weikee
post Apr 1 2013, 02:30 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(avereng @ Apr 1 2013, 01:35 PM)
What do you mean by 55-65%?

My system is 7.7kW capacity. With estimation 3.5kWh/kW, my system supposed to generate 27kWh. In Mac, most day generation is exceeding 27kWh

Electric bill? Feed in tariff has nothing to do with electric bill. We get payment from generation regardless what we consume.
I misread your data, though it was 7.7Kwh. You saying 7.7KW panel. What is the average KWh you can generate for this panel (in typical malaysia sun light?)
avereng
post Apr 1 2013, 02:43 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 1 2013, 02:30 PM)
I misread your data, though it was 7.7Kwh. You saying 7.7KW panel. What is the average KWh you can generate for this panel (in typical malaysia sun light?)
Because just 3 mths operation, IMHO, 7.7x3.5=27kWh should be the average
avereng
post Apr 1 2013, 02:45 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(MrUbikeledek @ Apr 1 2013, 01:43 PM)
How to install on the flat?
I think you need to ask installer.

From what i know, flat or other high rise building are not possible to install because you don't own the roof.

ozak
post Apr 1 2013, 02:56 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(avereng @ Apr 1 2013, 01:40 PM)
All depends on how much generation you expected, the expectation range is from 3-3.8kWh/kW. This will take as annual average value.
My system only running for 3 months. For me, if the generation is higher than 3.5kWh/kW is consider fine. Generation higher than 4.0kWh/kW is good.

In Malaysia, generation beyond 6kWh/kW is almost impossible. The good place will be northern peninsular, which near to Thai border. There has less rain and can generate more electricity. A Penang system always better than mine.
A 7.7kw sytem generate 3.5kw is about 46% output. That is not even half of the 7.7kw. The malaysia weather problem or the panel quality? Do you have a similiar panel and system to compare?
avereng
post Apr 1 2013, 03:21 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 1 2013, 02:56 PM)
A 7.7kw sytem generate 3.5kw is about 46% output. That is not even half of the 7.7kw. The malaysia weather problem or the panel quality? Do you have a similiar panel and system to compare?
Now I know what you mean.

3.5kWh/kW is the good sunlight hours which is the performance of PV system regardless the capacity. Some people pronounced as 3.5 good sunlight hours. 3.5kWh/kW is not same as 3.5kWh

My system has capacity of 7.7kW. The generation based on 3.5kWh/kW will be 7.7kW x 3.5kWh/kW = 27kWh.

My installer compared mine to other 20++ installations. They said my system performance is above average but not the best.
The best performance was 5.2kWh/kW or 40kWh on 1st Mac. In whole Mac, 1000kWh generated from my system.
Kiding
post Apr 2 2013, 05:26 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 1 2013, 11:37 AM)
From what i have learn, it is not distance between earth and sun. But rather the pole rotation half yrs sun position between north and south. Our sun shine on us is changing between north and south for half yrs. If you hang your cloth under the sun, observe the east shadow and light in the morning.

All the installer recommend to install face to south the panel. Cause later half the yrs, the sun would be at the south. And raining season is mostly at the later yrs. If face north, the panel will receive less sun + monsoon = very low output.

This is apply to the solar heater too.
Sun shine directly on the equator on 21 March and 21 September every year, like Kuching which is very close to equator, Solar panel will get max output on these two days. Klang Valley is 3 degree north, the solar output difference is neglectable compare to Kuching, the solar panel facing direction has more impact to the solar energy generation, some of the solar panel installation has rotor to rotate the solar panel to always facing the sun directly to generate max power.
ozak
post Apr 3 2013, 02:12 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(avereng @ Apr 1 2013, 03:21 PM)
Now I know what you mean.

3.5kWh/kW is the good sunlight hours which is the performance of PV system regardless the capacity. Some people pronounced as 3.5 good sunlight hours. 3.5kWh/kW is not same as 3.5kWh

My system has capacity of 7.7kW. The generation based on 3.5kWh/kW will be 7.7kW x 3.5kWh/kW = 27kWh.

My installer compared mine to other 20++ installations. They said my system performance is above average but not the best.
The best performance was 5.2kWh/kW or 40kWh on 1st Mac. In whole Mac, 1000kWh generated from my system.
A 7.7kw system should generate 7.7kw/h in theory. If base on your total a day generate 27kwh and 5hr of sunlight, average your system can produce 27/5 = 5.4kw/h. That is 70% efficeincy. It is average panel efficiency. While some claim can go as faf as 80%. Or 6.1kw/h.

But if base on your 3.5kwh and total generate perday is 27kwh, it mean 27/3.5 = 7.7hr sunlight?

But if base on your said 3.5 good sunlight hr and 3.5kwh/kw max generate. That is 3.5hr x 3.5kw = 12.25kwh for whole day. That is not mre than 50% of your system efficiency.

Probably another thing I suspect is the half of your panel is not perform max efficency. Since half is facing north and half is facing south.
ozak
post Apr 3 2013, 02:17 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Apr 2 2013, 05:26 PM)
Sun shine directly on the equator on 21 March and 21 September every year, like Kuching which is very close to equator, Solar panel will get max output on these two days. Klang Valley is 3 degree north, the solar output difference is neglectable compare to Kuching, the solar panel facing direction has more impact to the solar energy generation, some of the solar panel installation has rotor to rotate the solar panel to always facing the sun directly to generate max power.
Yes. That is half yrs sun facing south and half yrs facing north. My house front is facing north. While my house right side is facing east. So I always see the sun half yrs is slighty infront my rooftop and later half yrs is slighty behind my rooftop.
avereng
post Apr 5 2013, 02:52 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 3 2013, 02:12 PM)
A 7.7kw system should generate 7.7kw/h in theory. If base on your total a day generate 27kwh and 5hr of sunlight, average your system can produce 27/5 = 5.4kw/h. That is 70% efficeincy. It is average panel efficiency. While some claim can go as faf as 80%. Or 6.1kw/h.

But if base on your 3.5kwh and total generate perday is 27kwh, it mean 27/3.5 = 7.7hr sunlight?

But if base on your said 3.5 good sunlight hr and 3.5kwh/kw max generate. That is 3.5hr x 3.5kw = 12.25kwh for whole day. That is not mre than 50% of your system efficiency.

Probably another thing I suspect is the half of your panel is not perform max efficency. Since half is facing north and half is facing south.
The capacity rating for PV solar panel is based on STC which is laboratory condition. In real life condition, the STC condition will not be easy to achieve.
Any where in the world, there will not be a place to have ideal condition for PV system to work 100% efficiency for whole year long.
Further more, another factor to decide the generation is inverter, which has loss in efficiency.

Therefore, PV installer always looking for kWh/kW as benchmark to gauge PV system regardless on the system capacity.
SUSmeistsh_musical
post May 26 2013, 11:59 AM

Ahbeng
1,111 posts

hello stop by here and read comment
ozak
post May 29 2013, 12:18 AM

17,025 posts

Last week have some free time and since this few day super hot sun. So decide to do some research on my solar panel. See what it can output.

Have been keep in my store room for over a year now. Lazy to setup on the roof. And yet decide On Grid or OFF Grid.

So take 2pcs out to try. When fully roll out, it damn long. The size is 5486mm x 394mm x 4mm.

When empty run without hook to anything, the voltage read at 45vdc. Not bad with some shading on the panel. The actual spec for this panel is 111watt, 33vdc. (24vdc) Confirm the panel is working good.

Than hook up with a big cable (4mm) in parallel connection. This will give out 33vdc, 200watt.

This is a grid tie inverter which convert the dc voltage to 240vac. Max it can output is 500watt. This china made inverter is not that efficiency.

After switch on the inverter and connect to 3pin socket, it running without any problem. First it will detect the home voltage and hz. Than adjust accordingly. There is a led light running up/down to show the panel is outputting some current. If the panel output low, the run led will slow down. When no output during night, the inverter will shutdown. It can be run 24/7 without off it.

Sorry for that damn watt meter. The LCD screen got some problem with some line missing. Use not more than a year than become like that. China made. Can't complain much. At max sunlight, I figure out it probably run at 160watt ++. The pattern of the watt output is gradually up from the morning. Than go down gradually in the evening.

From the testing, 1 day probably can't get even 1kwh from 111wx2 panel. That is about 72% output. It is not that accurate from this testing as

1) many shadow around when place on the floor. Rooftop probably can get better yield.
2) since it on the ground, the sun angle is not optimize. The panel can't get enough sunlight.
3) can't read the broken LCD watt meter.

Probably will conduct another testing after get a new watt meter. :)

weikee
post May 29 2013, 08:28 AM

12,019 posts

Nice, maybe you can get another 4 set, and get a 2kw system. Can power on 2hp a/c in the afternoon. Maybe put a backup battery smile.gif

If you plan to do on grid, you need license installer right?
VStore.my
post May 29 2013, 10:35 AM

17 posts

Good work, ozak. How much is all these things?
ozak
post May 29 2013, 11:32 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 29 2013, 08:28 AM)
Nice, maybe you can get another 4 set, and get a 2kw system. Can power on 2hp a/c in the afternoon. Maybe put a backup battery smile.gif

If you plan to do on grid, you need license installer right?
Not cheap lah. Don't even think of powerup an aircon. The output is not stable. once crowd over your panel, your aircon will down. 1 battery can cost you rm800+. The best is supply back to TNB. That is the cheapest setup.

You don't need license. And it is not illegal also. The different is, those proper setup and sell back can get higher rate. While this individual setup will only get you a normal rate 0.218. Probably consider as subsidy your bill.
ozak
post May 29 2013, 11:37 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(VStore.my @ May 29 2013, 10:35 AM)
Good work, ozak. How much is all these things?
2 panel and a inverter around rm2500.
weikee
post May 29 2013, 02:02 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 29 2013, 11:32 AM)
Not cheap lah. Don't even think of powerup an aircon. The output is not stable. once crowd over your panel, your aircon will down. 1 battery can cost you rm800+. The best is supply back to TNB. That is the cheapest setup.

You don't need license. And it is not illegal also. The different is, those proper setup and sell back can get higher rate. While this individual setup will only get you a normal rate 0.218. Probably consider as subsidy your bill.
Do you need a special KW Meter? or the current one can do reverse?

This post has been edited by weikee: May 29 2013, 02:03 PM
ozak
post May 29 2013, 10:48 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 29 2013, 02:02 PM)
Do you need a special KW Meter? or the current one can do reverse?
No need special meter. The current meter will do. Either it will slow down or rev if output more than input.
weikee
post May 29 2013, 10:55 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 29 2013, 10:48 PM)
No need special meter. The current meter will do. Either it will slow down or rev if output more than input.
Hmm, if that is the case I may want to DIY one smile.gif Look like my Initial investment need to be around RM 4k.
ozak
post May 30 2013, 12:21 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 29 2013, 10:55 PM)
Hmm, if that is the case I may want to DIY one smile.gif Look like my Initial investment need to be around RM 4k.
It is easy DIY. A panel, wire, inverter and a watt meter. Hook it up and plug into any 3pin socket.

Good is, you can gradually increase the panel if you like. Or charge a battery if you don't like to give to TNB. Or when you have finally get a system big enough, get a provider to apply for you a license 1 that give you a higher rate return.

For panel, if you add more later, make sure the voltage don't different much with the old panel. Do the research what is the common voltage panel have in the market.

Don't get those crap china panel which perform low output. Waste your rooftop space.
weikee
post May 30 2013, 12:35 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 30 2013, 12:21 AM)
It is easy DIY. A panel, wire, inverter and a watt meter. Hook it up and plug into any 3pin socket.

Good is, you can gradually increase the panel if you like. Or charge a battery if you don't like to give to TNB. Or when you have finally get a system big enough, get a provider to apply for you a license 1 that give you a higher rate return.

For panel, if you add more later, make sure the voltage don't different much with the old panel.  Do the research what is the common voltage panel have in the market.

Don't get those crap china panel which perform low output. Waste your rooftop space.
Where did you buy the panel? You using Sharp panel?

66 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0317sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:37 PM