why malaysia local football industry so bad, compared to Japan.. why? what's wrong?

aressandro10
post Oct 19 2011, 07:28 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(beck_ken @ Oct 19 2011, 11:01 AM)
Football is not about just a sport. It's all about how people promote it via social media or media network.

During the 90s when Dunhill was the major sponsor for local league, they promoted it very well thru social media and we can see it from TV commercial, but now TM did any advertisement? Yes but not as heavy as Dunhill did last time.

Our youth team is not average but they are better than the senior squad but when they all promoted to senior squad, they become... U know it

Third is sport + politic = always a no no

How can a state MB become the team manager when he himself has a lot of state related affairs to take care off
which team have state MB as team manager rclxub.gif honorary president tu standardlah...
aressandro10
post Oct 19 2011, 07:37 PM

121 posts

changing FAM also no use unless we change society..... and belive me as imposible as the former sounds, the latter is much tougher...

Japan is better than us because thats what their society is. Better than us in every possible aspect. Better FA. Better coomercial. better players. better fans. the society is about collective effort by everybody for everybody. Kinda the right kind of socialism and communism.

not the selfish type we are...
aressandro10
post Oct 19 2011, 07:58 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Azurues @ Oct 19 2011, 07:51 PM)
why u no delete your account yet hah?
err...what ..?
aressandro10
post Oct 21 2011, 08:06 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(account_manager @ Oct 21 2011, 02:40 PM)
i vote for Idris Jala to be the next FAM president..
football industry is a volunteer thing. we cant be a leader or push someone to be one if we or they dont want to volunteer for it...

that being said, i'd also would like for idris jala to introduce efficiency into FAM...

but the person who is truly gunning for that post right now is TSAM and i wont mind that too...
aressandro10
post Oct 24 2011, 10:14 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(Rotuham @ Oct 23 2011, 07:28 PM)
When k.rajagobal retires from national team,i would like to see him become FAM president.Maybe he might bring changes like how he did to the national team.I also think he is the only person who can command the respect of everyone regardless of race.If sultan still want be FAM president and politician still want to monopoly the top posts,i believe when i come back to lowyat football lounge in 10years time,hack3line your tered will still be open and active.True story.
Unless he is a super efficent marketing bussiness person who can turn dust to gold (ala Tony fernandes), a president of sports associations in Malaysia need to be someone that has "money is no concern" status.

because in most occasion, the president need to fork out their own money to fund the activities.... thats the practical truth...

our problem is, super efficient marketing bussiness person dont see any value in non-profit sports industry. Thats why we stuck with politicians and royalty...

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Oct 24 2011, 12:47 PM
aressandro10
post Oct 24 2011, 12:50 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(smwah @ Oct 24 2011, 11:53 AM)
Idea is good. But lack of hardwork and sustainability. We tend to opt for simple way even we know this is not the correct way. Actually this is problem not for football but also in business. Ppl are having kind of tak dapat pun tak apa janji boleh siap atau janji ada makan. Failure is success story, so failure is nothing. But the determination to reah our goal.
We need collabraion with ppl and business. I see Dunhill did a very good job on promoting the game. They really got gaya mutu keunggulan. But our players were hit by coroption tat time. I can't blame much on the players, they just lack of education of work and attitude. Why busineess coorperate need MBA? they need ppl on theory calculatin, management, risk etc. to ensure things go correct way. The rest will come to human character.
Most of them is like surender their life once they met the failure. Many of us will have kind of attitude that saying we are born to this life this is our destiny, we won't get much of it. So when lost they also dun feel wanted to fight back.
Nothing wrong had the dream to world cup. Wrong thing is we are saying it is a dream only, we must said this is our goal. We will do anything to get the goal. You can get many successfull story where one time ppl said them it will happen in ur dream only.
good stuff..
aressandro10
post Nov 7 2011, 11:40 PM

121 posts

general opinion among local football folowers is, he is not worth the bother...
aressandro10
post Nov 8 2011, 10:15 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Icahn @ Nov 8 2011, 12:37 AM)
But the Japanese are not better compared to us moral-wise, right? ( Akhlak in Islam ). They have the biggest porn industry Asia-wise ( lot of porn stars ) for God's sake!

They are the porn champions in Asia. Lots of Japanese men are sexual perverts!
Penuh dengan orang gila seks, penuh dengan bintang porno macam Maria Ozawa...

We haven't had any professional porn star yet. Even our people in the entertainment industry will run and hide overseas if their private porn videos are exposed....
one way to look at it is.... even in porn they make sure they make and structure it properly so that they can be the best at it in their own way.... its in their guts..

if you have been to japan, you will find tenagers with spiky dyed hair, gothic makeup and neo nazi boots dengan penuh mesra sopan santun lemah gemalai budi pekerti mulia sambut customer dekat 7-11. kerja part time sebagai shopkeeper pon derang buat yang terbaik untuk kerja tu..

get it?

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Nov 8 2011, 11:33 PM
aressandro10
post Nov 11 2011, 03:02 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(Icahn @ Nov 9 2011, 11:11 AM)
Astaghfirullahal azim, be the best in a dirty business, that is.
the point is be the best in whatever they choose to do...

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Nov 11 2011, 03:03 AM
aressandro10
post Nov 14 2011, 08:31 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(Ichighost @ Nov 13 2011, 08:39 PM)
dont force the issue...try alternative...i think sport school mcm BJ dan BP already done their part...now every states should have their own sport school...if you attend sport school you will get almost everything...equipment..kits..training...enough as a kick-start to be a professional footballer...clubs can also provide scholarship to the talented youngsters to continue learning football from the sport school...be patron to the kids..with sport school...parents cant argue about the money...about the time management...(solat...study...dll)..and about education...the way i see this sport school mcm bdk2 BJ usually akan continue bwh Harimau Muda B...then Harimau Muda A...if the players for example from any sport school at pahang...can continue for Pahang reserves...personally with current mentallity and our culture...one of the solution will be more and more sport school...or sport school special for football...but school part must be there... biggrin.gif
school teachers that specialise in football are rare and but can be found in project schools all over the country. Schools like Seksen 11 Shah Alam and Sultan Sulaimain at Terengganu are example of project schools that create many national team players...

aressandro10
post Nov 14 2011, 05:40 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Nov 14 2011, 08:47 AM)
The thing is coaching licenses aren't all that hard to attain especially if it's to oversee kids. My colleague just got his after a couple of weeks. We need to start at grassroot level, something you hear quite often in the papers but never really see addressed. Kids need to be spotted at a primary level and Physical Ed teachers need to have basic coaching expertise at least to cultivate their talent. Not everyone can afford to send their kids for coaching clinics.
the truth is, the overall handling of Physical Education in the academic community need to be changed first. Currently there are no impetus for PE teachers to upgrade themselve because PE as a subject is not taken as important compare to other academic subjects...

frankly speaking, sports are something where one ministry has to do the petty grassroot job but another ministry gets the credit if it succeed.... in Malaysia, that is a recipe for work never got done..

my wish is for the goverment to apply a scheme to retrain retired athlete to become 'special' school teachers. Currently this idea will be shot down if the gov want to reduce the big public workforce, but i like for this idea to give a special consideration as it has a snowball effect to both student and teachers. Student will get opportunity to learn from first hand experience and the former athlete will have a more stable life after retiring and this will be a bridge for them to get the appropriate coaching license if the want to pursue to become pro coach.

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Nov 14 2011, 05:46 PM
aressandro10
post Nov 15 2011, 08:35 PM

121 posts

An article that sums up why we will never be better than japan in anything...

A nation of sports couch potatoes

By Umapagan Ampikaipakan | 0 comments

CULTURE CHANGE: We need to do more to support our champions

Nicol David made history twice last week by being the first active player in the history of the game to be inducted into the World Squash Federation Hall of Fame and by winning a record sixth Women’s World Open crown. - AFP

1 / 1

We do not have a sporting culture in this country. Which isn't to say we don't enjoy it. We Malaysians are the perennial sports fans. (There are, after all, 10 dedicated sports channels on television.) We are ardent observers. We are passionate commentators. We are not, however, a nation of sportsmen and sportswomen.

And why should we be? For there has never been a concerted national effort towards it. Despite the Tunku's firm belief that sports would be a driving force for national unity, we have always allowed it -- like literature, like music, like art -- to fall by the wayside, to be something merely incidental. It is a social activity. A hobby. It is exercise. Nothing more. Parents do not encourage their children to take up sport as a vocation. Neither does policy.

Why? Because it's hard. Because it's risky. There are no guaranteed returns when it comes to such endeavours. It isn't like becoming a doctor, or an engineer, or a lawyer. Where even mediocrity allows you a chance to get by. To make a vocation out of sport requires a lifetime commitment. It requires you to constantly strive to be the best and to be the first.

So we put our money where it is safe. We invest in the sure thing. We tell our children that while sport is an important activity, it isn't the most important activity. We tell them to get involved but not too involved. Because at the end of the day, it is merely another distraction from their books.

And we wonder what happened to our national football. And we wonder why we never seem to get too many golds.

Nicol David made history twice last week. The first time by being the first active player in the history of the game to be inducted into the World Squash Federation Hall of Fame. The second time, just 24 hours later, by winning a record sixth Women's World Open crown and becoming not just the best but the best ever.

The general perception, however, was that she did so in spite of our national shortcomings. That her remarkable talent was honed with the encouragement and support of those closest and dearest to her rather than a nation looking to develop and bolster the talents of its citizens.

"In spite of." They are three words that we have been hearing a lot lately. About all those Malaysians, both here and abroad, who have made something of themselves. That their successes are somehow "in spite of", that they have, for whatever reason, transcended our education system, our national policies, our societal idiosyncrasies.

"In spite of." They are three words that really do rankle. And rightly so. For while we can claim greatness on the part of our citizens, we can in no way claim credit for them. We have, as a society, as a nation, been unapologetically stifling towards our talent. Inadvertently shooing them away to greener pastures.

A sports culture is not something that happens overnight. It needs to be developed over time. And it needs to be rooted in participation and not just in observation. We need to be active not passive.

We have, over the last five decades as a nation, failed to realise that all enduring traditions -- be it in sport, or in literature, or in art -- begins with a set of social practices that celebrate those particular norms and values. That it is about building capacity. That it is about creating a sense of continuity.

The simple fact is that we need to do more to support the Nicol Davids of Malaysia and all those who want to be like her. Financially. Emotionally. Spiritually. Why? Because these are our national heroes. They are the symbols of everything that is great about our country. They are our ambassadors to the world.

For the moment, however, these individuals, who so proudly don the Jalur Gemilang, will have to continue carrying Malaysia on their shoulders. It is a heavy burden and one that really should be the other way around.

Read more: A nation of sports couch potatoes - Columnist - New Straits Times http://www.nst.com.my/opinion/columnist/a-...3#ixzz1dmDs3BTt
aressandro10
post Nov 29 2011, 06:07 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Nov 29 2011, 05:52 PM)
Spoke to someone who has a "B" coaching license but was told he cannot apply for an "A" license because you need to have been a former state player amongst other criteria. Anyway, he enlightened me on one specific issue - team selection.
-         To play in the national team you need to be part of IPT (Institute Pergajian Tinggi) and every year they will have the IPT tournament for football/futsal and also other sports.
-          And IPT consists of all the government colleges & universities in Malaysia and one of the requirements to play for the national team is that you need to play in this league coz this is where the scouting happens.
-          Last time only government colleges and universities were allowed to play so colleges like Monash, Sunway, Inti, etc can’t take part.
-          Only recently they started to open up but no other colleges & universities have taken part. The closest is University Tun Abdul Razak.

I think this explains why you don't see too many Indians or Chinese in local football teams. It isn't about the lack of money certainly. I think they need to run more programmes at private universities as well. Also, limiting it to universities means that poor rural kids whose parents can't afford tertiary education for them, miss out.
thats strange.....

most national team players jump straight from SSBJ to the national team.. i doubt half of them passed their SPM.... let alone proceeding for tertiery education...

and part time amaterur IPT league level is too low.... one would rate them lower than the President Cup U-21 level...

although, there are recent effort by K. Rajagobal to absorb amateur Malaysia University Team players, namely K. Reuben and that balding UiTm defender, into the national team, but that are more exception than norm. And they also readily admit that level of fitness was way different between League players and IPT league level players....

i would like to modify your theory a bit.

national team players selected from SSBJ. SSBJ students are selected from primary school tournaments. I think this explains why you don't see too many Indians or Chinese in local football teams.

aressandro10
post Dec 1 2011, 01:36 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Nov 29 2011, 06:37 PM)
Not my theory actually I'm repeating what I was told by this bloke I mentioned. Like I said, he is trying to get his class "A" coaching license but was denied. He plays for a pretty good team and participates in local tournaments.
well whosever theory it is, it’s quite blatantly absurd. Maybe we are misunderstood. if you catch him again try to ask some names as an example to add base and substantiality to his comments for us to understand better.

I really want it to be true though. to have a competitive and commercial college league like America, japan and Korea have. that way the colleges will bear the cost and responsibility of conducting structured football academies to prepare them for pro work life like what they are doing for other industry. this eases off the pressure on SSBJ a bit and also narrows the divide between academic and sports world.

Private IPT also need to be cooperate also. But I doubt they will as sports are not high on their profit accumulating agenda. We see a lot of gov IPT in the IPT league roster also only because the gov force and provide them the fund to participate.

I try to consult a private football academy coach about A license and below are his comment and I quote :

"thats normal (stigma of FAM unofficial requirement that for A must be an ex player)..every coaching course I went..there is someone will say these courses are made to help ex pro. it is not true..im not an ex pro..."

Asked whether he has already applied for his A license :

"nope..not yet...if im not mistaken in Malaysia we have no more than 50 A or Pro Licence coach....if someone know this correct me if im wrong..might be even less than 50...i assume it is difficult..passing rate in Malaysia is one of the toughest in the region...instructor are strict and quality is a must"

For the record he is holding AFC C License , FIFA Grassroot. 'A' license now under AFC and not FAM but FAM chooses the candidate. the only best way to know what their selection criteria are is to ask them directly. For what I know, 'A' License is a very exclusive club and even ex-pro legends like Radhi Mat Din and Hashim Mustapha only have B and perennial assistant coaches. it is that hard for former pros so non ex-pros probably need to make a really strong case to fight off the pre-competition due to the standard.

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Nov 29 2011, 06:48 PM)
I can't imagine why the Chinese would avoid football by choice. I mean it pays much better than bowling or basketball.

I think it's safe to say that there are ample local tournaments but the questions is, are there scouts present? Also what age groups are present during these tournaments? Primary level would be a good place to start looking and identifying talent that you can still mold and develop. The thing about clinics are that they are often one off. You pick up a few tips but still, you need a coach to guide and push you, hence the importance of academies. How do we fare when it comes to academies? Do we have enough? Are the coaches sufficiently qualified? Are development programmes at these academies adequate?
Try to chat with FLampard of this forum. He is a Chinese that is aspirant to be a pro player. Maybe we will understand better.

yeah. academies are the real deal. currently save the SSBJ guys, all the players we have in the league are on-the-job-self-trained work force. football academies are the universities for football players. like doctors, lawyers, and accountant, football also needs to do full term in their 'university' before they are qualified to be pro.

Problem for football academies is, they need a lot of upfront investment with a subjective and long term result, so not many would like to delve long term in it. Politicians especially only on 4 year term so anything they do must show result in that period. Football academy investment need at least 20 years to bear fruit provided they are done with the right way consistently. State FAs also financially survive on year to year basis. They don’t have the capital that can support them on long term planning. Overseas clubs have fans who buy season tickets and stay with the team through thick and thin. We don’t.

That’s why I think it’s the government responsibility to support grass root football development either through schools or universities. In Malaysia, they control the most precious entity in football grass root development. That “time of youth” in primary and secondary school.

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Nov 29 2011, 09:00 PM)
Do you reckon that we're guilty of being a little too proud and perhaps we do require foreign expertise? I mean even England broke tradition and hired foreign managers to stem their decline in the form of Sven Goran Erickson and now Fabiola Capello. Japan and South Korea, both Asian giants we used to beat employ foreigmanger hers and coaches. What else did they do right that we didn't? We had in the past employed the likes of Josef Venglos and Claude Le Roy, both of whom went on to lead teams into the World Cup but it was reported neither really had full control over the selection of players and neither was kept on for very long. We seem to change managers like we change t-shirts but the problem lies not with the manager I feel. Foreign expertise has developed local champions in badminton, bowling, cycling, archery, shooting and swimming, so why not football? I've met a few people who are linked with overseas academies and they seem to have some solid ideas. What I've heard however is that FAM aren't exactly the most open-minded people hence why these academies and largely available only to private schools students whose parents can afford to pay for it. Why not adopt proven systems?
But record shows that local coaches, Sathianathan, K. Rajagobal and Ong Kim Swee have been more successful than all our previous foreign coaches put together. So I don’t think nationality matters in this.

What all 3 coaches have in common advantage over foreign coaches is understanding and time with the players. All of them pick, choose and groom their players since the U-19 stage. So it’s just nice by the time become national team head coach, “their players” has already matured and can be used. Foreign coaches do not have this advantage.

But I sense that our coaches don’t have good enough training and experience in grass root level. So if foreign coaches can help there and there are people supporting that cost, then why not…

aressandro10
post Dec 2 2011, 04:45 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 2 2011, 09:54 AM)
If I may ask, what makes this blokes comments more credible than the bloke I spoke with who has a B license since he doesn't have an A license either? FairPlay, he does have a C license but from what I'm reading, it seems like an opinion unless these rules are actually written in stone somewhere. Can't seem to find anything conclusive online.

Do you reckon we have many quality coaches in the country? I mean if it is so hard to get an A license, one must assume that our coaches are top notch and if they are, who are they coaching? Without academies, what opportunities do they have to actually coach? With the exception of Lim Teong Kim who had to work for his coaching badge in Germany, how many coaches from our country are sought after, even by football nobodies like Macau?

What concerns me about your last paragraph is that you say the FAM "chooses" the candidates. Any idea what the crtierias for selection are?
Depends on how you define success. When Claude Le Roy was in charge for example, we achieved our highest world ranking ever at 75. No denying we've won the SEA Games and Suzuki Cup but it's obvious that the gap between SEA and the rest of Asia is huge.

You are right, nationality doesn't matter, expertise, exposure and experience does. Familiarizing oneself with local players is a matter of time. The problem is results are expected to be instant and foreign coaches didn't stay long. If you look at SEA countries ranked higher than us, they have benefitted from foreign expertise. Thailand employed Bryan Robson, Indonesia have had foreign managers as they helm since 2000, Vietnam (who was at war during the time we were Asian giants) have had more foreign managers than local ones and look how fast they have progressed. Coincidence? Again, I'm not saying foreign managers are necessarily better but given that football in our region is less developed that the rest of Asia, maybe there is a case.

If anything I think we shot ourselves in the foot by insisting to go all local which is fine provided you have the quality to do so. Why were we ranked higher when our league was semi pro? Maybe it's because we benefitted from having coaches from more developed footballing nations and model professionals to learn from. I mean Thai players can surely benefit from playing alongside someone like Robbie Fowler. It isn't limited to merely technique and ability of the pitch but also what happens off it e.g. Proper diets, workout routines, etc. When Tony Cottee played for Selangor, he complained that he had to wash his own booths because there wasnt a proper structure and there was no apprenticeship where young players had to do all the dirty work until they earned a place in the first team. I think the problem lies in our mental strength. One poster pointed out that Malaysian sportsmen are lazy and he may have a case. Rexy Mainaky once said that our players would complain each time he worked them hard. By making our football apprentices clean boots all the time, maybe we'd break them mentally. Let's face it. We don't take criticism well and by and large, we don't have the mental strength to work through adversity because it's simply easier not to.

Before I stray I need to reiterate that I feel we will benefit from foreign expertise but the FAM needs to let go and place complete faith in whoever is appointed and give him a free reign to revamp whatever he deems necessary.

Added on December 2, 2011, 10:14 amHere's what Lim Teong Kim had to say about Malaysian football.

Added on December 2, 2011, 10:21 amNote his comments on mental strength, investment in a youth set up and foreign expertise. We've read opinions from friends and friends of friends but I feel Lim Teong Kim is a credible source given his exposure in one of the world's top leagues and youth set ups.
1. I never say that bloke is more credible than your bloke. I just give other point of view so that other people reading this don’t necessarily judge your bloke only as correct. Judging by his comment that national team players are scouted from IPT League, I do have same doubts on his credibility. But that is only my opinion.

2. ‘A’ Licenses is a ticket meant to coach professional football clubs. For academies we can get by with ‘C’ License. How many good coaches? Personally for me maybe not less than 10. Rajagobal, Sathianathan, Irfan Bakti, K. Devan, Wan Jamak, Abdul Rahman Ibrahim, M. Karathu, Norizan Bakar and Ong Kim Swee to name a few. But coaching licenses are only meant to make sure you past a certain standard. Like SPM. It does not correctly predict how good they will actually be in real world. Some of them do receive offers from overseas and some really did have stint outside. But there are other issues that affect decisions to go abroad than just how good they are. The same reason why we don’t offer good coaches from Thailand, Vietnam or Indonesia to work here.

3. As I mentioned before, the licensing are done by AFC. So as a representative, here in Malaysia, everything has to go through FAM. And to keep the standard, it’s understandable that FAM don’t just accept all application. There must be selection criteria. Instead of just speculating what the criteria might be in here, FAM is just a phone call away if you really want to find out.

4. FIFA World Ranking started in ’93 with Malaysia already at #75 so I don’t think Claude Le Roy alone deserves all the credit there for our highest ever achievement at #75. It’s not that we don’t hire foreign coaches. From the height of ’93 to our bottom abyss of #170 in 2008, we had 3 foreign coaches and do they stop the rot? No. Only after Sathianatan took over did we check the slide and improve our ranking which later proceed by Rajagobal. If all foreign coaches are so good, and the standard of SEA Games and AFF Cup are so poor, then why I don’t seen them winning it with one eye closed? As good as Bryan Robson, Vietnam’s foreign coach and Indonesia’s foreign coach is, they are still beatable to our ‘low standard local coach’ Rajagobal. And I don’t see their team made thaaatt good of a mark at Asia or world level either.

5. Trying to take Asean country to upper echelon of Asian football is no easy task and way harder than taking Middlesborough and Sunderland to mid table in EPL as Peter Reid and Bryan Robson know by now. I even think Sir Alex Ferguson and Kenny Daglish themselves will not succeed if they come here and expect the world around them to change according to their wimps and act and expect as if they are in England. I have more respect to foreign coaches like Alfred Riedl, Peter Withe, Henrique Callisto, Ken Worden, Karl Heiz Weigang, Robert Alberts and Radojko Avramovic who spend time in the region and understand the locals. It’s no surprise they succeed.

6. All coach, local or foreign, will not have the luxury of time to deliver. Rajagobal would not be here by now if Fakri Saarani did not score the injury time winning goal in that do or die match against Thailand back in 2009 SEA Games group stage. Ong Kim Swee already fearing for his future after knowing the grouping draw. That is normal. What advantage he and Rajagobal have over foreign coaches is head start in “knowing” the playing before they hold the job. And not during or after wards.

7. Since he was well trained in washing boots as an apprentice, why Tony Cottee throw a tantrum about washing boots. Some mental strength that. Over here, even primadonas have to wash their own boot. That’s how we do here. Deal with it.

8. We ranked higher when our league was semi pro because at that time overall interest in league and funding was much higher, and we don’t have to complete for fans with higher profile league like EPL at that time. Let’s face it. We are a nation of glory hunters who only support a team for selfish reason instead of for the good of community. And also because of the match fixing scandal. Not because of foreign coaches.

9. Since you are not saying foreign managers are necessarily better, and Rajagobal and Ong Kim Swee has proved that appointing them is hardly shooting ourselves in the foot, I think its better we stick with them for now until the circumstances arrive where we need to find a better candidate, be it local or foreign.

10. I agree on Teong Kim’s comment about infrastructure. Just because our country is wealthy and peaceful, most people assume our football infrastructure as good as Korea and Japan. Far from it. I define infrastructure as tools that help general public with time, space and guidance to play football. That’s why people in the slumps of Brazil can become a better footballer than people in rich neighborhood of Switzerland. With our kid’s evening s being used for tuition, fields being sacrificed for condominiums and no good teachers to teach football, our infrastructure are dead sucks and comparable to Laos, Vietnam, Myanmar and Cambodia. So we better get our ego in check.

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Dec 2 2011, 05:16 PM
aressandro10
post Dec 10 2011, 04:09 PM

121 posts

A 4 year old article that truly represents my opinions why our football is so bad...

July 16, 2007
Malaysian Football in a (Coco)Nutshell

Alas, it is that time of the year in the Malaysian Sports Calender where everybody inevitably points fingers, assigning the blame to someone, each one more adamant than the other that somebody else is to blame for the latest fiasco. I am of course, talking about Malaysia's latest outing in the international footballing arena. In our first game against China, we got smacked 5-1, while in the second game, we got whipped 5-0. Even the most optimistic of us can't pray for anything else other than a 2-0 defeat to Iran.

Yes, it has been that bad.

And so, true to the wise words of Homer Simpson (Why blame yourself when it is easier to blame others?) everybody has started pointing fingers even before the tournament had ended. Heck, the blame game started even before the players finished their post-game shower after the first game.

The coach has blamed some players for under-performing. The FAM have blamed the coach for wrong team selection, and the Malaysian football fans (this is a term I shall use very loosely for reasons which I shall elaborate further) have been blaming everybody. The only party involved who hasn't blamed anybody are the players, but that is because they are at the bottom of the food chain, and hence do not have anybody to pass the buck to.

But the sad fact is that EVERYBODY involved has to take some amount of blame. And by 'everybody' I mean the Malaysian football fans as well. Contrary to what we would like to believe, we are the ones sitting on top of the food chain - not FAM, not Sultan Ahmad Shah.

And so let us start from the very bottom.

It is very easy to blame the players. After all, they are the ones who actually determine whether we get a result or not. They are the ones performing, they are the ones who are the professional athletes. But is it fair? If we were Italians or Brazilians, we have the right to blame the players. But we aren't. Our world ranking of 149 is testament enough that we simply are not good enough. Iran is ranked 47, Uzbekistan 58, and China 76. Anybody who expected any other result would either be an eternal optimist, or an extremely deluded soul.

What can they do if they simply aren't good enough? What can they do if they simply aren't big enough or fast enough? When we look at other national sports, we can easily point fingers at the badminton players for lacking the fighting spirit (Hafiz) or being too cocky (Koo Kien Kiet). But for our footballers, or most of them at least, their problem is their lack of skill.

Certainly, some of them can take the rap for throwing in the towel before the final whistle had blown. In the game against China, we conceeded a soft late goal because the players couldn't wait for the game to be over and fell asleep. Against the Uzbeks, we conceeded two late goals because their minds weren't on the game anymore (more on this later). And yes, a certain portoin of the blame has got to go to the mindset of some of them.

Our star player, Akmal Rizal once had a stint in Germany but was unable to hold a place in the team. He later claimed he was homesick, couldn't get used to the weather and the food, and hence came back to be the Jaguh Kampung he undoubtedly is today. He, along with a few others failed to make the most of the chance given to them to improve their game and came crawling back to their comfort zone.

Then, if you listen to the FAM president, Sultan Ahmad Shah, the coach Norizan Bakar is to blame for our disastrous start against China. He claimed Norizan had messed up with his team selection, leaving Indra Putra and K. Nanthakumar on the bench.

Sure, it is easy to hurl such accusations with the power of hindsight. It isn't just in Malaysian football, mind you. Coaches all over the world get blamed for wrong team selection all the time, but the fans fail to realise that the coaches sometimes make these decisions because they know more about the players than the fans do. In this case, it was very obvious that Indra Putra did not start because he just came back from a long injury, as did Akmal Rizal. Starting with two half-fit strikers is never a wise thing to do.

I do not wish to be in Norizan's shoes. I am totally and utterly convinced that being the head coach of our national football team is the worst job in the country. You have nothing to work with, you have everybody shitting on your head, and you are expected to perform miracles. It is not a job even God could do. Being a national team coach isn't quite the same as being the coach of a club team.

If Sir Alex Ferguson identified an area of his squad that was weak, he could go out and buy players to strengthen that area. If he fails to do that, or makes a wrong signing, his head would be on the chopping block, and fairly so. Encik Norizan Bakar has no such luxury. These players are the best of the lot. These are the players he has to work with whether he likes it or not, or whether they are good enough to face Iran. What do we expect him to do when none of our central defenders have the ability to control the ball and keep possession?

But of course, he still must take some blame for the drubbing. It was suicide to play 4-4-2 against technically and physically superior teams. Realistically, we had no chance of winning, but if the players could keep it tight and frustrate the opponent, we could have nicked something from a set piece (which we are bloody good at). In Jose Mourinho's words, we needed to 'park the bus in front of the goal'. We needed to play 4-5-1 and put 10 men behind the ball at all times. Hit them on the counter attack, hit them with a set piece. We could have at least put up some sort of fight if we made it to half time still level, even if it meant that their keeper didn't need to touch the ball once.

Then there is the favourite bash toy of the fans - the Football Association of Malaysia. Of course, it is simple enough to blame them. They are the ones who run the game in the country. When all goes pear shaped, they should take the heat. And rightly so, for many issues. We have a piss poor youth development programme. The national league is in shambles as are the the State FAs. They are the ones who are responsible for hiring the coaches, setting up the training facilities and scouting for talent so when everything fails, it is most convenient to blame the FAM and the involvement of politicians in the scene.

But politicians have always, always sat at the helm of the FAM. From our beloved Tunku Abdul Rahman right to the present day, the FAM president has always been a politician or a Sultan. And when you think about it, it is not as if the FAM has not realised that the current state of affairs is dire. They have - and they have taken countless number of steps to prevent it from declining further. They have revamped and restructured the league system countless of times in the last few years. In fact, it was the current FAM president Sultan Ahmad Shah, who turned the league from semi-pro to professional.

And when all conventional methods had failed, they tried unconventional methods but to no avail. They tried to piece together a team of youngsters to try to qualify for the 2000 Olympics. More recently was the silly MyTeam competition(not sure how much the FAM was involved in this - but still..) It was a sorry excuse of a scouting programme, but nonetheless efforts were made. What can you do if at the end of the day, when all you have are players that are simply NOT GOOD ENOUGH?

Which makes me wonder...

Everybody seems to ramble on and on about our so-called 'past glories' and how far we had sunk since those days. Just what kind of 'glory' are we talking about here?! We never made it to the World Cup and only made it to the Asian Cup final twice ever in 1976 and 1980, where we didn't even make it past the first round. We go on and on about how it was such a great achievement that we had qualified for the Olympics in 1972 and 1980, but if you need a short history lesson, here's one. Before 1984, Olympic football was for amateurs. Professionals weren't allowed to participate because FIFA was afraid that it would cheapen the World Cup.

And if you look at the timeline, it is obvious that our period of 'dominance' only lasted about 10 years - that is one whole generation of players. This is our equivalent of Portugal's Golden Generation. For Luis Figo, Rui Costa and Fernando Couto, read Mokhtar Dahari, Soh Chin Aun and Arumugam. Malaysian football had never seen bigger stars and probably will never see bigger stars. Sometimes, as much as it belittles their achievements, the pure fluke of having a whole generation of great players growing up together and playing together will never be replicated. It was a one-off. Zainal Abidin Hassan and Dollah Salleh aside, there wasn't anybody to replace them, so in truth, Malaysian football had started its decline a long, long time ago.

And that brings me to the chief culprit in this whole football fiasco - the Malaysian football fans.

As I said earlier, that is a term I am forced to use very loosely because the sad fact is that Malaysians do not make good sports fans. We are 'glory hunters' in every sense of the term.

I never had the privillege to watch the great Mokthar Dahari. I never even had the chance to watch the 1989 SEA Games - the last time we actually won something. But the most common excuse people give these days is that we have had no success. It seems we only support our teams when they win, and abandon them when they lose. Sometimes I wonder whether we deserve world class athletes. In squash and bowling we have world champions, world beaters, but we do not support them much. Instead of watching Nicol's games, all we do is pick up the papers the next morning and go, "Oh, Nicol won again. Cool!" and then go back about our business as usual.

The stadium was less than one-third full for the China game and absolutely deserted for the Uzbekistan game. Where was everybody?! How can we complain that our team isn't performing well when we do not even bother to turn up to support them? As football fans, we all know the 12th man phenomenon is extremely important. But instead of being the 12th man for our own national side, we only serve to demotivate them.

Picture this. You are playing for your country. You are already losing 3-0 and fighting with your inner demons, trying your hardest not to cave in. Nothing has gone right for you all night. You have been outplayed and outgunned. The only thing left that can possibly motivate you is the knowledge that you are representing your country and that you do not want to let your fans down. And then you look up and look around you and find the whole stadium is deserted. And whatever 'fans' you actually have are morons who turn up just to boo and hiss at you. The fans who, instead of supporting you and your teammates, turn up with banners to proclaim how much you suck. f*** it. What is there to play for?!?!

And it's not just the Asian Cup we are talking about. Our players have ZERO experience playing in the big stage. Was it any wonder why we lost to Singapore in the penalty shootout in the ASEAN Cup the other day? The famous Kallang Roar turned our boys' knees into jelly. They were faced with a full-house stadium screaming and taunting them. It is safe to say that most of them, if not all of them have never, ever played in front of a packed stadium before. Nobody supports the local league.

Nobody bothers going to the stadiums to watch the league games. We all thought that the league was getting better a couple of years ago when people flocked to the Shah Alam stadium to watch Selangor. Turns out they were all Indonesian workers going to see Bambang Pamungkas. Imagine that sort of patriotism - hoardes of them going to watch a football game, week in week out just because their fellow countryman played for a team which they should have no alliegience to.

We blame the FAM for not being able to deliver. We expect them to devise a programme that can bring us success in 5 years. And when they try to do that, they inevitably fail - because we are too impatient. You cannot change the whole system in 5 or even 10 years. The whole system needs a revamp. Somebody needs to say to them, "We give you 15 years. Tear up everything. Start from scratch." But no, we expect results and we expect them today.

And without us, without the football fans watching the games, where on Earth are you going to find sponsors? You can talk about youth development and all that boo-hah but if there is no sustained interest from the public, where do you propose the money comes from? Have a nice look at the American NCAA. I never went to an American university but I hear the fan base is fanatical. The games are even broadcast live on TV and people tune in to watch! Then ask yourself if you would ever consider watching Malay College Kuala Kangsar versus Kolej Tunku Jaafar.

Somebody I talked to just now was ranting about how Malaysian football sucks (it really is the flavour of the day). I asked him if he watched the game and he replied he didn't. "What for support them la? They suck so bad!" I replied, "So why do you care if they suck if you don't bother supporting them?" I remember our Rugby Sevens team getting smacked 73-0 a few years ago. But nobody gave a hoot about it because nobody cares about Rugby Sevens. Similarly, if you don't care enough to watch the game, why do you care enough to complain?

Who in their right mind wants to play for the national team at the moment? Who in the right mind wants to be a footballer in Malaysia? You play in front of empty stadiums, get a crappy paycheck and at the end of the day get a barrage of abuses no matter how hard you play. People like Hardi Jaafar and Hairuddin Omar spent the last two games running after every ball, back tracking when the team needed them, playing to their strengths but instead of hearing people say, "At least you did your best" they get people spitting all sorts of abuse on them. That is assuming the public even knows their names, which I am willing to wager a jug of beer that none of you reading this can name our Starting XI.

Don't complain unless you are part of the solution.

Start going to the local league games. When we fill up the stadiums, sponsors will come. The money will inject just a little bit more glamour into the game. The players would know that they have something to play for. The kids, the 8 year old kids will look at footballers as their idols and that might inspire them to want to be footballers when they grow up. How do you propose a youth development system when the kids do not want to be part of the system in fear that they will grow up into a dead career?

The blame can go to the players, the coaches and the FAM. But as the fans, we must take responsibilty for abandoning the game in the first place, and then expecting it to flourish after we ignored it for years.

Posted by vincent at 1:21 AM
Labels: malaysian footy

http://hantubola.blogspot.com/2007/07/mala...n-nutshell.html

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Dec 10 2011, 04:18 PM
aressandro10
post Dec 10 2011, 04:59 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(azfamy @ Dec 10 2011, 04:45 PM)
^^
This should be published in printed media if not done so already. rclxms.gif
I wholeheartedly agree with your arguments.
its not my article though... credit to the blogger...
aressandro10
post Dec 12 2011, 06:03 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(FLampard @ Dec 12 2011, 02:08 PM)
was chatting with an ex - perlis player that day. He said he quit football because they owed him 4 months salary, and it appears this happens  commonly around in the industry.
QUOTE(ayanami_tard @ Dec 12 2011, 02:38 PM)
^that's what happened when some FA give too much attention on short term succes(trophy,cup,big name signing)...
FAs cant posibly have a long term plan because they only live on year in year out basis based on their sponsor. if their sponsor is a politician, the investment must give fruit within the 4 year election term and the FA's allocation are revised yearly based on that. A businessman wont invest in football at all as the the return of invesmeent target are sharper than politicians.

our state FAs dont have a long term asset of their own. that is the strong brand name and group of loyal fans who gurantee season tickets year in year out. even sucky teams in europe like norwich, hull or wolves can expect a decent long term support from fans. we dont.

its about time we also give that to our football team...

aressandro10
post Jan 4 2012, 08:00 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jan 4 2012, 07:47 PM)
http://football.thestar.com.my/2012/01/04/fam-in-la-la-land/

Someone define insanity please.

I posted before that the FAM need to eat a piece of humble pie and seek foreign help who have more experience in developing football. It seems however that we don't even need to look that far.
what are your opinion about the total chaos?
aressandro10
post Jan 6 2012, 09:13 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jan 6 2012, 07:02 PM)
Yup the academy is an important contribution of his. From what I know there are about 300 odd youth players there and the best players make the elite squad. Any idea why he doesn't encourage other states to do the same seeing as he is VP of FAM? Is it a money issue with the other states?
money issue. and also fan isssue. Kelantanese are a kind of special case.... other people when the come Kuala Lumpur, they slowly cut ties with their roots. Kelantanese stay kelantanese all the way...

VP of FAM does not have that much power to force people to do something. He did try to improved other states through FAM marketing arm MSL though. But there are sense that TSAM's influece is somehow curbed in FAM.

Added on January 6, 2012, 9:26 pm
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jan 6 2012, 09:38 AM)
In recent times I think we've proven we are a match for Vietnam.

Looking at your points :-

1. Football is a game we have all played at some point in our lives. It's been said that kids are discouraged to pursue it as a career by their parents because the financial gains aren't attractive. It's inconsistent if anything. Kelantan for example pays their players well as other state sides like Selangor. What about smaller states like Perlis though? I still hear about salaries owed.

2. Yea this is a problem. It's more than just a lack of fields though. There is very little effort put into player development. We spoke about academies earlier in the discussion. Heck, even our "world class facilities" aren't up to mark. Read The Star two days ago and our diving team had to go to China to train because facilities in Bukit Jalil were not properly maintained. This is Bukit Jalil we're talking about.

3. Sorry, don't follow.
if only the fact that football players are paid that much are highlighted more. Right now, the image that stuck in parent's mind is Kuala Lumpur's players unpaid salaries and players go broke after injured or retirement, and negative comment from about everyone about performance of our players which is not really a good motivation to shoe their children into..

parent dont care about high money for one season, the care more about stability and long term. Life as a footballer does not guarantee that.... Unlike in the EPL, one contract in malaysia does not set one for a lifetime....

but things are changing though.... the streak of success by the national team is slowly changing the orbit.... we can only see the result in the long term though..

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Jan 6 2012, 09:26 PM

0.0297sec    1.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:40 PM