5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Huawei Honor/(Glory), Huawei Glory turns Honor (U8860)?

adfy
post Apr 15 2012, 12:24 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(hkboey @ Apr 14 2012, 10:19 PM)
Plz get the fact right and dont misleading. Both GB B876 and ICS B978 can be rooted and have no calendar sync problem.

What's wrong with Google Play that need to be fix?
I said :-
GB 2.3.6 - I can't root it so far... cannot find anything that will do it. What I didn't mention is the B876 or whatever version. I am using B666. Please don't simply shoot me without really understanding what I am talking about.

ICS 4.0.3 - Can be rooted. When did I said I am using ICS 4.0.3 B978 and I can't root it? I am using B972 from the Huawei China site(gone already.. replaced with B977).

If you check the Huawei Honor Worldwide site they provide the B866 version or GB 2.3.6 ROM. I don't know about your phone but I never did get a chance to get to know my original GB ROM because when I got my phone it is already been flashed with the ICS4.0.3 B972 version. I believe the ROM that originally came with my phone is GB B866 for Malaysia market (international version) rather than the China ICS4.0.3 version. Have you succeeded in rooting the B866 ROM? If so please tell me how to do it but not without changing the bootloader like putting in recovery.img or something like that but rather than using the simple tools like SOC or Unlockroot etc. Using the B876 means it is meant for the China domestic devices thus it is not really meant for Malaysian devices. That is what I meant. For me... I wish to root the B866 ROM because I believe it came with the phone. If on the worlwide/international site show the B876 GB I would have gladly take that one as the base of my assumption.

This post has been edited by adfy: Apr 15 2012, 12:38 AM
adfy
post Apr 15 2012, 12:40 AM

141 posts

Is there an international release of GB B876 officially for Huawei Honor? Please share if you know where to get them.

Thanks in advance.
adfy
post Apr 15 2012, 01:00 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(jimmy G @ Apr 15 2012, 12:53 AM)
no idea about an international version for B876 but there's a China version (HUAWEI_U8860_Android_2.3_V100R001CHNC00B876_中国渠道%2805010TLA%29). hmm just checked their website looks like they removed it. Now only the files:
HUAWEI_C8860E_Android_2.3_V100R001C92B878_中国电信
and
HUAWEI_C8860E_Android_2.3_V100R001C92B871_中国电信_05010UKD

Added on April 15, 2012, 12:55 am
damn huawei worldwide takes ages to load
Weird. I just started downloading the GB B876 one. Are you sure the B878 has come replacing the B876?

Yep Wordwide site seems static for quite a long time already. They are more focusing on their domestic market right now.

This post has been edited by adfy: Apr 15 2012, 01:02 AM
adfy
post Apr 15 2012, 12:34 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(jinglun @ Apr 14 2012, 01:55 PM)
Ya my temple run on honor oso seem is not the wan shud be on the reiview =(
What do you mean by it? Is it not running at all? Is it not running correctly (render error etc.).

Can't really understand what is it you are trying to say...

blink.gif
adfy
post Apr 15 2012, 01:11 PM

141 posts

Hmm.. most probably due to the compatibility. Are you running ICS or GB? If on ICS try on GB. It might be better. Or.. maybe the game is not totally compatible with the Adreno205. Let me try when I get the chance.
adfy
post Apr 15 2012, 01:43 PM

141 posts

I tried running temple run on GB and there are stuff in the stat store. Have you tried reinstalling. Uninstall and try removing any leftover folders in sdcard. Then reinstall again.
adfy
post Apr 16 2012, 08:15 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(jinglun @ Apr 16 2012, 06:53 PM)
Try le but still cant fix ..>3< ..running on ICS ..
I tested on ICS also no items in stat store. Weird...
adfy
post Apr 17 2012, 12:19 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(jimmy G @ Apr 17 2012, 12:09 AM)
adfy what firmware you using right now? B876?
No. I am using B866 right now. Downloaded right from Huawei Worldwide site. Been trying to find ways to root but none so far. Rooting without flashing the recovery image anyway. I don't want to mess thing too far. Got any idea?

Have you got the stock rom which came with the phone originally? I am trying to find one... if that one is different from what Huawei posted on their worldwide site anyway.
adfy
post Apr 17 2012, 08:11 AM

141 posts

After you have updated to B977, you can't put GB B866 to dload folder and do Storate Upgrade? I am curious whether you can do that or not. If you can, you can simply downgrade back to B972 by doing the above, except putting in the B972 into the dload folder.
adfy
post Apr 17 2012, 12:05 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(jimmy G @ Apr 17 2012, 11:57 AM)
I think you can. You just need to have the B866's UPDATE.APP in your dload folder. But can you find B972 firmware?
I have the B972 file. Luckily I am able to get it before it is totally wiped out from the internet. Got it from a russian forum site.
adfy
post Apr 18 2012, 12:18 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(seichirosano @ Apr 17 2012, 08:04 PM)
hey, mine also the same problem as you, upgraded to B977 and now google play store doesn't work.

btw how do enable smart dial on the dialer.. i only see can key in numbers but didn't suggest any contacts.
You can always downgrade back by flashing your phone with the old B972 rom provided you can find them. Just pu the UPDATE.APP to the dload folder in your sdcard, go to the phone setting->storage->software upgrade and confirm. Beware that the process will wipe out your settings etc. so do a backup first.

Added on April 18, 2012, 12:42 am
QUOTE(Gengson @ Apr 17 2012, 08:56 PM)
Got my honor 1 week ago, and it come with ICS 4.0.3. So far dont have any problem until this morning. BUT, after i transfer some song into the phone, the phone come into problem. when I press the unlock button, the screen light doesn't come to the normal level and the touch screen is not working! the 4 capability are lighting. no matter what i press or touch, it dont respond.
Try restarting the phone. If cannot take out the battery then try putting it back and turn it on again. I have never experience it, but maybe there is a crash somewhere inside.

I don't understand what your talking about the 4 capability are lighting.

This post has been edited by adfy: Apr 18 2012, 12:42 AM
adfy
post Apr 18 2012, 07:19 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(lkc_86 @ Apr 17 2012, 11:48 AM)
btw now i'm using ICS demo i think...when i try to use skype with my gf..i can see her,but she cant see me..

when i try use FRING Video call, my whole pic was upside down??anything wrong with my hp software or hardware,anyone can help???
I have not tried the FRING video call. Sorry.. I don't use video calls on the phone yet. Might try them one day.. but not today.
adfy
post Apr 19 2012, 07:06 PM

141 posts

I have found a way (not originally mine anyway...) to root Huawei Honor Android GB2.3.6 B866 Worldwide version as provided by Huawei Honor Worldwide website.

Anyway... still waiting for the source to give greenlight to tell you guys... if anybody want to know.

Anybody want to know how to? Or everybody is going to ICS4.0.3??

Added on April 19, 2012, 10:15 pmUpdate : The admin have given me the permission so.. here it is. You have to register for free though to get the file... small price to pay if you really want to get your GB Honor rooted.

http://level5developers.com/showthread.php...-2.3.6-Click-Me

The process is simple. Put the provided UPDATE.APP inside dload folder in your sdcard like normal stock ROM upgrade process.. go to software upgrade and complete the process. After it is done just use the SOC2.3.3 to root your Honor. I think the file update/replace boot files with those that can be rooted. I have done it and successfully got it however I don't really know how it works. Just that it is so easy.

This post has been edited by adfy: Apr 19 2012, 10:15 PM
adfy
post Apr 20 2012, 12:39 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(bux @ Apr 20 2012, 10:38 AM)
hey guys, I just got my Honor few days ago. Initially I have the google stuff on the phone, but I tangan gatal went to factory default and erase all data due to problem with my duplicate contacts transfer.

So now I have 4.0.3 freshly loaded > change language to English > set time/date > but without google stuff and I tried *147258369# as per this thread nothing happen..I tried *147258369# then press the call button still nothing happen...

Sifus..any advice? Thanks in advance
What 4.0.3 firmware did you have? You can check it inside settings-->About phone under build number showing like U8860ICSV100....B9XX

After pressing the *14258369# you don't have to press the call button I think it will straight popup the enable GAPPS option to display or hide. I tried with my B978 build number and it didn't work.

Maybe you can flash the B978 version. It have all the google stuff + can sync calendars and photo too.
adfy
post Apr 21 2012, 12:12 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(bux @ Apr 21 2012, 12:03 AM)
hey adtf, my build number is xxxxxB977. How/where can i flash the b978? I just realize i am so blur in this sad.gif
Don't worry, we all are learning here.

Anyway, I have used the B978 ICS ROM from the same forum that I have posted. Just go there, go back to the main thread and look for the Huawei Honor ICS 4.0.3 ROM thread. The guy posted the B978 ROM in few parts. Download them, unzip and transfer to the dload folder of your sdcard. The usual procedures follow after that.

Hope it works for you too..
adfy
post Apr 21 2012, 05:59 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(alyone @ Apr 21 2012, 10:41 AM)
May I know what is the benefit n defects if i update to B978?? my HOnor is in B972 now. Will all my things disappear n wat will happen??

Thanks alot.. smile.gif
1. Can sync Google Calendars, Photo in B978.
2. GAPPS enabled by default.
3. Rootable.

Yes all your things will be disappear. My advise is :-

1. Backup your contacts to Google.
2. Backup your sms, photos, musics, videos to your pc. Go to your sdcard and check them up. Better if you just copy the whole sdcard to your pc just in case. Make sure any backups using any tools can be restored back like the sms.

That is what I know.

So far I have tried these ROMS and my conclusions are :-

1. GB B866 - Fastest, rootable with only one method I can find so far.
2. ICS B972 - More feature, rootable but slower. No sync with google calendars and photos. ROM hard to find nowadays.
3. ICS B977 - Don't know. I choose not to upgrade to this version online. No comment.
4. ICS B978 - Rootable. Slower than GB but more features. Able to sync with google calendars and photos. This is my current phone firmware right now and I basically got all what I want. Slower than GB yes, but to me I prefer feature in compensation of a bit lower speed.

I am one happy user right now!

rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
adfy
post Apr 22 2012, 09:56 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(Patxirulo @ Apr 22 2012, 09:27 AM)
Hello. I am newbie in Android world, my new Huawei U8860 Honour is my first
smartphone in this operating system.
I bought the phone in Germany, Europe. The firmware is curiouse:

U8860V100R001DEUC00B870.
Of course, it´s Gingerbread 2.3.6, but the letters DEU means it´s
a german version, and includes a lot of languages.
I don´t know if it can be rooted, and for me is more important
waiting for the REAL and latest version of ICS.

I´m waiting to learn all about our wonderful phone.

Greetings from Spain.
Hi and welcome Patxirulo, congrats on the Huawei Honor. It is a good phone.

You can try to do so with the method that has been posted before not too long ago and tell us the results. However since this is the first time that you use a smartphone I would suggest play around with the non-rooted one for a while first before delving into rooting. Unless you're in a hurry you can always do the rooting when you feel you are ready, having already familiar with your phone and android environment.

There is no latest version of ICS for worldwide distribution Huawei Honor. There are chinese release versions which ranges from B972 to B977 but some with no GAPPS, some with all. Language support limited to English and Chinese. Haven't seen one official ICS ROM for worldwide versions posted at the Huawei Honor worldwide site yet.

Keep and eye on http://www.huaweidevice.com/worldwide/tech...uctId=3834&tb=0 for any new ROMs coming in but I doubt its going to be soon. They're too busy launching Huawei Ascend P1 laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
adfy
post Apr 23 2012, 10:13 PM

141 posts

So far I don't see the price going down. Maybe when Huawei release the Ascend P1 in Malaysia we see a bit price drop. Then again maybe not. If Ascend P1 prices goes around 1.4k-1.5k I don't see it going down for quite some time.

If you can wait for it to come down then do so. I am a happy user and for me it's worth the purchase. The battery is quite good if you do not turn on the data switch all the time. Rules of thumb, use only what you want and turn it off when you don't. I think it goes to every other phone and the outcomes really depends on you.

Every phone has limited battery power source. Unless they come up with a battery that is better sustaining battery technology at about the same cost we are going to be stuck with what we have right now.
adfy
post Apr 23 2012, 11:31 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(alyone @ Apr 23 2012, 10:23 PM)
thank you for your kind reply!! appreciate!! biggrin.gif
will try whn im free to move all my stuffs >.<
Have fun with the phone! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Added on April 23, 2012, 11:39 pm
QUOTE(Klemann C @ Apr 23 2012, 10:45 PM)
any honor 2.3.6 user encountered auto reboot issue?
mine getting quite rampant  doh.gif
As far as I known when I used the Android 2.3.6 there is no auto reboot event happens. Auto reboot would happen when I run an application and then it stuck for quite a long time ~2-5 minutes. If I leave the phone alone/use for phone calls/type mesg/surf the internet/do social networking etc it never auto reboot.

What ROM version you are using? Is it the B866 that are provided in the Huawei Honor world web site or others?

Added on April 23, 2012, 11:41 pm
QUOTE(smatdesa @ Apr 23 2012, 10:50 PM)
I plan to get this within the next week or so, usually what's the stock OS version provided?

And the phone can use instagram yes? Getting one for the missus.
I got mine with ICS 4.0.3 ROM version B972. Yours might vary. Don't worry about it. There's always the internet to get other ROMS.

This post has been edited by adfy: Apr 23 2012, 11:41 PM
adfy
post Apr 24 2012, 12:47 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(Klemann C @ Apr 24 2012, 12:04 AM)
yes,I'm use official B866 worldwide version....
exactly same what u had mentioned....stuck when running apps or sometimes not responding it would reboot....
What I did was I reset the phone to factory default. The speed of GB does feels better than ICS. I feel it is "lighter" so it is more responsive and a lot less delay rather in ICS. However the feature in ICS just gets to me LOL.

After that don't install a lot of programs, just those of essentials and see what happens during a few days of playing around.

These are the programs that I used during the test:-

1. Document To Go
2. Facebook, Twitter, Whatsapp, Draw something, Youtube.
3. Video player
4. Music player
5. Go Power Master
6. Onavo Data Count
7. App2SD
8. Titanium Backup Root
9. Go Keyboard
10. Adobe Flash
11. Instagram
12. PicSpeed Wallpaper
13. A few games but nothing big

Try to reset (mind you, backup your stuff from the sdcard first), install only essential apps that you will use and use it for a couple of days. See whether there is a problem of auto reboot. After that, try installing one of your favorite app and use it a couple of times to see whether that app is the one triggering the auto reboot. Keep repeating the steps until you found the one apps that is making the phone unstable.

This is a suggestion only. You can try it yourself of keep searching for the answer in the net.

I think the more apps that you installed the more requirements of the background activities is being done thus eating up more memory and CPU resources.

Talking about memory, try checking the amount of memory left. And I mean RAM, not Internal Storage or External Storage (sdcard).

Well, best of luck to you! rclxm9.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:02 PM