Anyone can recommend a sturdy "gaming capable" laptop below RM 3k? Any brand.
Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V13, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!
Dec 13 2011, 08:25 AM
56 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
Anyone can recommend a sturdy "gaming capable" laptop below RM 3k? Any brand.
Dec 13 2011, 09:21 AM
1,419 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
Dec 13 2011, 10:08 AM
307 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
1. Preferred Brand : none, never bought a laptop before and I've heard mixed reviews about the different brands
2. Budget : RM2000+- (preferably below RM2300) 3. Usage : Microsoft Office, powerpoint presentations (connect to projector), SPSS (statistics program), able to watch youtube surf net? Games like plant and zombies, dragon nest. 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : any will do? Extra info: I multi-task a lot, so I would prefer at least 4GB of RAM? This post has been edited by ChocChristy: Dec 13 2011, 10:12 AM |
Dec 13 2011, 10:44 AM
7,864 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Klang |
Dec 13 2011, 11:24 AM
24,193 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: Perak |
QUOTE(ChocChristy @ Dec 13 2011, 10:08 AM) 1. Preferred Brand : none, never bought a laptop before and I've heard mixed reviews about the different brands Can consider these (prices are in RRP, can still nego until within your budget~):2. Budget : RM2000+- (preferably below RM2300) 3. Usage : Microsoft Office, powerpoint presentations (connect to projector), SPSS (statistics program), able to watch youtube surf net? Games like plant and zombies, dragon nest. 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : any will do? Extra info: I multi-task a lot, so I would prefer at least 4GB of RAM? 14" Acer Aspire 4755G-2434G64, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT540M@RM2199[2.3kg], 4GB, 640GB; 3 years local warranty A43Sv-VX264v, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT540M(1GB)@RM2349[2.44kg] Dell Inspiron 14 (N4050), i5-2430M + AMD HD6470M@RM2199, Belkin Radius 15.6" backpack, 24 months McAfee, expires 8 Dec HP Pavilion G4-1204TX/1205TX, i5-2430M + AMD HD6470M@RM2149; colors: Charcoal Grey/Sonoma Red MSI CX480X, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT520M@RM1999, W7HP, 3 years warranty *PIKOM PC Fair Lenovo Z470, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT520M@RM2099, 640GB, colors: Black/Pink, 2nd & 3rd year warranty Samsung 3 series, i5-2430QM + Nvidia GT520M@RM2299, colors: Black/Silver/Orange Toshiba Satellite L745-1153XB/54XR/56XW, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT525M@RM2399[2.14kg], Colors: Brown/Red/White, 2nd & 3rd local year warranty For better gaming performance, can go for the 4755g and A43sv. For better warranty support, can go for those with 3 years warranty, though my vote goes to the L745 Added on December 13, 2011, 11:24 am QUOTE(asm@m @ Dec 13 2011, 06:12 AM) How much the estimate price for dell xps 17 l720x with i7-2670 , FHD 1920x1080, 3gb Nvidia gt555m, 6gb ram and 1tb hdd? 2nd hand? We don't have the XPS 17 here in M'sia This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Dec 13 2011, 11:24 AM |
Dec 13 2011, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 13 2011, 11:24 AM) Can consider these (prices are in RRP, can still nego until within your budget~): So the Toshiba would be a better investment?? I did eye the 4755G because the specs looked good at that price, but some of my friends have recommended against taking Acer laptops, while 2 recommended it >.< So I am a little stuck. 14" Acer Aspire 4755G-2434G64, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT540M@RM2199[2.3kg], 4GB, 640GB; 3 years local warranty A43Sv-VX264v, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT540M(1GB)@RM2349[2.44kg] Dell Inspiron 14 (N4050), i5-2430M + AMD HD6470M@RM2199, Belkin Radius 15.6" backpack, 24 months McAfee, expires 8 Dec HP Pavilion G4-1204TX/1205TX, i5-2430M + AMD HD6470M@RM2149; colors: Charcoal Grey/Sonoma Red MSI CX480X, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT520M@RM1999, W7HP, 3 years warranty *PIKOM PC Fair Lenovo Z470, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT520M@RM2099, 640GB, colors: Black/Pink, 2nd & 3rd year warranty Samsung 3 series, i5-2430QM + Nvidia GT520M@RM2299, colors: Black/Silver/Orange Toshiba Satellite L745-1153XB/54XR/56XW, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT525M@RM2399[2.14kg], Colors: Brown/Red/White, 2nd & 3rd local year warranty For better gaming performance, can go for the 4755g and A43sv. For better warranty support, can go for those with 3 years warranty, though my vote goes to the L745 I noticed the 4755G also comes with 3 years warranty? I guess gaming isn't my main concern as I have a desktop for that. Is that L745 stable and smooth in using?? I've read mixed reviews about it >.< Mostly about battery life and some software problems?? Any advice on that?? What about Lenovo Z470? It looks tempting (well, mostly because it is in PINK!) |
Dec 13 2011, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(ChocChristy @ Dec 13 2011, 11:59 AM) So the Toshiba would be a better investment?? I did eye the 4755G because the specs looked good at that price, but some of my friends have recommended against taking Acer laptops, while 2 recommended it >.< So I am a little stuck. Personally I would go for Toshiba because I know Teledynamics technicians will always be there for me I noticed the 4755G also comes with 3 years warranty? I guess gaming isn't my main concern as I have a desktop for that. Is that L745 stable and smooth in using?? I've read mixed reviews about it >.< Mostly about battery life and some software problems?? Any advice on that?? What about Lenovo Z470? It looks tempting (well, mostly because it is in PINK!) Whether the laptop runs smooth or not depends on how you manage your stuffs inside? What kind of software problems o? I'm not so sure about the 4755g (there were a few comments on freezing) and z470 (the pink looks awkward haha)... din't really come across a lot of reviews |
Dec 13 2011, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 13 2011, 12:04 PM) Personally I would go for Toshiba because I know Teledynamics technicians will always be there for me Ohh..so you find that Toshiba's customer service is good? I just tried Googling their service centers, apparently there's one in Low Yat?? That would be pretty convenient! I can't remember what software problem, i think they said that the programmes that comes pre-installed were junk or something. Whether the laptop runs smooth or not depends on how you manage your stuffs inside? What kind of software problems o? I'm not so sure about the 4755g (there were a few comments on freezing) and z470 (the pink looks awkward haha)... din't really come across a lot of reviews I am thinking this is an older model?? http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2391135,00.asp Noticed that this one is missing some of the features listed on http://buylaptop.com.my/web/products.asp?Id=1719 |
Dec 13 2011, 12:22 PM
1,152 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
guys is it wise to get a laptop now? attracted to msi GE620DX-FHD
going to further my study next year...my pc still intel c2d with outdated gc cant reli gaming i wanna ask if next year release new proc will the msi still got such good specs and price?thx |
Dec 13 2011, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(ChocChristy @ Dec 13 2011, 12:13 PM) Ohh..so you find that Toshiba's customer service is good? I just tried Googling their service centers, apparently there's one in Low Yat?? That would be pretty convenient! I can't remember what software problem, i think they said that the programmes that comes pre-installed were junk or something. Based on my experiences, its not bad la haha I am thinking this is an older model?? http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2391135,00.asp Noticed that this one is missing some of the features listed on http://buylaptop.com.my/web/products.asp?Id=1719 Yup, there a Teledynamics service center on the top floor of LYP, another one at Shah Alam You could always delete them bloatwares If you're more interested in on-site warranty support, then can consider Dell as well~ Older model? That one is L755 (15" laptop). The one in the 2nd link is the correct one |
Dec 13 2011, 12:24 PM
118 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
1. Preferred Brand : (1)Asus, (2)Leenovo, (3)Dell
2. Budget : RM2000++ (below RM2500) 3. Usage : Heavy user of Adobe Photoshop, some video editing stuff, game like cod,bf,ect 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : tak kisah... |
Dec 13 2011, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(nanamizuki @ Dec 13 2011, 12:22 PM) guys is it wise to get a laptop now? attracted to msi GE620DX-FHD Newer technology will always come out all the time going to further my study next year...my pc still intel c2d with outdated gc cant reli gaming i wanna ask if next year release new proc will the msi still got such good specs and price?thx Buy when you need, wait if you can~ |
Dec 13 2011, 12:25 PM
1,152 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
ok thx
Dec 13 2011, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(hendrastar @ Dec 13 2011, 12:24 PM) 1. Preferred Brand : (1)Asus, (2)Leenovo, (3)Dell 14"2. Budget : RM2000++ (below RM2500) 3. Usage : Heavy user of Adobe Photoshop, some video editing stuff, game like cod,bf,ect 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : tak kisah... Lenovo Y470, i7-2630QM + Nvidia GT550M@RM2999[JBL] *can get at RM2.5k at Garage Sales 15" HP Dv6-6001TX, i7-2630QM + AMD HD6770M@RM2999 [2.63kg]; Beats headphones; RM2599 without Beats *EOL-ed (if still can find) This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Dec 13 2011, 12:27 PM |
Dec 13 2011, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 13 2011, 12:24 PM) Based on my experiences, its not bad la haha Ahh..I see. What about Windows 7? I was told by my friend that I should get a 64 bit, but it seems like the L745 comes with a 32 bit one.Yup, there a Teledynamics service center on the top floor of LYP, another one at Shah Alam You could always delete them bloatwares If you're more interested in on-site warranty support, then can consider Dell as well~ Older model? That one is L755 (15" laptop). The one in the 2nd link is the correct one |
Dec 13 2011, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(ChocChristy @ Dec 13 2011, 12:39 PM) Ahh..I see. What about Windows 7? I was told by my friend that I should get a 64 bit, but it seems like the L745 comes with a 32 bit one. All Toshiba units comes with both 32-bit and 64-bit W7.. you'll get to choose which one you want during the 1st boot up. You can still change the OS version whenever u factory reset your Toshiba |
Dec 13 2011, 01:11 PM
2,227 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 13 2011, 12:52 PM) All Toshiba units comes with both 32-bit and 64-bit W7.. you'll get to choose which one you want during the 1st boot up. You can still change the OS version whenever u factory reset your Toshiba |
Dec 13 2011, 02:58 PM
173 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
1. Preferred Brand : ASUS
2. Budget : Below 2k (Cheaper better lol) 3. Usage : err, for digital drawing like Photoshop, paint tool sai. Light gaming such as Dinner Dash. 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : err notebook ? This post has been edited by aikachan: Dec 13 2011, 03:18 PM |
Dec 13 2011, 03:19 PM
80 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 13 2011, 11:24 AM) Can consider these (prices are in RRP, can still nego until within your budget~): A new one. I know we dont have it now. But when we have it previously, how much is the price eh?14" Acer Aspire 4755G-2434G64, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT540M@RM2199[2.3kg], 4GB, 640GB; 3 years local warranty A43Sv-VX264v, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT540M(1GB)@RM2349[2.44kg] Dell Inspiron 14 (N4050), i5-2430M + AMD HD6470M@RM2199, Belkin Radius 15.6" backpack, 24 months McAfee, expires 8 Dec HP Pavilion G4-1204TX/1205TX, i5-2430M + AMD HD6470M@RM2149; colors: Charcoal Grey/Sonoma Red MSI CX480X, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT520M@RM1999, W7HP, 3 years warranty *PIKOM PC Fair Lenovo Z470, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT520M@RM2099, 640GB, colors: Black/Pink, 2nd & 3rd year warranty Samsung 3 series, i5-2430QM + Nvidia GT520M@RM2299, colors: Black/Silver/Orange Toshiba Satellite L745-1153XB/54XR/56XW, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT525M@RM2399[2.14kg], Colors: Brown/Red/White, 2nd & 3rd local year warranty For better gaming performance, can go for the 4755g and A43sv. For better warranty support, can go for those with 3 years warranty, though my vote goes to the L745 Added on December 13, 2011, 11:24 am 2nd hand? We don't have the XPS 17 here in M'sia |
Dec 13 2011, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(asm@m @ Dec 13 2011, 03:19 PM) We used to have it? Added on December 13, 2011, 3:32 pm QUOTE(devour @ Dec 13 2011, 01:11 PM) Yeap! Where got nice, they should've just stick to 64-bit in the 1st place The availability of 2 different versions may sometimes bring about driver problems Added on December 13, 2011, 3:34 pm QUOTE(aikachan @ Dec 13 2011, 02:58 PM) 1. Preferred Brand : ASUS This one would be just nice (bargain abit):2. Budget : Below 2k (Cheaper better lol) 3. Usage : err, for digital drawing like Photoshop, paint tool sai. Light gaming such as Dinner Dash. 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : err notebook ? Asus A43Sj-VX718v, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT520M@RM2199, Color: Chill Blue Otherwise, Asus A43Sj, i3-2330M + Nvidia GT520M@RM1999[2.44kg], Colors:Red/Blue/Pink/Green/Gold/Black This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Dec 13 2011, 03:34 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0221sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:16 PM |