57 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Bottom

Huawei Honor/(Glory), Huawei Glory turns Honor (U8860)?

JackeyZash
post Apr 23 2012, 04:42 PM

Hey guys , I was thinking of getting this phone somewhere in May but I was wonder how much would the price be ? Does the back white casing comes along with the phone itself ? Is the phone available at almost all shops or only certain dealers ? yawn.gif
adfy
post Apr 23 2012, 10:13 PM

141 posts

So far I don't see the price going down. Maybe when Huawei release the Ascend P1 in Malaysia we see a bit price drop. Then again maybe not. If Ascend P1 prices goes around 1.4k-1.5k I don't see it going down for quite some time.

If you can wait for it to come down then do so. I am a happy user and for me it's worth the purchase. The battery is quite good if you do not turn on the data switch all the time. Rules of thumb, use only what you want and turn it off when you don't. I think it goes to every other phone and the outcomes really depends on you.

Every phone has limited battery power source. Unless they come up with a battery that is better sustaining battery technology at about the same cost we are going to be stuck with what we have right now.
alyone
post Apr 23 2012, 10:23 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(adfy @ Apr 21 2012, 05:59 PM)
1. Can sync Google Calendars, Photo in B978.
2. GAPPS enabled by default.
3. Rootable.

Yes all your things will be disappear. My advise is :-

1. Backup your contacts to Google.
2. Backup your sms, photos, musics, videos to your pc. Go to your sdcard and check them up. Better if you just copy the whole sdcard to your pc just in case. Make sure any backups using any tools can be restored back like the sms.

That is what I know.

So far I have tried these ROMS and my conclusions are :-

1. GB B866 - Fastest, rootable with only one method I can find so far.
2. ICS B972 - More feature, rootable but slower. No sync with google calendars and photos. ROM hard to find nowadays.
3. ICS B977 - Don't know. I choose not to upgrade to this version online. No comment.
4. ICS B978 - Rootable. Slower than GB but more features. Able to sync with google calendars and photos. This is my current phone firmware right now and I basically got all what I want. Slower than GB yes, but to me I prefer feature in compensation of a bit lower speed.

I am one happy user right now!

rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
thank you for your kind reply!! appreciate!! biggrin.gif
will try whn im free to move all my stuffs >.<
Klemann C
post Apr 23 2012, 10:45 PM

481 posts

any honor 2.3.6 user encountered auto reboot issue?
mine getting quite rampant doh.gif
smatdesa
post Apr 23 2012, 10:50 PM

57 posts

I plan to get this within the next week or so, usually what's the stock OS version provided?

And the phone can use instagram yes? Getting one for the missus.
adfy
post Apr 23 2012, 11:31 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(alyone @ Apr 23 2012, 10:23 PM)
thank you for your kind reply!! appreciate!! biggrin.gif
will try whn im free to move all my stuffs >.<
Have fun with the phone! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Added on April 23, 2012, 11:39 pm
QUOTE(Klemann C @ Apr 23 2012, 10:45 PM)
any honor 2.3.6 user encountered auto reboot issue?
mine getting quite rampant  doh.gif
As far as I known when I used the Android 2.3.6 there is no auto reboot event happens. Auto reboot would happen when I run an application and then it stuck for quite a long time ~2-5 minutes. If I leave the phone alone/use for phone calls/type mesg/surf the internet/do social networking etc it never auto reboot.

What ROM version you are using? Is it the B866 that are provided in the Huawei Honor world web site or others?

Added on April 23, 2012, 11:41 pm
QUOTE(smatdesa @ Apr 23 2012, 10:50 PM)
I plan to get this within the next week or so, usually what's the stock OS version provided?

And the phone can use instagram yes? Getting one for the missus.
I got mine with ICS 4.0.3 ROM version B972. Yours might vary. Don't worry about it. There's always the internet to get other ROMS.

This post has been edited by adfy: Apr 23 2012, 11:41 PM
Klemann C
post Apr 24 2012, 12:04 AM

481 posts

yes,I'm use official B866 worldwide version....
exactly same what u had mentioned....stuck when running apps or sometimes not responding it would reboot....
adfy
post Apr 24 2012, 12:47 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(Klemann C @ Apr 24 2012, 12:04 AM)
yes,I'm use official B866 worldwide version....
exactly same what u had mentioned....stuck when running apps or sometimes not responding it would reboot....
What I did was I reset the phone to factory default. The speed of GB does feels better than ICS. I feel it is "lighter" so it is more responsive and a lot less delay rather in ICS. However the feature in ICS just gets to me LOL.

After that don't install a lot of programs, just those of essentials and see what happens during a few days of playing around.

These are the programs that I used during the test:-

1. Document To Go
2. Facebook, Twitter, Whatsapp, Draw something, Youtube.
3. Video player
4. Music player
5. Go Power Master
6. Onavo Data Count
7. App2SD
8. Titanium Backup Root
9. Go Keyboard
10. Adobe Flash
11. Instagram
12. PicSpeed Wallpaper
13. A few games but nothing big

Try to reset (mind you, backup your stuff from the sdcard first), install only essential apps that you will use and use it for a couple of days. See whether there is a problem of auto reboot. After that, try installing one of your favorite app and use it a couple of times to see whether that app is the one triggering the auto reboot. Keep repeating the steps until you found the one apps that is making the phone unstable.

This is a suggestion only. You can try it yourself of keep searching for the answer in the net.

I think the more apps that you installed the more requirements of the background activities is being done thus eating up more memory and CPU resources.

Talking about memory, try checking the amount of memory left. And I mean RAM, not Internal Storage or External Storage (sdcard).

Well, best of luck to you! rclxm9.gif
Dan Peng
post Apr 24 2012, 11:31 AM

107 posts

How do i use custom ringtones for this phone? I cant find the directory to place my own ringtine into the folder.
adfy
post Apr 24 2012, 12:59 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(Dan Peng @ Apr 24 2012, 11:31 AM)
How do i use custom ringtones for this phone? I cant find the directory to place my own ringtine into the folder.
If you want to do a custom ringtone from mp3 files, try installing Ringdroid from Google Play Store. It allows you to edit a portion of your favorite mp3 songs to become your ringtone. Save it to your sdcard and set the call ringtone in your system setting menu.
adelyn0910
post Apr 24 2012, 02:33 PM

42 posts

What a let down as my area here didn't even selling Huawei Honor sad.gif
Go through few kedai and found nothing regarding Huawei... ><
deadravel
post Apr 24 2012, 06:10 PM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(adfy @ Apr 24 2012, 12:59 PM)
If you want to do a custom ringtone from mp3 files, try installing Ringdroid from Google Play Store. It allows you to edit a portion of your favorite mp3 songs to become your ringtone. Save it to your sdcard and set the call ringtone in your system setting menu.
hey man!
i found the original stock GB rom tat came with huawei honor in malaysia (stated by huaweidevice MY facebook)
http://www.huaweidevice.com.my/file/downlo...sia%20Only).zip

its build U8350 V100R001C00B625(Malaysia Only). keat brows.gif
dl-ing now. haven try it yet. LOL

erm. btw. i juz found out U8350 is huawei boulder. and this is boulder rom @@?
wtf huawei malaysia put boulder rom in honor tat place rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by deadravel: Apr 24 2012, 06:23 PM
Dannyl
post Apr 24 2012, 06:54 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

This phone is officially supported by MIUIAndroid. I'm impressed.

QUOTE(Dan Peng @ Apr 24 2012, 11:31 AM)
Create your own.
/mnt/sdcard/media/audio/notifications
/mnt/sdcard/media/audio/ringtones
/mnt/sdcard/media/audio/alarms
adfy
post Apr 24 2012, 10:00 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(adelyn0910 @ Apr 24 2012, 02:33 PM)
What a let down as my area here didn't even selling Huawei Honor sad.gif
Go through few kedai and found nothing regarding Huawei... ><
Where are you located? You can always try to go nearby town or city. If it is too far you can always try the internet shop but be careful of non famous one.

Added on April 24, 2012, 10:10 pm
QUOTE(deadravel @ Apr 24 2012, 06:10 PM)
hey man!
i found the original stock GB rom tat came with huawei honor in malaysia (stated by huaweidevice MY facebook)

its build U8350 V100R001C00B625(Malaysia Only). keat  brows.gif
dl-ing now. haven try it yet. LOL

erm. btw. i juz found out U8350 is huawei boulder. and this is boulder rom @@?
wtf huawei malaysia put boulder rom in honor tat place  rclxub.gif
This ROM is not for Huawei Honor I think.

This post has been edited by adfy: Apr 24 2012, 10:10 PM
deadravel
post Apr 25 2012, 11:24 AM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(adfy @ Apr 24 2012, 10:00 PM)
Where are you located? You can always try to go nearby town or city. If it is too far you can always try the internet shop but be careful of non famous one.

Added on April 24, 2012, 10:10 pm

This ROM is not for Huawei Honor I think.
i feed back to huaweidevice aldy..
and they already uploaded a honor rom notworthy.gif

this is the official honor GB rom rclxms.gif
adfy
post Apr 25 2012, 07:16 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ Apr 25 2012, 11:24 AM)
and they already uploaded a honor rom  notworthy.gif

this is the official honor GB rom  rclxms.gif
Nice! I'm downloading it now. Might want to try it soon.
iceman89
post Apr 25 2012, 10:37 PM

20 posts

wanna downgrade it?? not sure abt this. perhaps u can ask huawei staff at https://www.facebook.com/HuaweiDeviceMY =)
adfy
post Apr 26 2012, 09:23 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(iceman89 @ Apr 25 2012, 10:37 PM)
wanna downgrade it?? not sure abt this. perhaps u can ask huawei staff at https://www.facebook.com/HuaweiDeviceMY =)
I have done the downgrade from ICS to GB and back to ICS before. The process is the same, just put the UPDATE.APP file in the dload folder of your sdcard and choose Software Upgrade inside the System Settings-->Storage of your android phone.

Please note that this involve using stock ROM only. Additional steps are needed for using custom ROMs.
waisang
post Apr 27 2012, 01:26 PM

588 posts

waited long time still no official ICS releae sad.gif
adfy
post Apr 27 2012, 08:10 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ Apr 25 2012, 11:24 AM)
and they already uploaded a honor rom  notworthy.gif

this is the official honor GB rom  rclxms.gif
Weird. I tried with the Malaysian ROM. It did not have Malay language, only Indonesia. Thought Malaysian version means English, Malay, Chinese, Tamil etc.

Switching back to ICS.

Added on April 27, 2012, 8:47 pm
QUOTE(JackeyZash @ Apr 23 2012, 04:42 PM)
Hey guys , I was thinking of getting this phone somewhere in May but I was wonder how much would the price be ? Does the back white casing comes along with the phone itself ? Is the phone available at almost all shops or only certain dealers ? yawn.gif
Well get it as fast as you can! It is a good phone. Too bad no white casing. Only black one in Malaysia unless you bought outside or in the internet. Maybe some will see casing as accessories. Who knows.

Soon it will be a widespread and every seller will sell one too.

Better using than waiting.

This post has been edited by adfy: Apr 27 2012, 08:47 PM

57 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0361sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:37 PM