5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread V12, 1Darkside ! 1Nikon ! D800 rumor !

vearn27
post Nov 8 2011, 10:05 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

My 77mm B+W XS-Pro UV Filter damn difficult to clean wei laugh.gif
vearn27
post Nov 8 2011, 10:10 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Nov 8 2011, 10:07 PM)
maybe non nano? rclxms.gif  tongue.gif  biggrin.gif
Obviously biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Irbean @ Nov 8 2011, 10:07 PM)
aik? out of many B+W user claims its easy to clean, but for you is the other way round? did u buy the fake B+W  blush.gif
To be honest, I don't recall that I read anyone that owning B+W XS-Pro claiming it is easy to clean. Never know about F-Pro though anyway. One of the most highlighted different when comparing between B+W XS-Pro and Hoya HD is that the B+W XS-Pro is much more difficult to clean than Hoya HD. Since when the B+W XS-Pro claimed can be cleaned easily?

Only thing I read about is the Nano-coat version offers easier cleaning but that only been available months earlier which is not too long ago laugh.gif

This post has been edited by vearn27: Nov 8 2011, 10:22 PM
vearn27
post Nov 9 2011, 11:14 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 9 2011, 07:23 AM)
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/buy/Sandisk-...91/N/4158221993

Price drop on the Sandisk Extreme cards at BH! Anybody wanna organize a bulk maybe? tongue.gif

Sandisk Extreme 16GB CF at USD55.99, about RM180... its selling for about RM300~RM330 in Msia.
ZOMG! ohmy.gif shocking.gif

Sandisk MC is so freakin cheap at BH... 16GB SDHC Extreme HD 30MB/s* just approx RM85 sweat.gif

How much is Sandisk SDHC Extreme HD 30MB/s* at Low Yat now? I checked the price last week was RM158? Memory card dropped price? unsure.gif
vearn27
post Nov 9 2011, 12:33 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 9 2011, 12:32 PM)
If got bulk I think its dirt cheap! Cause the shipping fee is USD50 >_<
Shall we start one? laugh.gif
vearn27
post Nov 9 2011, 03:40 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Nov 9 2011, 02:29 PM)
Look at her...

She is so dirty... vmad.gif  vmad.gif

So i took her to shower.

Boom! tada. all clean! rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

Put her back to where she should be.

As new as the body  laugh.gif

This is what i used to clean her up  icon_rolleyes.gif

Thought 3 would be enough i ended up using 7 of them...

Weee!~  rclxm9.gif
That's a good shower biggrin.gif

Anyway, what's the white liquid which you are using? unsure.gif
vearn27
post Nov 10 2011, 10:01 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Nov 9 2011, 08:41 PM)
I got 90mb/s Sandisk Extreme Pro UHS-1 at a better price tongue.gif

8gb for 175 nia tongue.gif
CF cards?

60mb/s fast enough? 8gb only 200 here what? smile.gif

90mb/s also got, 16gb around 500 LOL!
8GB? Not being sufficient at all. I need 16GB at least.

Even you do own a 200MB/s card, I don't see how that gonna be an advantage when you use it on a DSLR.
vearn27
post Nov 10 2011, 10:19 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Nov 10 2011, 10:09 AM)
It does.

Just that you don't see it, does not mean others don't smile.gif

For example, for A77, the 12fps burst is cleared within 5 secs if you use the Sandisk Extreme Pro UHS-1 90mb/s card compared to other class 10/lower speed.

To note, some other videographer do use such fast cards for recording too smile.gif

So, can see the difference now?
How long does it take for Class 10 30MB/s to clear it on A77?

I do agree that a fast card is required for videography and burst frames. I do notice different between a Class 4 and Class 10 card when I review RAW on the DSLR. However, how's the different between Class 10 and UHS-1? Or 30MB/s vs 90MB/s on the DSLR?
vearn27
post Nov 10 2011, 10:55 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Nov 10 2011, 10:36 AM)
16GB also not enough one, hehe, get 32GB, less worry.

UHS-1 (45MB/s) vs 30MB/s edition, you can feel slight difference, when you review picture and browsing through pictures, it's slightly faster, the green LED goes away faster; Let's say you're shooting RAW + JPEG, after your press the shutter, with UHS-1 (45MB/s), the green LED goes away faster, means it writes faster to the card. It may not be very important, but it's good when you're shooting action, or when you need to speed.

Not sure about the 90MB/s edition; I read some sites, it seems the 90MB/s gives no difference in performance, probably because the test is not using RAW + JPEG mode, which will produce larger file size in total (but still 2 files)? But the test, the guy tested BURST mode, both 45MB/s and 90MB/s card clears around the same time. If true, it would mean the camera itself doesn't support up to 90MB/s, but I can't be sure of that, just sharing.
Got, try monitor how fast the camera writes to the card everytime you take a photo; If you take JPEG only, maybe no difference? Try take RAW or even better, RAW+JPEG.
Also, try review/browsing through photos, the next photo should load up quicker and smoother.

Finally, try BURST mode at 6FPS, after the buffer is full, the fps should slow down already, let go and calculate how long it takes to write to the card and clears the buffer; The UHS-1 should be able to clear the buffer faster, unless that is.. a counterfeit?
I got 2x 16GB. Approximately 800++ exposures on 14-bit Compressed RAW and 600++ on 14-bit Loseless RAW for one card. That should be sufficient to cover a one day event. Surpassing the mark should charge more tongue.gif

Technically you should be right on the LED blinking, but how much does it affect my shooting? So far other than flash cycle time which is more crucial, I don't feel any bottleneck regardless of speed while shooting yet. And hell yeah, my default mode is 14-bit Loseless RAW on max megapixels.

Added on November 10, 2011, 10:58 am
QUOTE(chiahau @ Nov 10 2011, 10:49 AM)
Using the 45mb per sec, roughly 15 sec, RAW + JPEG

With the 90mb/s, it goes down to roughly 7 or less..

If Jpeg, I think can go down to even 4 secs using the 90mb/s one....

Can't time it precisely, so this are my rough figures la..

Detailed testing can only be done on weekends, with a tripod and timer ahaha smile.gif
Will be anticipating for the result of your proper test than assumption.

However, as refer to my post above, is there any bottleneck that should use 90MB/s than 30MB/s?

This post has been edited by vearn27: Nov 10 2011, 10:58 AM
vearn27
post Nov 10 2011, 11:26 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Nov 10 2011, 11:08 AM)
If you have 2 X 16GB means already got 32GB lo, hehe; I thought you have 8GB and wanna get 16GB.  tongue.gif
But having 1 32GB can be good/nice, if you're considering upgrading, got extra space.

May not really affect your shooting, but may give better experience and feel; Just like after you snap and immediately review the photo, the speed, but it's very very slight only. I think the more obvious if say you're browsing through your photos to find that photo or when you want to show the client/friends a certain photo, the overall performance is slightly faster; It's not really an issue, I can bear with the slight lag, but having a faster speed is "nice to have", it's not a necessity. That said, Class 10 also got many speed, from 10MB/s up to 30MB/s, the speed between 20MB/s and 30MB/s isn't really obvious as well, and may not be important to everyone. So, it really depends if you think the extra speed is nice to have.
When I purchase the UHS-1 time, I did consider whether should I just get the 30MB/s and save a little money; but after some consideration, I just get the UHS-1, after all, the extra speed can come in handy and also when transfer files between PC.
I prefer to have multiple card with adequate capacity than one king card. 8GB is arguably insufficient, but 16GB should be it. In fact, the battery will go until approximately 30%++ from 100% after filling the 16GB. The Secondary 16GB storing JPEG should has sufficient capacity for extra spaces to store RAW if the 1st card is filled up until the battery fully drained. Well, that's how I utilize both my 16GB at the moment for event shooting.

Futhermore, if I buy bigger MC I need bigger HDD and HDD prices these days sky rocket until next universe laugh.gif

I... don't... really show... photos to my client.... ON THE SPOT tongue.gif
vearn27
post Nov 10 2011, 03:08 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Nov 10 2011, 11:51 AM)
What King card  sweat.gif , where got King Card, there is 64GB~128GB already. Just that if you plan to upgrade can "always" consider 32GB, not saying you must get it. Just suggest to you, not saying it's King or Must or Best. It's not correct to think like this, those that find 8GB sufficient will think why need 16GB, and so on, it's never ending. It's just a common suggestion for getting a bigger available size if the price is OK. For 8GB "supporters", as upgrade, they can get 16GB and keep 8GB as backup or in 2nd slot (if available), similarly, 16GB supporters can get 32GB as upgrade and put in slot 1. As I said, it's personal preference and choice. 

Your battery seems drain very fast? You review your picture a lot or something? I filled the 16GB and still have more than 50% battery juice to spare; not yet cover the deleted photos. Or is it you're using battery grip battery or something?

Whether you show or not is not a matter... I'm just giving examples "lah"...  sweat.gif
Plus, sometimes, it's not a matter you want to show or not; Sometimes, the client demand to see the photos, especially say a bunch of girls, after take, they want to see how they look on the spot, if not satisfied with their pose or they feel their angle not nice, etc. they will want to re-take. It really depends on situation, you can't say there's no such thing.
On your bolded part, that's why I said I prefer don't rather than I won't.

I couldn't imagine what would happen to me if I'm having 2x 32GB at the moment. Having extra memory will make me tends to shoot more which I'm little bit of controlling myself at the moment due to insufficient HDD space. Just at the time I'm planning for upgrading my desktop with 2TB, the HDD price seriously insanely pain in the @$$ now even just for 500GB. God bless Thailand.

I usually review my shots when I got the time to make sure the lighting are good and images tact sharp. Otherwise I'll make changes to my setting. I do use battery grip and my battery only in the grip slot and the body is empty. In addition with using flash and sometime commander mode on body, hence why I left 30%++ after 800++ exposures.
vearn27
post Nov 10 2011, 03:27 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Nov 10 2011, 03:20 PM)
If one shoot video, that's another story too  tongue.gif

I still carry my old card as well, the 4GB from compact cam. Just extra cards and it doesn't takes up much space or weight anyway  tongue.gif

In his previous signature, you can see what he do, hehe  tongue.gif

For swapping, there's another theory from people about trying not to insert/remove the card too often, again, another story.
Yes, I didn't say anything about it, I just explain to you, I'm just suggesting it to you, no worries, as I said, everyone has their own preference, so it means, I understand your reasoning; I'm just giving suggestion and some 'examples'.

I have same issue as well, my HDD full, 2 of my external HDD also full, recently I just got 1TB hdd. If size is not a matter, get the 3.5" size, which is much cheaper and you may get faster speed as well.

For your battery usage, I think that's good enough or around the same; I forgotten that my differences with yours; its because I shoot RAW+JPEG, thus the exposures count it less when filling 16GB space.
HDD price at the current is 300% increased compared with 2 weeks back. I'm not willing to pay for that sad.gif
vearn27
post Nov 10 2011, 03:53 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Nov 10 2011, 03:34 PM)
That is crazy lol
Did memory cards increase too? When I bought mine, my friend told me it might increase.
Memory card follow USD rates and not manufactured in Thailand. Therefore if someone brag that memory card price increase due to the flood at Thailand, that's a scam instead.
vearn27
post Nov 10 2011, 04:01 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Nov 10 2011, 03:40 PM)
Online storage anybody?
QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Nov 10 2011, 03:59 PM)
Reminds me of the iCloud
Not so convenient for those that doesn't has access to blazing fast Internet speed + unlimited bandwidth luxury. Storing RAW on cloud... LOL !!!
vearn27
post Nov 10 2011, 05:35 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Nov 10 2011, 04:04 PM)
CF cards are alright. it's the SD that's a pain in the arse. i might just drop it due to the wee size

Added on November 10, 2011, 4:09 pm

bro, where did you check your price? i am checking cycom's online price list that was updated on the 8th november 2011. the price for HDD are still very much the same leh
That shouldn't be the case. According to the harddisk thread and my supplier, most computer shops now only willing to sell HDD bundled together with motherboard. 1TB 3.5" internal HDD raised from RM165 to RM300++. Insanely craziness.

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Nov 10 2011, 04:24 PM)
I see. Thanks~
What about those old stock HDD? Suppose they shouldn't just increase the price? I think you can try Viewnet or All IT Hypermart, the prices should not change? Or you can try Harvey Norman; these store shouldn't simply throw/change their prices?
Since when M'sian learn that they should sell according to their profit margin against their stock price than market price. If that's the case, we won't have cases where shops keeping stock for sugar and cigarette when the price is expecting to announce increase soon smile.gif

Human still human after all... greedy species biggrin.gif
vearn27
post Nov 10 2011, 06:01 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Nov 10 2011, 05:51 PM)
What about Harvey Norman? Not sure if they will do the same or not, they're not exactly IT store, perhaps there is more controlled pricing there, but their prices weren't exactly cheap anyway.
I'm not sure but less likely will remain the same. Otherwise those normal computer shops will sapu whatever stock they (Harvey Norman) left. Price for HDD is expected only to regain back to normal price as before within 3 ~ 6 months time when stock capacity health regained. Well, according to assumption only of course.
vearn27
post Nov 11 2011, 12:39 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

Getting lens at HK? Which area is the best for lens bargain? Mongkok ah? huh.gif
vearn27
post Nov 11 2011, 03:18 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Nov 11 2011, 01:52 PM)
You're asking us?  hmm.gif You should be the one telling us...
Yeah, I need to ask you guys. Because I kept reading here that buying camera stuff in HK is cheap, whereas when I check them around is almost the same or just slightly lower. The most I could think of is only Mongkok and Sham Shui Po.

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Nov 11 2011, 02:07 PM)
Here you go, pretty comprehensive HK buying camera guide biggrin.gif
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/consumers-c...ping-guide.html
Hmmm... pretty neat. Most of the shops listed there you'll be able to notice when you walk on the named street.

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ Nov 11 2011, 02:54 PM)
Yeah, I ask my fren to help me get mine last time in Mongkok. Specific location i'm not sure...he went in several shops till he found the cheapest for me.
Should be around the area of Ladies Market Street. The neighbour streets of Ladies Market Street has lot of camera and electronic shops.
vearn27
post Nov 14 2011, 02:32 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Nov 11 2011, 06:11 PM)
Did you try around Stanley Street on HK island?

Of particular interest was this shop I went to... Don't know if it's still there but they had quite good stock of things and had the Nikon accessory I wanted for quite a good price.

Yeah, been there as well and most of the shops are old. I'm not saying their equipment is less or outdated, it's just the kind of shop is like those "oldies" style. Lots of stuff there, but not exactly going inside asking for prices since I ain't getting anything that time smile.gif

Heard people say the prices there are good, but somehow it gave me a feeling that it'll be much higher if I'm asking. Weird feeling. In anyway, I took a photo of myself at the staircase you showed. Pretty popular spot at Central biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 13 2011, 05:01 PM)

Added on November 13, 2011, 5:10 pmunica only place I know to touch it is eng tong in ss2...yl camera should have it also.
Eng Tong at SS2 got lotsa bags? How's their pricing?
vearn27
post Nov 15 2011, 10:20 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Nov 15 2011, 08:06 PM)
Is any1 using Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8 here? Just a quick question...

I've recently bought a new genuine hood. But when i attach in a reverse position, it doesn't lock tightly(it does have the *click* lock sound) as in I can simply just twist it and it will be loosen.

Is it suppose to be like that or I actually have to hold the unlock button then twist it to loosen it?
If reverse position, then yes it should be normal. It will still has the "click" sound however you can loosen the lock without the need to press the trigger to unlock.

Well, the logic is simple and see if my lousy explanation could help you. Just imagine the lock has 2 sides. One side is slide and one side is straight (like our normal door lock). Therefore, one side will require you to press and unlock (the straight side) whereas the opposite doesn't (just slide).

LOL... lets see if anyone here could guess what I'm trying to say... doh.gif
vearn27
post Nov 16 2011, 11:07 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Nov 16 2011, 11:01 AM)
Wait, is it only my 17-55 hood can lock both way?
You'll have the "click" sound but it's not as solid snap on as it is used the proper direction. When snapping reversely, you'll be able to loose the hood without the need to click on the trigger unlike the proper direction.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0491sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:21 AM