4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

LYN Power Tools Discussion, Bosch, Hitachi, Milwaukee, Metabo, Hilti

ar188
post Dec 8 2016, 09:44 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Leon be here now @ Dec 8 2016, 09:20 PM)
can you please provide link to your large wood working gear, i too interested in processing large timber slabs, currently have a huge 120cc chain saw, with 42" length blade with custom diy mount/rail to cut perfect straight timber slabs up to 2.5+ feet wide at any width

did you order some kind of large ban saw?
assume your shipment is by sea?
actually the gear i bought in china is not to process the raw tree trunks. biggrin.gif those stuff u mention, i think relate to portable saw mill stuff or brands like Husqvarna and Stihl. dont think its too relevant to go for china stuff. but if i was into this field, i would just buy a woodmizer, seen very good results milling wood out of tree trunks.

ar188
post Dec 9 2016, 10:36 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 9 2016, 10:29 AM)
bought from ezbuy?
no didnt try that before, mine sea ship console with other people things.
ar188
post Dec 9 2016, 10:39 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(WannaGetBuffed @ Dec 9 2016, 10:29 AM)
I am looking for a power screwdriver that is use to assemble furniture and light drilling for holes in the wall to hang items.

Preferred wired as I don't use it often so I don't have to keep buying batteries.

Would appreciate if it comes with those accessories set like Bosch.

Thank you.
then corded bosch will probably fit your requirement.
Bosch GSB10RE, shop around, can probably get good deals. 11st lazada etc.
ar188
post Dec 9 2016, 10:43 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(itekderp @ Dec 9 2016, 03:29 AM)
I have tool envy going into this thread. Damn you guys are hardcore.
Any suggestion for a work table for woodworking? Skil? Bosch?
2 options,
u can build two saw horses out of 18mm plywood (or buy as mentioned below), or make a workbench table

workbench.
ar188
post Dec 9 2016, 10:50 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 9 2016, 10:47 AM)
Oh, which agent you using? I am trying to bring in a solid wood block for use as a working desk. maybe couple of hundred KGs
haha not sure, fren arrange, i just tumpang.

wah solid wood block from china? what wood?
why so susah, many nice woods in malaysia.
ar188
post Dec 9 2016, 11:07 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 9 2016, 11:00 AM)
thanks for the info.. didnt know mahogany looks like that.. biggrin.gif looks like raintree style.

anyway 3.2meter x 10cm x 0.9meter slab for 1400rmb is cheap.. est maybe 300kg based on the dimension.
ar188
post Dec 9 2016, 04:52 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(muhammadsiddiq @ Dec 9 2016, 04:29 PM)
i jut bough bosch gsb10re from gem5 , price rm255 got disc code so rm205..or else gsb16 ,this one is more power then mine,
i bought the GSB500 similar drill model, which has exactly similar tool kit.. i think came out to be rm190.. last year promo after hentam rm50 vouchers.. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Dec 9 2016, 04:53 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(itekderp @ Dec 9 2016, 01:33 PM)
I think I'll start off with those ready made work benches first. Then build a proper workbench with the workbench. So meta
good idea too , can kick start projects immediately when you receive the work bench.
which one you considering?
ar188
post Dec 9 2016, 04:59 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Leon be here now @ Dec 9 2016, 01:30 PM)
that woodmizer looks very good, probably cost a bomb too.
anyway just curious what did you get from china? that you cant get if affordable here?
jointer?
mini band saw, table saw?

i got access to all those here in KL. all JET brands like table saw, 18inch band saw, 10inch jointer+thicknesser.
on my own, in house, i got 12inch table saw and drill press, while the rest are 18v tools and also handheld planer, sawzall, belt sander, multitool

so i am getting that thing which is not so common, its a wide drum sander. not common at all here. biggrin.gif

CNC was also planning, but on hold for a while. need to survey proper model now cos some china models using parallel port PC which the us/european ones using USB..
thats why , when i see local CNC setup photos, always can see one 10year old PC hooked up to the CNC biggrin.gif

ar188
post Dec 9 2016, 05:14 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 9 2016, 11:49 AM)
Yeah. But since I only need 1.5m x 0.6m  (LxW), maybe it will weight about 100kg, still checking
how much is that 1.5m x 0.6m?
whats the wood species material?
taobao still abit confusing for me to check the options since not familar with the language, biggrin.gif
u making into coffee table ah?
ar188
post Dec 9 2016, 05:22 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 9 2016, 05:17 PM)
There is plenty such wood here for free.

Why buy? And from oversea somemore?
i dowan paria wood. if u say can get that size mahogany or teak for free, ok, fine i am willing to listen. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Dec 9 2016, 05:23 PM
ar188
post Dec 9 2016, 05:35 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 9 2016, 05:30 PM)
Don't no what sepsis.

Look good and some seasoning long till the core look hard.

Get from china, what wood they have? Don't think china have such good wood.
wait for weikee to buy.. biggrin.gif need some one to give review ma

anyway most of my wood is sawn timber imported from USA. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Dec 9 2016, 05:41 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 9 2016, 05:37 PM)
Cause I m doubt about china. China where got such good wood jungle.

Mahogany or teak is mostly from Indonesia or MY.
your reasoning is possible too. but we dont know lor until some one gives review.

but hor as you mention, if these specis found in MY, we should be getting Mahogany dining tables for around 1k right?
since ppl might have found it fallen n rotting at fringe jungle for free? just charge labour to chop it down to size n send to your house. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Dec 9 2016, 05:56 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 9 2016, 05:51 PM)
I see a lot fallen and dead tree around. Mostly been chop and lay for don't no how many yrs. Can see the core damn hard rock after that long seasoning. But I don't no what sepsis.

But of course you can't chop the tree down anyhow. Illegal. But those fallen and dead wan.

Malaysia is strict for export. And left Indonesia export more.

Good wood is only have in our Tropicana jungle.
good wood doesnt mean have to be rock hard tropical woods le. ours is quite also rough type like chengal balau etc.. make into TNB pole or railway track can la. highest i see is they make dining tables out of our wood.

so many super expensive ones from africa and south america also.. wait till u see zebrano or birds eye maple furniture, when its properly finished. the wow factor is there.
ar188
post Dec 9 2016, 05:58 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 9 2016, 05:56 PM)
I also don't know what species, what i looking for is real solid wood, and nice grain.  The nice one i saw around 1.5K excluding delivery.

Me too, I don't read mandarin, rely on google translate to read out for me.
yeah from the pics it looks very good. am sure those easily retail 3x here if really as per photos given.
so just need someone to pull the trigger to buy n bring back, and give detailed review. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Dec 9 2016, 06:10 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 9 2016, 06:04 PM)
I have friend running similar business, need to also go visit the showroom before i pull the gun. If his can give me reasonable price maybe will buy local biggrin.gif

https://www.facebook.com/luxxera/
ah did notice it before..
can get your size for below rm2k? sure ah? biggrin.gif then is good deal!

anyway do ask him how he finishes the wood surface for the piece you wanted.
is it spray on a matte acrylic sealer on top?
ar188
post Dec 9 2016, 09:00 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Leon be here now @ Dec 9 2016, 08:41 PM)
wow you got access to a lot of good gear, jointer and drum sander are really useful, very fast in getting wood strength and smooth.
those are expensive items, i seen people on youtube making diy jointer and drum sander,

you dont have a router? or router table? very usefull tool for making cabinet, and windows etc...
you do you typically finish your wood?
nice woodwork with poor finish is just crap.
most of the JET stuff is in my frens 6figure workshop. haha. i just got access to it when i do projects.
in return, i am supposed to provide complementary equipment that the workshop doesnt have, (i.e. drum sander, more of the 18v and corded power tools and probably a makita/festool track saw, got a nice lamello biscuit jointer also recently)

yeah there are DIY jointer n drum sander, router table videos on how to do things, however, it takes alot of time to fine tune them if you want them to run absolutely square when you are processing the wood (perfect 90degs, super flat surfaces for jointer etc). but currently i am short on time, too many project to do, and also i have some budget, so cheat abit and buying stuff is faster. biggrin.gif

big plunge router not decided yet, as i have no need yet. smaller one might be makita, still thinking on the model as it might be doing double duty as my CNC spindle so i need to make sure its suitable for that cnc model.

however, i do have a 18V hand held router like the one in pic, since i have the whole ryobi 18v system now,
and its so good for trimming laminates and other edge routing, or simple circle cutting speaker holes on MDF (when making speaker cabinets)
i hate it when having to drag the power cable all over the workpiece. cordless is just so convienient. and 18v provides ample cutting power compared to those smaller 9.6 or 10.8v systems of the past.

where are you based? klang valley?, would like to check out your DIY alaskan mill chainsaw if u have it running hehe. and talk about milling large timbers and suchs.
ar188
post Dec 9 2016, 09:03 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Leon be here now @ Dec 9 2016, 08:48 PM)
bro you need to get a chain saw mill, mill on site and carry the 2-3 inch slab out
they very expensive to buy,
but i diy my self, welded metal rack to hold the chainsaw, then a leader to keep it stright.
if you cant weld, go to your local awning shop, give them plans and they will weld for you.

its possible mill a log alone, but its much easier/fun with 2 people. my huge chainsaw with rack is dam heavy.
did you use the orang puteh style ladder? instead of our household type A shape ladder?

ar188
post Dec 9 2016, 09:10 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Leon be here now @ Dec 9 2016, 08:41 PM)

tung/linseed oil/wax?
have you used any stains? i read its easy to mess it up with blotches, need to use pre stain first.
all i can say is depends on the wood. some need prestain, some dont need and can take staining well, example nyatoh doesnt. meranti doesnt especially when stained darker finish like minwax dark walnut or ebony.

pine can be splotchy with some stains but then it also depends cos "pine" from pallet wood etc got quite a few specis, Southern yellow pine, doug fir, spruce etc.

i dont like BLO (boiled linseed oil), damn smelly to my nose and damn long to dry, so the smell lingers for a few days haha..
so i guess i go with general tung oil finish (most are not really 100% tung oil) just a premix finish. sometimes danish oil works
sometimes plain Wipe on Poly.
ar188
post Dec 10 2016, 10:24 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Richard @ Dec 10 2016, 10:23 AM)
wah.. so hardcore..

Now I wish i had taken pictures of kalaban logs when I was working in estate.. Those logs also have diameter bigger than my hilux.. lol..
nice, should have taken a slab back too. biggrin.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.3389sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:30 AM