66 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Solar Power Generation, for home use/sell back to tnb

Kiding
post May 30 2013, 10:40 AM

1,135 posts

Ozak, is your solar panel thin film type? thin film panel has lower efficiency which only 11%. for indiviual who want to use solar power, feed in to the power grid still the best option, lower cost and better efficiency.
ozak
post May 30 2013, 11:17 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 30 2013, 12:35 AM)
Where did you buy the panel? You using Sharp panel?
From US. Get it during sale and using another cheaper shipping way. The brand is unisolar. As you can see it come in roll flexible. Advantage is, it lighter compare fix panel type. Reduce the shipping cost.

But this company bankrupt liau. sad.gif maybe still got some provider stock this kind of panel.

Since the panel cost getting lower, maybe can get more watt/$ now.
weikee
post May 30 2013, 11:28 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 30 2013, 11:17 AM)
From US. Get it during sale and using another cheaper shipping way. The brand is unisolar. As you can see it come in roll flexible. Advantage is, it lighter compare fix panel type. Reduce the shipping cost.

But this company bankrupt liau.  sad.gif  maybe still got some provider stock this kind of panel.

Since the panel cost getting lower, maybe can get more watt/$ now.
Solar things not sure need custom clearance. Maybe need to source in Malaysia.
ozak
post May 30 2013, 03:04 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ May 30 2013, 10:40 AM)
Ozak, is your solar panel thin film type? thin film panel has lower efficiency which only 11%. for indiviual who want to use solar power, feed in to the power grid still the best option, lower cost and better efficiency.
It is a thin film type. Not really less efficiency.

The best working condition for solar panel is clear sky with no crowd. And cool weather. This 2 condition is not favor here. We are crowdy and hot weather here.

Normal panel/poly crystal will reduce efficiency once get hot. And when shadow cover even less than half the panel, the voltage will drop.

While thin film, is not effect much by hot weather. And shadow will not cause the voltage drop. Thin film panel actually is more suitable here.

But disadvantage for thin film is, it need more space per watt compare normal panel. That's why you see the panel is freaking long.

As the poly panel getting lower cost now and need less space per watt, more people are using poly panel to offset the loss. You buy more panel to cover back the loss of the efficiency.
ozak
post May 30 2013, 03:17 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 30 2013, 11:28 AM)
Since here getting more company sale panel, better try local first. I think price is getting cheap here. The problem is are they import good panel or china b grade panel. Will they just sale 1 or 2 panel to you.

I've brought 2x from US. Include some others item too. So far no tax. Using special way. brows.gif
Kiding
post May 30 2013, 10:43 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 30 2013, 03:04 PM)
It is a thin film type. Not really less efficiency.

The best working condition for solar panel is clear sky with no crowd. And cool weather. This 2 condition is not favor here. We are crowdy and hot weather here.

Normal panel/poly crystal will reduce efficiency once get hot. And when shadow cover even less than half the panel, the voltage will drop.

While thin film, is not effect much by hot weather. And shadow will not cause the voltage drop. Thin film panel actually is more suitable here.

But disadvantage for thin film is, it need more space per watt compare normal panel. That's why you see the panel is freaking long.

As the poly panel getting lower cost now and need less space per watt, more people are using poly panel to offset the loss. You buy more panel to cover back the loss of the efficiency.
Poly-crystalline silicon panel has higher efficiency (20%) than thin film (10%), that is why the same area of solar panel, Poly-crystalline silicon panel has higher output, thin film has edge on the high temperature which its efficiency not drop a lot in hot weather.

One of my clients (First Solar which has plant in Kulim) told me the thin film not suitable for household, because it is less efficient so require bigger space.
ozak
post May 31 2013, 08:55 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ May 30 2013, 10:43 PM)
Poly-crystalline silicon panel has higher efficiency (20%) than thin film (10%), that is why the same area of solar panel, Poly-crystalline silicon panel has higher output, thin film has edge on the high temperature which its efficiency not drop a lot in hot weather.

One of my clients (First Solar which has plant in Kulim) told me the thin film not suitable for household, because it is less efficient so require bigger space.
If you talking about the space, yes. It require more space perwatt.

But if I will buy another batch of panel, I will looking for thin film multicrystalline panel again. If my budget have lah. It is the highest efficeincy panel in the world. Do you believe that?
ozak
post May 31 2013, 10:08 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 30 2013, 11:28 AM)
Maybe you can check it out with Panasonic here. Would they sell their panel here. The panel probably maufacturing in Kulim. Or you bring a lorry to there at night. brows.gif

Panasonic have the most efficeincy panel in the world. It is a thin film multicrytaline type panel. Call Panasonic HIT solar panel.
weikee
post May 31 2013, 10:11 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 31 2013, 10:08 AM)
Maybe you can check it out with Panasonic here. Would they sell their panel here. The panel probably maufacturing in Kulim. Or you bring a lorry to there at night. brows.gif

Panasonic have the most efficeincy panel in the world. It is a thin film multicrytaline type panel. Call Panasonic HIT solar panel.
Don't have the budget to do large scale yet. Maybe buy small one for "flood light" before I install the glass awning.
ozak
post May 31 2013, 10:16 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 31 2013, 10:11 AM)
Don't have the budget to do large scale yet. Maybe buy small one for "flood light" before I install the glass awning.
No need large scale lah. Just buy 1pcs. But don't no they will serve you or not. sad.gif
weikee
post May 31 2013, 10:21 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 31 2013, 10:16 AM)
No need large scale lah. Just buy 1pcs. But don't no they will serve you or not. sad.gif
They won't la.
Kiding
post May 31 2013, 09:30 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 31 2013, 08:55 AM)
If you talking about the space, yes. It require more space perwatt.

But if I will buy another batch of panel, I will looking for thin film multicrystalline panel again. If my budget have lah. It is the highest efficeincy panel in the world. Do you believe that?
Multi-junction solar cell has highest efficiency, used to be for space station, satellite.

90Boyz
post Jun 6 2013, 09:37 PM

UTMB !!
3,730 posts

nice info sharing .. thanks.
MatXSelamat
post Jun 6 2013, 11:52 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ May 30 2013, 10:43 PM)

They produce silicon type, of course they will tell you theirs is the best, regardless of true or false. Unless they otak masuk air lah.

First Solar only produce panel component in Kulim plant, encapsulation is done else way. And they are slowly dying too. In fact the whole solar panel industry is going through rocky downhill. Good or bad for consumer, ini susah nak jawab
quintesson
post Jun 7 2013, 07:28 PM

566 posts

everyone are selling on Green concept. shouldn't it be Green products be more affordable than the conventional type to encourage all of us to use but it seems like the other way round. so how could we be Green?
i also heard from a friend there's a company which can arrange from loan financing up till the tnb contract to install this type of solar power. it cost around 50k so the 1st 7 years no profit only enough to cover loan from the selling of electricity to tnb. subsequent 14years will be our nett profit. how's that sound? anyone here signed up for such scheme? some opinion please?

This post has been edited by quintesson: Jun 7 2013, 07:29 PM
Yes4G111
post Jun 10 2013, 10:43 PM

Is it high efficiency panel will perform better than low efficiency panel??
efficiency rate is calculate base on panel size.
If compare these two panel:
250w panel- 17% efficiency (bigger size)
250w panel- 22% efficiency (smaller compare to 17% efficiency)

Output almost the same.
Kiding
post Jun 10 2013, 11:34 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Yes4G111 @ Jun 10 2013, 10:43 PM)
Is it high efficiency panel will perform better than low efficiency panel??
efficiency rate is calculate base on panel size.
If compare these two panel:
250w panel- 17% efficiency (bigger size)
250w panel- 22% efficiency (smaller compare to 17% efficiency)

Output almost the same.
You have already answered your question smile.gif

High efficiency solar panel == smaller size panel produce same output as bigger size panel == same area of panel produce higher output
ozak
post Jun 10 2013, 11:41 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Jun 10 2013, 11:34 PM)

High efficiency solar panel == smaller size panel produce same output as bigger size panel == same area of panel produce higher output
Dont forget the hot temperature and shadow.
Yes4G111
post Jun 11 2013, 12:42 AM

QUOTE(Kiding @ Jun 10 2013, 11:34 PM)

Yes, if you want maximize your system size.
But if you only plan to install a 4kWp system, using a high efficiency panel or low efficiency of panel is not so important already. smile.gif

Thin film is bigger size panel(low efficiency), but for those looking for quality product customer it should be first choice. hehe..
Correct? Ozak?
billyboy
post Jun 11 2013, 07:23 AM

2,220 posts

Alliance Bank just announced up to 90% financing for solar panels.

Check Star pg 2 today.

66 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:55 AM