157 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Bottom

Rooting your Samsung Galaxy SII (I9100G), also updating/repairing a bricked one

creezalird
post Dec 14 2011, 11:50 AM

504 posts

QUOTE(hermanchb @ Dec 14 2011, 12:43 PM)
OIC ~! now i knew ~  thumbup.gif  TQ~!
added the informations inside pdf guide smile.gif
azomic
post Dec 14 2011, 11:52 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(creezalird @ Dec 14 2011, 11:19 AM)
i've put my heart in writing that guide. lols
lol.thanks, very useful. biggrin.gif
by the way, for now my phone is using superAtmos kernel, if i flash back to stock rom. my kernel is still remain superatmos right?

thus i don't need to flash back my kernel as i want to maintain my kernel and only to flash back to stock rom.
eddie2020
post Dec 14 2011, 11:53 AM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(creezalird @ Dec 14 2011, 11:50 AM)
added the informations inside pdf guide smile.gif
haha.. thumbup.gif each time ppl ask new thing add in Q&A biggrin.gif
creezalird
post Dec 14 2011, 11:57 AM

504 posts

QUOTE(azomic @ Dec 14 2011, 12:52 PM)
lol.thanks, very useful. biggrin.gif
by the way, for now my phone is using superAtmos kernel, if i flash back to stock rom. my kernel is still remain superatmos right?

thus i don't need to flash back my kernel as i want to maintain my kernel and only to flash back to stock rom.
for getting back stock firmware, there are only two ways

1) using CWM backup/restore, only if you have made stock backup from the first time

2) using Odin, reflash back to stock firmware, the kernel will be reverted back to stock. So you need to root it back.

My current phone : running stock, rooted with doomlord, flash superatmos kernel using ktool
azomic
post Dec 14 2011, 12:06 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(creezalird @ Dec 14 2011, 11:57 AM)

1) using CWM backup/restore, only if you have made stock backup from the first time

2) using Odin, reflash back to stock firmware, the kernel will be reverted back to stock. So you need to root it back.

My current phone : running stock, rooted with doomlord, flash superatmos kernel using ktool
oh i see. u do need to flash the kernel back. thanks!

i didn't back up my stock.woo..
rainbow6
post Dec 14 2011, 06:46 PM

532 posts

First try on the rooting with doomlord, failed.
A lot of errors when it tried to write the su apps. Will submit a screen capture if 2nd round fail again. On v3 first try.

Now on v2 and see, 10 minutes and still stuck at

[+] Found a GingerBread ! 0x0002e118
[+] Found a Samsung, running Samsung mode
[*] Scooting ...
[*] Sleeping a bit (~40s)...
[*] Waking !
[*] Sending 149 zerglings ...
[*] Waking !
creezalird
post Dec 14 2011, 06:56 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(rainbow6 @ Dec 14 2011, 07:46 PM)
First try on the rooting with doomlord, failed.
A lot of errors when it tried to write the su apps. Will submit a screen capture if 2nd round fail again. On v3 first try.

Now on v2 and see, 10 minutes and still stuck at

[*] Scooting ...
[*] Waking !
what kind of failure, the important failure notice is before the edit part, but hopefully u have already read my guide.

the stuck at "waiting!" is because u didnt reboot it manually before, as the last script didnt success on rebooting the phone automatically, so it kind of hang. reboot first before re-run modified script, follow my pdf guide.

This post has been edited by creezalird: Dec 14 2011, 06:58 PM
rainbow6
post Dec 14 2011, 07:13 PM

532 posts

This the 2nd try.
Still a lot of error. this is the runme.bat after edit.

@echo --- STARTING ----
@echo --- WAITING FOR DEVICE
@files\adb wait-for-device
@echo --- cleaning
@files\adb shell "cd /data/local/tmp/; rm *"
@echo --- pushing zergRush"
@files\adb push files\zergRush /data/local/tmp/.
@echo --- correcting permissions
@files\adb shell "chmod 777 /data/local/tmp/zergRush"
@echo --- executing zergRush
@files\adb shell "./data/local/tmp/zergRush"
@echo --- WAITING FOR DEVICE TO RECONNECT
@echo if it gets stuck over here for a long time then try:
@echo disconnect usb cable and reconnect it
@echo toggle "USB DEBUGGING" (first disable it then enable it)
@echo --- DEVICE FOUND
@echo pause
@echo --- pushing busybox

And this is the result after pushing the ram more than 500MB.
CONFIRM ALL THE ABOVE THEN
Press any key to continue . . .
--- STARTING ----
--- WAITING FOR DEVICE
--- cleaning
--- pushing zergRush"
1324 KB/s (23056 bytes in 0.017s)
--- correcting permissions
--- executing zergRush

[**] Zerg rush - Android 2.2/2.3 local root
[**] © 2011 Revolutionary. All rights reserved.

[**] Parts of code from Gingerbreak, © 2010-2011 The Android Exploid Crew.

[*] Scooting ...
[*] Waking !
[*] Sending 189 zerglings ...
[+] Zerglings found a way to enter ! 0x18
[+] Overseer found a path ! 0x000305e0
[*] Waking !
[+] Overseer found a path ! 0x000305e0
[*] Waking !
[-] Zerglings did not leave interesting stuff
--- WAITING FOR DEVICE TO RECONNECT
if it gets stuck over here for a long time then try:
disconnect usb cable and reconnect it
toggle "USB DEBUGGING" (first disable it then enable it)
--- DEVICE FOUND
pause
--- pushing busybox
1955 KB/s (1075144 bytes in 0.537s)
--- remounting /system
mount: permission denied (are you root?)
--- copying busybox to /system/xbin/
/system/xbin/busybox: cannot open for write: Read-only file system
--- correcting ownership
Unable to chmod /system/xbin/busybox: No such file or directory
--- installing busybox
/system/xbin/busybox: not found
--- pushing SU binary
failed to copy 'files\su' to '/system/bin/su': Read-only file system
--- correcting ownership
Unable to chmod /system/bin/su: No such file or directory
--- correcting symlinks
rm failed for /system/xbin/su, Read-only file system
link failed Read-only file system
--- pushing Superuser app
failed to copy 'files\Superuser.apk' to '/system/app/./Superuser.apk': Read-only
file system
--- cleaning
--- rebooting

----------------------

It didn't reboot

RattleSnaKe
post Dec 14 2011, 07:21 PM

244 posts

Guys I just got the I9100G and I am wondering how to change themes or launcher? Newbie here.
rainbow6
post Dec 14 2011, 07:24 PM

532 posts

Oops, silly mistake on the code. Instead of @echo to @pause, its @echo pause.
Shouldn't be doing this noob mistake. Trying again with the correct code.

Doesn't work. maybe my sgs already messed big time.
Time to odin flash root kernel.

This post has been edited by rainbow6: Dec 14 2011, 07:39 PM
premk71
post Dec 14 2011, 07:35 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(creezalird @ Dec 14 2011, 11:57 AM)

Sorry bumping the answer

For the original question many posts ago, the stock from downloaded from page 1 includes the kernel. If u use Odin to flash ,obviously kernel also go back to stock .

You cannot simultaneously flash stock rom and rooted kernel at one go. Both are selected by the PDA button in Odin.

Do 2 step if u have no cwm or backed up rom.

Time for picture tutorial ? There are so many in YouTube .

waveweaver
post Dec 14 2011, 07:42 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(RattleSnaKe @ Dec 14 2011, 07:21 PM)
Guys I just got the I9100G and I am wondering how to change themes or launcher? Newbie here.
You can change theme and launcher without rooting. Just download your preferred launcher from market then download suitable theme for that launcher.
Exp..install Go Launcher EX then get the various theme for Go Launcher EX
RattleSnaKe
post Dec 14 2011, 07:45 PM

244 posts

thanks for the heads up.
creezalird
post Dec 14 2011, 07:47 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(rainbow6 @ Dec 14 2011, 08:24 PM)

didnt even answer my question, did u read my pdf guide in my signature, if not, do it now.
totally dummy proof

Added on December 14, 2011, 7:48 pm
QUOTE(premk71 @ Dec 14 2011, 08:35 PM)
Sorry bumping the answer

For the original question many posts ago, the stock from downloaded from page 1 includes the kernel. If u use Odin to flash ,obviously kernel also go back to stock .

You cannot simultaneously flash stock rom and rooted kernel at one go. Both are selected by the PDA button in Odin.

Do 2 step if u have no cwm or backed up rom.

Time for picture tutorial ? There are so many in YouTube .
stock firmware can only be flashed with odin as it is not CWM flashable.

This post has been edited by creezalird: Dec 14 2011, 07:48 PM
gsan
post Dec 14 2011, 07:53 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

not sure what's going wrong...

today battery drain so fast...13h 15m only left 81%, screen only on 9min (no sms, no call, no fb, no wifi, no data on, no online, most of the time is idle)...thinking to flash back to myGKervel

This post has been edited by gsan: Dec 14 2011, 07:53 PM
creezalird
post Dec 14 2011, 07:53 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(rainbow6 @ Dec 14 2011, 08:24 PM)

u are doomed as if u read my guide properly, it is just easy matters, and doomlord method will never f*ckd up ur phone..never ever

but odin will or maybe can f*ckd ur phone

Added on December 14, 2011, 7:55 pm
QUOTE(gsan @ Dec 14 2011, 08:53 PM)
not sure what's going wrong...

today battery drain so fast...13h 15m only left 81%, screen only on 9min (no sms, no call, no fb, no wifi, no data on, no online, most of the time is idle)...thinking to flash back to myGKervel
man, give it a time for at least a few charging process, as u are flashing and flashing, the phone needs to adjust back its memory...lols

This post has been edited by creezalird: Dec 14 2011, 07:55 PM
premk71
post Dec 14 2011, 08:05 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(n00bz @ Dec 14 2011, 09:20 AM)
is it normal my usb for phone and ext sdcard so hard to detect in pc?..using superROM1.0+superatmos 1.1
Yup. Quite a few face this problem.Mine could not connect in kies mode. My solution is uninstall kies ,reboot ,reinstall latest kies from website, reboot, don't connect phone , open kies and dont run the update for Samsung apps in kies.chances are it will be corrupted. Then reboot .turn off internet to avoid finding driver from windows update. Connect phone.

Lot of mumbo jumbo? That's why I went back to stock. But seems not everyone face this problem. So I really don't know. Ha ha ha

Added on December 14, 2011, 8:12 pm
QUOTE(creezalird @ Dec 14 2011, 07:47 PM)

Added on December 14, 2011, 7:48 pm

stock firmware can only be flashed with odin as it is not CWM flashable.
Yes and that too. Bro I think you become busier now answering question .why people don't read the guide and Google around beats me .
Now I know why some forum the mods f*** people up.

If you free up I am sure you will release first Malaysian custom rom for I9100g .

This post has been edited by premk71: Dec 14 2011, 08:12 PM
creezalird
post Dec 14 2011, 08:17 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(premk71 @ Dec 14 2011, 09:05 PM)
Yup. Quite a few face this problem.Mine could not connect in kies mode.  My solution is uninstall kies  ,reboot ,reinstall latest kies from website, reboot, don't connect phone , open kies and dont run the update for Samsung apps in kies.chances are it will be corrupted. Then reboot .turn off internet to avoid finding driver from windows update. Connect phone.
Lot of mumbo jumbo? That's why I went back to stock. But seems not everyone face this problem. So I really don't know. Ha ha ha

Added on December 14, 2011, 8:12 pm
Yes and that too. Bro I think you become busier now answering question .why people don't read the guide and Google around beats me .
Now I know why some forum the mods f*** people up.

If you free up I am sure you will release first Malaysian custom rom for I9100g .
i am sometimes in between to be angry or helpful when asked same questions all over, and some people dont even care to read the simplest guide or even dont care to google around..sigh...

that is why some mods becoming mental with people around..lols

currently not really free, i am intending to cook one, but my cooking knowledge is kind of short at the moment, been busy preparing for my wedding for next week smile.gif
1wildcat1
post Dec 14 2011, 08:21 PM

I'm still a n00b :(
1,371 posts

Hey sifu, got any way to make the USB charging faster ka? So slow man X|
creezalird
post Dec 14 2011, 08:27 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(1wildcat1 @ Dec 14 2011, 09:21 PM)
Hey sifu, got any way to make the USB charging faster ka? So slow man X|
charging from pc/laptop of coz la slow meh..500mA output only..

go buy adapter with usb port support, sure much faster, check the output first

157 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:34 AM