20 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Rooting your Samsung Galaxy SII (I9100G), also updating/repairing a bricked one

creezalird
post Nov 18 2011, 08:17 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(premk71 @ Nov 18 2011, 02:02 AM)
After 42 attempts, my  stock ROM / Kernel 2.3.6 is rooted with Doomlord v3. Finally.

I always got mount: permission denied.

I have tried reformat phone. Downgrade with ODIN to 2.3.5 and try, upgrade back to 2.3.6 and try. Follow all the tips on Kies uninstall , reinstall, kill processes at task manager,  tried on 2 diff laptops, XP and Win7 ult 32 bit., Different USB ports, tried Doomlord V1,V2,V3, with and without the pause, extra pause, tried superoneclick,  Tried praying.

I am not sure why, dont kick me, This time the thing that "probably" did it is

a) Only left Kies with adb driver in my C.Uninstall myphoneexplorer, droid explorer, etc. My android SDK is in D:

b) After mount permission failed; the command will come out reboot.....and i had to wait for a long time for the ALL Done to appear. Normally I would yank out the phone and restart manually.Even if I switch it off, it will restart by itself.

c) This time, when mount: Permission Denied came on, and reboot statement at the end, I left the phone attached to USB and was doing my work. And I saw after ~ 10 mins phone restart by itself.

d) I didnt go into task manager to kill ADB.exe, rather, I just re -ran the batch file with admin rights. And bingo it worked.

So if u got chronic case like me, try that. If mount permission denied comes up. Let the command come on, All Done, phone reboot by itself and run again without killing ADB.
Never give up.Never.
not up to 42 but maybe around 12 T_T and still without success and the same permission denied problem, tried ur methode but even after 30min my phone didnt reboot itself...T_T
creezalird
post Nov 19 2011, 09:21 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(4686nicky @ Nov 19 2011, 10:04 PM)
I failed root my SGS2-GTI1999G
Anyone have an idea to guide me to solve following issue from the pictures?
so far there is no definitive solution for the permission denied problem because i also have that and been searching around, reading every post, testing every suggested solutions, but still with no luck.

currently waiting for someone to come up with perfect solution
creezalird
post Nov 20 2011, 05:16 PM

504 posts

keep on trying even though i also am without success T_T
creezalird
post Nov 21 2011, 11:49 AM

504 posts

actually how many of you out there, successed in rooting i9100G 2.3.6 using the doomlord script method?
creezalird
post Nov 21 2011, 12:05 PM

504 posts

yeah..saw u there too..lols.. anyway if anyhow someone already come with the KJ2 original kernel so that i can use the 2nd method, maybe i will give it a go..but till now, waitin and waitin..
creezalird
post Nov 21 2011, 06:06 PM

504 posts

after some reading around, it is possible something like this :

1) for those already rooted with 1st method (doomlord), can u install the ktool from market and dump the kernel as zImage

2) as i understand, this will be like the stock kernel for 2.3.6

3) upload the kernel for further usage

if i am mistaken, do tell me smile.gif

ps : still cant root my device with 1st method
creezalird
post Nov 22 2011, 10:37 AM

504 posts

it seems like beside 2.3.6, there is another factor why some of us cant use the doomlord method (every version). i read somewhere, maybe this bug has been patched by Google and depends on when the 2.3.6 firmware is compiled, maybe because some of us just recently updated to 2.3.6, the most recent build is already patched, it is just a BIG maybe..huhu
creezalird
post Nov 22 2011, 01:15 PM

504 posts

install kies..DONE
usb debug,unknown sources..DONE
adb driver..DONE
kill kies related apps..DONE
edit script..DONE
run script..Zerglings did not leave interesting stuff
creezalird
post Nov 22 2011, 03:06 PM

504 posts

yes..so far all mentioned factors here have been tested..i am not really sure anymore what or where is the problem
creezalird
post Nov 22 2011, 03:39 PM

504 posts

just received my jig today, maybe if i'm in the mood, i will start to venture into real flashing..lols
creezalird
post Nov 22 2011, 04:06 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(mr.haqeem @ Nov 22 2011, 04:46 PM)
teach me ur method   sad.gif

Added on November 22, 2011, 3:50 pm

u cant root with jig aite? just to enter download mode if ur button combo dun work..  sweat.gif
of coz cannot la..haha..it is just precaution tool if i somehow flash wrong file or something happen that i cant get into download mode. because i'm planning to experiment with many things like self extracted kernel and bootloader and etc

Added on November 22, 2011, 4:09 pm
QUOTE(ekestima @ Nov 22 2011, 04:53 PM)
Can any help, after i downloaded Kies 2.0 when i tried to install it keeps asking me to connect to internet even though I'm connected to internet via Maxis BB ody. Can any help?

Thx
i'm not sure, but guessing here, how large the installer file for that kies 2.0, if it is kind of small like few MB only, maybe that is an online installer which required u online during installation

if the size around 86MB, then it should be installing just file without internet connection

This post has been edited by creezalird: Nov 22 2011, 04:09 PM
creezalird
post Nov 22 2011, 06:07 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(hermanchb @ Nov 22 2011, 06:04 PM)

Added on November 22, 2011, 5:43 pm
How much for the JIG ? need to insert every time when restart the phone?  ohmy.gif
jig i bought for rm15 only.
not needed everytime, just needed when u want to reset binary counter (old bootloader only) or sometimes when u got hang/crash, cant get into download/recovery mode. but these are based on my readings only, haven't use it myself tongue.gif
creezalird
post Nov 22 2011, 06:15 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(mr.haqeem @ Nov 22 2011, 07:08 PM)
if found something new..dun 4get bout me k  thumbup.gif
sure will share here if i found anything useful smile.gif, currently slowly learning the android structure first..lols

QUOTE(remy_ymer @ Nov 22 2011, 07:10 PM)
try donlod sdk from this page http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html
donlod android-sdk_r15-windows.zip
dan install dlm pc..then u try root pakai v3...
SDK already installed since a year ago, so i think, it will no influence the process right?
beside ADB also called from the folder and ADB driver also comes together from KIES installation if i am not mistaken.

creezalird
post Nov 22 2011, 08:03 PM

504 posts

mine is not rooted, virgin from shop.
upgrade through KIES to 2.3.6
creezalird
post Nov 22 2011, 08:16 PM

504 posts

i think people those succeed were using the flashing thru odin upgrade instead of thru KIES. maybe the provided firmware 2.3.6 is compiled before any new patch from Google.
creezalird
post Nov 22 2011, 08:32 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(fauzi_91 @ Nov 22 2011, 09:18 PM)
i upgrade my phone thru kies..n i successfully root my phone..=)
hate myself when i have no more ideas why i couldnt root my phone.. i've tried every possible solutions. T_T
creezalird
post Nov 22 2011, 08:57 PM

504 posts

one question, i just downloaded the 2.3.6 firmware from the link provided on the first page. it is a zip file consists 2 files inside :
- I9100GDZKJ2_I9100GDZKJ2_I9100GOLCKJ2_HOME.tar.md5
- SS_DL.dll

i'm confused about the "SS_DL.dll", should i flash as one zip file or just the md5 file? thanks
creezalird
post Nov 24 2011, 02:04 PM

504 posts

i think the "universal androot" will not work on our device as this method is already outdated and even at that time, it still wont support our device

only either doomlord(zergrush) , superoneclick(zergrush) or rooted kernel can accomplish rooting in our device for this moment
creezalird
post Nov 24 2011, 03:45 PM

504 posts

so far none, i've tried even superoneclick but still without success.
i've been planning to do the 2nd method
creezalird
post Nov 24 2011, 04:29 PM

504 posts

why the lose of apps? only flashing kernels, so other apps should be untouched. only the binary counter and yellow triangle will appear

20 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:58 AM