wuhh Nasdaq advances pretty well...hopefully aapl will tag along and stay there till market opens....
US stock discussion v4, Bulls-Bears HUAT AH!! Pigs get slaughter
Mar 20 2013, 08:31 PM
814 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Under the Sun. |
wuhh Nasdaq advances pretty well...hopefully aapl will tag along and stay there till market opens....
Mar 20 2013, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 20 2013, 10:06 PM) the credit is less than 0.70 but the the pot. loss is high.....worth to open this position at this ratio btw, do u set stop loss and profit target for a vertical or this vertical position? since vertical is already a hedge of hedges. |
Mar 21 2013, 01:24 AM
They are kicking the cans down the street again:
http://www.marketwatch.com/story/senate-to...ome_latest_news |
Mar 21 2013, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(netmask8 @ Mar 21 2013, 09:52 AM) Short-term and may suitable for put/call .. For longer investment, see below Fed's minutes :- tks for the input. No money allocated yet to buy and hold as an investor due to lack of experience on finding the hidden gems and stay put based on visionary outlook of the ETFs' or stocks' The central bank expects the U.S. economy to grow by 2.3 percent and 2.8 percent this year, by 2.9 percent and 3.4 percent in 2014 and by 2.9 percent and 3.7 percent in 2015. Q:- Do u have the $$ to buy and hold shares ? What is the ratio of probability of earning/winning $$, between short-term and (buy and hold) stocks strategy? It's always an interesting topic between an investor and a trader especially within the circle of my experienced friends. Both also money making, depends on which path that he/she prefers to take and their suitability or hybrid. If all else fails, let the expert handle their funds or perhaps can venture into real estate physical investment? just my 2 cents. This post has been edited by countdown: Mar 21 2013, 02:07 PM |
Mar 21 2013, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 21 2013, 02:55 AM) Sold a few tonight.. between 65c and 72c credits. Since it is OTM, it melting off fast. Only already half its value. wah...and tq.I'll watch for the undelying price movement, if $5 or less or (close to) $440, that's my signal to get out. Just 2 more days to go. I think 440 will hold by Friday. Plan to place a stop loss but very volatile, might get stop out easily, furthermore this month is quad witching |
Mar 21 2013, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(netmask8 @ Mar 21 2013, 02:16 PM) You can lose money even if you select the right stocks. This is especially true when you are a trader, but not applicable if you are a buy-and-hold investor. For a buy-and-hold investor, accuracy is important,as you only select a few stocks and hold them for a long time. You simply cannot afford to pick the wrong stocks. However, a trader makes trades in and out of a market frequently, accuracy is not as important. The key lies in expectancy. Accuracy is also needed in trading to increase the probability of success. We can't afford to simply select any stock to trade though. Even with the right counter, trader still need a manageable EQ to trade. Most of the traders fail bsc of not so good EQ though equipped with necessary skills.Here goes the spiral of debate again. For me, be it a trader or investor, as long as making a consistent average returns, it's good enough already. Am I making consistent money in trading? is yet to be seen, only started for 2 months, perhaps 70% of winnings is just a beginner's luck. If fails perhaps I would have to pick up the investor course liao or fully back to real estate This post has been edited by countdown: Mar 21 2013, 04:43 PM |
Mar 21 2013, 06:17 PM
QUOTE(netmask8 @ Mar 21 2013, 05:20 PM) Good Info i found about what does he meant by accuracy and expectancy from TRADER's perceptive. Tks man for the link. It helps me to differentiate between expectancy and accuracy/probability. It's my fault and apology of equating the expectancy and accuracy. Source ==>> http://www.bigfatpurse.com/2009/01/you-can...e-right-stocks/ Now I can calculate my expectancy E(Y) = (6/8 x Y) - (2/8 x 1.5Y) = 0.375Y Wow However, I'm a bit confuse with his/her last paragraph: QUOTE After defining what accuracy and expectancy mean, we are ready to see why the former is not important. For example, you are very accurate being right 90% of the time (and lose 10% of the time). While, your gain per trade is 1R, and loss per trade is 10R. Expectancy = (0.9) x (1R) – (0.1) x (10R) = -0.1R Can you see even if you are spot on with stocks and right 90% of the time, you can still lose money! Hence, the key is to increase your gain per trade and reduce your loss per trade. This is why the mantra of traders is “let the profits run and limit your losses”. Expectancy tells you the true edge that you have when you trade long term. This statement only true provided they have an inconsistent or no stop loss. Why would a trader set an inconsistent stop loss which will distort the profitability/expectancy when the accuracy is already high? I would like to improve the equation above by formulating as follows: E(Y) = [Summation(winning - losses) x Y] +/- EQ where EQ is the emotional state of mind and it's hardly quantifiable. The EQ might be more than the summation, results in, -ve expectancy or more if they is no stop loss This post has been edited by countdown: Mar 21 2013, 06:32 PM |
Mar 25 2013, 10:47 PM
unleg Short Put frm last Fri @ 468 and close Long Put leg at later point 466....
aapl might close gap This post has been edited by countdown: Mar 25 2013, 10:50 PM |
Mar 25 2013, 11:01 PM
same here...
Apr 5 2013, 09:18 PM
wow....real tanking....sell at May and go away came earlier?
This post has been edited by countdown: Apr 5 2013, 09:19 PM |
Apr 6 2013, 10:02 AM
tks to the last minute dive of aapl before reversal, got stuck in mini bull and sideways way too long....
This post has been edited by countdown: Apr 6 2013, 11:14 AM |
Apr 7 2013, 01:41 AM
*deleted*
This post has been edited by countdown: Apr 8 2013, 10:28 PM |
Apr 11 2013, 12:27 AM
yikes, stopped out of aapl.
Apr 11 2013, 12:37 AM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 11 2013, 12:30 AM) Be careful when you initiate the buy or sell.. now on the 5m chart, it's pulling back from the highs 435. It was during market open on first 15 to 20mins. Bought Put but stopped out, silly me very near to yesterday support line 427. Shouldn't open in the first place, rule broken Support should be around 430-431 for now. Good luck! |
Apr 12 2013, 12:14 AM
phew, recovered yesterday loss, long put @ 436, out @ 433.90.
Apr 12 2013, 12:16 AM
speaking of him Kim Jong Un, here's a good laugh for everyone, sarcasm to the max
Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f37K0hIv3zk Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mGycPE3XdIc Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PWiT6VbVpjg Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uPOD5f6wRw4 This post has been edited by countdown: Apr 12 2013, 12:22 AM |
Apr 13 2013, 12:05 PM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 12 2013, 12:19 AM) Good job! Probably will see a push down to 427-429 if bulls changed their mind. QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 13 2013, 03:08 AM) Wow...they really hammering it. The Japanese money printing causing Gold and commodities to be sold off. Thanks.Anyway, early confirmation for my AAPL credits.. All out-of-money option melted into 1c now. Same here, bought Put @ around 432, out @ 430.....weeeeee...down the hill. |
Apr 15 2013, 09:01 PM
Tonight going to be interesting
Apr 15 2013, 11:11 PM