5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Video/Audio Cover Song Collaboration, Polling for new cover

TSkillerkamote7
post Dec 27 2011, 11:01 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(CDGmaboroshi @ Dec 27 2011, 07:32 AM)
Hope you're listening in headphones when you're mixing cool.gif

are we all in sync..? i'm still kind of concerned about the lack of unity in the tempo&nbsp; hmm.gif
Near the end is pretty weird!&nbsp; rclxub.gif
Yup I'm using headphones during mixing, that's why I've noticed some hum on 0:15 on the first verse.

Well, it synch better than before. I'll do some fine tuning later on when all tracks are complete. I'm still experimenting with alot of things in Ableton haha.

How weird? Is it a bad or a good thing? After all, this is a cover, we're not supposed to follow exactly like the original haha

This post has been edited by killerkamote7: Dec 27 2011, 11:02 AM
TSkillerkamote7
post Dec 27 2011, 01:52 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Dec 27 2011, 01:20 PM)
download reaper from http://www.reaper.fm , then try to import all the audio files to check if they're in sync.

it's simply too weird to be off sync if you simply import the audio files and do nothing.

also, remember to set the tempo first before you import anything, you may not realize some DAW will stretch or shrink the audio file when you adjust the tempo. great feature for "beat making" geared DAW like Ableton but a disaster for mixing.

by the way, i can probably record my violin for some bass notes by pitch shifting them down so the intro won't sound so "floating" due to lack of bass notes. or you can do something with the guitar? laugh.gif
Will check on Reaper later.

Actually here's what I did. I make sure when I select the audio track, the 'warp' function is always turned off. In Ableton, if you turn off this feature, it will always follow the general tempo that you keyed-in at upper right corner near the menu. After I've done that, I mark where the first beat should be and i zo0m to that area and drag the entire audio track to where it should be. For example, the violin track and bass track I know exactly where the first bass note should hit, so I drag the bass track to coincide or synch with the violin track.

If there were out of synch portions later in the track do you think it's probably because of human error during playing/recording? If so, then I may need to cut portions of the track to compensate on the general tempo.

No need to re-record the violin track. It's supposed to sound like that anyway, unless you have a cello to record with.
TSkillerkamote7
post Dec 27 2011, 02:29 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(CDGmaboroshi @ Dec 27 2011, 02:21 PM)
i think our pianist died sad.gif
Then we need to bury our dead. How about a Viking funeral (insert touh0u background music here) rclxms.gif

QUOTE(little ice @ Dec 27 2011, 02:05 PM)
there seems to be no problem with what you did. i believe you're well aware of the warp setting or beat detecting or something like that and keep it off so i try to look into the problems on other area. like you said, it could be human playing error. i'm trying to download the tracks just to double confirm though it'll take a while since those are big files.

by the way, another common practice is to align the beginning of the audio track so that it starts precisely from zero. in other words, when bouncing the track, leave exactly one bar at the beginning so no need to drag the audio track and re-sync by aligning to the graph/grid, much like what you did with the midi mockup track - i just import it, set grid "snap" on, and snap it right on the 2nd bar, then i start record. the midi mockup followed tightly with the metronome.
Actually you can immediately notice that all tracks were not in their proper tempo setting when imported to Ableton. You can see the native tempo right below the Warp button were different for all tracks. I'm not sure why, but probably its a wild guess from Ableton. Read something about Reaper that you can put beat markers and convert it to tempo markers hmm.gif

This post has been edited by killerkamote7: Dec 27 2011, 02:34 PM
TSkillerkamote7
post Dec 30 2011, 05:06 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(CDGmaboroshi @ Dec 27 2011, 05:29 PM)
sad touhou for the dead

Added on December 28, 2011, 10:51 amare you sure we had a pianist? I don't see pianist on the first page of this thread.

Added on December 30, 2011, 10:41 amThis thread has very low activity...

If we're going to be this laggy, I'm afraid this will be the first and last cover I may provide. Good luck with the other drummer and other participants in the future.

I might as well take my leave if there's no flight.
Understand that it's the holidays bro. Am sure once the holidays are over we can go back to the usual pace.
I'm currently looking for other female vocalists as there's no response from Kaoru. sad.gif

For the next cover, I shall look for committed members that can deliver on time as promised. When we give a word that we will provide the track by this date, I think we should be responsible enough not to break promises.

I hope you would stick around. We'll have the gears running again after the holidays, actually I'm thinking what's the next cover would be. Deadfrog suggested 'Rolling in The Deep'. To be able to pull that off, we need a nice female vocalist. Any other suggestions anyone?

P.S. I found a Keyboardist/Pianist, problem is she doesn't have any recording equipment. I'm still looking for others..
TSkillerkamote7
post Dec 30 2011, 10:18 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(nabzblitz @ Dec 30 2011, 10:15 PM)
Kaoru is still MIA eh? do you just want me to do the entire vocals or you wanna keep looking for a female? haha
Please do the entire vocals if you can smile.gif

Kinda sad we're bottlenecked..
TSkillerkamote7
post Jan 4 2012, 10:06 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(rarap @ Jan 3 2012, 04:23 PM)
killer,i think its a good idea for u to update 1st post or put in the title that were searching for a female vocalist.it will attract more attention if its stated there
Done! Updated in the first post. Looks like it won't be completed before I go. I will be out of the country for 2 weeks, hopefully by that time we already found a female vocalist. Planning to start the next collab in early February. Not sure if I will create another thread but most likely it will be privately communicated between members only.

I have learned alot doing this with you guys and I hope you will all stick around for more biggrin.gif
TSkillerkamote7
post Jan 23 2012, 11:39 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(theTall @ Jan 17 2012, 02:08 AM)
Im a freelance audio engineer with experience and qualifications from NZ. Im currently in msia visiting my parents and would love to get a side project done. I have my equipment with me (mics/preamps/etc etc). If you're a solo musician looking to record some of your own work or a group thats keen on getting a proper recording of their songs, PM me! (:
I'll mix and master the track for you.
Can you do it for free? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(rarap @ Jan 22 2012, 07:52 AM)
any update about the progress?any success in finding another vocals?has nabz recorded the chorus part?
Hi Bro,

I just got back from the holidays. I am still looking for female vocalists, unfortunately I couldn't find any yet.
Will post some updates soon. smile.gif
TSkillerkamote7
post Jan 25 2012, 11:53 AM

418 posts

Will check it out later bro, thanks!

I agree Key of D is a bit of a stretched. I sang this song live (acoustic) at Key of C instead and I still suck:

Anyway, I've finished editing all the videos and included my additional guitar track too.
I think I can finish the final work this weekend rclxms.gif

Added on January 26, 2012, 12:11 pmI have good news, someone is returning so I'll wait for a few more days wink.gif

I promise you guys that final track would be awesome ;D

This post has been edited by killerkamote7: Jan 26 2012, 12:11 PM
TSkillerkamote7
post Jan 27 2012, 09:36 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(rarap @ Jan 27 2012, 09:30 AM)
thats a very good news if shes back smile.gif nabz,nice cover.sure hard to do those alone..
Ya she's back and she says s0rry smile.gif

Nabz is a one-man band rclxms.gif Btw, dibs on the tshirt laugh.gif

So, what's the next cover? Let's try to have the violin track incorporate into the cover, that would be nice. brows.gif
TSkillerkamote7
post Jan 28 2012, 12:03 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Jan 27 2012, 11:34 AM)
Female vocalist,  still open?
what song?
Hi there!

Yes, you can join as backup to Kaoru, as the seat is given to her as our main female vocalist.
We don't know yet what song to cover after this. Will keep you posted. Thanks!

Guys,

I was bored tonite so I did some additional guitar riffs on 00:30-00:39 (clean), 1:18-1:33; 1:58-2:12;2:49-3:55, I think it's too much doh.gif
Anyway, I'll redo my parts that i dont like after I have the female vocals. Here's the spoilt version:
http://www.mediafire.com/?2kikgso7122inq1
TSkillerkamote7
post Jan 31 2012, 09:59 AM

418 posts

Haha you're so0 near meh, I'm just around the corner LOL.

Important Update: Got Kaoru's vocal parts (but no video yet), I'll add it in this weekend.
TSkillerkamote7
post Jan 31 2012, 11:34 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(rarap @ Jan 31 2012, 03:50 PM)
nice.
suddenly got an inspiration.how if we cover paradise by coldplay next?  icon_idea.gif
We have to wear the elephant suit too? OMG hee

QUOTE(deadfrog @ Jan 31 2012, 05:15 PM)
want to try Bizarre Love Triangle?
You mean this?

note: fun starts at 1:00. Should be awesome if Kaoru will sing this, as per original female vocals biggrin.gif

QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Jan 31 2012, 10:14 PM)
hey everyone...

SO.....SOORRRRY for my  er...MIA....just managed to climb back from hell T_T
SO so so sorry....

eh...just noticed...some of u r from Cyberjaya??
Me live in SK, work in Cyberjaya XD
Wow, the 3 of us should meet there some time. How about at DOMAIN? tongue.gif
P.s. Kaoru, I forgot you have to send me the video track too.

This post has been edited by killerkamote7: Jan 31 2012, 11:40 PM
TSkillerkamote7
post Feb 1 2012, 09:34 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(rarap @ Feb 1 2012, 12:38 AM)
Wearing the elephant suit is just nice tongue.gif
thought the original of bizarre love triangle is by new order rite?which 1 is sang by a female
Haha look when they played it live, they were still wearing that suit haha

Yup, original by New Order, but its acoustic and kinda boring. The female vocal was fantastic though.
A rock cover was made by The Speaks, I like that band alot smile.gif
TSkillerkamote7
post Feb 5 2012, 04:17 PM

418 posts

SOME UPDATES:

ALMOST Final AUDIO track completed. Based on the feedback from our guys, I have re-edited some parts, though its far from perfect:

http://soundcloud.com/marksherman/secrets-...ration-cover-by

This should be it [including the vocals]:
http://soundcloud.com/marksherman/secrets-by-one-republic

and this is the Instruments only [backing track]
http://soundcloud.com/marksherman/secrets-...umental-backing

I will let Nabz and Kaoru decide whether they want to redo the vocals or not.

This post has been edited by killerkamote7: Feb 5 2012, 07:53 PM
TSkillerkamote7
post Feb 5 2012, 04:50 PM

418 posts

Ouch! Maybe you can point in where it sucks lol
TSkillerkamote7
post Feb 5 2012, 05:13 PM

418 posts

Yup, the last part is totally way off synch. I wanted to make only one vocal towards the end but both vocals have some lyrics/pitches wrong, maybe both of them should redo that part. One to sing the chorus and one to provide backup vocal.

Or maybe I should delete all the vocal parts and send to them both the instrumental portion only and then re-record theirs. Well, if they got time, else I can't do anything much.

Added on February 5, 2012, 5:17 pm
QUOTE(CDGmaboroshi @ Feb 5 2012, 04:45 PM)
Amazing...

I'm sorry to disappoint you sad.gif

This post has been edited by killerkamote7: Feb 5 2012, 05:17 PM
TSkillerkamote7
post Feb 5 2012, 06:45 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(rarap @ Feb 5 2012, 05:18 PM)
vocal parts are difficult.people will hear them 1st.small mistakes can screw the whole song...

Added on February 5, 2012, 5:39 pmmy suggestion is to not make double vocal.try make them alternate between each other on the 2paragraphs of the last chorus.should save much more trouble than to record back.and hope u can resync kaoru vocals on the 2nd and 3rd chorus.the mistake part can be discarded IMO
OK, I have removed the double vocals, and alternate only. I made nabz sing the last part only, except the last '..all my secrets away'.
Resynch kaoru's 2nd and 4rd chorus too and discarded the female rap parts.

Here it is, at least abit better haha
http://soundcloud.com/marksherman/secrets-by-one-republic

TSkillerkamote7
post Feb 5 2012, 07:25 PM

418 posts

I know both of them aren't Robbie Williams or Avril Lavigne, but yes we can still improve. I've posted the Instruments only track without all the vocals. I will let the two of them decide if they want to redo the vocals or not. Else, its pretty much the final one.

Here's the BT:
http://soundcloud.com/marksherman/secrets-...umental-backing
TSkillerkamote7
post Feb 6 2012, 11:15 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(rarap @ Feb 6 2012, 08:49 AM)
Ok,the new one is not perfect,but better.its not bad for a 1st try.
Nice job for vocals,not yet for an idol contest or recording company,but still,u guys pass for a utube cover.both of u have good vocals.only need to adjust feels n dynamics.
Killer,keep up the good work,but honestly,i love ur overdo version more than this one tongue.gif
deadfrog,little ice n maboroshi-u guys sure are at different level already
I learnt a lot from this project.ill surely improve in our next cover(if we plan any).i myself has some timing problem here and there.well,this is my 1st time using daw,make recording and create my own bassline.its a very good experience smile.gif
Hey rarap, you wana redo the last bass parts? We still have time haha
TSkillerkamote7
post Feb 7 2012, 02:19 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(rathead @ Feb 7 2012, 01:04 AM)
hello guys,
count me in as a drummer.
currently recording using garageband for drum covers.

more rooms for improvement i guess..
what songs to collaborate for 2nd project and when?
Sure you can join, you're welcome.
Have not decided yet on the next cover song, I'm still looking for something that will fit Kaoru's and Nabz voice, and to include violin track as well.
Planning to start as soon as this first cover is done, hopefully by end of month.

Meantime, here's something to put smile on your face icon_idea.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0349sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:09 AM