8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Nokia N9 - V02 - [Fluidity King For Nokia], Let~~~ SWIPE~~~ all~~~ the~~~ way~~~

eaglehelang
post Nov 23 2011, 12:56 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Nov 23 2011, 12:12 PM)
Of course lah, Andy. Symbian is Symbian, N9 is N9. Ovi store cheated me on one paid app. It's supposed to allow me to download free up to 10 times but the second time it asked for payment. Emailed them quoting their email payment confirmation but got no reply. Luckily only RM2.00 lost but still, the pain....aargg!
weird leh. Which app? All the paid apps i bought can re download, no extra payment. I re download 2 to 3 times some more cos re install pr 1.1 update.
eaglehelang
post Nov 23 2011, 01:06 PM

1,075 posts

Ha ha, thats nice. But logic is the same app for symbian cannot work for meego, os different.
now aspire mention, i remember wallpaper can work for both. I had a few wallpapers from symbian that automatic appear on n9, can re download free. Apps i dont see any from symbian, but then those i use symbian one and n9 one is different - like youtube downloader, symbian one i think wouldnt be compatible with meego.

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Nov 23 2011, 01:08 PM
eaglehelang
post Nov 23 2011, 02:30 PM

1,075 posts

haiseh, its not like spend hundreds on apps. I think i spend less than RM20 on n9 apps. Even if change brand/os to android, still need to buy apps.
eaglehelang
post Nov 26 2011, 03:39 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(Similan @ Nov 26 2011, 01:04 PM)
peeps,
do ur fone get very hot quite quickly when web browsing on 3g?
mine happens after abt 15 mins...
what you browsing on 3g until so hot? LOL. I browse using 3g 2 to 3hours then only it feels hot.
eaglehelang
post Nov 28 2011, 02:28 AM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Nov 28 2011, 12:55 AM)
Multiple numbers yes but not multiple numbers of same category!

Same issue as WP7 Mango. U can only add 1 or each (either mobile, home or work). What if u have 2 mobile number? Cannot right? Both iOS and Android can specify more than 2 mobile numbers.
just add in the 2nd hp no to home or work category. No big deal, considering I also use for work related hp nos. It works, I have tested.
If not enough,can add in abc2 as contact.

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Nov 28 2011, 02:40 AM
eaglehelang
post Nov 28 2011, 01:57 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Nov 28 2011, 09:15 AM)
It is very silly considering the outdated E61 can add multiple mobile numbers. Creating a separate contact is very lame and messy. I prefer my contacts neat and tidy - been doing housekeeping since the Android days.

Nokia needs to address this issue. Why broke something useful in Symbian for new phone?
like we said, no need create another contact, just add in under home or work, same as adding another mobile no.
personally, I prefer having 2 like ahmad1, ahmad 2. 1 for main and/or work, no 2 for 2nd line/personal. Then no need think which is which, click on tbe name, immediately call. I find this method more 'neat and tidy' than having to look at 5 nos and think which work no,2nd work no,etc,etc.

still, not big issue, and not main reason why i would choose one brand over another.

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Nov 28 2011, 02:03 PM
eaglehelang
post Nov 29 2011, 10:08 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Nov 29 2011, 06:43 PM)
I don't know about special animation in WP7. I think splitting a photo into a few parts and rotating the parts endlessly is idiotic but that's just my opinion. If you want special effect try playing a video on the N9 and swipe partially. You'll see the video keep playing while the background screen appears. This is true multitasking. Try that in WP7 and it will probably explode.  biggrin.gif
LOL. N9 can play video in the background with Open Video Player while I do other tasks, nice for playing music videos. Stream youtube also can, with cutetube biggrin.gif . Later lah, if calmshot wants to install those non Ovi Store stuff, he/she will have lots more fun brows.gif

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Nov 29 2011, 10:10 PM
eaglehelang
post Nov 30 2011, 02:55 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Nov 30 2011, 02:14 PM)
I downloaded a 720p video from YouTube; Play in N8, smooth.
Play in N9.... very lag, like 1fps or slower
720p is like that in n9, whether avi, mp4 or mkv. Already extensively discussed in maemo forum, sthing abt lack of certain chip, n8 has it, n9 no.
vlc player also cannot play 720p, only addition is vlc can play rmvb.

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Nov 30 2011, 02:58 PM
eaglehelang
post Nov 30 2011, 03:02 PM

1,075 posts

well, in addition to all the negatives already stated abt lumia 800, battery life also is a problem. Lots of complaints in nokia support forums.

me more glad n9 is released in Msia, the mat sallehs in US,Europe no choice, unless they import.

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Nov 30 2011, 03:04 PM
eaglehelang
post Nov 30 2011, 03:55 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Nov 30 2011, 03:16 PM)
Not
Not all 720p, I have many 720p, so far only one of it having such problem.
I tested with 720p mkv 6 channels,720p mkv h264 - these are direct downloads. For tvb series, 720p mkv, 720p mp4. These cannot play but not an issue for me.
90% of the vids i download are avi, xvid anyway.
smaller file size compared to 720p.

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Nov 30 2011, 03:56 PM
eaglehelang
post Nov 30 2011, 05:03 PM

1,075 posts

I am refering to playing the videos without having to convert. It depends on what format the uploader upload it.
I have found that for english tv series, the 720p format available cannot play properly. This refers to all current tv series and movies.
same goes for tvb series in 720p mp4 and mkv. Avi can play.

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Nov 30 2011, 05:09 PM
eaglehelang
post Dec 1 2011, 12:08 PM

1,075 posts

calmshot, they are sellilng the silicon case at the nokia dealers. Cyan is going for RM69. I read a few pages back there's promotion at KL side,RM59.
eaglehelang
post Dec 1 2011, 02:35 PM

1,075 posts

tctham, what are the major stuff you do on a smartphone. N9 has rather good social networkintergration. Good multitasking.

I find the old symbian 60v5 has more 3rd party apps compatible to it than symbian anna like certain ebook readers, games.
eaglehelang
post Dec 1 2011, 04:38 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(tctham @ Dec 1 2011, 02:58 PM)
thanks a lot people!! smile.gif truly appreciated it. smile.gif

now what's left is to ask maxis:

"maxis, y u no have nokia data plan for N9?"

note: i did ask them, will they have it? and if they do, when? smile.gif

Added on December 1, 2011, 2:59 pm
have no fear, i love long reviews.. esp those non-biased that will state the good and bad.. cuz i owiz like to look at bad side 1st.. most important is whether can i live with the bad.. if i can, then i dun mind other things edi.. smile.gif
maxis dont have contract for n9. I am using maxis prepaid, so i subsribe the data plan according to usage. Maxis 3G is fastest and best coverage in my area, kampung also can gwt internet line.

for me, main disadvantage of n9 is no sd card slot,battery not user removable, cannot play rmvbvideo with stock player, not compatible with certain ebooks that i use. They support symbian but not meego. N9 has a ebook reader app that can read in epub format, so no prob for most commercial ebooks.

one of the things i find unique to n9 is community support. 1st time got after sales service from the developer of the app, haha. Just post query,bugs in maemo forum, the developer will reply.

T

Added on December 1, 2011, 4:43 pmaspire, maxis mobile internet got 100MB per month kah? 100MB for 2 weeks got lah.

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Dec 1 2011, 04:43 PM
eaglehelang
post Dec 1 2011, 04:48 PM

1,075 posts

after pr1.1 update and with dolby sound enabled, n9 speaker is louder
eaglehelang
post Dec 1 2011, 04:55 PM

1,075 posts

I just checked *100#. It's 2 weeks, 100mb for RM18. Monthly one starts 500mb and its RM68 not RM58. same info on my nokia E6. Oops, just read its postpaid. Prepaid they gave notification when reach quota, if want control further, dont leave a lot balance, they cant charge if its 0, LOL.

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Dec 1 2011, 05:02 PM
eaglehelang
post Dec 1 2011, 05:30 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 1 2011, 05:21 PM)
Office got UNIFI. At home got UNIFI too. So data plan for the N9 is 100MB is sufficient already. How you finish your 3GB i curious? I only use the 100MB when i am not at home or office but is still enough for facebook, twitter and foursquare
because at office you use office wifi. If dont work in office, need to use 3g. 100mb per month is not enough even for casual surfing.

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Dec 1 2011, 05:31 PM
eaglehelang
post Dec 1 2011, 09:13 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Dec 1 2011, 08:54 PM)
Just tried Firefox 11 beta for N9. It's fast, it's smooth and so powerful it brings a tear to my eyes to have this on my mobile.
Please lah, under have a tear so dramatic, worse than ladies tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Dec 1 2011, 09:13 PM
eaglehelang
post Dec 1 2011, 09:48 PM

1,075 posts

Firefox 11 still slower than the stock browser but browser can turn all 4 sides- top, bottom, left, right.
eaglehelang
post Dec 1 2011, 11:38 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(loserkidz182 @ Dec 1 2011, 11:10 PM)
how to download firefox 11 on n9? cant find at nokia store...
LOL, Nokia store dont have one. One of community made one.
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=79461&page=2, click on the link in post #20

- Save the file in your PC/laptop
- connect your N9 to your PC, choose mass storage
- Copy/move the file to Downloads or Documents
- Enable developer mode on your N9, enable "allow installations from non store sources"
- Use the File Manager(download one from Ovi Store if you have not done so) & go to the folder where you copied it, say User/My Docs/Downloads
- double tap on the file, it has 11.0 in it
It will auto install

Added on December 1, 2011, 11:44 pmThose new owners, you can also install Opera Mobile on your N9
http://everythingn9.com/page/2/
http://everythingn9.com/opera-nokia-n9/

Of course, video buffs like me like Open Video Player the most, will support the developer if/when he puts it to Ovi Store.

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Dec 1 2011, 11:48 PM

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0499sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:38 AM