33 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

The Complete PSU Sleeving Guide - Tips & Tricks, For the casemod enthusiast. Pics inside

xk2
post Apr 24 2008, 03:53 PM

Temporary OFF
2,910 posts

yesterday i try sleeve the 6 pin pcie power connector,the red color heatshrink become chocolate after i burn it with lighter laugh.gif

and the 3/4 inch heatshrink become smaller and smaller when i slide it across the cable due to my hand's temperture sweat.gif finally it stuck at the middle sweat.gif
m2n-e
post Apr 24 2008, 08:35 PM

-Retired From Modding-
1,269 posts

QUOTE(xk2 @ Apr 24 2008, 03:53 PM)
yesterday i try sleeve the 6 pin pcie power connector,the red color heatshrink become chocolate after i burn it with lighter laugh.gif

and the 3/4 inch heatshrink become smaller and smaller when i slide it across the cable due to my hand's temperture sweat.gif finally it stuck at the middle sweat.gif
u dont need to burn it.. just let it kena heat already can ler..
a good experience, so now u know, later u do it again, it will be ok. perhaps.. tongue.gif
rsangel
post Apr 24 2008, 09:18 PM

No Smoking pls @_@
1,487 posts

lol...not burn la... warm it is already enough... later ur sleeve also will be having holes if u "warm" it too close

just try to be careful smile.gif

is really a nice exp smile.gif

now the only thing i don't no how to remove is the sata lol
XCremator
post Apr 24 2008, 09:24 PM

222 posts

For heat shrink, the best way to make it shrink without burning it is by using a Hair Dryer. For me that is the best method. It take a bit longer then lighter but you will get the best result out of it since there will be no burning mark whatsoever.

Try it smile.gif
Calvin22
post Apr 25 2008, 12:41 AM

462 posts

Guys... my sata cable broke already ... how i need to do or anyone selling it ?? How to change it ????

This post has been edited by Calvin22: Apr 25 2008, 12:42 AM
xk2
post Apr 25 2008, 11:56 AM

Temporary OFF
2,910 posts

QUOTE(XCremator @ Apr 24 2008, 09:24 PM)
For heat shrink, the best way to make it shrink without burning it is by using a Hair Dryer. For me that is the best method. It take a bit longer then lighter but you will get the best result out of it since there will be no burning mark whatsoever.

Try it smile.gif
my house no hair dryer leh,but jus now i try sleeve my sata cable ,then i use the gas cooker to heat it,safe than use lighter,but oso a bit stupid coz i hold too long and the sata cable's plastic connector start to melt laugh.gif laugh.gif but good experience oso la,and i dunno how to remove the atx 24 pin leh,even follow the guide i oso cannot push the wire out sweat.gif sweat.gif
xcoolpc
post May 4 2008, 02:29 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(xk2 @ Apr 25 2008, 11:56 AM)
my house no hair dryer leh,but jus now i try sleeve my sata cable ,then i use the gas cooker to heat it,safe than use lighter,but oso a bit stupid coz i hold too long and the sata cable's plastic connector start to melt laugh.gif  laugh.gif but good experience oso la,and i dunno how to remove the atx 24 pin leh,even follow the guide i oso cannot push the wire out sweat.gif  sweat.gif
both side of pin got locking mechanism, just using staple pin to unlock it. you can modify small screw driver into pin removal.
emilz
post May 4 2008, 02:53 AM

1,377 posts

QUOTE(xcoolpc @ May 4 2008, 02:29 AM)
both side of pin got locking mechanism, just using staple pin to unlock it. you can modify small screw driver into pin removal.
needle oso can to use it rite wink.gif
eddysim1982
post May 4 2008, 06:16 PM

u betul betul modding ke?
xcoolpc
post May 5 2008, 02:13 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(emilz @ May 4 2008, 02:53 AM)
needle oso can to use it rite wink.gif
yeah, as long as the pin can go in and unlock it without damage the pin and connector
xcoolpc
post May 5 2008, 02:23 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(xcoolpc @ May 5 2008, 02:13 AM)
yeah, as long as the pin can go in and unlock it without damage the pin and connector
here is a example of my removal, actually i had been posted long time ago, but missing. i had been using it for 1/2 year.

xk2
post May 6 2008, 08:50 PM

Temporary OFF
2,910 posts

i tried using the needle and staple to remove the 24 pin ,but cant oso,maybe i not patient enough,the staple become bengkok when i push it down,and needle oso seems not easy to use..will try it again when i really realy free
hermit23
post May 6 2008, 09:06 PM

Zoom - Zoom
699 posts

xk2, where can get heatshrink in malacca? Im using a heatshrink that's a littke too big my wires sweat.gif And off topic, which shop in malacca got lots of pc stuff?
pmmonkey
post May 6 2008, 09:18 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(xk2 @ May 6 2008, 08:50 PM)
i tried using the needle and staple to remove the 24 pin ,but cant oso,maybe i not patient enough,the staple become bengkok when i push it down,and needle oso seems not easy to use..will try it again when i really realy free
The first time when sleeve my psu, I tried the staple method but it bent too easily. My guess is you used your finger to press from the top.
So I used xcoolpc's mini screwdriver method. It's easy for the molex, but not for the 24pin/pcie/8pins.

Second time sleeving, I tried with the staple again. This time I forced it down using a plier.
Pushed it down easily and realised this method is faster and easier.
It takes a few tries to get it perfect.

I can gladly explain further if you need more help. I have a psu waiting to sleeve, so could probably snap some pics.
xk2
post May 6 2008, 10:01 PM

Temporary OFF
2,910 posts

using plier ar? erm,will try next time when i back hometown

xk2, where can get heatshrink in malacca? Im using a heatshrink that's a littke too big my wires  And off topic, which shop in malacca got lots of pc stuff?

i buy from forumer here,not from melaka shop,those shop really stupid laugh.gif i go and tell them i wan heatshrink,they ask me : ''wat is tat?'' sweat.gif sweat.gif i think in melaka only got one computer shop tat sell many pc stuff,name is stygish in bukit beruang,and i think u better dun ask them about sleeving kit,they sure ask u wat is tat laugh.gif they dun even know got ''ram cooler'' on this world sweat.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by xk2: May 6 2008, 10:03 PM
hermit23
post May 6 2008, 11:32 PM

Zoom - Zoom
699 posts

QUOTE(xk2 @ May 6 2008, 10:01 PM)
i buy from forumer here,not from melaka shop,those shop really stupid laugh.gif i go and tell them i wan heatshrink,they ask me : ''wat is tat?'' sweat.gif  sweat.gif    i think in melaka only got one computer shop tat sell many pc stuff,name is stygish in bukit beruang,and i think u better dun ask them about sleeving kit,they sure ask u wat is tat laugh.gif they dun even know got ''ram cooler'' on this world sweat.gif doh.gif
haha, thought so too, damn malacca is so pathetic vmad.gif , need anyting hv to order from somewhere else doh.gif , luckily study in kl tongue.gif . Thx anyway xk2.
Blood_Seeker28
post May 13 2008, 08:56 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(xk2 @ May 6 2008, 10:01 PM)
i buy from forumer here,not from melaka shop,those shop really stupid laugh.gif i go and tell them i wan heatshrink,they ask me : ''wat is tat?'' sweat.gif  sweat.gif    i think in melaka only got one computer shop tat sell many pc stuff,name is stygish in bukit beruang,and i think u better dun ask them about sleeving kit,they sure ask u wat is tat laugh.gif they dun even know got ''ram cooler'' on this world sweat.gif doh.gif
lol.. tongue.gif
i never buy hardware from stygix...only take the pricelist every week.. laugh.gif (off topic)
xk2
post May 14 2008, 02:20 AM

Temporary OFF
2,910 posts

QUOTE(Blood_Seeker28 @ May 13 2008, 08:56 PM)
lol..  tongue.gif
i never buy hardware from stygix...only take the pricelist every week..  laugh.gif (off topic)
me too me too,coz only the shop got pricelist for reference in melaka.. laugh.gif

anyone know tat heat shrink can buy in wat shop except from forumer here? normal electronic shop got or not ?
mfcm
post May 14 2008, 04:00 AM

2,765 posts

QUOTE(xk2 @ May 14 2008, 02:20 AM)
me too me too,coz only the shop got pricelist for reference in melaka.. laugh.gif

anyone know tat heat shrink can buy in wat shop except from forumer here? normal electronic shop got or not ?
yup got..i bought lastime from electonic shop tongue.gif
ne0cz
post May 15 2008, 08:09 PM

Zoom Zoom
5,372 posts

I dont dare to play with sleeving and heatshrinks, but I use zip ties. I know, I know, very noobish, but does the job, the easy, quick and no fuss way! Ahem, anyway, can you guys post a pic on this forum of ur PC internals? So tat I can take a look and tink whether to do it or not.

33 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:41 PM