9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

gsc
post Jul 17 2012, 12:12 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 16 2012, 11:46 PM)
last few years true, but after election, who knows? Wait next time MBB share drops to below RM4 again, buy, return >100% when market hot again.
today newspaper mention government is changing the Act to 60 years old with full EPF withdrawal...better take it out to play musical chair if anyone of you is qualify..??

gsc
post Jul 17 2012, 05:03 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(joycelyn33 @ Jul 17 2012, 03:18 PM)
if i wan to wirthdraw money from my fixed deposit, is that a must to go back to the home branch to withdraw? do they need fingerprint ? or just ic, i thought ask my sister to withdraw the money as i busy working on weekend, mine is public bank
public bank - must go back to the branch you open FD. Withdrawal must be done personally unless it is a joint account which applies to every bank.

Other bank like Citi bank has phone banking system which allow you to give verbal instruction to cancel or withdraw FD and transfer into saving/current account which you can withdraw...

gsc
post Jul 18 2012, 11:14 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 17 2012, 11:26 PM)
I dont know why you all wanna put long term (1 year and above) FD at the rate of 4% or less. Becos you all want only certain 'branded' type of banks?

The lowest (1 year and above) also at least 4.2%, anything less i better put it in my kids saving account also got 3% daily interest.

Sometimes i have some in transition, i put it for 3 months while waiting to be utilised, that also can get 3.6%. And this is no promotion , it is there most of the time.
......hs or even weeks certain time, i have FD matures just in case i need them.
mind share which bank give 3.6% daily for kid? 3 mth for 3.6%??

gsc
post Jul 19 2012, 10:24 AM

1,624 posts

UOB latest promotion till end of Aug

1 mth 3.2% (better than kept in Ocbc saving combo)
3 mth 3.5%
12 mth 3.6 %

Added on July 19, 2012, 10:25 am
QUOTE(yiyibrowers @ Jul 19 2012, 12:15 AM)
Ya, I also had the same thought.... Previously are more worth but nowadays I see all the promotional FD also not very high.... Recently CIMB going to lower the interest rate for the regular passbook saving account holder....
This post has been edited by gsc: Jul 19 2012, 10:25 AM
gsc
post Jul 19 2012, 07:04 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 19 2012, 12:00 PM)
UOB never post their promos on website doh.gif
not they never update...the update is uearlier........this promotion is replacing the one end on 15 Jul.

Ocbc promotion on FD usually happen quarterly.. the curent promotion will end Sept.......

gsc
post Jul 20 2012, 10:14 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(lee9171 @ Jul 20 2012, 08:22 AM)
Any minimum deposit for this entitlement?
gsc
post Jul 21 2012, 02:52 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 20 2012, 07:28 PM)
Yes that is correct

UOB Bank Latest Fixed Deposit Promotion Rates - Minimum RM10K. Effective 23 July 2012 till end of August 2012

1 mth 3.25%
3 mth 3.55%
12 mth 3.65 %

For PB Customers add 0.05% to above rates.
all 0.05% higher than I reported. Sorry if my info. was misleading. I get the interest rate through the UOB counter lady when I carried out my transaction at the counter.

gsc
post Jul 21 2012, 02:20 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 21 2012, 12:45 PM)
Thanks guy for the reply. I guess I will just not be stingy with the banker's cheque fee, going to home branch will cost me more.

Looks like banks are starting to churning out new promos. 3.65% for 12 months by UOB so fars looks good with no complicated step-up terms and no CASA required, unlike OCBC and HLB. Thumbs up.

Added on July 21, 2012, 12:46 pm
For sheapskate like me, the FOC is a thrill  biggrin.gif
it is called human nature laugh.gif
gsc
post Jul 22 2012, 02:02 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 21 2012, 08:46 AM)
Bro, the UOB FD interest rates you reported were correct for this week (16 - 20July). But effective next week, i.e. 23rd July, UOB increasing the rates by 0.05%. I guess many must be withdrawing they money and go deposit with OCBC or HLB and as such UOB had to made some adjustments to be competitive.
tq. for a moment I thought I gave wrong info. here .
gsc
post Jul 24 2012, 07:38 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jul 24 2012, 06:58 PM)
So u put in a total of rm190000.
50% (rm95000) in 5%FD,
Another 50% (rm95000) is split into :
1. rm79166.67(83.3% of rm95000) @ 4.5%FD
2. rm15833.33(16.7% of rm95000, NOT 20% as u previously stated) into smartsaver@3%.

Better than previous offer which were just launched early July. Wow.
earlier OCBC stated it needs the customer to put in rm300,000, with 50% (rm 150,000) eojoy 3 mths FD at 5% per year.

anybody has any new update on the top up on saving combo? Is it officially confirm?
gsc
post Jul 26 2012, 10:59 PM

1,624 posts

rm300 bonus from std chartered bank. is it per customer once only.?

gsc
post Jul 28 2012, 11:23 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jul 28 2012, 10:12 AM)
The original question from GymBoi was whether its more worth it to roll 3% 1 mth fd for 12 mth consecutively vs 12 mth 3.15% one placement. I merely correct the calculation as his calculation did not take into account compound interest.

Thanks Human Nature to clarify on behalf.. rclxms.gif

Just to clarify further, 1 mth fd rollover for 12 mths vs 12 mth one placement. Normal principle is 1 mth fd placement is better for small funds (5 - 20k) that there is a possible 50% odds that you may need to uplift it before the maturity date thereby losing the interest for the mentioned period. For me I placed it using eFD as it will be faster to uplift to savings account. For this the interest rate % doesnt really matter. Funds with a 25-35% odds (around 50 k) that maybe needed before mature date, i placed around 3 mth period. Funds higher(not needed) will be placed 12 mth FD. Usually we play musical chairs on fd placement period between 3mth - 12 mth though for retirees it will be better to placed at 60mth(read my lips BR) with interest monthly credited to savings account. My way only of course.. tongue.gif

Added on July 28, 2012, 10:49 am

thanks..
the compounded interest is based on the assumption that the monthly interest does not change throughout the twelve month periods which may be tough at this moment.

another way of playing musical chair is having FD mature every month, that will take care both short and long term (1 year) needs

This post has been edited by gsc: Jul 28 2012, 11:24 AM
gsc
post Jul 28 2012, 11:56 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jul 28 2012, 11:43 AM)
3% 1 mth 3.15 % 12 mth not that tough

Ideally place FD 12 mth mature every mth , but to take advantage of most promotion ie Premier Banking most of us lump up if possible so taking min sum at RM300k x 12=RM3.6million will be tough. Though some banks do offer competitive board rates, thats where I m concentrating at the moment. Butbased on my assumption that max emergency funds that is currently needed does not go more than RM20k, so quite safe. If emergency funds exceed 20k it means that there is no proper planning.  tongue.gif
every month rm300k? nobody is talking about this amount every month. If that guy has that much then he wont be playing muscical chair. icon_idea.gif Further more some banks provide similar offer to non-premier customer, UOB example.

I am just sharing alternative approach of playing musical chair. There is nothing wrong to need emergency fund exceed 20k, example medical needs. .emergency is something unplanned or couldn't be planned like natural disaster, accident...the emergency amount is also dependent on that person spending pattern.

gsc
post Jul 28 2012, 03:30 PM

1,624 posts

quick summary, detail refer to Bank website, May Bank not included as info. given are different and low compare to the following.

Best 1 month
Bank Rakyat, 3,26%, UOB 3.25%, Public - 3.1% (senior citizen)

Best 3 month
OCBC, premier 5%, saving combo 4.5%, mighty saver 4%
http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Pr...n=q3-fd-booster

HL Bank 2.95% + 1% =3.95% (best put in junior saving account)

http://www.hlb.com.my/promo/pfs/dep_bankwi...dex.jsp?s=promo

Best 6-Month
Kuwait FH - 4% for Gold and 3.85% for non-gold

http://www.kfh.com.my/kfhmb/v2/contentView...ion%2FI+am+look

bank rakyat - 3.75%

http://www.bankrakyat.com.my/web/guest/126

Best 9 mth
bank rakyat - 3.85%

OCBC 3.6%

Best 12-Month
bank rakyat - 4.01%
Kuwait FH - 4% for Gold and 3.85% for non-gold
OCBC - 3.8%

gsc
post Jul 28 2012, 04:58 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 28 2012, 04:37 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif thank you for the summary. Bank Rakyat the "winner" with 4 out of 5  smile.gif

To add to above,

Best 2 months - 5% for new CitiGold account up to RM200K  (last I checked - anyway if interested check with Citibank).

Best 3 Months - HSBC New Amanah Branch offer of 5% up to RM50K and RM100K for Advance and Premier respectively.
From the terms and conditions, it is not stated a new saving account needs to be opened unless you don't have one.
thanks for adding the info. HSBC new branch not happening in Penang, I missed it out.

Please take note bank Rakyat is not PIDM protected

This post has been edited by gsc: Jul 28 2012, 05:00 PM
gsc
post Jul 29 2012, 12:32 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jul 28 2012, 07:32 PM)
This is entirely the opposite, the officer that created the accounts told me that I must maintain the 20% of the FD amount in the saving account. To earn the 3% p.a. from the saving account monthly, I CANNOT do any withdrawal each month, if at least one withdrawal done, the interest will fall back to 0.5% p.a.
The staff is correct you must maintain 20% of the FD amount if you WANT to earn the 3% on the SAVING ACCOUNT. But if you withdraw it, you wont get the 3% on saving account but your FD still remain at 4.5%.

To earn the 3% in the saving account, two conditions, NO withdrawal and deposit minimum RM1000 per month

gsc
post Jul 29 2012, 02:29 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 29 2012, 01:27 PM)
Yah lah, I had to keep reloading the page to view my blog and related info  tongue.gif And I want to thank you for visiting it smile.gif

As for non PIDM, this was discussed previously and highlighted by cherroy that the government would not let them "wind up/collapse" without refunding back the money to the depositors (can't remember the exact words) and that's a fact as you pointed out once again above. For me, Bank Rakyat branches location not that "suitable" (must be something to do with politicians having a hand in it instead of proper studies carried out to determine convenience to customers and demographics of the area). Furthermore, they don't offer credit card that benefits me, haha.  And the joke is on those anti BN but depositing their money in a bank under the control of BN politicians (and thus in a way supporting them) to earn extra interest  tongue.gif

Having said above, many in this forum also got no confidence with the government with regards to their savings with EPF  tongue.gif

it may be true that government may back it up in case the nonn-PIDM bank is running into financial problem. But the key question will be, will the government return 1:1 on money deposited with interest (which I doubt) ?

on the other hand the so called PIDM backed up bank limit to rm250k only, for those premier customer like Ocbc and other banks. Your money is not protected after the limit.

in short, individual has to take a calculated risk on his own as this forum is only sharing info.
gsc
post Jul 29 2012, 03:11 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(penangmee @ Jul 29 2012, 02:33 PM)
Another point to be taken into account is timing. Account holders with PIDM banks are guranteed to get their money within a short time frame. A/c holders with Non PIDM banks may eventually get their money but WHEN?
haha, you are right, when? when durian runtuh

gsc
post Jul 29 2012, 04:37 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 29 2012, 04:15 PM)
true, so better go with the World's  Strongest Bank so that that physiologically we think our money will be safer with them and can sleep better tongue.gif
just curious when bank is having financial problem, where do PIDM get the money to pay the depositors?

Below link showing the financial performance of PIDM as of 31 dec 2011

http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIM...icle/index_html
gsc
post Jul 30 2012, 12:46 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jul 29 2012, 09:47 PM)
Bro, the years after 55 will be for relaxing/enjoying/taking up hobbies that during working years that we are unable to do.. tongue.gif

n please dont mention that high interest rates ..

If you read today news, EPF says quite a number of depositors nevermake it to age 60..

Most of us already had our chances in working life to achieved whatever we intended, at 55 its time to let go and let the younger generation have their chances in life. Its the same with politicians never learning when its time to go, get forced out more embarassing..

So far searching for bank runs, Iceland as mentioned by bro cherroy, guaranteed depositors to the full contrary to mentioned. Bro Cherroy, mind pasting the link so can read further to enhanced my understanding..of bank runs..
is it a fact ? EPF says quite a number of depositors never make it to age of 60 ? what is the percentage ? If true, then extending to the age of 60 for full withdrawal is bad for the depositors

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0446sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:57 PM