Photography Street Photography V2, Ethics and Techniques
wayne1004
May 17 2018, 09:40 PM

QUOTE(TrialGone @ May 17 2018, 01:20 PM) There is some interesting element though probably would look better if the taxi is more in the frame. Not sure what so interesting about the right portion of the picture. Thanks for your comment. Yes the original picture composed of bigger part of the taxi but partly blocked by a stranger. My original thought is make a portrait crop focus on the driver and passenger's emotion. Yet i feel like compose more element around the market area should be able to boost the lively feeling surround. And i thought to use HDR to boost the neo feeling around. But seem like not working.. This post has been edited by wayne1004: May 17 2018, 10:34 PM
wayne1004
May 17 2018, 10:25 PM

Another shot at night. Original idea is to use HDR to boost the colour at night, but impact is weak and colour not attractive. So change to yellow only... Appreciated c&c Buddha worship. by The Boulevard, on Flickr This post has been edited by wayne1004: May 18 2018, 09:13 AM
HwangTommy
May 17 2018, 11:51 PM
Another hunt in Jakarta This guy's step by step guide to making the best 油条 The Cakue Man by Tommy Hwang, on Flickr The Cakue Man by Tommy Hwang, on Flickr The Cakue Man by Tommy Hwang, on Flickr The Cakue Man by Tommy Hwang, on Flickr Hello.. It's me.. by Tommy Hwang, on Flickr Turtle soup guy Pi Oh by Tommy Hwang, on Flickr Another kind of soup guy Bakmi by Tommy Hwang, on Flickr
TrialGone
May 18 2018, 08:11 AM
QUOTE(wayne1004 @ May 17 2018, 10:25 PM) Another shot at night. Original idea is to use HDR to boost the colour at night, but impact is weak and colour not attractive. So change to yellow only... Appreciated c&c Buddha worship. by The Boulevard, on Flickr Never good idea to use selective colour (except few cases). Even if imperfect, just leave as it i, you can try lower down saturation on distracting element but when it is obvious, you can't just hide it so just leave it. Not that good but I think original without selective be better.
wayne1004
May 18 2018, 09:16 AM

QUOTE(TrialGone @ May 18 2018, 08:11 AM) Never good idea to use selective colour (except few cases). Even if imperfect, just leave as it i, you can try lower down saturation on distracting element but when it is obvious, you can't just hide it so just leave it. Not that good but I think original without selective be better. I thought the yellow colour able to focus on as the main focal point. I will try to use either black and white or remain the same colour next time..
TSsniper on the roof
May 18 2018, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(wayne1004 @ May 18 2018, 09:16 AM) I thought the yellow colour able to focus on as the main focal point. I will try to use either black and white or remain the same colour next time.. I would've moved a bit to the left and frame the buddha between the 2 girls instead. Editing works best when its not noticeable.
wayne1004
May 18 2018, 09:47 AM

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 18 2018, 09:27 AM) I would've moved a bit to the left and frame the buddha between the 2 girls instead. Editing works best when its not noticeable. i see. so it is remain black and white will be an easier option? :/
TSsniper on the roof
May 18 2018, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(wayne1004 @ May 18 2018, 09:47 AM) i see. so it is remain black and white will be an easier option? :/ My own noob 2 cents lah... folks associate street photography with B&W due to the iconic bresson, doisneau images but they're B&W simply cos that's what available at the time. 2018 already.. just shoot color lah. Use color, lines and light to compose instead of just quickly snapping something and then cook in post.
TrialGone
May 18 2018, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(wayne1004 @ May 18 2018, 09:47 AM) i see. so it is remain black and white will be an easier option? :/ Probably better than selective colour in your buddha photo. But that white signboard still distracting so either colour or b&w wouldn't make much difference. I would just leave it at colour.
TrialGone
May 18 2018, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 18 2018, 09:58 AM) My own noob 2 cents lah... folks associate street photography with B&W due to the iconic bresson, doisneau images but they're B&W simply cos that's what available at the time. 2018 already.. just shoot color lah. Use color, lines and light to compose instead of just quickly snapping something and then cook in post. I normally use b&w to lessen multiple colour distraction and showing what actually going on, emphasize lines, contrast and so on. B&W if used correctly can look better than colour. But of coz, don't go nuts and use b&w on your son's birthday party or scene that suppose to look colourful.
wayne1004
May 18 2018, 10:26 AM

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 18 2018, 09:58 AM) My own noob 2 cents lah... folks associate street photography with B&W due to the iconic bresson, doisneau images but they're B&W simply cos that's what available at the time. 2018 already.. just shoot color lah. Use color, lines and light to compose instead of just quickly snapping something and then cook in post. i see. no problem will try.
wayne1004
May 18 2018, 10:26 AM

QUOTE(TrialGone @ May 18 2018, 10:11 AM) Probably better than selective colour in your buddha photo. But that white signboard still distracting so either colour or b&w wouldn't make much difference. I would just leave it at colour. i still need to learn more on the curve
cannonlee
May 24 2018, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(wayne1004 @ May 17 2018, 10:25 PM) Another shot at night. Original idea is to use HDR to boost the colour at night, but impact is weak and colour not attractive. So change to yellow only... Appreciated c&c Buddha worship. by The Boulevard, on Flickr This looks great! Is it photoshop to separate the color there?
wayne1004
May 28 2018, 12:05 PM

QUOTE(cannonlee @ May 24 2018, 03:24 PM) This looks great! Is it photoshop to separate the color there? i use snapseed...
Grajindo
May 29 2018, 03:08 PM
Wondering how many of you would be interested with photowalk? Came across the Shutter Alliance community of HK and it seems to be a very good thing to do for our photography community here to move our arse and get out shooting.
We could possibly do something similar and think should be quite interesting.
TSsniper on the roof
May 29 2018, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(Grajindo @ May 29 2018, 03:08 PM) Wondering how many of you would be interested with photowalk? Came across the Shutter Alliance community of HK and it seems to be a very good thing to do for our photography community here to move our arse and get out shooting. We could possibly do something similar and think should be quite interesting. We had one many many years ago.
Grajindo
May 29 2018, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 29 2018, 03:12 PM) We had one many many years ago. Maybe we could possibly start again and hopefully will get more people joining. Following the page of the Shutter Alliance and is quite impressed that they have the motivation to keep them going for few months now with about 2 weeks each month.
TSsniper on the roof
May 29 2018, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(Grajindo @ May 29 2018, 03:29 PM) Maybe we could possibly start again and hopefully will get more people joining. Following the page of the Shutter Alliance and is quite impressed that they have the motivation to keep them going for few months now with about 2 weeks each month. Had a look back at my flickr. That was in 2012.
dvlzplayground
May 29 2018, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(Grajindo @ May 29 2018, 03:29 PM) Maybe we could possibly start again and hopefully will get more people joining. Following the page of the Shutter Alliance and is quite impressed that they have the motivation to keep them going for few months now with about 2 weeks each month. sounds interesting  i'd love to join in KL area
TrialGone
May 29 2018, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ May 29 2018, 09:32 PM) sounds interesting  i'd love to join in KL area KL area kinda boring for street photos, personally.