5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Huawei Honor/(Glory), Huawei Glory turns Honor (U8860)?

adfy
post Apr 24 2012, 12:59 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(Dan Peng @ Apr 24 2012, 11:31 AM)
How do i use custom ringtones for this phone? I cant find the directory to place my own ringtine into the folder.
If you want to do a custom ringtone from mp3 files, try installing Ringdroid from Google Play Store. It allows you to edit a portion of your favorite mp3 songs to become your ringtone. Save it to your sdcard and set the call ringtone in your system setting menu.
adfy
post Apr 24 2012, 10:00 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(adelyn0910 @ Apr 24 2012, 02:33 PM)
What a let down as my area here didn't even selling Huawei Honor sad.gif
Go through few kedai and found nothing regarding Huawei... ><
Where are you located? You can always try to go nearby town or city. If it is too far you can always try the internet shop but be careful of non famous one.

Added on April 24, 2012, 10:10 pm
QUOTE(deadravel @ Apr 24 2012, 06:10 PM)
hey man!
i found the original stock GB rom tat came with huawei honor in malaysia (stated by huaweidevice MY facebook)
http://www.huaweidevice.com.my/file/downlo...sia%20Only).zip

its build U8350 V100R001C00B625(Malaysia Only). keat  brows.gif
dl-ing now. haven try it yet. LOL

erm. btw. i juz found out U8350 is huawei boulder. and this is boulder rom @@?
wtf huawei malaysia put boulder rom in honor tat place  rclxub.gif
This ROM is not for Huawei Honor I think.

This post has been edited by adfy: Apr 24 2012, 10:10 PM
adfy
post Apr 25 2012, 07:16 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ Apr 25 2012, 11:24 AM)
i feed back to huaweidevice aldy..
and they already uploaded a honor rom  notworthy.gif

this is the official honor GB rom  rclxms.gif
Nice! I'm downloading it now. Might want to try it soon.
adfy
post Apr 26 2012, 09:23 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(iceman89 @ Apr 25 2012, 10:37 PM)
wanna downgrade it?? not sure abt this. perhaps u can ask huawei staff at https://www.facebook.com/HuaweiDeviceMY =)
I have done the downgrade from ICS to GB and back to ICS before. The process is the same, just put the UPDATE.APP file in the dload folder of your sdcard and choose Software Upgrade inside the System Settings-->Storage of your android phone.

Please note that this involve using stock ROM only. Additional steps are needed for using custom ROMs.
adfy
post Apr 27 2012, 08:10 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ Apr 25 2012, 11:24 AM)
i feed back to huaweidevice aldy..
and they already uploaded a honor rom  notworthy.gif

this is the official honor GB rom  rclxms.gif
Weird. I tried with the Malaysian ROM. It did not have Malay language, only Indonesia. Thought Malaysian version means English, Malay, Chinese, Tamil etc.

Switching back to ICS.

Added on April 27, 2012, 8:47 pm
QUOTE(JackeyZash @ Apr 23 2012, 04:42 PM)
Hey guys , I was thinking of getting this phone somewhere in May but I was wonder how much would the price be ? Does the back white casing comes along with the phone itself ? Is the phone available at almost all shops or only certain dealers ? yawn.gif
Well get it as fast as you can! It is a good phone. Too bad no white casing. Only black one in Malaysia unless you bought outside or in the internet. Maybe some will see casing as accessories. Who knows.

Soon it will be a widespread and every seller will sell one too.

Better using than waiting.

This post has been edited by adfy: Apr 27 2012, 08:47 PM
adfy
post Apr 30 2012, 10:45 AM

141 posts

There is only one problem though.

Using smartphone that has a lot of freedom to tinker with it sure is making me on undecisive situation. I have flashed more than a dozen times of firmware on this phone. Different ROMs, resetting the phone due to unsatisfired installations, etc.

This is a bad habit. When will I settle down with a good installation.. I just really don't know.

Sigh...

Too much freedom does have its own drawbacks...

adfy
post May 2 2012, 10:56 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(lkc_86 @ Apr 30 2012, 03:09 PM)
hi , i think i update to B977 version online and it cause my Google play cant be open?sigh~hoping to revert back into original version.
Any solution without losing everythings inside?

Before this i cant download games at google play using 3G?
any solution for me?

Please help
I never upgraded to B977. Nearly did though, cancelled it when it is trying to download the upgrade via the Upgrade Online option. The best is you must do backup of all the stuff inside your sdcard, backup your sms using any SMS backup apps from Google Play or just search for the APK in Google. Then upload the desired stock ROM inside dload folder in your sdcard and choose Software Upgrade inside your System Setting-->Storage option. After completing the firmware flashing just install back your SMS backup APK and do SMS restore, copy back your desired files from the sdcard backup to the sdcard if you have reformatted your sdcard along the way.

QUOTE(chrisoh @ May 2 2012, 12:34 AM)
Hi guys, i'm planning to upgrade to this phone soon so my question is are there links for the official ICS rom here? Thanks guys! biggrin.gif
Official ICS ROM for Malaysia, not out yet. Official ICS ROM for China, yes there is. Official ICS ROM for worldwide, no. Check previous thread for links, you might find them.

adfy
post May 2 2012, 11:00 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(chrisoh @ May 2 2012, 10:58 AM)
Many thanks bro smile.gif
Welcome. Happy flashing!

rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
adfy
post May 2 2012, 11:33 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(nakTT @ May 2 2012, 11:02 AM)
I can see not that many people using this model. Any reason why?
I don't know what you mean by this. Maybe:-

1. This phone is Single Core. Maybe more people have money to buy dual core smartphone.

2. Brand conscious people might want to buy more highlighted brand such as Samsung, HTC, Nokia etc.

3. Quad Core is on d way. Lots more things to do.

4. People just don't like this phone.

5. People just don't like smartphone.

6. Design not suit people taste.

Those are among the probable reason. Which is the one you think?
adfy
post May 3 2012, 05:02 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(chrisoh @ May 3 2012, 04:44 PM)
So any bro's can give comment about the B913 ICS 4.0.3 rom? Since some are calling it the final official 4.0.3 rom is this rom stable and has all the google apps and functions? I might be getting this phone in 2 hours time and this will greatly affect my decision, Thanks bros! smile.gif
I have never used the B913 ROM so no comment on that.

This phone is good for its price. If you have more budget and prefer other brand there is nothing holding you back.

The phone strength is :-

1. Corning Gorilla Glass (not stated anywhere officially, so cannot confirm)
2. 1900 mah battery - the biggest for mid range level
3. FWGA - Good screen
4. Nice simple elegant design (this subjected to your own eyes)
5. Nice to hold in hand, feels like holding a phone and not a tablet
6. Internal storage 888MB, internal sdcard 2GB
7. 1.4GHz Single core Snapdragon processor with Adreno 205 GPU (enough by me)
8. Able to flash other countries ROM such as Chinese ICS 4.0.3 B972, B977, B978 or Cambodia ICS 4.0.3 or other custom ROM (warning custom ROM might give you trouble or headache..)

The phone weakness is :-

1. No native 3G video calls
2. Cannot use Skype (other person cannot see my front camera, don't know result from other people). Tried using Tango and it works.
3. Battery still drains quite fast when using WiFi, mobile internet/Data, GPS, games etc. (I guess there is no escape in the world of smartphone battery issues)
4. Supported ROM for Malaysia is Gingerbread 2.3.6 only. Official ICS ROM is said to be on the way maybe in May 2012 but still no smell of it.
5. 720p video recording seems a bit choppy.

So... for a price of MYR 999.00 do you seems it is worth it??

If so... go for it!

If you have like MYR2,000.00 to spend then you can get to know the other dual core or quad core brand and model like HTC or Samsung or LG. They do give more power but with more price and about the same battery life.

It's your choice!

whistling.gif whistling.gif
adfy
post May 4 2012, 12:38 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(chrisoh @ May 3 2012, 05:16 PM)
Thanks bro, two main reasons why i'm really interested in this phone is because of the monster battery and the official sales brochure from Huawei that they are distributing here in sabah claims that Honor is ICS ready so this are the two main reasons why i'm interested smile.gif
I bought mine and found that it is preloaded with ICS 4.0.3 already. I don't know whether it is done by the seller or not but he opened the box in front of me and turn it on for the first time it is already in ICS. I guess maybe Huawei people themselves has done the job straight from the factory. And the preloaded ICS 4.0.3 is B972 version.
adfy
post May 4 2012, 02:48 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(chrisoh @ May 4 2012, 11:10 AM)
Guys! Add me to the family! biggrin.gif am now an owner of this awesome phone too! However mine didnt come with preloaded ICS, just the GB rom, plus i got official comfirmation its gorilla glass as well! my unit was fresh open new box and the official huawei sticker was still on the screen and gorilla glass was printed on it. Can post the pic here guys if u want biggrin.gif
Post them!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
adfy
post May 4 2012, 09:22 PM

141 posts

[quote=chrisoh,May 4 2012, 03:37 PM]Ok finally can post it up, found out the pic too big so resized it smaller! biggrin.gif Enjoy guys! [attachmentid=2823785]

[/quote]

Finally..!! I get to see the official Huawei sticker. I wonder why my phone never got that sticker when I opened it? Is there 2 version of Huawei Honor, one without the gorilla glass and another with gorilla glass??

Anybody can check deeper about this?

Nice photo btw... thanks a lot for the sharing. You are the 1st I could find showing the sticker.

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Added on May 4, 2012, 9:30 pm[quote=ksuuk,May 4 2012, 06:04 PM]Hello.

Greetings from Estonia. New here and actually without Honor yet, but I have strong feeling, that I will get one ASAP to nbe my first Android (I didn't like the iPhone), as it have good specs and price too as as my old Nokia E51 is quite broken already. My main interest is using it for talking, emails, rss, web, no social stuff, no music, no games.

However few questions:

1) Screen - some say it's bad quality, from http://www.ubergizmo.com/2011/12/huawei-honor-review/

"Secondly, the LCD display contour is very visible and that’s something that high-end phones try to avoid as much as possible as it sends the subtle message that contrast may not be the highest."

Is this true or the latest items are better? And what about brightness and contrast and visibility?

2) Battery type - is it Li-Ion or Li-Po? And what is the charge time from 0-100%?

3) WiFi sensitivity - is it good? As when I tested Samsung Galaxy 5800, from one meter away from WiFi access point, it showed 80% and in second floor, where Nokia E51 shows 50% coverage, Samsung lost the connection at all.

[/quote]

1. The specs tell that the screen is : TFT capacitive touchscreen, 16M colors, size : 480 x 854 pixels, 4.0 inches (~245 ppi pixel density) two point touch.

It is not amoled plus or super lcd plus. So I think the screen is okay but not above average. I have been using it without complain. If you want to compare with the high-end phone then I think your aim is the high-end phone not this range of phone.

2. The battery is Li-Ion not Li-Polymer. charge time don't really know. Maybe around 2 hours or so.

3. WiFi sensitivity, haven't test much on the strength vs. obstruction+distance comparison. Anybody got any input on this?

Added on May 4, 2012, 9:37 pm[quote=lkc_86,May 4 2012, 06:54 PM]
[quote=adfy,May 2 2012, 10:56 AM]
I never upgraded to B977. Nearly did though, cancelled it when it is trying to download the upgrade via the Upgrade Online option. The best is you must do backup of all the stuff inside your sdcard, backup your sms using any SMS backup apps from Google Play or just search for the APK in Google. Then upload the desired stock ROM inside dload folder in your sdcard and choose Software Upgrade inside your System Setting-->Storage option. After completing the firmware flashing just install back your SMS backup APK and do SMS restore, copy back your desired files from the sdcard backup to the sdcard if you have reformatted your sdcard along the way.
Thanks for the information./
Can u suggest which ROM is suggested?cos now i was unable to use the Google Play due to the newest version problem.

[/quote]

I would suggest to use ICS 4.0.3 B978 if you want to use ICS. I am using it right now and it seems okay. If you want to use Gingerbread use GB 2.3.6 B866.

Personally I have tried and rested my relentless trying on ICS 4.0.3 B978 as it gives me the whole thing I want : Google APPS, Syn calendars+photo+contacts+gmail and google+, rootable, nicer looking have 5 homescreen button where the GB 2.3.6 have only 4 button.

Try to find the ROMs somewhere in the internet, I think they still existed. Good luck!

This post has been edited by adfy: May 4 2012, 09:37 PM
adfy
post May 5 2012, 07:30 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ May 5 2012, 04:27 AM)
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=1400603...&_u=4krm7jt7605

guys i ask the seller he said the phone can be bought for RMB1200, which is around rm600 plus shipping, the thing is it says there its 1.2G instead of 1.4, is this real? however there is a good reps for the seller. or is it there are a 2 version of the phone?

I think this is not Huawei Honor. It says Honor Glory G17 / HTC G17+ dual core 1.2GHz + 400GHz GPU with 1GB RAM. This is definitely not Honor.
adfy
post May 5 2012, 03:18 PM

141 posts

[quote=lkc_86,May 5 2012, 02:24 PM]
I would suggest to use ICS 4.0.3 B978 if you want to use ICS. I am using it right now and it seems okay. If you want to use Gingerbread use GB 2.3.6 B866.

Personally I have tried and rested my relentless trying on ICS 4.0.3 B978 as it gives me the whole thing I want : Google APPS, Syn calendars+photo+contacts+gmail and google+, rootable, nicer looking have 5 homescreen button where the GB 2.3.6 have only 4 button.

Try to find the ROMs somewhere in the internet, I think they still existed. Good luck!

[/quote]
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
B978 ?is it the Cambodia Demo Version?
If yes,then i will try to use tat version for temporary.
I will jus follow ur steps in previous msg. and install it..thank u so much(^^)

Cant do anything without ur help..
As i duno mandarin..haha(^^)

[/quote]

I really doesn't know whether the B978 is the Cambodia version or not, maybe it is not. But it is the latest I can get from B972-->B977-->B978 so it's good. All features are there so it's good. Unless someone know a newer release such as B980 or above this as good as it gets.
adfy
post May 5 2012, 07:21 PM

141 posts

Anyway here is the B978 ICS ROM that I am using right now if you are interested in using it. Enjoy!

http://www.mediafire.com/?iz9oq5fauha7e3b

http://www.mediafire.com/?5h7bw7mtzmw1ydb

http://www.mediafire.com/?n82o999d9t4nj3n
adfy
post May 5 2012, 07:32 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(emmanuelyong @ May 5 2012, 07:28 PM)
proud owner of huawei honor

where can i find download link for ics with google app?
LOL I just posted it.
adfy
post May 5 2012, 08:35 PM

141 posts

If anyone want the B972 ROM here it is.

http://www.mediafire.com/?h6u0ah4qnqx40gl

http://www.mediafire.com/?omzaoaj0bteybts

http://www.mediafire.com/?ryrx6mn9w8q5phw
adfy
post May 6 2012, 01:48 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(ksuuk @ May 5 2012, 10:28 PM)
Yes, I know, it's not amoled. But what about these strange visible dots - http://www.androidpit.com/en/android/forum...or-display-dots

Does Your item have them?
If you are referring to the lines of small dots that looks like a grid across the screen then yes. I think its more like a screen design result like for touch screen thing.

This post has been edited by adfy: May 6 2012, 02:02 AM
adfy
post May 7 2012, 10:05 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(alyone @ May 6 2012, 11:41 PM)
I have been scrutinizing my Honor for long time..i cant notice the grid tat u guys found. May be the wall paper makes different.  tongue.gif

The screen so far appears and works good..If compared to iphone, Honor's screen is better lol..
Try taking of the screen protector and turn the display off. Put the phone into a few angle percentage and look again. You might be surprised to see it. But it is not a flaw I think. It comes with the touchscreen sensors.

hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0412sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:07 AM