Photography Street Photography V2, Ethics and Techniques
TrialGone
Sep 23 2017, 08:55 AM
QUOTE(LightningChan @ Sep 23 2017, 01:01 AM) Haloo street photog pros and sifus~ I've not really done street photography before other than snapping one or two random shots.. Are there any tips for me to blend in and not being seen taking pictures of passing people?.. pretty please?..  Nways, I shoot with a small NEX-5N mirrorless and a small-ish vintage prime lens. Hope that won't catch much attention.. haha  Oh and can I post the pictures of strangers online to instagram or facebook? and can I get sue by those people if they find out?. D: Try acting like a tourist  But in all seriousness, unless you find something interesting, don't just randomly take any photo of people on the streets including beggars.
TrialGone
Dec 14 2017, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(Kilohertz @ Dec 12 2017, 04:59 PM) I just started venturing into street photography, besides Petaling Street.. is there any other places that's good to do some street shooting around KL  Masjid jamek? Street shooting has no actual locations though. Some of my street shoots surprisingly at weird or unthinkable place. This post has been edited by TrialGone: Dec 14 2017, 05:48 PM
TrialGone
Dec 15 2017, 07:59 AM
QUOTE(calvintiffy @ Dec 15 2017, 03:22 AM) Question: Why most street photography are in black and white? Is it better that way? hmm... No. If your shots appeal is multi colour like festivity or family event, why you want them black and white? Just have them in B&W if you think it be better, not cause it is a must thing.
TrialGone
Apr 19 2018, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(HwangTommy @ Apr 17 2018, 01:03 AM) Hey everyone! My first time posting here. I just picked up an EOS M3 a few months ago and I am still learning photography. Last weekend, I went to Jakarta and visited their Kota Tua (Old Town/Street) and did some street photography there. This is my first time editing in Lightroom, I am a dead beginner at it and still learning, so please comment if I over-edit stuffs! Kota Tua Jakarta by Tommy Hwang, on Flickr Kota Tua Jakarta by Tommy Hwang, on Flickr Kota Tua Jakarta by Tommy Hwang, on Flickr Kota Tua Jakarta by Tommy Hwang, on Flickr BTW, their museum is cheap (~RM1.4) and has lots of cool stuffs inside! Although most of the exhibits are, missing :confused: Kota Tua Jakarta by Tommy Hwang, on Flickr Liked the first pic. The rest so so. Too much pink.
TrialGone
May 7 2018, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(MooTikPin @ May 3 2018, 02:07 PM) Singapore 30 Minutes Session  Good street photos but need to dial down the 'brandon' colour and hdr.
TrialGone
May 17 2018, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(wayne1004 @ May 16 2018, 11:51 AM) Was In Chiang Mai during Labour Day.. Please help to comment. One night in Chiang Mai by The Boulevard, on Flickr There is some interesting element though probably would look better if the taxi is more in the frame. Not sure what so interesting about the right portion of the picture.
TrialGone
May 18 2018, 08:11 AM
QUOTE(wayne1004 @ May 17 2018, 10:25 PM) Another shot at night. Original idea is to use HDR to boost the colour at night, but impact is weak and colour not attractive. So change to yellow only... Appreciated c&c Buddha worship. by The Boulevard, on Flickr Never good idea to use selective colour (except few cases). Even if imperfect, just leave as it i, you can try lower down saturation on distracting element but when it is obvious, you can't just hide it so just leave it. Not that good but I think original without selective be better.
TrialGone
May 18 2018, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(wayne1004 @ May 18 2018, 09:47 AM) i see. so it is remain black and white will be an easier option? :/ Probably better than selective colour in your buddha photo. But that white signboard still distracting so either colour or b&w wouldn't make much difference. I would just leave it at colour.
TrialGone
May 18 2018, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 18 2018, 09:58 AM) My own noob 2 cents lah... folks associate street photography with B&W due to the iconic bresson, doisneau images but they're B&W simply cos that's what available at the time. 2018 already.. just shoot color lah. Use color, lines and light to compose instead of just quickly snapping something and then cook in post. I normally use b&w to lessen multiple colour distraction and showing what actually going on, emphasize lines, contrast and so on. B&W if used correctly can look better than colour. But of coz, don't go nuts and use b&w on your son's birthday party or scene that suppose to look colourful.
TrialGone
May 29 2018, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ May 29 2018, 09:32 PM) sounds interesting  i'd love to join in KL area KL area kinda boring for street photos, personally.
TrialGone
May 30 2018, 08:49 PM
QUOTE(veron4best @ May 30 2018, 08:39 PM) TrialGoneThis looked so interesting The aunty is slightly interesting. But what so interesting about people looking at smartphones?  Also I hav been to sentral market and kota raya. 80% you will take beggar/hobo shots, lots of banglas there if you into that kind of thing, the old buildings were interesting but the stupidly narrow walkway, car roads kind of ruin the scene. Petaling street was interesting for a while but meh, again ruined by cars parking on side road. This post has been edited by TrialGone: May 30 2018, 08:56 PM
TrialGone
May 30 2018, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(Grajindo @ May 30 2018, 09:45 PM) any better suggestion?  I was hoping you could tell me Though the recent ramadan bazaar has some peculiar sight if you know where to look.
TrialGone
May 30 2018, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(Grajindo @ May 30 2018, 10:03 PM) No idea as well. Personally just want to get some motivation to shoot. Used to shoot quite frequent at Petaling Street and Central Market area and find it quite interesting. Maybe because I'm not local KL people..  Petaling street is definitely a great place to start but.......some reason last time I went there to take some photos, end up with 99% bangla faces in the pictures  . That or really ugly signboards occassionally hanging on top see example below (not my photo). Nothing against 'sayangi KL', just really ugly aesthetically  But that's just me, I kind of picky about shots after looking through tons of my photos of plain street with no story behind. This post has been edited by TrialGone: May 30 2018, 10:20 PM
TrialGone
Jun 1 2018, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(Grajindo @ May 31 2018, 07:59 PM)  Normally I shoot whatever interest me whether they are bangla, chinese indian or even westerner Just to share some took sometime ago while I was at the surrounding of Petaling Street. F1100013 by Victor Ng, on Flickr F1100036 by Victor Ng, on Flickr F1060028 by Victor Ng, on Flickr It's an ok shots but whereabout you took the 3rd picture? The one with yellow windows.
TrialGone
Jun 2 2018, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(Grajindo @ Jun 1 2018, 10:24 PM) btw, think am gonna hang around Petaling Street tomorrow afternoon please join if anyone wants to have some fun as well Do post some here. Seen your flickr and 500px, there are couple of great streetshots. Maybe I missed it, but I cannot manage to find a single petaling street shots in your profile,
TrialGone
Jun 3 2018, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(wayne1004 @ Jun 2 2018, 11:35 PM) Will anyone suggest to buy s manual focus prime lens for street photo? 35mm or 50mm (FF equivalent) focal would do nicely.
TrialGone
Jun 4 2018, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(wayne1004 @ Jun 4 2018, 09:38 AM) i had a 35mm EF already thinking to get a narrower lens for closer look The saying goes "zoom with your feet". Thats one of the appeal when doing street shots. You can go narrower with 50mm on apsc but that is already at borderline, IMO of coz. Anything more tele than that i tend to stay way too far, out in the open, pray no photobombers, very steady hand, and sometimes not getting any background due to extreme bokeh (street shots tend to look better if background tells a story). There is the cheaper samyang or mitakon manual if i recall like the 50mm f0.9 something. But unless its really low light, high aperture setting is not really ideal for street shots as u can see anything else beside subjecy, IMO again of coz.
TrialGone
Jun 5 2018, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(MooTikPin @ Jun 5 2018, 09:53 AM) In Lightroom , play with the Black point in the graph at the lower end of the spectrum Then selective colour for highlight Other editing like normal - brightness, contrast, etc I would tone down the selective colour though. IMO. If u like it leave it be.
TrialGone
Jun 19 2018, 08:09 AM
QUOTE(Grajindo @ Jun 18 2018, 08:06 PM) speaking from someone that enjoys roaming on the street with intention to shoot, i was trying to understand what is street photography too but after sometime, i gave up since everyone has their own understanding, some says you must include people in, and some says to have their face, and with their face some says it's not street photography but portrait photography. so it's a never ending. my take from this is shoot and have fun, in the process browse online and see what kind of street shooting catch your attention more, and from there you would slowly learn about what is worth shooting what is not worth shooting. one of my fav street photographers is Ho Fan, reason being that his photos draw me into the scene itself. and see how all the photos are composed so carefully that you not they are not mere snapshots.  When they say to have their face because it is interesting to see facial expression than blob of black hair from the back.
TrialGone
Jun 19 2018, 11:07 AM
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 19 2018, 09:15 AM) Not everyone can/would or should do Bruce Gilden style so these mostly ends up as mindless snapshots of ppl on the streets. *raising my hand in guilt* This fella does it quite well though https://www.flickr.com/photos/83917938@N02/albumsDid i say do it gilden style? In fact dont do gilden style ever. As long got some faces in it, it at least something to look at. People's back head is not particulary interesting (except when there is a context to it like a tattoo or something). When most of ur shots are full of people's backhead, usually it just looks like you don't have confidence shooting streets. Faces can tell a lot of stories if done right. That said, having people in photos is not a must for street shots. As long it is interesting enough with street contents. Example would be artistic building shapes, neon lights, animal doing stuff, etc.