Tp Link TL-MR3420 3G/3.75G router owner club V1

digilife
post Oct 28 2012, 08:26 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(hairul @ Oct 28 2012, 08:06 PM)
My Cooling System.
Using Cooler Master Fan 120 X 120 x 25mm..
Bought this Fan Not because its Cheap (RM 19), but the CFM is High Enuff (90 CFM) compare to other Expensive DC Cooling Fan. (Modem Cover its open)
http://www.lelong.com.my/cooler-master-90c...3-07-Sale-P.htm
IDM.JPG
My Current Speed Via IDM (8 COnnection)
Coverage Strenght Less than 19%, I think no need for External Antenna.
The signal interference from the step down transformer is killing your 3G signal dude............. icon_idea.gif

Cant you just buy an AC Fan doh.gif
digilife
post Oct 30 2012, 12:46 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(chulk @ Oct 30 2012, 10:22 AM)
lol bro my signal strength only 58%. consider average or awful?

i did put on a strainer but remain the same 58%....
just buy a Patch Antenna, simple thumbup.gif
digilife
post Oct 30 2012, 09:07 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(ajoi57 @ Oct 30 2012, 08:26 PM)
still fail to update... my bad... revert back to tplink again and must read more before try again..
is it easy to revert back to stock FW if the OpenWRT fails?

i dare not touch it till now cool2.gif
digilife
post Oct 30 2012, 11:54 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Oct 30 2012, 11:35 PM)
You can't use it as antenna you can use it as reflector but not accurate too, I personally tested even modified my modem to the LNB and the effect is not significant compared to those actual antenna.

Get a proper antenna if you need it laugh.gif
Panel Antenna, the smarter choice.

digilife
post Nov 2 2012, 07:26 PM

8,025 posts

Bought this from LYP yesterday

and i disable WiFi, use LAN only

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
digilife
post Nov 2 2012, 07:42 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Nov 2 2012, 07:28 PM)
wont be interested at all in V2 unless it support openwrt, and 8Mb flash memory  shakehead.gif

if u want that speed, move to penang island ( penang road, ) i guarantee you get that speed anytime,.. not only spikes for few second but stable consistent too  brows.gif

try openwrt first
i am not good at flashing and wont use my router for 24/7 ~ scare kena brick for no reasons tongue.gif

i guess openwrt wont helps much in my case, i only use the router to have a better DL speed compared to raw plug-in which the usb wont be able to supply enough power. if i need to use WiFi, i will only enable it. I tested by disabling WiFi the router performs much better interms of DL speed thumbup.gif

rm85 for a V2, memang berbaloi cool2.gif
digilife
post Nov 3 2012, 08:03 PM

8,025 posts

MR3420 V2, simple and short review

Rm85 @ LYP

Nothing special, just cooler, no need extra fan, you see its bottom and you understands why no need fan.

Another good feature, Side modem plug-in, better reception compared to V1 (back plug-in).

digilife
post Nov 3 2012, 08:57 PM

8,025 posts

@Chuah,

You should try Tomato firmware on Asus RT-N15u, rm189, support 3GUSB modem

http://www.linksysinfo.org/index.php?threa...y-tomato.37175/

This post has been edited by digilife: Nov 3 2012, 09:04 PM
digilife
post Nov 3 2012, 09:10 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Nov 3 2012, 09:02 PM)
bit complicated as well  rclxub.gif

but is enough now as whole combination is complete

E372 hauwei set on UMTS2100 only  + TL-MR3420 V1 ( openwrt ) + Panel antenna + Cat 6 Lan =  thumbup.gif
trust me, this setup can only satisfy you for only 60days , or less, cause by that time some dude will showcase a much better Router for you to "waste" your $$

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

btw, money is for to be used , not keep in the bank, who knoes, one day we just die without notice icon_idea.gif

digilife
post Nov 3 2012, 09:19 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Nov 3 2012, 09:12 PM)
your signal so bad, u really need a "PAnel Antenna",..

i tested it under heavy rain & lightning just now,. he he.. never change a bit, super stable  thumbup.gif
nvm, lower signal have its advantageous geh...... icon_idea.gif

i wan CONSISTENCY je...........
digilife
post Nov 4 2012, 12:55 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(wavezard @ Nov 3 2012, 11:45 PM)
Guys, i saw price of tl-mr3420 at Giant batu caves

TL-MR3420 V1.2 -RM179
TL-MR3420 V2 - RM179
i just bought V2 , rm85 from All It Hypermarket, Lowyat Plaza.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...post&id=3136107

This post has been edited by digilife: Nov 4 2012, 12:56 AM
digilife
post Nov 4 2012, 07:07 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(fayerboll @ Nov 4 2012, 02:03 AM)
mind sharing what is the different between those two version beside their looks and 4G supported?
V1 use 192.168.1.1 , set only Lan connection

V2 use 192.168.0.1 set WiFi and Lan connection

use V1 on usb3G modem than LAN out to V2 ( set this accept connection via LAN as main and another usb modem as backup )

you get super consistent and very responsive connection too icon_idea.gif

thumbup.gif

if you could afford a more expensive router like Asus RT-N15u, (reference price rm189, support 3GUSB modem too)

use it as the second router

If you only have one usb modem and only one simcard, use LAN only on second router as below

WiFi from my V2 is not bad too,

via i3Gs on WiFi

This post has been edited by digilife: Nov 4 2012, 08:13 AM
digilife
post Nov 4 2012, 08:21 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(rifle_m16 @ Nov 4 2012, 08:15 AM)
I've discovered something funny this morning.

I have 1 CAT6 network cable, the length is 2 metres.

The other 1 is standard CAT5 cable, length is about 1 metre, that comes with TP-LINK 3420 V2.

Been trying both cables, plug in, plug out for several times for 3-4 minutes and seems like the CAT5 cable gave me better pings than the CAT6.

Is it because of the length or what?  hmm.gif

Pings with CAT5
[attachmentid=3136864]

Pings with CAT6
[attachmentid=3136865]
try to gulung the Cat6, i dun even touch the Cat5 that came with the mr3420, terus use Cat6 and its 3 meters long too
digilife
post Nov 4 2012, 02:24 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(malaysianbest @ Nov 4 2012, 02:07 PM)
Hi there ?

Frequent disconnection

Over the last 2 days my connection is always get disconnected after 2
hours and when i try to reconnect it failed then i have to wait 1 or 2
hours to get back online

any solution ?
easy la...........

tweet Maxis Listens or call 123 and complain, tell them that you will also write to MCMC and take down his name too
digilife
post Nov 5 2012, 09:33 AM

8,025 posts

MR3420 V2

1) much cooler than V1

2) WiFi problem solved after latest FW update, faster than PC connected to LAN cable, proof as below

digilife
post Nov 5 2012, 02:14 PM

8,025 posts

Is this one gooding?

digilife
post Nov 6 2012, 12:43 PM

8,025 posts

MR3420 V2 + MF680

This post has been edited by digilife: Nov 6 2012, 01:26 PM
digilife
post Nov 6 2012, 02:39 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(danieltan @ Nov 6 2012, 02:16 PM)
if V2 compare with V1.3 with openWRT.

I would say V1.3, Winner
My ms showing around 4x which consistency and stable

If V1.3 without openWRT, definitely V2 the Winner
Temporary not sure does all seller still selling V1. It worth to take risk to brick to openwrt.

But if pair with panel antenna, definitely should be over way stable like openwrt. XD
I wont flash my MR3420 V1, cause its not available anymore. Want to keep that for collection purpose. I bought it for rm50, used set biggrin.gif

DDWRT is much stable, maybe i will buy a Linksys WRT54GL flash with DD-WRT V24 SP2 Special Firmware Special Edition , no need the hassle to flash and get headache tongue.gif

Now i am thinking of using a secondary USB modem to backup my connection, incase the main one decide to go on "leave", Celcom as backup via MR3420 V1 connected via the LAN port of the V2 hmm.gif
digilife
post Nov 6 2012, 02:41 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Nov 6 2012, 02:31 PM)
yea you bet, am waiting for convertor to pair my ZTE MF680 with my Panel antenna,.

so u can imagine the ZTE MF680 speed monster + panel result =  icon_idea.gif
how good your connection also cannot fight with Off Line from Maxis if u dun have a backup icon_idea.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif
digilife
post Nov 6 2012, 03:10 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Nov 6 2012, 02:58 PM)
You are rich in budget to spend for anything in your gadget, of course you can,

well, many here is not as rich in budget as you,.

so have to plan well before buying , TL-MR3420 V1 flash with openwrt is superb good enough,.

unles V2 is compatible with openwrt or else i will stay with my V1
speed with tl-mr3420 V1 openwrt + zte mf680
i guess result say it all ?  biggrin.gif

First, i am not rich, just a normal guy that earn less than most of you guys here.

Its my passion on Internet & Networking that made me spend on these gadgets. I dun smoke,drink,gamble and "Cheong", so i can afford my gadgets icon_idea.gif

Anyway, the Linksys router that i intends to acquire cost only rm250 and Celcom SKMM only rm25/mth ( this is only for backup purpose~ browsing , no DL ) brows.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif

btw, you are lucky to stay in a place where Maxis Rulez thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by digilife: Nov 6 2012, 03:11 PM

14 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0407sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:39 AM