Photography Street Photography V2, Ethics and Techniques

TSsniper on the roof
post Jul 12 2012, 11:30 AM

23,414 posts

some snapshots from last week's visit back home..

IMG_6293 by vmwt, on Flickr

IMG_6578 by vmwt, on Flickr

IMG_6627 by vmwt, on Flickr

took this one cos she looks well-travelled.... Shot at LCCT, wearing "I love Thailand" with that longchamp special edition which really shouts paris.
Decky
post Jul 12 2012, 03:31 PM

1,190 posts

Hi.

I recently watched a video of Eric Kim talking about how to settle confrontations on the streets. He talked about how the laws of his country allowed him to take pictures of people so long as it was on public property (I think).

I was wondering if the law applies here in Malaysia, or do we have to delete a picture when someone asks us to, however rudely they ask?
TSsniper on the roof
post Jul 12 2012, 04:28 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Jul 12 2012, 03:31 PM)
Hi.

I recently watched a video of Eric Kim talking about how to settle confrontations on the streets. He talked about how the laws of his country allowed him to take pictures of people so long as it was on public property (I think).

I was wondering if the law applies here in Malaysia, or do we have to delete a picture when someone asks us to, however rudely they ask?
Dood... it's bolehland la.

Everything also got grey area la but in this case, if ppl don't like, just delete la (except film users) ... why cari gaduh?

Generally speaking, there's no assumption of privacy in public area except specifically stated (public toilet is not photography venue). That's why everywhere also can pasang security CCTV.

I got kena before from people saying that photographing strangers in public place is not legal in Taiwan which is untrue but let common sense prevail la. Anyway, It's not like the average joe's are legal experts.

Quoted for legitimacy ... sosej interweb

The Malaysian High Court cases of Ultra Dimension Sdn. Bhd. v. Kook Wei Kuan [2004] 5 CLJ 285 and Lew Cher Phow @ Lew Cha Paw & 11 Ors v. Pua Yong Yong & Anor [2009] 1 LNS 1256 Johor Bahru High Court Civil Suit No. MT 4-22-510-2007 had held that invasion or violation of privacy is not a recognized tort or a cause of action in Malaysia. In the former case, the Plaintiffs failed in their action for invasion of privacy against the Defendant for taking a photograph of a group of kindergarten pupils, including the Plaintiffs child, at an open area outside the kindergarten and published it in two local newspapers. As for the latter case, the Plaintiffs failed in their application to restrain the Defendants from having a CCTV which faces their house and to remove the same.

Tony Stark
post Jul 12 2012, 05:15 PM

Jarvis where are you?
1,883 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Jul 12 2012, 03:31 PM)
Hi.

like SOTR said, why cari gaduh? just delete if they ask to laugh.gif

i got kena one time in msia that is, was with my frens (film guys) walking around somewhere in KL shoot2, i brought a 60D tat time. one time i was taking a pic of a car, nice old school car. didnt realize there was a girl walking behind the car. so i ter-shot her sekali..then she was like all over me..''kenapa amik gambar saya? u cannot just take a pic of a stranger'' bla bla bla..''

i came on nicely n said im very sorry n delete the pic infront of her..then she walks away..not long after that, she came to us again (me n my buddies) with her bf/hubby/abang/i dun know who (because the guy refuses to tell us his name n who is he), n the guy warned us/me not to let that happen again..im quite demoralized that day, thinking of how rude the guy n the girl is..but that's just part of life i guess laugh.gif

so if the guy/girl ask u to delete the photos, then just do so to avoid gaduh here n there laugh.gif
Riggo
post Jul 12 2012, 07:50 PM

772 posts

i would either smile or turn around and run away immediately if i encounter such issue doh.gif doh.gif
Decky
post Jul 12 2012, 08:01 PM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Jul 12 2012, 05:15 PM)

i got kena one time in msia that is, was with my frens (film guys) walking around somewhere in KL shoot2, i brought a 60D tat time. one time i was taking a pic of a car, nice old school car. didnt realize there was a girl walking behind the car. so i ter-shot her sekali..then she was like all over me..''kenapa amik gambar saya? u cannot just take a pic of a stranger'' bla bla bla..''

i came on nicely n said im very sorry n delete the pic infront of her..then she walks away..not long after that, she came to us again (me n my buddies) with her bf/hubby/abang/i dun know who (because the guy refuses to tell us his name n who is he), n the guy warned us/me not to let that happen again..im quite demoralized that day, thinking of how rude the guy n the girl is..but that's just part of life i guess laugh.gif

so if the guy/girl ask u to delete the photos, then just do so to avoid gaduh here n there laugh.gif
Thanks Sniper and Tony.

I was just curious lah since some of us fail to be rational when we're angry. Like what that Eric Kim dude did lol, he was just aggravated by that persons action that he cari gaduh lol.

Been starting to take more pictures of strangers lately but so far I'm still a little afraid to take pictures of their faces. Knowing that I have the law by my side can be comforting...I think.

thanks haha.

XlimShady
post Jul 12 2012, 08:07 PM

94 posts

The hawker centre looks familiar. Penang if i'm not wrong?
samsungfreak
post Jul 12 2012, 08:24 PM

Also a PanasonicFreak
816 posts

From my experience, most Malaysians are very camera shy so they are afraid of the photographer more than the photographer are afraid of them. At once I shoot at a busy street, for direction that I am shooting it, it will be empty, EVEN it is a zebra cross lines!!! They avoid you...
Grajindo
post Jul 12 2012, 09:10 PM

2,171 posts

IMG_0463 (1) by Victor_Ng, on Flickr

IMG_0137 by Victor_Ng, on Flickr
Tony Stark
post Jul 12 2012, 10:36 PM

Jarvis where are you?
1,883 posts

QUOTE(Riggo @ Jul 12 2012, 07:50 PM)
i would either smile or turn around and run away immediately if i encounter such issue  doh.gif  doh.gif
u M user no nid scare..they will not notice ur small+keng camera snapping..tat day i brought out 60D+50mm 1.8, so big liow lehhhhhhhhh sad.gif
TSsniper on the roof
post Jul 12 2012, 10:39 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(XlimShady @ Jul 12 2012, 08:07 PM)
The hawker centre looks familiar. Penang if i'm not wrong?
naw... its jalan alor KL and middle pic is USJ 9 mamak.

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Jul 12 2012, 10:36 PM)
u M user no nid scare..they will not notice ur small+keng camera snapping..tat day i brought out 60D+50mm 1.8, so big liow lehhhhhhhhh sad.gif
pls check the previous page sir.
Tony Stark
post Jul 12 2012, 10:51 PM

Jarvis where are you?
1,883 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jul 12 2012, 10:39 PM)
naw... its jalan alor KL and middle pic is USJ 9 mamak.
pls check the previous page sir.
he still got nobody smack/scold him wat? tongue.gif
ZzZzz...
post Jul 12 2012, 11:23 PM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

my worst situation is shout by a aunty when my camera pointing at her...LOLOLOL ><"
teetaatee
post Jul 13 2012, 01:13 AM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Jul 12 2012, 05:15 PM)

QUOTE(teetaatee @ Jun 21 2012, 12:45 PM)
if u are using digital cam or dslr with LCD
when the object ask, " did u just snap pic of me? "
just reply back "yes" with smile and let him or her have a look of that pic, if he or she wan u to delete, just delete infront of he or she, if the object happy with the pic then keep the pic

if u are using film camera
just say no to them, cuz cant view back the pic u took, no screen.. lol
just my 2 cent wink.gif

This post has been edited by teetaatee: Jul 13 2012, 01:17 AM
Tony Stark
post Jul 13 2012, 01:20 AM

Jarvis where are you?
1,883 posts

QUOTE(teetaatee @ Jul 13 2012, 01:13 AM)
just my 2 cent  wink.gif
i thought thats wut i said/wrote smile.gif

but she was mad. its not as easy u describe there buddy laugh.gif she came to me asking all kind of questions, she retaliating sweat.gif

from ur situation/wut u wrote, its like when a pic is snapped, ''did u take a pic of me?'' ''yes'' then the subject saw the pic, like it/dislike it, then delete/not, then done.

well, from my situation, not as simple as that laugh.gif

just my 3 cents wink.gif
teetaatee
post Jul 13 2012, 01:21 AM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Jul 13 2012, 01:20 AM)
i thought thats wut i said/wrote smile.gif

but she was mad. its not as easy u describe there buddy laugh.gif she came to me asking all kind of questions, she retaliating sweat.gif

from ur situation/wut u wrote, its like when a pic is snapped, ''did u take a pic of me?'' ''yes'' then the subject saw the pic, like it/dislike it, then delete/not, then done.

well, from my situation, not as simple as that laugh.gif

just my 3 cents wink.gif
lol... never been thru those cases tongue.gif
teetaatee
post Jul 13 2012, 01:34 AM

1,061 posts

bromance by Song laa, on Flickr
TSsniper on the roof
post Jul 13 2012, 11:04 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Grajindo @ Jul 12 2012, 09:10 PM)

That beggar in front of Ximen MRT exit has been there for ages.

QUOTE(teetaatee @ Jul 13 2012, 01:34 AM)

Oh no.. I think he touched his lower back. Teeheee
damak
post Jul 13 2012, 11:36 AM

38 posts

This picture capture at Kota Kinabalu rclxms.gif

TSsniper on the roof
post Jul 13 2012, 11:39 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(damak @ Jul 13 2012, 11:36 AM)
This picture capture at Kota Kinabalu rclxms.gif

I can really relate to this one... old man... "rustic" stall.. jawatan kosong. I like it.

131 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0256sec    1.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:04 AM