QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 28 2011, 11:25 AM)
Express Courier International - Aust PostSilver as investment V2, Don't cry, buy now.
Silver as investment V2, Don't cry, buy now.
Oct 28 2011, 11:27 AM
1,505 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Subang Jaya, Selangor |
Oct 28 2011, 12:05 PM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 28 2011, 11:43 AM) even if order from perth mint? how to escape customs?if from perth mint, it will surely be silver or gold. isn't it stated in the invoice? if from private seller, its easier to kawtim. i have 2 shipments from US and UK before, but wasn't taxed coz declared it as gift... |
Nov 1 2011, 10:05 AM
perth mint new releases today.
anybody got anything? |
Nov 1 2011, 08:33 PM
wow, it seems everybody jump ship to fb group. this thread went to the 2nd page for the first time since it was created... haha
Nov 2 2011, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(chunyen2020 @ Nov 1 2011, 10:21 PM) I read this from SLS that any purchase of silver coins that are less than RM500 are not included for the tax of 30%. Tax is 15%.Is this true? Anyone can clarify with own experience? I think this is somewhat true if your item is less than rm500 and sent through air, it wont be taxed. If by sea, it still will be taxed. I overheard the officer explaining this to a guy. But it also depends on your package size. I just got my Gilded and Colored Dragons from the Customs detention nearby LCCT. Since my order consist of 7 coins, the package is quite big. It attracts the attention of the customs officer to hold it. I went there personally to clear it since it is my first time, I also want to know how they work. FYI, the package from Perth Mint is sealed properly and it was declared as 'Metal Sample' instead of Silver Coins. But the value of the parcel follows the invoice from Perth Mint. The parcel wasn't opened, but instead they asked me what's inside. I told them it's silver coins. They say tax is 15%. After going through several counters to pay and clear this thing, lastly they asked me 'Don't you want to check the parcel, see if everything is inside?' I was like, ermm, they wanna see what's inside, but they don't want to force me. Never mind, I just open and show them the coins. Nevertheless, I know some friend who order from Perth Mint also, but in smaller quantity, around 3-4 coins only. He wasn't taxed. Based on this experience: 1) Order your package in small quantity. Right now Perth Mint offers minimum purchase of AUD75 to get free shipment. Make use of that offer. I know I am. 2) If you can negotiate with the seller to under-declare the value (put it at the spot price) or declare the item as gifts, it will also help. 3) Or you just can save the hassle by just buying bars... |
Nov 2 2011, 05:07 PM
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Nov 2 2011, 02:47 PM) I also bought 4 coins only. 2 colored (1oz + 1/2oz) and 2 gilded dragon. They are very beautiful especially the red one. I think, if use Fedex sure kena tax.And I didn't get taxed. Its >RM1000. So I'm not sure is it because it is sent through Pos Laju? According to Perth Mint, if sent through Fedex kena tax. If through Pos Laju no tax. Yours is using AustPost ECI (Express Courier International). Once it arrives here, it will be taken over by PosLaju. This is the same with any national Post Service such as USPS, Royal Mail UK etc. In your case, even though the value is more than RM1k, maybe because the package is small, they just let it pass. My case, they post it also through Aust Post ECI. But since my package is bigger, it was held by the customs. Since it was held, PosLaju, being the local handler, sent me a notice about it. The options are go there and clear it myself or appoint them (PosLaju/PosMalaysia) to clear it for RM50 handling fees, not including tax. FYI, the Customs and Pos Malaysia share the same building in Pusat Mel & Kurier, near LCCT, beside Tune Hotel. Every parcel coming in from overseas through KLIA will go through this center before being sent to the addressee. |
Nov 3 2011, 08:06 AM
Nov 3 2011, 09:20 AM
Nov 3 2011, 11:03 AM
Nov 3 2011, 03:41 PM
Nov 3 2011, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(8181 @ Nov 3 2011, 04:57 PM) Cost is in the region of rm2.8k - rm3.3k + postage and tax you're looking at say rm4k region for one set of cost. I'm just insinuating. 2.8-3.3k is quoted from Perth Mint right? Don't you think that China dealer already mark up the selling price? Maybe the margin is around 10-20% per set... If can get margin more than that, bassist is one really lucky guy. |
Nov 5 2011, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(taurusbull @ Nov 5 2011, 09:28 AM) Dear All, This is one of the strategies im applying. But the main point is to source for cheapest supplier so that u can offer competitive prices. That is the hard part.After 5 weeks involvement in LY forum, I reckoned the best strategy is become Long Term Investor in Lowyat (Buy) and Short Term Trader (Sell) in SLS for quick cash. Forget about selling back to seller with 15% discount from market price. More Silverian traders please! If you sell and make a profit, you will spread the silver story wide, and that will generate demand in Malaysia. Good money hunting through silver. Another difficult part is to sell. The SLS group now has alot of seller. The buyer-seller ratio is not so good for traders. Once ppl are familiar with u, then okay la.. |
Nov 9 2011, 10:24 PM
Nov 10 2011, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(8181 @ Nov 10 2011, 08:51 PM) Chef, I don't think its a good idea to post your number there, PM via LYN would be a better choice less you get spam calls and text. yes, i agree with this. unless that is your secondary number for silver business purposes, then it *might* be okay... people nowadays can do many things just with our phone number. |
Nov 26 2011, 12:47 AM
for me, i just keep it safe and hidden in my house for now. collection is still small, dun see why i need to rent SDB...
Nov 26 2011, 08:19 AM
QUOTE(taurusbull @ Nov 26 2011, 01:00 AM) My opinion is this. If you are staying in a guarded residence (condo or gated community) with good security record, then yes for a home safe to keep your silver/gold. If you are staying in a non-guarded residence, a safe is actually a protection for your family and not your silver/gold. so, the conclusion is, buy a safe and put *some* valuables there... put your silver and gold somewhere else in the house... Why? If burglars break into your house, and if they can't get enough loots, they may harm your family. If you have a safe, you will end up openning the safe to make the burglars happy and hope that they will not harm your family. Therefore a safe is a safety measure of protecting your family instead of your wealth. I have being shopping for a new safe, and most of the safe salesperson are telling almost the same story. |
Nov 26 2011, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(potenza10 @ Nov 26 2011, 09:24 AM) Anyone can give some guidance and experience where/how to buy silver bar/coins from outside malaysia thru internet? you can try search from ebay international too...i have bought some from US and Canada seller. make sure you find those ebay power seller with good feedback. |
Nov 27 2011, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(taurusbull @ Nov 27 2011, 09:17 AM) Folks, I had wrote email to Perth Mint, and you want to do the same so that we don't have to pay the Fedex shit bill when we buy from Perth Mint. I realised this too. Dear Pauline and Customer Service Department, I am now a regular customer of Perth Mint that order one or twice per week, but I decided to stop the purchase as I wanted to report a totally unfair scenario of cost incurred by Fedex. I received my Mayflower 2012 yesterday, and I was made to pay RM105.80 for the supposed 5% Import Tax and 10% Sales Tax + Tax Clearance Service, eventhough Perth Mint gave FREE shipping for any purchase exceeding AUS $. The following is the breakdown of the cost to import one 1oz silver coin from Perth Mint into Malaysia if Perth Mint continue to Fedex. Cost Distribution of Perth Mint's coin AUS $ MY RM % Cost Mayflower 2012 1oz silver proof coin 97.27 308.45 74.5% Malaysa's Import Tax 5% & Sales Tax 10% 47.81 11.5% Fedex Service Fee for Tax Clearance 57.99 14.0% Total Cost of Mayflower 2012 Coin 414.25 100.0% I am active in a Silver as Investment Thread in the famous Low Yat Forum in Malaysia, and I had being constantly hearing forumers' frustration of Fedex, used by Perth Mint. They constantly prayed that Perth Mint will used Australian Post for their shipment. I don't prayed, I am writing to Perth Mint to use Australian Post instead of Fedex on behalf of all Malaysian buying from Perth Mint, if Perth Mint doesn't want to loose customers and not keen for its customers to subject to the above gross injustice of paying exhorbitant service fee. Worst still, Fedex doesn't even called the customer to ask permission, and just delivered the good and demanded payment before giving the good to customer. I trust Perth Mint is a professional company and will do its utmost best to provide good service to address its customer issue. Yours Truly Perth Mint Account No: 501412 Since the Rectangle Dragon/Baby Dragon/Mayflower release, everytime I order from Perth Mint, I will send an email to Pauline requesting my order to be shipped by AustPost. |
Nov 28 2011, 01:24 AM
QUOTE(Kokolat @ Nov 28 2011, 01:17 AM) Hello guys, I don't really know whether there are such shops here.I have a question that may have already asked before but sorry that I am new to this forum and I can't really read through every post here to look for the answer... therefore please excuse me for asking here again. I would like to know is there any shop/store/retail chain that buy and sell PHYSICAL gold/silver bar/round around Klang Valley area? To be more specified, I am actually from Klang and if there is any shop I can buy from Klang would be perfect. I am those typical type of "old-man" that prefer to buy PHYSICAL goods so that I can see the goods by myself before I pay. Therefore, any information on the above question is much appreciate. Thank you in advance. Your best bet would be by buying from individual trader. Try this FB Group https://www.facebook.com/groups/silverlot.shop/ |
Nov 29 2011, 12:07 PM
| Change to: | 0.0519sec