US stock discussion v4, Bulls-Bears HUAT AH!! Pigs get slaughter

yok70
post Sep 14 2012, 12:58 AM

12,698 posts

Finally, all QEs (china, euro, korea, US....).
How strong can this long goes? Only time will tell. laugh.gif
yok70
post Sep 14 2012, 04:16 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Sep 14 2012, 01:05 AM)
That's it. I'm out of LVS (above $45) for now. Too dangerous to play against them. They manipulated this market.  mad.gif
If that's what the Fed wants, that what the Fed will get.  Just keep on the long side until they fall off the cliff.  doh.gif
Hope you are doing ok with the shorts if there is any. icon_rolleyes.gif
Now everyone plays the bubble game. Later US also join in Euro for the crisis. laugh.gif
yok70
post Oct 11 2012, 09:51 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 11 2012, 12:57 AM)
It seems we're on a different wavelength here....
Ya, some people cannot comprehend anything different from their original thoughts. And they'll get angry for any of such thing happens.
The basic skill of a wise man, is to have the ability to respect other people's opinion in the form of patiently listen to what others said first, before we start debating. That's the skill he doesn't have (for now). laugh.gif
yok70
post Oct 12 2012, 02:14 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 12 2012, 01:30 AM)
OK... 632, I'm on the bull side weekly calls..now. sweat.gif
Need to get some fast money for this weekend.

Added on October 12, 2012, 1:45 amUpdate: 1:40am

Double down at 630.. @ 630 wk calls for 4.70 ~ avg:$5.10  sweat.gif

Added on October 12, 2012, 1:57 amupdate:1:56am
WTF:... 630 again added a bit more at 4.50... avg 5.00 now.  sweat.gif
very gan jiong lah! biggrin.gif
too bad i can only buy the stock, cannot buy options since only got local trust account. doh.gif
yok70
post Oct 12 2012, 04:02 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 12 2012, 02:17 AM)
Update: 2:15am

633.50 @ 6.10 SOLD!!!  laugh.gif

Got me weekend cash for now!
looks like 600 is highly possible. laugh.gif
yok70
post Oct 14 2012, 06:59 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(Dividend Warrior @ Oct 13 2012, 11:06 AM)
OptionXpress.
Can you tell us why you choose this one? I read a bit on the web and it said it opened shop since 2000. Rather new but it won quite some awards.
So you open your account from their Singapore outlet in George Street?
Is there anything we need to do regarding tax issue? Any necessarily capital gain tax claiming back and how about tax on dividend? Can claim back?

I take a look at their account opening faq and found the following table. I must say I'm still an idiot on trading options and futures. If anyone can help, please give a brief lesson and that would be greatly appreciated! Mainly, wish to see just some real-life trading examples on options and futures. Thank you very much!

It says: Clients will be authorized to trade options after being reviewed based on experience and financial background among other criteria. Accounts will receive one of the following option trading levels:

Trading Disabled ×
Trading Stocks / Bonds / Mutual Funds × × × × × ×
Covered Call Writing / Short Stock Sales × × × × ×
Buying Calls and Puts / Covered Put Writing × × × ×
Debit Spreads × × ×
Credit Spreads / Equity Put Writing × ×
Naked Equity Call Writing / Naked Index Put & Call Writing ×

Which means, if I am new to options, then they won't accept my account opening?

This post has been edited by yok70: Oct 14 2012, 07:23 PM
yok70
post Oct 15 2012, 11:57 AM

12,698 posts

Thanks for the feedback guys! notworthy.gif
Ya, that's exactly what I plan to do, to play around virtual trading platform first before putting money in. Thanks for the advice! icon_rolleyes.gif
Looks like I've plenty of readings to do before even understand those terms in the game of options. biggrin.gif
yok70
post Oct 15 2012, 07:48 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Oct 15 2012, 01:59 PM)
Plenty of reading and plenty of experimentation. You'll learn faster when you make mistakes and learn from it while paper trades. Try a lot of what-if to see the effect. There are lots of strategies available but you need to develop your own system based on some of the common strategies. What I mean by system here is you need to have concept/objective, setup condition, entry signal, stops, exit criterias and money management. Most important are the last 3 items as they will determine if you make money or lost money or make lots of money in several trades and then lost it all in a single trade.
Thanks! thumbup.gif

Ya, I calculated the recent sharp fall on CPO price, can easily loss 2x of the investment on the contract in less than a week's time. Pretty scary! And furthermore, actually quite a number of "experts" telling us CPO price is going to be bullish soon around that same period of time before the fall. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by yok70: Oct 15 2012, 07:49 PM
yok70
post Oct 16 2012, 06:18 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(tom_87 @ Oct 15 2012, 09:35 PM)
it means that we will owe them?
ie.
one contract is $5000, and your future account must have more than $5000 only your broker allow you to buy one contract. So lets assume your account got $10,000.
If price reverse until $5000, meaning you loss $10,000($5000 contract cost + $5000 further loss).
The broker will call you before this and warn you if you choose to cut loss or put more money into your account waiting for rebound. If you don't put more money in, your broker will force sell your contract and your account will become $0.
buy $5000 on stock worst case loss the capital of $5000
buy $5000 on futures worst case loss your house+car+ipads+iphones.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by yok70: Oct 16 2012, 06:27 AM
yok70
post Oct 17 2012, 01:10 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 16 2012, 11:41 PM)
Yes.. playing AAPL long side calls entered around 636'ish..
Price target to exit AAPL calls: 650'ish.. almost there, hopefully to close that gap left there on between Oct 5th and 8th.  biggrin.gif
looks like cannot meet my buying target below 600 for now. after Oct 23 see how it goes. Now apple vs samsung is getting really fierce. S3 mini vs iphone, now ipad mini fight back note2.
they fight i happy, can have more buying choices. tongue.gif

Added on October 17, 2012, 1:30 amCitibank dropped from 400+ to current 37 five years ago, and BAC from 50 to 9.5.
If (a big if) US economy really recovering in the next 3-5 years, can these banks recover back to that level? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by yok70: Oct 17 2012, 01:30 AM
yok70
post Oct 17 2012, 03:04 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 17 2012, 02:50 AM)
The big banks of US are in the "too big to fail" category.. so they will slowly climb.... err.. pushed back up by the "invisible hands" of US Fed.  whistling.gif
if they able to move back that price in 10 years time, that's still a very handsome gain of 10-year CAGR 50-100%! laugh.gif
yok70
post Oct 18 2012, 03:34 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 17 2012, 09:18 PM)
INTC getting crushed with poor results.. being downgraded.
- 8% drop in demand.
IBM also missed expectations..

Techs are showing profit warning signs.  hmm.gif
Housing, banking and Tech are the 3 major windows for economy condition?
First 2 seems recovering, and one is down slightly.
So....uncertainty?? tongue.gif
yok70
post Oct 19 2012, 01:58 AM

12,698 posts

Tech companies all kena! IBM, Apple, Google.... laugh.gif

yok70
post Oct 24 2012, 12:28 AM

12,698 posts

another 30 mins, Apple show will start rolling.... drool.gif
come on apple, 580 please.... flex.gif

This post has been edited by yok70: Oct 24 2012, 12:30 AM
yok70
post Oct 24 2012, 05:50 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 24 2012, 01:40 AM)
Watching it live on NDTV and Bloomberg TV as well...  iMacs mini ..darn. AAPL juicing up the crowd.

Update:
iPad mini: US$329..  hmm.gif  uh huh... here comes margin compression and cannibalization.  laugh.gif
Some they think this price is too high to sell great volume.

But i think it's a smart move to maintain the price at certain level, so that it won't hurt the ipad sales much and it could maintain its profit margin.
People now have 2 choices, a 10 inch or an 8 inch. Targeting to sell both at one person is not gonna work well anyway.

It seems there is no hope for a short term dramatic profit jump with this mini now.
So please come, my 580. tongue.gif
yok70
post Oct 24 2012, 10:11 PM

12,698 posts

FB turbo mode... tongue.gif
yok70
post Oct 26 2012, 03:04 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(theboringguy @ Oct 25 2012, 06:12 PM)
anyone playing puts for AAPL? hhahaha~~ rclxms.gif
So you are bearish on their soon announcement quarter report? where is my 580? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by yok70: Oct 26 2012, 03:04 AM
yok70
post Oct 31 2012, 02:56 AM

12,698 posts

What will happen to Apple tomorrow?
Now human resource also got war already, not only war with Samsung. laugh.gif
yok70
post Oct 31 2012, 04:02 PM

12,698 posts

A forced holiday for everyone, how cool is that (for those lonely wives)! tongue.gif
yok70
post Nov 1 2012, 04:24 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 31 2012, 11:07 PM)
I was hoping for short term play for price to fill that gap left open since close last week.
AAPL looking weak.. market.. also looking weak.
Price target to exit 595~603

Let see how it goes.

Added on October 31, 2012, 11:31 pm596.. 1st batch out the door.. biggrin.gif

Let see.. hopefully it can close that gap up there.
Wow! closed at 595. Looks like more downside coming.... drool.gif
Almost reaching 585 today, but I think I should lower my target now. Maybe 550... brows.gif

27 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0576sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:28 AM