Discussion for Good Harddisk, Harddisk Discussion
Kataro
May 22 2008, 08:58 AM
QUOTE(ssiapf @ May 21 2008, 07:43 PM) why is it my seagate 320g hdd only got 297g recognised by xp, where is the 23g space go? what should i do to get them out? I remember someone has made a post about this in the previous page in this thread...not remember which page, he has explaining why you will see less capacity in windows...
s[H]sIkuA
May 22 2008, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(ssiapf @ May 21 2008, 07:43 PM) why is it my seagate 320g hdd only got 297g recognised by xp, where is the 23g space go? what should i do to get them out? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gigabyte#Definition
diehachi
May 23 2008, 01:04 AM
anyone here had experience using WD express to RMA their WD hdd? link >>> http://websupport.wdc.com/warranty/rmainfo...nd&rnd=05512049
jasonkwk
May 23 2008, 05:00 PM
anyone know what is the formula to calculate how many GB u lost (the difference between advertise value and the real one)?
diehachi
May 23 2008, 07:37 PM
(advertise value x 1000 x 1000 x 1000) divide by (1024 x 1024 x 1024 (or 1073741824) = equals to the size/value detect by the OS eg: (120GB x 1000 x 1000 x 1000) / (1024 x 1024 x 1024) = 111.75GB >>> 8.25GB lost from 120GB *advertise value (such as 80GB, 120GB, 160GB, 250GB, 320GB and so on) ps: correct me if i'm wrong
borneo
May 23 2008, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(sotong168 @ May 22 2008, 06:27 PM) bought WD GP (green power) as external hdd, the hdd is environmental friendly, it consumes less power and thus runs slower & produces less heat. but to my surprise, even it is slower compare to normal WD 7200rpm, but from the review it is faster than seagate barracuda 7200rpm source: http://www.techarp.com/showarticle.aspx?artno=511seagate's SV series also like that....optimized for low-power requirements. Performance sure lower compared with mainstream ones. any comparison with 7200.11? 32mb version just bought this one... i think its very worth at rm390 for 750gb. Just cant figure out why should one would go for WD for about the same price with only 3 yrs warranty compared to 5 yrs.
jasonkwk
May 23 2008, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(diehachi @ May 23 2008, 07:37 PM) (advertise value x 1000 x 1000 x 1000) divide by (1024 x 1024 x 1024 (or 1073741824) = equals to the size/value detect by the OS eg: (120GB x 1000 x 1000 x 1000) / (1024 x 1024 x 1024) = 111.75GB >>> 8.25GB lost from 120GB *advertise value (such as 80GB, 120GB, 160GB, 250GB, 320GB and so on) ps: correct me if i'm wrong  yes you are correct! btw, anyone know how much the difference between 16MB and 32MB HD cache for us end user? I tried storagereview.com and google but cant find it.
diehachi
May 23 2008, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(jasonkwk @ May 23 2008, 10:35 PM) btw, anyone know how much the difference between 16MB and 32MB HD cache for us end user? I tried storagereview.com and google but cant find it. there is a difference but to measure how much the difference, errr only the manufacturer know i think below quote by http://techreport.com/articles.x/14380QUOTE(techreport.com) Interestingly, Western Digital is sticking with a 16MB cache for its new Caviars. Hitachi, Seagate, and Samsung have all put 32MB of memory into their latest drives, leaving the Caviar looking a little light. However, WD says it has done extensive performance profiling that shows little benefit to jumping from 16 to 32MB of cache.
jimmydotnet
Jun 3 2008, 01:10 AM
QUOTE(diehachi @ May 23 2008, 07:37 PM) (advertise value x 1000 x 1000 x 1000) divide by (1024 x 1024 x 1024 (or 1073741824) = equals to the size/value detect by the OS eg: (120GB x 1000 x 1000 x 1000) / (1024 x 1024 x 1024) = 111.75GB >>> 8.25GB lost from 120GB *advertise value (such as 80GB, 120GB, 160GB, 250GB, 320GB and so on) ps: correct me if i'm wrong  cemerlang siot~~!!!
dlwl
Jun 3 2008, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(kevyeoh @ May 19 2008, 08:16 AM) dude...i have 2 Hitachi hard disk failing within 1 month...the disk just KO just like that.... like my C:, it just hang...and after restart...cannot detect the hard disk at all liao... i think Hitachi is the worst for me...cause all my life use HDD, never kena this kind of failure... my previous wan...Maxtor or Seagate or Quantum all also use until i sell off or send to dell for recycling also no problem also... whoa..sad to hear that man, hopefully mine wont suffe the same fate as yours, it's already running about 6 months+ d..use it to install my games and store movies since it has 16mb cache. i bought this coz last time it was cheaper than other brands at the same capacity, and even the salesperson recommended me this model, it seems he's been using hitachi too, torrenting 24/7 without probs.
Aquariusdenz
Jun 3 2008, 07:47 PM
woot! still got ppl support hitachi.. haha.. no offence lah.. i just want to say that hitachi is not a specialist HDD maker... if we can get more reliable brand like WD or seagate.. why not go for it?
nimrod2
Jun 4 2008, 09:17 AM
i'm using a seagate 250gb hdd.the only reason i chose it was coz of the 5year warranty.
is westernd better compared to seagate? my friend said his friend that works in seagate told him that westernd got alot of returns on their hdd.
prelude23
Jun 4 2008, 10:06 AM
Alright guys, wanna ask you guys some question.
Currently I have a 200gb and a 250gb harddisc on my desktop. My PSU power is 300W Real/Pure Power and 600 Max/Peak power. If I wanna buy another 500gb harddisc, can my PSU support it?
Kataro
Jun 4 2008, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(prelude23 @ Jun 4 2008, 10:06 AM) Alright guys, wanna ask you guys some question. Currently I have a 200gb and a 250gb harddisc on my desktop. My PSU power is 300W Real/Pure Power and 600 Max/Peak power. If I wanna buy another 500gb harddisc, can my PSU support it? Please post your whole rig spec so that we can help you better...other part in ur rig suh as gc will effect whether ur psu can withstand the extra hardware install...
Justeafy
Jun 4 2008, 12:15 PM

Hi all can I ask some questions I have a WD 74gb Raptor and I want to increase storage capacity but still keep the fast speed, so what should I do? Get another Raptor 74gb or can put a Raptor X 150gb with my currently using Raptor 74gb. thx
prelude23
Jun 4 2008, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(Kataro @ Jun 4 2008, 10:25 AM) Please post your whole rig spec so that we can help you better...other part in ur rig suh as gc will effect whether ur psu can withstand the extra hardware install...  Here's my rig: AMD Athlon 64 3000+ | Asus A8N-E | GF 7600GS | 512mb DDR | 250GB Seagate HDD | 200GB WesternD HDD | Samsung DVD Rom | LG DVD RW Thats all I think. So if I attach another 500GB HDD, will it be overloaded?
dlwl
Jun 4 2008, 07:08 PM
what PSU are you using?
G_KeN
Jun 4 2008, 08:42 PM
is there any significant differences when using raid on hdd??
sand king
Jun 5 2008, 02:07 PM
wah....i c many ppl say the maxtor hdd no really gud leh.... but yesterday i just bought the maxtor 250gb hdd.. how i do now????? This post has been edited by sand king: Jun 5 2008, 02:08 PM