7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

why malaysia local football industry so bad, compared to Japan.. why? what's wrong?

hj.pet
post Dec 1 2011, 07:50 PM

312 posts

Imo, teams dat competing in the league now are lacking the marketing skills, thus limiting the option and funds of the team. FAM keep subsidising the sponsorship money among the fas and clubs where they should go out and find the financial backing by themselves, not by receiving subsidy. Besides that, I don't see a big effort in contributing to the society done from these fas n clubs; these kinda efforts are supposed to be important for the society to feel related n part of the team. Thus increasing the fanbase.

Football in Malaysia should be treated as a business, just like other professional career like engineers, doctors, etc. Every type of business need a very strong marketing skills, financial backup, etc. As long as it is treated like now (government like association) we won't have a better football scene.
Duke Red
post Dec 2 2011, 09:54 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Dec 1 2011, 01:36 PM)
I try to consult a private football academy coach about A license and below are his comment and I quote :

"thats normal (stigma of FAM unofficial requirement that for A must be an ex player)..every coaching course I went..there is someone will say these courses are made to help ex pro. it is not true..im not an ex pro..."

Asked whether he has already applied for his A license :

"nope..not yet...if im not mistaken in Malaysia we have no more than 50 A or Pro Licence coach....if someone know this correct me if im wrong..might be even less than 50...i assume it is difficult..passing rate in Malaysia is one of the toughest in the region...instructor are strict and quality is a must"

For the record he is holding AFC C License , FIFA Grassroot. 'A' license now under AFC and not FAM but FAM chooses the candidate. the only best way to know what their selection criteria are is to ask them directly. For what I know, 'A' License is a very exclusive club and even ex-pro legends like Radhi Mat Din and Hashim Mustapha only have B and perennial assistant coaches. it is that hard for former pros so non ex-pros probably need to make a really strong case to fight off the pre-competition due to the standard.

If I may ask, what makes this blokes comments more credible than the bloke I spoke with who has a B license since he doesn't have an A license either? FairPlay, he does have a C license but from what I'm reading, it seems like an opinion unless these rules are actually written in stone somewhere. Can't seem to find anything conclusive online.

Do you reckon we have many quality coaches in the country? I mean if it is so hard to get an A license, one must assume that our coaches are top notch and if they are, who are they coaching? Without academies, what opportunities do they have to actually coach? With the exception of Lim Teong Kim who had to work for his coaching badge in Germany, how many coaches from our country are sought after, even by football nobodies like Macau?

What concerns me about your last paragraph is that you say the FAM "chooses" the candidates. Any idea what the crtierias for selection are?

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Dec 1 2011, 01:36 PM)
But record shows that local coaches, Sathianathan, K. Rajagobal and Ong Kim Swee have been more successful than all our previous foreign coaches put together. So I don’t think nationality matters in this.

What all 3 coaches have in common advantage over foreign coaches is understanding and time with the players. All of them pick, choose and groom their players since the U-19 stage. So it’s just nice by the time become national team head coach, “their players” has already matured and can be used. Foreign coaches do not have this advantage.

But I sense that our coaches don’t have good enough training and experience in grass root level. So if foreign coaches can help there and there are people supporting that cost, then why not…
Depends on how you define success. When Claude Le Roy was in charge for example, we achieved our highest world ranking ever at 75. No denying we've won the SEA Games and Suzuki Cup but it's obvious that the gap between SEA and the rest of Asia is huge.

You are right, nationality doesn't matter, expertise, exposure and experience does. Familiarizing oneself with local players is a matter of time. The problem is results are expected to be instant and foreign coaches didn't stay long. If you look at SEA countries ranked higher than us, they have benefitted from foreign expertise. Thailand employed Bryan Robson, Indonesia have had foreign managers as they helm since 2000, Vietnam (who was at war during the time we were Asian giants) have had more foreign managers than local ones and look how fast they have progressed. Coincidence? Again, I'm not saying foreign managers are necessarily better but given that football in our region is less developed that the rest of Asia, maybe there is a case.

If anything I think we shot ourselves in the foot by insisting to go all local which is fine provided you have the quality to do so. Why were we ranked higher when our league was semi pro? Maybe it's because we benefitted from having coaches from more developed footballing nations and model professionals to learn from. I mean Thai players can surely benefit from playing alongside someone like Robbie Fowler. It isn't limited to merely technique and ability of the pitch but also what happens off it e.g. Proper diets, workout routines, etc. When Tony Cottee played for Selangor, he complained that he had to wash his own booths because there wasnt a proper structure and there was no apprenticeship where young players had to do all the dirty work until they earned a place in the first team. I think the problem lies in our mental strength. One poster pointed out that Malaysian sportsmen are lazy and he may have a case. Rexy Mainaky once said that our players would complain each time he worked them hard. By making our football apprentices clean boots all the time, maybe we'd break them mentally. Let's face it. We don't take criticism well and by and large, we don't have the mental strength to work through adversity because it's simply easier not to.

Before I stray I need to reiterate that I feel we will benefit from foreign expertise but the FAM needs to let go and place complete faith in whoever is appointed and give him a free reign to revamp whatever he deems necessary.

Added on December 2, 2011, 10:14 amHere's what Lim Teong Kim had to say about Malaysian football.

This a well written interview by Ajitpal Singh of New Straits Times with our former star, Lim Teong Kim who is now the Assistant Coach for the Bayern Munich U-19 squad.

His views are honest and straight to the point and coming from a club with Bayern Munich's stature, it is best we pay heed to his views. I am not going to say anymore but re-produce the interview courtesy of New Straits Times Sports Desk. Of course, let us hope that the "powers-that-be" read, understand and take the proper action rather than follow the 'consultants' advice which hovers around them - always claiming to have the best solutions for what ills Malaysian sports when until today, we are still in the backwaters of international sport save for badminton, squash and bowling.

Here is the interview:

Lim Teong Kim was the first Malaysian footballer to play in Europe when he turned out for German club Hertha Berlin in 1987. A member of the national team that won the 1989 Sea Games gold medal, the Germany-based Teong Kim is on holiday in Malaysia. The 47-year-old shares his thoughts about Malaysian football with Timesports’ AJITPAL SINGH.
Q: What is your opinion on Sports Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek's move on forming a full-time national team?
A: It is not practical if you talk about the technicality of the game. It is pointless to spread the players out to different clubs in Europe as their playing styles will differ when they play as a unit. It will be a huge barrier for the coach and players. Each European country have their own brand of football. The government should not spend millions on this. It is a waste of taxpayers' money. There are other means to develop local football but not like this.

Q: What do you recommend?
A: The national team players should remain in the Malaysian League. I suggest they go on playing tours in Europe three or four times a year. However, they must play with top teams and clubs to learn. Never mind if the team lose 5-0 or 10-0. They should not lose hope if they lose big at the start.
Teong Kim will consider a job here when there are proper facilities. It is a long-term process but it will definitely help in the progress of the team. However, European teams may not be able to accommodate the national team due to their busy international and club-level schedules.

Q: Your opinion on the National Under-23 team's gold medal success in the recent Laos Sea Games?
A: I am not surprised with their achievement as there are often surprises in football. I must congratulate the players and coach K. Rajagobal for their effort. But how do they take their football from here? Proper planning must be made to ensure the team make progress.

Q: Do any of the local players have the ability to make it in Europe?
A: I am not sure of the present team's ability. But the FA of Malaysia (FAM), instead of making big plans, should ask the players whether they want to ply their trade in Europe.The national body and those concerned should not make the decision for the players.In the past, Akmal Rizal and Rudie Ramli had short stints with Bayern Munich at different periods. They stayed and slept in my house in Munich but I noticed that they were getting bored after just three weeks. The duo wanted to go home. A player must have the heart for it or they will fail. However, if a player has the ability, then he should try his luck in Europe.

Q: Is it easy for a footballer to be successful in Europe?
A: It is not easy. When I went there in the late-1980s, I faced many challenges including the language barrier, weather, food, and competition from 'your future' teammates. These factors may affect the player mentally and his confidence level will suffer. The European leagues are very challenging and a person on trial with a club normally gets the cold shoulder from other players. You have no friends in the club as your teammates are thinking about their own importance in the team. They feel you are a threat to them. It was like that when I attended trials with Hertha Berlin, a Division Three Bundesliga team then, in 1987.

Q: Your overall assessment of the infrastructure in Malaysia?
A: How can people talk about football, where there is no proper infrastructure. The current infrastructure is 30 years behind time. Malaysian football will not develop unless the infrastructure here improves. What we have and what I have seen here is not good enough. Maybe it was good enough 20 or 30 years ago but not at the present time.In Bayern Munich, for example, there are seven fields and other facilities are also top class. We have 11 youth teams in age-groups between eight and 23, with more than 100 players. The club allocates E2 million (RM9.7 million) annually for its youths teams. The system is almost the same with other clubs in Europe.We don't have that in Malaysia. Instead, the government and local councils are taking away football fields. I used to play football in my youth days in Bandar Hilir, Malacca. It had three fields but now malls have been built on them. What do we get by building malls? Does it help in the development of a sports culture in Malaysia? We need proper infrastructure in Malaysia. Taxpayers' money, which the government wants to use to send the national team to Europe, should be allocated to building facilities for football. If you want kids to play football then you have to invest in it.

Q: Who should be responsible for developing youth football in Malaysia?
A: The states should play a bigger role in developing youth football. They should do the work and run the programmes but infrastructure must be there first. Sports schools like Bukit Jalil and Bandar Penawar should be supplementary ingredients in this case.

Q: What do you think of the Malaysian League?
A: It is ridiculous not to have foreign players in the league. It does not help in the development of local players. How are Malaysian teams going to compete against bigger Asian clubs in the Champions League and AFC Cup? A Malaysian team cannot rely on local players against clubs with foreign players. It is a huge loss in revenue as they are not good enough to compete against the best in Asian.Why did FAM decide on barring imports from the league? Is it because some teams could not afford foreign players? The association should allow those who can afford to hire them. One cannot look at all teams in the league as equal. Teams, who do not have money for development and foreign players, should be left out. It should be left to the respective clubs on whether to hire foreign players. This is professional football. You cannot tell Bayern Munich not to have foreign players as they need their services in the domestic league and Champions Leagues. The revenue of the club depends on Bayern's first team's performance in the Bundesliga and Champions League and if they don't do well, the club cannot generate income.

Q: Several club-based teams withdrew from the Malaysian League in the past few years. What are your comments?
A: I believe they were there for personal gains. Teams, owned by private and government entities, just wanted to promote and sell their products. It was more of a publicity venture. In the end, who gains? Not Malaysian football, but the ones who sponsored these teams.

Q: Should local football rely on foreign coaches?
A: Yes, because foreign coaches have comprehensive knowledge about the game. I am not saying that local coaches are no good but we need foreign help to take our football to another level. If our ambition is to develop good players, then we have to hire good coaches. For instance, Japan are now Asian giants because they hired top-notched foreign coaches to develop their game at the start.

Q: Will you consider a coaching job in Malaysia?
A: I have been linked before with FAM and state teams but it was only speculation. I will consider working in Malaysia but first several conditions of mine must be accepted. What I want is infrastructure. I will consider a job here when there are proper facilities. The government should start by developing proper infrastructure for a few state teams before developing the rest. It is a slow process but the nation will gain in the long term.

Q: Are you still with the Bayern Munich youth team?
A: Yes I am. I am attached to the Under-19 team as assistant coach. It is my third season now. I have been with the club since 2000 and then I was the coach of the Under-12 team before moving up the ranks. I have worked with two players, when I was coaching the Under-13 and Under-14 teams before, who are now in the Bayern Munich senior side. They are striker Thomas Muller and centreback Bad Badstuber. The duo were not as gifted as some of their teammates in the youth teams but they made it big because of their dedication to training and matches. Muller could be representing Germany in the World Cup.

Q: Coaching a Bundesliga team is a dream for many people. Do you think you can do it?
A: Why not? It is my ambition to coach a team in Germany. I will definitely take up the challenge if given the opportunity.

Q: Are your children following in your footsteps as a footballer?
A: My son, who is now 16, was in the Under-12 Bayern Munich team but he now represents his school. As for my two daughters, the older one is into rock climbing while the other is involved in athletics.

Added on December 2, 2011, 10:21 amNote his comments on mental strength, investment in a youth set up and foreign expertise. We've read opinions from friends and friends of friends but I feel Lim Teong Kim is a credible source given his exposure in one of the world's top leagues and youth set ups.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Dec 2 2011, 10:22 AM
hj.pet
post Dec 2 2011, 11:32 AM

312 posts

Totally agree with this. We should have a better infrastructure for football in Malaysia. Instead, government seems to abandon its important for the society. Money have been spent for building construction and all the sport facilities have been taken away from the people. One of the poster here already mentioned about the obesity rate in Malaysia which is quite high and the fact alone shows the mentality of Malaysian. The government should start to balance the economy and sport growth in Malaysia and start to build a better society that put an importance in sport.

But who should play the role in this? Should the FAM alone been responsible for this? For me, government should spend a big amount of money and start to promote sports among the society more seriously.
Duke Red
post Dec 2 2011, 12:21 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(hj.pet @ Dec 2 2011, 11:32 AM)
Totally agree with this. We should have a better infrastructure for football in Malaysia. Instead, government seems to abandon its important for the society. Money have been spent for building construction and all the sport facilities have been taken away from the people. One of the poster here already mentioned about the obesity rate in Malaysia which is quite high and the fact alone shows the mentality of Malaysian. The government should start to balance the economy and sport growth in Malaysia and start to build a better society that put an importance in sport.

But who should play the role in this? Should the FAM alone been responsible for this? For me, government should spend a big amount of money and start to promote sports among the society more seriously.

I agree. The responsibility should not fall squarely upon FAM alone. The government has a huge role to play but with stories of how funds are being misappropriated every day, whether it be on subs that can't submerge, overpriced military equipment or other white elephant projects, the problem may not be the lack of funding but rather, mismanagement of it. Some years back we heard of the proposed sports centre in England costing some what? 70 million ringgit? This was said to prepare our athletes for the Olympics and to get them acclimatized to foreign weather. What they failed to note of course was that the Olympics are held in the summer. Another example of speaking before thinking. Anyway I'm in the midst of finding articles on the issue of mismanaging funds when it comes to our football. If you have any references please provide links so we can further discuss this issue. I'll try to dig a couple up.
fumi
post Dec 2 2011, 12:56 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Dec 1 2011, 02:43 PM)
Player Malaysia malas. Bukan pemain bola saja, badminton, olahraga, takraw, suma pemalas. Selalu ingat kita dh terer. Takyah training teruk2. Dah terer. Dh champion Sea Games, Sukma. Sbb tu bila saja kita bawak coach dari luar, walau seterer mana pun coach tu (Claude LeRoy, Park Joo Bong, Morten Frost), abis suma lari balik sbb tak tahan attitude player Malaysia. Yg peliknya, bila coach2 tu pegi train team lain, sampai ke World Cup (Claude Leroy, Cameroon), ade yg jadi world champion (badminton). Tgk Park Joo Bong dok Jepun, dpt hasilkan players mcm Sho Sasaki, Kenichi Tago ... smpi kita nk kalahkan Jepun masa Thomas cup pun nyaris2 je. Dok Malaysia ? Haram...

Experience first hand aku dlm soal ni. Team cycling Selangor ke Sukma 96. Coach nye org Rusia (ex coach team Sukom 98). Bila coach suruh kayuh jauh skit, teruk skit, ngadu kat manager. Manager pun satu bingai, g marah coach. Kalu dh ckp coach kita xmo dengar, xyah ade coach la. Training je sendrik.

Kalu kita tgk players world class yg kita ade skrg, attitude suma cukup bagus. Lee Chong Wei, Nicol David, Azizulhasni. Suma tu atlit2 yg mmg coach idam2kan la. Sentiasa ikut arahan, planning coach. Positif attitude. Siap buleh mintak training lebih lg dari coach. Tp malangnya players mcm tu x ramai. Patutnya kita kna buat tapisan attitude seblom buleh terima players utk masuk team. Kalu skill bagus mcm gila pun, attitude x betol, tak jadi gak. Contoh : Maradona.
My GF attended company team building. One of the speaker as well as a well known motivator, dunno Datuk what d....he said last time LCW, Malaysia Football won becos they hired him.

Imma like hmm.gif got or not....
Therapy88
post Dec 2 2011, 01:09 PM

77 posts

sorry all nak mencelah sikit..aku ni kerja cikgu di perak dan sejak hampir sepuluh tahun latih pasukan bolasepak sekolah dan juga sponsor school leaver utk main tournament..ramai yg talented tapi bila bawa ke selection states sentiasa kena reject walaupun amat berbakat..alasan yg diberikan ialah - daerah dan tempat you jauh sangat, kami tak larat la nak tanggung makan minum dan penginapan..so they select ramai players dari ipoh n berdekatan sahaja..itu sbb kalau kita tgk ramai pemain muda perak bermain di penang dan kedah..sana tiada sikap mcm ni...
- cuma memberi sedikit info berdasarkan pengalaman -
Duke Red
post Dec 2 2011, 03:44 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(fumi @ Dec 2 2011, 12:56 PM)
My GF attended company team building. One of the speaker as well as a well known motivator, dunno Datuk what d....he said last time LCW, Malaysia Football won becos they hired him.

Imma like  hmm.gif got or not....
The whole badminton team attends motivational talks I think. I remember them attending a session by Datuk Lawrence Chan, founder of PDL (Personal Development and Leadership). These courses are important as far as I'm concerned because mental toughness isn't something all our athletes or in this case, footballers have. Look how we collapsed against Bahrain after conceding. If anyone here has attended or read motivational material from speakers like Anthony Robbins, you'd note that it can make a huge difference in how you react to adverse situations, like going behind in a game or being down 20-10 in badminton. Not everyone can self motivate and we need to seek sources of inspiration just like how Liverpool were inspired by the fans to come from behind in Istanbul.

Attend a course by a good speaker and let me know if it made a difference? In my case, I gained a lot of confidence, something which our players look to lack sometimes.
aressandro10
post Dec 2 2011, 04:45 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 2 2011, 09:54 AM)
If I may ask, what makes this blokes comments more credible than the bloke I spoke with who has a B license since he doesn't have an A license either? FairPlay, he does have a C license but from what I'm reading, it seems like an opinion unless these rules are actually written in stone somewhere. Can't seem to find anything conclusive online.

Do you reckon we have many quality coaches in the country? I mean if it is so hard to get an A license, one must assume that our coaches are top notch and if they are, who are they coaching? Without academies, what opportunities do they have to actually coach? With the exception of Lim Teong Kim who had to work for his coaching badge in Germany, how many coaches from our country are sought after, even by football nobodies like Macau?

What concerns me about your last paragraph is that you say the FAM "chooses" the candidates. Any idea what the crtierias for selection are?
Depends on how you define success. When Claude Le Roy was in charge for example, we achieved our highest world ranking ever at 75. No denying we've won the SEA Games and Suzuki Cup but it's obvious that the gap between SEA and the rest of Asia is huge.

You are right, nationality doesn't matter, expertise, exposure and experience does. Familiarizing oneself with local players is a matter of time. The problem is results are expected to be instant and foreign coaches didn't stay long. If you look at SEA countries ranked higher than us, they have benefitted from foreign expertise. Thailand employed Bryan Robson, Indonesia have had foreign managers as they helm since 2000, Vietnam (who was at war during the time we were Asian giants) have had more foreign managers than local ones and look how fast they have progressed. Coincidence? Again, I'm not saying foreign managers are necessarily better but given that football in our region is less developed that the rest of Asia, maybe there is a case.

If anything I think we shot ourselves in the foot by insisting to go all local which is fine provided you have the quality to do so. Why were we ranked higher when our league was semi pro? Maybe it's because we benefitted from having coaches from more developed footballing nations and model professionals to learn from. I mean Thai players can surely benefit from playing alongside someone like Robbie Fowler. It isn't limited to merely technique and ability of the pitch but also what happens off it e.g. Proper diets, workout routines, etc. When Tony Cottee played for Selangor, he complained that he had to wash his own booths because there wasnt a proper structure and there was no apprenticeship where young players had to do all the dirty work until they earned a place in the first team. I think the problem lies in our mental strength. One poster pointed out that Malaysian sportsmen are lazy and he may have a case. Rexy Mainaky once said that our players would complain each time he worked them hard. By making our football apprentices clean boots all the time, maybe we'd break them mentally. Let's face it. We don't take criticism well and by and large, we don't have the mental strength to work through adversity because it's simply easier not to.

Before I stray I need to reiterate that I feel we will benefit from foreign expertise but the FAM needs to let go and place complete faith in whoever is appointed and give him a free reign to revamp whatever he deems necessary.

Added on December 2, 2011, 10:14 amHere's what Lim Teong Kim had to say about Malaysian football.

Added on December 2, 2011, 10:21 amNote his comments on mental strength, investment in a youth set up and foreign expertise. We've read opinions from friends and friends of friends but I feel Lim Teong Kim is a credible source given his exposure in one of the world's top leagues and youth set ups.
1. I never say that bloke is more credible than your bloke. I just give other point of view so that other people reading this don’t necessarily judge your bloke only as correct. Judging by his comment that national team players are scouted from IPT League, I do have same doubts on his credibility. But that is only my opinion.

2. ‘A’ Licenses is a ticket meant to coach professional football clubs. For academies we can get by with ‘C’ License. How many good coaches? Personally for me maybe not less than 10. Rajagobal, Sathianathan, Irfan Bakti, K. Devan, Wan Jamak, Abdul Rahman Ibrahim, M. Karathu, Norizan Bakar and Ong Kim Swee to name a few. But coaching licenses are only meant to make sure you past a certain standard. Like SPM. It does not correctly predict how good they will actually be in real world. Some of them do receive offers from overseas and some really did have stint outside. But there are other issues that affect decisions to go abroad than just how good they are. The same reason why we don’t offer good coaches from Thailand, Vietnam or Indonesia to work here.

3. As I mentioned before, the licensing are done by AFC. So as a representative, here in Malaysia, everything has to go through FAM. And to keep the standard, it’s understandable that FAM don’t just accept all application. There must be selection criteria. Instead of just speculating what the criteria might be in here, FAM is just a phone call away if you really want to find out.

4. FIFA World Ranking started in ’93 with Malaysia already at #75 so I don’t think Claude Le Roy alone deserves all the credit there for our highest ever achievement at #75. It’s not that we don’t hire foreign coaches. From the height of ’93 to our bottom abyss of #170 in 2008, we had 3 foreign coaches and do they stop the rot? No. Only after Sathianatan took over did we check the slide and improve our ranking which later proceed by Rajagobal. If all foreign coaches are so good, and the standard of SEA Games and AFF Cup are so poor, then why I don’t seen them winning it with one eye closed? As good as Bryan Robson, Vietnam’s foreign coach and Indonesia’s foreign coach is, they are still beatable to our ‘low standard local coach’ Rajagobal. And I don’t see their team made thaaatt good of a mark at Asia or world level either.

5. Trying to take Asean country to upper echelon of Asian football is no easy task and way harder than taking Middlesborough and Sunderland to mid table in EPL as Peter Reid and Bryan Robson know by now. I even think Sir Alex Ferguson and Kenny Daglish themselves will not succeed if they come here and expect the world around them to change according to their wimps and act and expect as if they are in England. I have more respect to foreign coaches like Alfred Riedl, Peter Withe, Henrique Callisto, Ken Worden, Karl Heiz Weigang, Robert Alberts and Radojko Avramovic who spend time in the region and understand the locals. It’s no surprise they succeed.

6. All coach, local or foreign, will not have the luxury of time to deliver. Rajagobal would not be here by now if Fakri Saarani did not score the injury time winning goal in that do or die match against Thailand back in 2009 SEA Games group stage. Ong Kim Swee already fearing for his future after knowing the grouping draw. That is normal. What advantage he and Rajagobal have over foreign coaches is head start in “knowing” the playing before they hold the job. And not during or after wards.

7. Since he was well trained in washing boots as an apprentice, why Tony Cottee throw a tantrum about washing boots. Some mental strength that. Over here, even primadonas have to wash their own boot. That’s how we do here. Deal with it.

8. We ranked higher when our league was semi pro because at that time overall interest in league and funding was much higher, and we don’t have to complete for fans with higher profile league like EPL at that time. Let’s face it. We are a nation of glory hunters who only support a team for selfish reason instead of for the good of community. And also because of the match fixing scandal. Not because of foreign coaches.

9. Since you are not saying foreign managers are necessarily better, and Rajagobal and Ong Kim Swee has proved that appointing them is hardly shooting ourselves in the foot, I think its better we stick with them for now until the circumstances arrive where we need to find a better candidate, be it local or foreign.

10. I agree on Teong Kim’s comment about infrastructure. Just because our country is wealthy and peaceful, most people assume our football infrastructure as good as Korea and Japan. Far from it. I define infrastructure as tools that help general public with time, space and guidance to play football. That’s why people in the slumps of Brazil can become a better footballer than people in rich neighborhood of Switzerland. With our kid’s evening s being used for tuition, fields being sacrificed for condominiums and no good teachers to teach football, our infrastructure are dead sucks and comparable to Laos, Vietnam, Myanmar and Cambodia. So we better get our ego in check.

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Dec 2 2011, 05:16 PM
Duke Red
post Dec 2 2011, 06:35 PM

6,112 posts

2. What other issues do you reckon there are? No I'm not going to call up Wan Jamak Hassan or anyone to ask because that would mean none of us should ask one another any questions if we can ring up the source directly. Do you have any examples of Malaysian football coaches who have gone overseas? I'm not doubting you, I just never heard of any other than Lim Teong Kim so do enlighten the ill informed.

3. Addressed in point 2.

4. Well Claude Le Roy did take Cameroon to the World Cup for the first ever time so he probably did contribute somewhat. You don't feel there is any value foreign coaches can add? Something they know or can do that ours don't? I reckon coaches/managers or whatever you want to call them, having had first hand experience at clubs or at least working in countries with developed leagues can add value, provided they are given full control. Like I said earlier, coaches from different continents introduce different styles of play on the pitch and just as Tiger Woods had to reinvent his stroke, maybe we need to reinvent our football to compete with the rest of Asia? It's great that we defended our SEA Games medal but one must ask, where do we go from here? I think fans will be expecting us to win it for the third time now or at least make it to the finals.

I don't think coaches for the U-23 side i.e. SEA Games teams are the same as for the senior side are they? I mean we have Rajagopal and Ong Kim Swee respectively. Anyway, fair play that our Young Tigers are doing better than their SEA counterparts but do our local coaches have what it takes to take the team to the next level? Maybe, time will tell. By the way, that jibe about Rajagopal being a low class local manager, I didn't say he was. I said that foreign coaches from more developed leagues could add value and bring with them experience that our coaches do not have. In this point, I agree with Lim Teong Kim's assessment given his exposure in one of the biggest clubs in the world. He must have learned a lot, things he couldn't have learned here.

Q: Should local football rely on foreign coaches?
A: Yes, because foreign coaches have comprehensive knowledge about the game. I am not saying that local coaches are no good but we need foreign help to take our football to another level. If our ambition is to develop good players, then we have to hire good coaches. For instance, Japan are now Asian giants because they hired top-notched foreign coaches to develop their game at the start.

He doesn't go into detail and elaborate on what is needed to take our football to the next level but he clearly feels we can expedite the process by getting help.

5. Here's where I feel we have a difference in mentality which explains why we don't see eye to eye very often. If someone the stature of Ferguson does take charge of our football, I as the FA would bend over to give him what he wants? Why? Because he's been there and done that. If Bill Gates were to walk into my house tomorrow and started ordering me about to make me into a successful entrepreneur, I'd listen instead of telling him that I'm the boss of my house and he can do what he does so long as I like it.

Of course I don't think that EVERY foreign coach is better than our local coaches but if we truly desire to hasten the process of improving our football from the grassroots level, we can invest in a proven coach. One of those you've mentioned perhaps. Was Worden a success for the national team though? I know he was pretty successful with Selangor.

6. It's a big problem then isn't it? How is someone supposed to revive our football if they don't have the benefit of time? We're not taking about sustaining success here. I mean if the FA or whoever accepts the fact that our facilities are not up to mark and we have no academies to speak off, then is it fair to fire coaches in say a year? I don't think it's an easy task to develop young players here which is why they're being taken overseas to countries like Slovakia for stints. In fact, I think it's darn challenging to be a coach in this country and I do respect Rajagopal and Ong Kim Swee for doing what they've done but unless our fundamental problems are addressed, it's only a matter of time before they lose their jobs. This is why I refer to foreign expertise. Maybe not a coach but someone who can revamp football as we know it. The challenge is of course that we need to first accept that we may need help in this matter.

7. Here's where we are looking at this from different angles again. The whole point of having a hierarchy is so young players have to work their way up. It's to teach them discipline and to give them goals to achieve. If everyone starts off being treated equal, then what other reason is there to work so hard other than to get playing time? In the army, fresh recruits get hazed. It's to instill order and discipline. It's to improve mental toughness. If you are a young apprentice at a club, you need to work yourself from the bottom up just like in life, just like at work. It should drive you to want to work harder to improve yourself, not force you to sulk in a corner. To do which depends on how mentally strong you are. It's like Lim Teong Kim said, you need to find players who want to play, who want to improve, who are willing to make sacrifices to take their game to the next level. In my opinion, tough love is effective in this aspect. I don't know your point of view but when I'm at work, I look at the levels above me and I ask what I need to do to climb? I think it's the same with football clubs. There should be a hierarchy and player should want to work harder to work themselves up the ladder and the reward is better status. Applies to all facets of life.

8. Empty stadiums are not the cause of decline in our football, they are a result of it. Shoving bus loads of fans into stadiums isn't going to address the issue of infrastructure. I mean Indonesian clubs have a healthier attendance than most but like you say, they even lost to us in the recent SEA games, twice.

9. Agreed. If there is consistency in our results and gradual improvement, why fix a wheel that isn't broken. If results stagnate however, then it's not enough remain just kings of SEA.

10. I don't know anyone who thinks our football infrastructure is as good as Japan or South Korea. A balance between education and football can be struck through academies, something I think everyone agrees we need more off. Players get an education and they get to kick a ball about but it does require sacrifice and commitment because you won't have much time for anything else like a normal childhood. Even if you don't make it as a player after graduating from an academy, there are other aspect of football to look into. First and foremost however, we need to build these academies and like universities, ensure they carry some weight around the region at least. The problem isn't in parents who convince their kids that there is no future in football, but rather in those tasked with improving the state of our football to convince parents there is a future. The construction of reputable academies will help and if we are to believe what was said last year, it may not be too far in the distant future (http://www.mmail.com.my/content/42130-ministry-set-football-academy-train-young-players).

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Dec 3 2011, 08:27 AM
hj.pet
post Dec 3 2011, 01:40 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(Therapy88 @ Dec 2 2011, 01:09 PM)
sorry all nak mencelah sikit..aku ni kerja cikgu di perak dan sejak hampir sepuluh tahun latih pasukan bolasepak sekolah dan juga sponsor school leaver utk main tournament..ramai yg talented tapi bila bawa ke selection states sentiasa kena reject walaupun amat berbakat..alasan yg diberikan ialah - daerah dan tempat you jauh sangat, kami tak larat la nak tanggung makan minum dan penginapan..so they select ramai players dari ipoh n berdekatan sahaja..itu sbb kalau kita tgk ramai pemain muda perak bermain di penang dan kedah..sana tiada sikap mcm ni...
- cuma memberi sedikit info berdasarkan pengalaman -
Well, bagi aku that's the mentality of Malaysian, at least most of us. Suka sgt cari jalan mudah. The responsible should lies to the selection officer of the Perak state team, tapi apa yag dia buat? Just pick up the guys yg dekat so that they won't spend money for accomodation, etc. Cuba imagine kalau the team is managed professionally, I don't think that they won't let the talented boy just slip away from their grasp. In europe, football clubs berlumba2 nak tarik talented youth player join team derang n spend millions for youth development, tapi kat sini? Sebab xnak spend duit utk the talented player, derang prefer to pilih players yg dekat, xyah susah2 nk spend duit.
nanamiwashio
post Dec 3 2011, 11:18 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(hj.pet @ Dec 3 2011, 01:40 PM)
Well, bagi aku that's the mentality of Malaysian, at least most of us. Suka sgt cari jalan mudah. The responsible should lies to the selection officer of the Perak state team, tapi apa yag dia buat? Just pick up the guys yg dekat so that they won't spend money for accomodation, etc. Cuba imagine kalau the team is managed professionally, I don't think that they won't let the talented boy just slip away from their grasp. In europe, football clubs berlumba2 nak tarik talented youth player join team derang n spend millions for youth development, tapi kat sini? Sebab xnak spend duit utk the talented player, derang prefer to pilih players yg dekat, xyah susah2 nk spend duit.
and that's why OKS complaint on BH " sistem pelik " where the FAM through SSBJ/ Harimau Muda supplying the players to the state teams or clubs
ayanami_tard
post Dec 5 2011, 12:16 AM

40 posts

^and then naik melatah after mr Ong Kim Swee tegur

bak kata pepatah,sapa makan cili,dia terasa pedas....i get sick of the trend too...the players are being rotated among state/club team.tahun ni main kt kelantan...tahun depan main kt n9...tahun pastu main kt ganu....

at least show some kind of improvement liao.
hj.pet
post Dec 5 2011, 08:56 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(ayanami_tard @ Dec 5 2011, 12:16 AM)
^and then naik melatah after mr Ong Kim Swee tegur

bak kata pepatah,sapa makan cili,dia terasa pedas....i get sick of the trend too...the players are being rotated among state/club team.tahun ni main kt kelantan...tahun depan main kt n9...tahun pastu main kt ganu....

at least show some kind of improvement liao.
Owh ada yg melatah ke? Mmg xleh harap state fas ni. Selama ni kita dok bising pasal FAM, tapi kita jarang berbicara pasal kebangangan state fas secara serious. Dealing ngan state fas ni dh mcm dealing dgn perkhidmatan awam yg mengambil masa yg lama utk menguruskan benda yg remeh temeh.
aressandro10
post Dec 10 2011, 04:09 PM

121 posts

A 4 year old article that truly represents my opinions why our football is so bad...

July 16, 2007
Malaysian Football in a (Coco)Nutshell

Alas, it is that time of the year in the Malaysian Sports Calender where everybody inevitably points fingers, assigning the blame to someone, each one more adamant than the other that somebody else is to blame for the latest fiasco. I am of course, talking about Malaysia's latest outing in the international footballing arena. In our first game against China, we got smacked 5-1, while in the second game, we got whipped 5-0. Even the most optimistic of us can't pray for anything else other than a 2-0 defeat to Iran.

Yes, it has been that bad.

And so, true to the wise words of Homer Simpson (Why blame yourself when it is easier to blame others?) everybody has started pointing fingers even before the tournament had ended. Heck, the blame game started even before the players finished their post-game shower after the first game.

The coach has blamed some players for under-performing. The FAM have blamed the coach for wrong team selection, and the Malaysian football fans (this is a term I shall use very loosely for reasons which I shall elaborate further) have been blaming everybody. The only party involved who hasn't blamed anybody are the players, but that is because they are at the bottom of the food chain, and hence do not have anybody to pass the buck to.

But the sad fact is that EVERYBODY involved has to take some amount of blame. And by 'everybody' I mean the Malaysian football fans as well. Contrary to what we would like to believe, we are the ones sitting on top of the food chain - not FAM, not Sultan Ahmad Shah.

And so let us start from the very bottom.

It is very easy to blame the players. After all, they are the ones who actually determine whether we get a result or not. They are the ones performing, they are the ones who are the professional athletes. But is it fair? If we were Italians or Brazilians, we have the right to blame the players. But we aren't. Our world ranking of 149 is testament enough that we simply are not good enough. Iran is ranked 47, Uzbekistan 58, and China 76. Anybody who expected any other result would either be an eternal optimist, or an extremely deluded soul.

What can they do if they simply aren't good enough? What can they do if they simply aren't big enough or fast enough? When we look at other national sports, we can easily point fingers at the badminton players for lacking the fighting spirit (Hafiz) or being too cocky (Koo Kien Kiet). But for our footballers, or most of them at least, their problem is their lack of skill.

Certainly, some of them can take the rap for throwing in the towel before the final whistle had blown. In the game against China, we conceeded a soft late goal because the players couldn't wait for the game to be over and fell asleep. Against the Uzbeks, we conceeded two late goals because their minds weren't on the game anymore (more on this later). And yes, a certain portoin of the blame has got to go to the mindset of some of them.

Our star player, Akmal Rizal once had a stint in Germany but was unable to hold a place in the team. He later claimed he was homesick, couldn't get used to the weather and the food, and hence came back to be the Jaguh Kampung he undoubtedly is today. He, along with a few others failed to make the most of the chance given to them to improve their game and came crawling back to their comfort zone.

Then, if you listen to the FAM president, Sultan Ahmad Shah, the coach Norizan Bakar is to blame for our disastrous start against China. He claimed Norizan had messed up with his team selection, leaving Indra Putra and K. Nanthakumar on the bench.

Sure, it is easy to hurl such accusations with the power of hindsight. It isn't just in Malaysian football, mind you. Coaches all over the world get blamed for wrong team selection all the time, but the fans fail to realise that the coaches sometimes make these decisions because they know more about the players than the fans do. In this case, it was very obvious that Indra Putra did not start because he just came back from a long injury, as did Akmal Rizal. Starting with two half-fit strikers is never a wise thing to do.

I do not wish to be in Norizan's shoes. I am totally and utterly convinced that being the head coach of our national football team is the worst job in the country. You have nothing to work with, you have everybody shitting on your head, and you are expected to perform miracles. It is not a job even God could do. Being a national team coach isn't quite the same as being the coach of a club team.

If Sir Alex Ferguson identified an area of his squad that was weak, he could go out and buy players to strengthen that area. If he fails to do that, or makes a wrong signing, his head would be on the chopping block, and fairly so. Encik Norizan Bakar has no such luxury. These players are the best of the lot. These are the players he has to work with whether he likes it or not, or whether they are good enough to face Iran. What do we expect him to do when none of our central defenders have the ability to control the ball and keep possession?

But of course, he still must take some blame for the drubbing. It was suicide to play 4-4-2 against technically and physically superior teams. Realistically, we had no chance of winning, but if the players could keep it tight and frustrate the opponent, we could have nicked something from a set piece (which we are bloody good at). In Jose Mourinho's words, we needed to 'park the bus in front of the goal'. We needed to play 4-5-1 and put 10 men behind the ball at all times. Hit them on the counter attack, hit them with a set piece. We could have at least put up some sort of fight if we made it to half time still level, even if it meant that their keeper didn't need to touch the ball once.

Then there is the favourite bash toy of the fans - the Football Association of Malaysia. Of course, it is simple enough to blame them. They are the ones who run the game in the country. When all goes pear shaped, they should take the heat. And rightly so, for many issues. We have a piss poor youth development programme. The national league is in shambles as are the the State FAs. They are the ones who are responsible for hiring the coaches, setting up the training facilities and scouting for talent so when everything fails, it is most convenient to blame the FAM and the involvement of politicians in the scene.

But politicians have always, always sat at the helm of the FAM. From our beloved Tunku Abdul Rahman right to the present day, the FAM president has always been a politician or a Sultan. And when you think about it, it is not as if the FAM has not realised that the current state of affairs is dire. They have - and they have taken countless number of steps to prevent it from declining further. They have revamped and restructured the league system countless of times in the last few years. In fact, it was the current FAM president Sultan Ahmad Shah, who turned the league from semi-pro to professional.

And when all conventional methods had failed, they tried unconventional methods but to no avail. They tried to piece together a team of youngsters to try to qualify for the 2000 Olympics. More recently was the silly MyTeam competition(not sure how much the FAM was involved in this - but still..) It was a sorry excuse of a scouting programme, but nonetheless efforts were made. What can you do if at the end of the day, when all you have are players that are simply NOT GOOD ENOUGH?

Which makes me wonder...

Everybody seems to ramble on and on about our so-called 'past glories' and how far we had sunk since those days. Just what kind of 'glory' are we talking about here?! We never made it to the World Cup and only made it to the Asian Cup final twice ever in 1976 and 1980, where we didn't even make it past the first round. We go on and on about how it was such a great achievement that we had qualified for the Olympics in 1972 and 1980, but if you need a short history lesson, here's one. Before 1984, Olympic football was for amateurs. Professionals weren't allowed to participate because FIFA was afraid that it would cheapen the World Cup.

And if you look at the timeline, it is obvious that our period of 'dominance' only lasted about 10 years - that is one whole generation of players. This is our equivalent of Portugal's Golden Generation. For Luis Figo, Rui Costa and Fernando Couto, read Mokhtar Dahari, Soh Chin Aun and Arumugam. Malaysian football had never seen bigger stars and probably will never see bigger stars. Sometimes, as much as it belittles their achievements, the pure fluke of having a whole generation of great players growing up together and playing together will never be replicated. It was a one-off. Zainal Abidin Hassan and Dollah Salleh aside, there wasn't anybody to replace them, so in truth, Malaysian football had started its decline a long, long time ago.

And that brings me to the chief culprit in this whole football fiasco - the Malaysian football fans.

As I said earlier, that is a term I am forced to use very loosely because the sad fact is that Malaysians do not make good sports fans. We are 'glory hunters' in every sense of the term.

I never had the privillege to watch the great Mokthar Dahari. I never even had the chance to watch the 1989 SEA Games - the last time we actually won something. But the most common excuse people give these days is that we have had no success. It seems we only support our teams when they win, and abandon them when they lose. Sometimes I wonder whether we deserve world class athletes. In squash and bowling we have world champions, world beaters, but we do not support them much. Instead of watching Nicol's games, all we do is pick up the papers the next morning and go, "Oh, Nicol won again. Cool!" and then go back about our business as usual.

The stadium was less than one-third full for the China game and absolutely deserted for the Uzbekistan game. Where was everybody?! How can we complain that our team isn't performing well when we do not even bother to turn up to support them? As football fans, we all know the 12th man phenomenon is extremely important. But instead of being the 12th man for our own national side, we only serve to demotivate them.

Picture this. You are playing for your country. You are already losing 3-0 and fighting with your inner demons, trying your hardest not to cave in. Nothing has gone right for you all night. You have been outplayed and outgunned. The only thing left that can possibly motivate you is the knowledge that you are representing your country and that you do not want to let your fans down. And then you look up and look around you and find the whole stadium is deserted. And whatever 'fans' you actually have are morons who turn up just to boo and hiss at you. The fans who, instead of supporting you and your teammates, turn up with banners to proclaim how much you suck. f*** it. What is there to play for?!?!

And it's not just the Asian Cup we are talking about. Our players have ZERO experience playing in the big stage. Was it any wonder why we lost to Singapore in the penalty shootout in the ASEAN Cup the other day? The famous Kallang Roar turned our boys' knees into jelly. They were faced with a full-house stadium screaming and taunting them. It is safe to say that most of them, if not all of them have never, ever played in front of a packed stadium before. Nobody supports the local league.

Nobody bothers going to the stadiums to watch the league games. We all thought that the league was getting better a couple of years ago when people flocked to the Shah Alam stadium to watch Selangor. Turns out they were all Indonesian workers going to see Bambang Pamungkas. Imagine that sort of patriotism - hoardes of them going to watch a football game, week in week out just because their fellow countryman played for a team which they should have no alliegience to.

We blame the FAM for not being able to deliver. We expect them to devise a programme that can bring us success in 5 years. And when they try to do that, they inevitably fail - because we are too impatient. You cannot change the whole system in 5 or even 10 years. The whole system needs a revamp. Somebody needs to say to them, "We give you 15 years. Tear up everything. Start from scratch." But no, we expect results and we expect them today.

And without us, without the football fans watching the games, where on Earth are you going to find sponsors? You can talk about youth development and all that boo-hah but if there is no sustained interest from the public, where do you propose the money comes from? Have a nice look at the American NCAA. I never went to an American university but I hear the fan base is fanatical. The games are even broadcast live on TV and people tune in to watch! Then ask yourself if you would ever consider watching Malay College Kuala Kangsar versus Kolej Tunku Jaafar.

Somebody I talked to just now was ranting about how Malaysian football sucks (it really is the flavour of the day). I asked him if he watched the game and he replied he didn't. "What for support them la? They suck so bad!" I replied, "So why do you care if they suck if you don't bother supporting them?" I remember our Rugby Sevens team getting smacked 73-0 a few years ago. But nobody gave a hoot about it because nobody cares about Rugby Sevens. Similarly, if you don't care enough to watch the game, why do you care enough to complain?

Who in their right mind wants to play for the national team at the moment? Who in the right mind wants to be a footballer in Malaysia? You play in front of empty stadiums, get a crappy paycheck and at the end of the day get a barrage of abuses no matter how hard you play. People like Hardi Jaafar and Hairuddin Omar spent the last two games running after every ball, back tracking when the team needed them, playing to their strengths but instead of hearing people say, "At least you did your best" they get people spitting all sorts of abuse on them. That is assuming the public even knows their names, which I am willing to wager a jug of beer that none of you reading this can name our Starting XI.

Don't complain unless you are part of the solution.

Start going to the local league games. When we fill up the stadiums, sponsors will come. The money will inject just a little bit more glamour into the game. The players would know that they have something to play for. The kids, the 8 year old kids will look at footballers as their idols and that might inspire them to want to be footballers when they grow up. How do you propose a youth development system when the kids do not want to be part of the system in fear that they will grow up into a dead career?

The blame can go to the players, the coaches and the FAM. But as the fans, we must take responsibilty for abandoning the game in the first place, and then expecting it to flourish after we ignored it for years.

Posted by vincent at 1:21 AM
Labels: malaysian footy

http://hantubola.blogspot.com/2007/07/mala...n-nutshell.html

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Dec 10 2011, 04:18 PM
azfamy
post Dec 10 2011, 04:45 PM

55 posts

^^
This should be published in printed media if not done so already. rclxms.gif
I wholeheartedly agree with your arguments.
aressandro10
post Dec 10 2011, 04:59 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(azfamy @ Dec 10 2011, 04:45 PM)
^^
This should be published in printed media if not done so already. rclxms.gif
I wholeheartedly agree with your arguments.
its not my article though... credit to the blogger...
FLampard
post Dec 12 2011, 02:08 PM

590 posts

was chatting with an ex - perlis player that day. He said he quit football because they owed him 4 months salary, and it appears this happens commonly around in the industry.
ayanami_tard
post Dec 12 2011, 02:38 PM

40 posts

^that's what happened when some FA give too much attention on short term succes(trophy,cup,big name signing)...

Icahn
post Dec 12 2011, 05:39 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Dec 10 2011, 04:09 PM)
A 4 year old article that truly represents my opinions why our football is so bad...
July 16, 2007
Malaysian Football in a (Coco)Nutshell

Alas, it is that time of the year in the Malaysian Sports Calender where everybody inevitably points fingers, assigning the blame to someone, each one more adamant than the other that somebody else is to blame for the latest fiasco. I am of course, talking about Malaysia's latest outing in the international footballing arena. In our first game against China, we got smacked 5-1, while in the second game, we got whipped 5-0. Even the most optimistic of us can't pray for anything else other than a 2-0 defeat to Iran.

Yes, it has been that bad.

And so, true to the wise words of Homer Simpson (Why blame yourself when it is easier to blame others?) everybody has started pointing fingers even before the tournament had ended. Heck, the blame game started even before the players finished their post-game shower after the first game.

The coach has blamed some players for under-performing. The FAM have blamed the coach for wrong team selection, and the Malaysian football fans (this is a term I shall use very loosely for reasons which I shall elaborate further) have been blaming everybody. The only party involved who hasn't blamed anybody are the players, but that is because they are at the bottom of the food chain, and hence do not have anybody to pass the buck to.

But the sad fact is that EVERYBODY involved has to take some amount of blame. And by 'everybody' I mean the Malaysian football fans as well. Contrary to what we would like to believe, we are the ones sitting on top of the food chain - not FAM, not Sultan Ahmad Shah.

And so let us start from the very bottom.

It is very easy to blame the players. After all, they are the ones who actually determine whether we get a result or not. They are the ones performing, they are the ones who are the professional athletes. But is it fair? If we were Italians or Brazilians, we have the right to blame the players. But we aren't. Our world ranking of 149 is testament enough that we simply are not good enough. Iran is ranked 47, Uzbekistan 58, and China 76. Anybody who expected any other result would either be an eternal optimist, or an extremely deluded soul.

What can they do if they simply aren't good enough? What can they do if they simply aren't big enough or fast enough? When we look at other national sports, we can easily point fingers at the badminton players for lacking the fighting spirit (Hafiz) or being too cocky (Koo Kien Kiet). But for our footballers, or most of them at least, their problem is their lack of skill.

Certainly, some of them can take the rap for throwing in the towel before the final whistle had blown. In the game against China, we conceeded a soft late goal because the players couldn't wait for the game to be over and fell asleep. Against the Uzbeks, we conceeded two late goals because their minds weren't on the game anymore (more on this later). And yes, a certain portoin of the blame has got to go to the mindset of some of them.

Our star player, Akmal Rizal once had a stint in Germany but was unable to hold a place in the team. He later claimed he was homesick, couldn't get used to the weather and the food, and hence came back to be the Jaguh Kampung he undoubtedly is today. He, along with a few others failed to make the most of the chance given to them to improve their game and came crawling back to their comfort zone.

Then, if you listen to the FAM president, Sultan Ahmad Shah, the coach Norizan Bakar is to blame for our disastrous start against China. He claimed Norizan had messed up with his team selection, leaving Indra Putra and K. Nanthakumar on the bench.

Sure, it is easy to hurl such accusations with the power of hindsight. It isn't just in Malaysian football, mind you. Coaches all over the world get blamed for wrong team selection all the time, but the fans fail to realise that the coaches sometimes make these decisions because they know more about the players than the fans do. In this case, it was very obvious that Indra Putra did not start because he just came back from a long injury, as did Akmal Rizal. Starting with two half-fit strikers is never a wise thing to do.

I do not wish to be in Norizan's shoes. I am totally and utterly convinced that being the head coach of our national football team is the worst job in the country. You have nothing to work with, you have everybody shitting on your head, and you are expected to perform miracles. It is not a job even God could do. Being a national team coach isn't quite the same as being the coach of a club team.

If Sir Alex Ferguson identified an area of his squad that was weak, he could go out and buy players to strengthen that area. If he fails to do that, or makes a wrong signing, his head would be on the chopping block, and fairly so. Encik Norizan Bakar has no such luxury. These players are the best of the lot. These are the players he has to work with whether he likes it or not, or whether they are good enough to face Iran. What do we expect him to do when none of our central defenders have the ability to control the ball and keep possession?

But of course, he still must take some blame for the drubbing. It was suicide to play 4-4-2 against technically and physically superior teams. Realistically, we had no chance of winning, but if the players could keep it tight and frustrate the opponent, we could have nicked something from a set piece (which we are bloody good at). In Jose Mourinho's words, we needed to 'park the bus in front of the goal'. We needed to play 4-5-1 and put 10 men behind the ball at all times. Hit them on the counter attack, hit them with a set piece. We could have at least put up some sort of fight if we made it to half time still level, even if it meant that their keeper didn't need to touch the ball once.

Then there is the favourite bash toy of the fans - the Football Association of Malaysia. Of course, it is simple enough to blame them. They are the ones who run the game in the country. When all goes pear shaped, they should take the heat. And rightly so, for many issues. We have a piss poor youth development programme. The national league is in shambles as are the the State FAs. They are the ones who are responsible for hiring the coaches, setting up the training facilities and scouting for talent so when everything fails, it is most convenient to blame the FAM and the involvement of politicians in the scene.

But politicians have always, always sat at the helm of the FAM. From our beloved Tunku Abdul Rahman right to the present day, the FAM president has always been a politician or a Sultan. And when you think about it, it is not as if the FAM has not realised that the current state of affairs is dire. They have - and they have taken countless number of steps to prevent it from declining further. They have revamped and restructured the league system countless of times in the last few years. In fact, it was the current FAM president Sultan Ahmad Shah, who turned the league from semi-pro to professional.

And when all conventional methods had failed, they tried unconventional methods but to no avail. They tried to piece together a team of youngsters to try to qualify for the 2000 Olympics. More recently was the silly MyTeam competition(not sure how much the FAM was involved in this - but still..) It was a sorry excuse of a scouting programme, but nonetheless efforts were made. What can you do if at the end of the day, when all you have are players that are simply NOT GOOD ENOUGH?

Which makes me wonder...

Everybody seems to ramble on and on about our so-called 'past glories' and how far we had sunk since those days. Just what kind of 'glory' are we talking about here?! We never made it to the World Cup and only made it to the Asian Cup final twice ever in 1976 and 1980, where we didn't even make it past the first round. We go on and on about how it was such a great achievement that we had qualified for the Olympics in 1972 and 1980, but if you need a short history lesson, here's one. Before 1984, Olympic football was for amateurs. Professionals weren't allowed to participate because FIFA was afraid that it would cheapen the World Cup.

And if you look at the timeline, it is obvious that our period of 'dominance' only lasted about 10 years - that is one whole generation of players. This is our equivalent of Portugal's Golden Generation. For Luis Figo, Rui Costa and Fernando Couto, read Mokhtar Dahari, Soh Chin Aun and Arumugam. Malaysian football had never seen bigger stars and probably will never see bigger stars. Sometimes, as much as it belittles their achievements, the pure fluke of having a whole generation of great players growing up together and playing together will never be replicated. It was a one-off. Zainal Abidin Hassan and Dollah Salleh aside, there wasn't anybody to replace them, so in truth, Malaysian football had started its decline a long, long time ago.

And that brings me to the chief culprit in this whole football fiasco - the Malaysian football fans.

As I said earlier, that is a term I am forced to use very loosely because the sad fact is that Malaysians do not make good sports fans. We are 'glory hunters' in every sense of the term.

I never had the privillege to watch the great Mokthar Dahari. I never even had the chance to watch the 1989 SEA Games - the last time we actually won something. But the most common excuse people give these days is that we have had no success. It seems we only support our teams when they win, and abandon them when they lose. Sometimes I wonder whether we deserve world class athletes. In squash and bowling we have world champions, world beaters, but we do not support them much. Instead of watching Nicol's games, all we do is pick up the papers the next morning and go, "Oh, Nicol won again. Cool!" and then go back about our business as usual.

The stadium was less than one-third full for the China game and absolutely deserted for the Uzbekistan game. Where was everybody?! How can we complain that our team isn't performing well when we do not even bother to turn up to support them? As football fans, we all know the 12th man phenomenon is extremely important. But instead of being the 12th man for our own national side, we only serve to demotivate them.

Picture this. You are playing for your country. You are already losing 3-0 and fighting with your inner demons, trying your hardest not to cave in. Nothing has gone right for you all night. You have been outplayed and outgunned. The only thing left that can possibly motivate you is the knowledge that you are representing your country and that you do not want to let your fans down. And then you look up and look around you and find the whole stadium is deserted. And whatever 'fans' you actually have are morons who turn up just to boo and hiss at you. The fans who, instead of supporting you and your teammates, turn up with banners to proclaim how much you suck. f*** it. What is there to play for?!?!

And it's not just the Asian Cup we are talking about. Our players have ZERO experience playing in the big stage. Was it any wonder why we lost to Singapore in the penalty shootout in the ASEAN Cup the other day? The famous Kallang Roar turned our boys' knees into jelly. They were faced with a full-house stadium screaming and taunting them. It is safe to say that most of them, if not all of them have never, ever played in front of a packed stadium before. Nobody supports the local league.

Nobody bothers going to the stadiums to watch the league games. We all thought that the league was getting better a couple of years ago when people flocked to the Shah Alam stadium to watch Selangor. Turns out they were all Indonesian workers going to see Bambang Pamungkas. Imagine that sort of patriotism - hoardes of them going to watch a football game, week in week out just because their fellow countryman played for a team which they should have no alliegience to.

We blame the FAM for not being able to deliver. We expect them to devise a programme that can bring us success in 5 years. And when they try to do that, they inevitably fail - because we are too impatient. You cannot change the whole system in 5 or even 10 years. The whole system needs a revamp. Somebody needs to say to them, "We give you 15 years. Tear up everything. Start from scratch." But no, we expect results and we expect them today.

And without us, without the football fans watching the games, where on Earth are you going to find sponsors? You can talk about youth development and all that boo-hah but if there is no sustained interest from the public, where do you propose the money comes from? Have a nice look at the American NCAA. I never went to an American university but I hear the fan base is fanatical. The games are even broadcast live on TV and people tune in to watch! Then ask yourself if you would ever consider watching Malay College Kuala Kangsar versus Kolej Tunku Jaafar.

Somebody I talked to just now was ranting about how Malaysian football sucks (it really is the flavour of the day). I asked him if he watched the game and he replied he didn't. "What for support them la? They suck so bad!" I replied, "So why do you care if they suck if you don't bother supporting them?" I remember our Rugby Sevens team getting smacked 73-0 a few years ago. But nobody gave a hoot about it because nobody cares about Rugby Sevens. Similarly, if you don't care enough to watch the game, why do you care enough to complain?

Who in their right mind wants to play for the national team at the moment? Who in the right mind wants to be a footballer in Malaysia? You play in front of empty stadiums, get a crappy paycheck and at the end of the day get a barrage of abuses no matter how hard you play. People like Hardi Jaafar and Hairuddin Omar spent the last two games running after every ball, back tracking when the team needed them, playing to their strengths but instead of hearing people say, "At least you did your best" they get people spitting all sorts of abuse on them. That is assuming the public even knows their names, which I am willing to wager a jug of beer that none of you reading this can name our Starting XI.

Don't complain unless you are part of the solution.

Start going to the local league games. When we fill up the stadiums, sponsors will come. The money will inject just a little bit more glamour into the game. The players would know that they have something to play for. The kids, the 8 year old kids will look at footballers as their idols and that might inspire them to want to be footballers when they grow up. How do you propose a youth development system when the kids do not want to be part of the system in fear that they will grow up into a dead career?

The blame can go to the players, the coaches and the FAM. But as the fans, we must take responsibilty for abandoning the game in the first place, and then expecting it to flourish after we ignored it for years.

Posted by vincent at 1:21 AM 
Labels: malaysian footy

http://hantubola.blogspot.com/2007/07/mala...n-nutshell.html
I would like to present a rebuttal ( counter-arguments ) on the point of the "glory" days that was deemed as a fallacy by the blogger. Kalau betul "glory" days itu adalah satu fallacy, Malaysia tak akan menewaskan Arsenal 2-0 semasa zaman Mokhtar Dahari pada peringkat peak performance dia. ( Bukti rakaman video pun ada ditunjukkan dalam tV1 baru2 ini ). Arsenal pada masa itu already a professional team seperti sekarang, buat tour macam mereka buat sekarang. Tengok macam mana EPL clubs perform semasa buat friendly kat pre-season around the world sekarang, even kat USA pasukan MU belasah Seattle Sounders ke apa, 7-0. Kat Malaysia dulu senang2 je mereka belasa Malaysia 6-0, yg baru2 ni pun Arsenal belasah kita 4-0, Liverpool pula 6-3. Nak harap kita menang pada zaman ini, memang jauh panggang dari api. Tetapi dulu kita mampu menang dalam pre-season friendlies ni....

Zaman Mokhtar Dahari juga dulu kita pernah belasah Thailand 8-2 ( Ini aku dengar Zainal Abidin Rawop yg cakap dalam tv dulu ), jadi masa zaman tu gap kita dan Thailand adalah betul2 jauh, kita belasah mereka dengan teruk. Kalau betul diorang meragui benda ni dan nak buat studies pasal glory days ni, RTM adalah source yg betul untuk dijadikan rujukan kerana banyak bukti video2 perlawanan dan senarai pemain dalam arkib RTM seperti yg disiarkan dalam rancangan bola sepak klasik TV1, setiap hari Sabtu jam 11:30 malam!

Ni aku ambil dari source internet : "Before the establishment of Malaysia on September 16, 1963, the Malaysia national football team was known as Malaya national football team. Malaya's biggest achievement in football was becoming the bronze medalist in 1962 Asian Games held in Jakarta, Indonesia. " --> Jadi, if anything, at least kita adalah top 3 in Asia pada masa itu, dan Raja Asean yg x perlu dipertikaikan lagi. Kita adalah cream of the crop pada peringkat Asia, kalau pun mungkin bukan pada peringkat dunia.

Pencapaian individu pemain bangsa Melayu sendiri adalah bukti kepada perkara ini, dua contoh paling jelas ialah pencapaian Fandi Ahmad ( Melayu Singapura yg dulu adalah sebahagian dari negara Malaysia) dan Mokhtar Dahari. Mokhtar Dahari kalau diberi peluang dulu, memang layak main kat luar negara seperti Fandi. Fandi Ahmad pula, adalah local legend kat FC Groningen ( that sums it all up, regarding his abilities ).

Kalau betul pun glory days itu diperbesar2kan, aku rasa boleh jadi to certain extent, most evidently kerana pada masa itu kita x pernah layak ke world cup. Tetapi Olympic dulu pun, walaupun dulu hanya untuk pemain amatur, zaman sekarang pula untuk U-23 teams, so ianya bukan untuk full national teams, jadi lebih kurang je statusnya, bagi aku lah...

Silapnya zaman dulu kita hanya at least top 3 peringkat Asia, tidak pada peringkat dunia. Itu sahaja. Kita pun dulu memang tidak konsisten, aku pernah dengar otai2 lama dalam our football yg bagitau yg dulu pun kita ada masalah jumpa certain teams, mostly middle eastern teams....

Bagi aku, benda pasal "glory days" ni kita kena tanya orang2 lama yg in the inner circle, seperti Dato Abdul Ghani Minhat dan Hassan Sani yang masih hidup pada hari ini. Mereka perlu menjawab dengan honest pasal benda ni, baru kita tahu perkara sebenar.

Cuma ada satu point yg aku tak setuju dengan otai2 lama ni. Mereka kata dulu pemain Harimau Malaya main penuh passion sebab nak mewakili negara, kerana minat dan tanggungjawab, bukan semata2 kerana duit dan gaji seperti pemain sekarang. Habis, takkan diorang nak kata Lionel Messi dan C. Ronaldo main bukan sebab duit? Gaji mereka ini lebih banyak daripada our footballers, mencecah beratus2 ribu sebulan. David Beckham pun sama. Kalau aku ada bakat seperti Mokhtar Dahari dan Fandi Ahmad, dan ditawarkan main untuk Harimau Malaya dengan bayaran yg ciput, aku pun tak nak. Lagi2 pula kalau ada anak2 dan isteri, nak bagi mereka makan apa kalau duit takde? Dari satu segi pula, kalau bayaran tak memuaskan dari segi gaji, sensible and level headed parents takkan benarkan their children to take up football as a career. Ini benda mudah untuk difikirkan, jadi memang aku langsung tak setuju kalau mana2 bekas pemain zaman kegemilangan dulu, ataupun orang2 atasan FAM nak bangkitkan benda ni. An irrelevant argument career wise, sebab kat peringkat international, pemain yg dibayar berjuta2 dolar setahun tetap perform well in international duties for their national teams...Mungkin ada sesetengah world class players yg lost motivation setelah menang world cup dan jadi millionaires, seperti Ronaldinho dan Romario dulu, hari2 berparti, pergi disko, performance jatuh. Tetapi masih ramai lagi yg stay dedicated and performing, seperti Ronaldo R9, Dunga, Klinsmann, etc...

Btw, dalam world football, turun naik dalam negara2 kuasa bola sepak dunia ini memang berlaku. Kita tengok kepada Hungary sebagai contoh mudah, dulu mereka kuasa dunia dengan team the Mighty Magyars yg memang rule the world ( pernah dianggap oleh experts as a given untuk menang world cup, tetapi kat final kalah dengan west germany walaupun menang dengan negara sama kat group stage ) tetapi lately mereka tak layak pun ke World Cup. Uruguay dulu juara world cup dua kali, tetapi semasa tahun 1990s, mereka juga tak layak ke World Cup. Spain pula tak pernah menang WC sebelum 2010, memang betul2 perennial underachievers in world football. Tetapi sejak top gun mereka menemui revolusi dan mengamalkan idea tiki-taka dan possession football to compensate for their physical and skill set flaws, terus mereka menang Euro 08 dan WC 10 ( pasal Spain ini, dari perennial underachievers to world conquerers, adakah korang fikir ini hanyalah satu kebetulan? Satu kejayaan tanpa perancangan yg rapi?) Sedangkan dulu pernah top football community dismiss Spanish national football team as perennial failures when it matters most, especially in knock-out stages of the World Cup tournaments. Dulu pencapain terbaik mereka dalam WC sebelum 2010, seingat saya ialah dalam quarter final je...Dulu mereka hanya boleh berbangga dengan liga mereka sahaja as a top 3 league in world football...

Satu lagi yg aku selalu tengok. Algeria selalu dianggap sebagai pasukan yg ada potential untuk jadi world class team, masa World Cup 1982 mereka pernah kalahkan west germany dalam world cup group stage. Tetapi pemain berketurunan Algeria yg membesar di Perancis seperti Zidane, Samir Nasri dan Benzema sudahpun jadi legend, jadi world class players, bukannya setakat berpotensi untuk world class sahaja. Bangsa yg sama, fizikal yg sama, cuma mentality, training facilities, training environment, formative environments dan persekitaran yg berbeza....

Added on December 12, 2011, 5:53 pm
"Before the current golden era, Spain won the 1964 European Nations Cup and reached the UEFA Euro 1984 Final. In July 2008 Spain rose to the top of the FIFA World Rankings for the first time in the team's history, becoming the sixth nation to top this ranking, and the first nation to top the ranking without previously having won the World Cup. Between November 2006 and June 2009 Spain went undefeated for a record-tying 35 consecutive matches before their loss to the United States, a record shared with Brazil, including a record 15-game winning streak and thus earning third place in the FIFA Confederations Cup. Recently, the team has become known for using a style of play which involves roaming movement and positional interchange amongst midfielders, moving the ball in intricate patterns, and sharp, one- or two-touch passing; this style of play has been dubbed Tiki-taka (or Tiqui-taca). The success of Spain in recent times and their style of play, has helped the Spanish team become a dominant force in world football."

This post has been edited by Icahn: Dec 12 2011, 06:01 PM
aressandro10
post Dec 12 2011, 06:03 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(FLampard @ Dec 12 2011, 02:08 PM)
was chatting with an ex - perlis player that day. He said he quit football because they owed him 4 months salary, and it appears this happens  commonly around in the industry.
QUOTE(ayanami_tard @ Dec 12 2011, 02:38 PM)
^that's what happened when some FA give too much attention on short term succes(trophy,cup,big name signing)...
FAs cant posibly have a long term plan because they only live on year in year out basis based on their sponsor. if their sponsor is a politician, the investment must give fruit within the 4 year election term and the FA's allocation are revised yearly based on that. A businessman wont invest in football at all as the the return of invesmeent target are sharper than politicians.

our state FAs dont have a long term asset of their own. that is the strong brand name and group of loyal fans who gurantee season tickets year in year out. even sucky teams in europe like norwich, hull or wolves can expect a decent long term support from fans. we dont.

its about time we also give that to our football team...

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0299sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:31 PM