel the roadtax. Refund via bank deposit.
2) Registered owner of the vehicle must be same as the insurance, so in this case, should cancel the current coverage (usually insurer will prorate refund). As for NCD, follow name, not vehicle, if not mistaken.
3) There is no need to wait, as both roadtax & insurance can be cancelled & refunded.

Chrix
post Jan 29 2018, 09:48 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(kudo @ Jan 28 2018, 10:00 PM)
Is it correct that all I have to do now is get a new car insurance under my brother's name before the transfer? But if he's not the owner yet, is he allowed to buy insurance under his name?

Also, after transferring names, how am I suppose to get the new road tax? Can I do it at the post office? I'm trying to avoid going to JPJ...

Please help if anyone knows >.<

Thanks!
Vehicle owner must be same as insurance policy. Yes new owner can purchase in advance, just mention to the insurer the effective start date.

I am not sure if MYSIKAP will force you to purchase new roadtax, roadtax can be purchased at PosMalaysia or MyEG.
Chrix
post Feb 9 2018, 02:50 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ Feb 9 2018, 04:40 AM)
does the car need to be working condition? it's a very old car
Cant imagine any exception that a ownership change not requiring puspakom inspection.
Chrix
post Feb 20 2018, 09:30 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(atah @ Feb 19 2018, 10:54 PM)
Will the system check for the insurance's validity during the online transfer? i.e. is the buyer must buy his own insurance first before the transfer can be done?

This checking is already in place even when manual/over the counter ownership transfer. So yes, it will.
Chrix
post Jun 5 2018, 05:12 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(yonghong @ Jun 5 2018, 02:17 PM)
dear all,

I just trade in my car to car dealer. and they claimed that the car already been transfer ownership to their company.

Can I know how to check if the car still under my name or not?

Thanks all.
Good question.. this may not be the official way, but via myeg, ur IC# and plate should not be synced if it is transferred. Assuming systems up to date.

Remember to inform your insurer you have sold your vehicle, and cancel the coverage.
Chrix
post Jun 5 2018, 06:20 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(yonghong @ Jun 5 2018, 06:04 PM)
Thanks for reply. however, inside which section of MYEG to check wether the IC and number plate still in linked?
Try the renew roadtax screen...although you may not be able to proceed if there is a valid one in place & insurance coverage.

Sorry if my sentence was not clear, that method is a workaround, from myeg there is no facility to check ownership IIRC.

Alternatively, try calling your nearest JPJ office, if they are able to help you.

This post has been edited by Chrix: Jun 5 2018, 06:21 PM
Chrix
post Jun 8 2018, 08:57 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(mt24 @ Jun 8 2018, 08:23 PM)
I am car owner and i want to sell my car.
I did puspakom inspection and passed.
Now the challenges are my road tax and insurance expired already.
So in order to transfer the ownership, does the buyer need to buy insurance first?
Or can i transfer the ownership first at JPJ (by doing biometric thingy) and let the buyer settle the insurance and road tax by himself later on.
Yes

Buyer needs to buy insurance beforehand (can buy in advance & inform future effective date),

road tax can buy at JPJ counter when do name change

In order to have roadtax, a vehicle MUST have insurance coverage...and road tax validity can never exceed insurance validity.
Chrix
post Jun 9 2018, 08:42 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(mt24 @ Jun 9 2018, 07:06 PM)
Let say he buy insurance with effective day today, but the road tax and name transfer only happen next week.
Will that be possible?
I dont think that will work, as the insurance would expire a day before UNLESS only buy 6months roadtax. I dont think this has changed since I last done this in Oct 2014.

But I cant see why want to effect coverage before transfer of ownership hmm.gif
Chrix
post Jun 10 2018, 10:29 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(mt24 @ Jun 9 2018, 09:29 PM)
I guess i should just spend a day with my buyer to do all those thing at JPJ. Normally nearby JPJ office will have insurance agency counters. Let my buyer do the necessary on that particular day.
Just ensure you communicate to the buyer that they will need to purchase insurance before name transfer... last thing you want is to have any complications on the day itself.

Actually just easy for buyer to purchase insurance in advance, just need copy of reg card.

QUOTE(PJyan @ Jun 9 2018, 11:34 PM)
I am selling my car to my sister. My car road tax is going to expire in 2 months time.

My question is:
After doing the puspakom and JPJ thumb print for both to transfer ownership to my sister, should my sister buy new insurance and renew road tax immediately,
or wait until the road tax expire then renew road tax with new insurance?
Yes, insurance & car owner must be same person.

Current insurance coverage can be cancel, and get back any prorate amount if eligible.

You cannot do name transfer for a vehicle without insurance coverage of the buyer.
Chrix
post Dec 4 2018, 09:26 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(kissmelin @ Dec 3 2018, 02:02 PM)
hey im going for Owner Transfer Inspection tmrw...wanted to ask do i need to wash the car/engine etc for this ?
If normal dirt & grime no need la laugh.gif unless there are cobwebs or other creatures in there to scare the puspakom peeps.
Chrix
post Dec 4 2018, 03:56 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(cocolala @ Dec 4 2018, 03:41 PM)
Hi my father is going to transfer his car ownership to me. The car is with me in PJ, and UTC JPJ in my hometown has confirmed that they can do the ownership transfer. So I plan to bring the car to Puspakom myself as runner is charging RM300. Runner said Puspakom will kacau car that is more than 10 years. My car is 14 years but still function well. Should I be worried about this?
All my cars aged more than 10years when I bought them. no issue also...he is just scaring you.

If vehicle is legal, and road worthy.. no reason why it would not pass B5 inspection. Most common roadblock is tint...what I can say is different puspakom branch has different results for tint inspection (dont ask me why, its just a fact outside KL/SEL are more relax for tint), so if U want total worry-free experience, remove all tinting first.

A car i bough had failed VLT test in one PUSPAKOM, seller recommended another branch.... magically, it passed. laugh.gif

Also ensure u have insurance purchased before JPJ name transfer.
Chrix
post Dec 4 2018, 05:09 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(cocolala @ Dec 4 2018, 04:47 PM)
Thank you so much for your reply!
So I just need to make appointment and bring necessary document..

Previously my husband traded in his car for RM5000 incentive on Proton, his car gone through thorough inspection at Puspakom and failed numerous times. That inspection is different from this change of ownership inspection, right?
http://www.puspakom.com.my/transfer-of-ownership/
Change ownership (B5 its called if Im not mistaken, not HP inspection), whereby they dont even inspect effectiveness of your brakes (unlike change engine for example), so I am not sure what inspection you are referring to. You need to refer to the results of the inspection slip on why it failed.

By the way, http://www.puspakom.com.my/premier-mobile-inspection/ if you want them to come to you instead.
Chrix
post Jan 17 2019, 08:52 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Jan 17 2019, 12:34 AM)
Not too sure if this is the place to ask but.....am interested in a car from sabah but I am over in PG......am wondering what's the overall process? I will prolly go over to Sabah to take a look at the car myself but what about changing name and all? I haven't sold a car before and wanna check about the exchange of $$.....do I pay then change name or change name then pay?

Also, I heard it's not doable but loan for a 14 year old car..is it doable?
Should be same process no matter east or west MY, just add in the fee & procedure (and time) to bring the car to west.

Its usually best to pay the seller via bank draft / bankers cheque.

When to pay is negotiated between buyer & seller, usually you'll have to foot the deposit... then the the cheque can be handed over right when transfer of name is done.

As for loan for 14yr old car, I believe this would be a credit loan. Not the usual vehicle hire purchase loan.
Chrix
post Feb 23 2019, 11:28 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Feb 23 2019, 07:16 AM)
Thanks Bro for your prompt response.  But my friend just told me another family issue that the mother does not want to scrap the car now as the car porch will be empty and ppl will think that there is nobody at home.

Very complicated family issue so friend just want to transport ownership if possible and scrap after parents pass away.

Any additional advice is much appreciated.
What is the point if after transfer, the vehicle will not be used anyway? To transfer owner must have insurance coverage & pass puspakom.

Chrix
post Mar 13 2019, 07:26 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(kratosgrab @ Mar 13 2019, 05:31 PM)
The seller want me to settle his loan
If ur best friend ask u settle his loan, janji air liur to transfer name to u later....will you?

If no, why u think reasonable for this stranger to request this?

I met before this type of ppl, I told him no way. His response, how does he know if I’m sincere. Hahaha, right. Needless to say my BS meter is working fine.

Unless u desperate, and must have this car..then all the risk is on ur side while seller has none.

This post has been edited by Chrix: Mar 13 2019, 07:26 PM
Chrix
post Jun 22 2019, 06:25 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(legioss @ Jun 21 2019, 03:42 PM)
Hi, can i ask, after i did the puspakom inspection, that puspakom certification is valid for how long for car ownership transfer purpose? Supposing that i will do the inspection and then visit jpj on another day.
Expiry date should be written on cert. Anyway it's a month from date of passed inspection

Chrix
post Jun 26 2020, 06:17 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(elvatra @ Jun 26 2020, 03:33 PM)
Hi all Sifu, want to ask. have a car just recently completely paid off. i want to transfer the ownership to others. no require for any loan or buying cash. just transfer to my wife. What are the process?

As far i saw from the first page,

1. go puspakom/ call and make appointment to ask them come over to pass the car.
2. Once passed,
is buy insurance first or both current and new owner  go to jpj to perform transfer of ownership.
3. then only renew roadtax.

is this the correct steps?
1. Call puspakom do b5 inspection. Rm30 or 35 tak silap
2. New owner buy insurance first.
3. Go jpj tukar nama, RM100. Boleh continue/new roadtax

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.2157sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:02 PM