Official N45/N55 Club ♥ V3, Updated on steps for reformat

htpkevin
post Sep 4 2011, 09:25 AM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Sep 4 2011, 09:24 AM)
Updating ur graphic card driver will change ur Windows Experience Index from 4.8 to 5.9.Plus it fixes the optimus.
hey duckies run the test also pls. I know its N55SF but we need to compare it between N55SF and N45SF. Very much appreciated man notworthy.gif
Duckies
post Sep 4 2011, 09:31 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,804 posts

Oh,okay.Might do that later.Now packing up and going to back USM later smile.gif
htpkevin
post Sep 4 2011, 09:35 AM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Sep 4 2011, 09:31 AM)
Oh,okay.Might do that later.Now packing up and going to back USM later  smile.gif
wow so fast go back ady@@? thought still got one week....
IvanWong1989
post Sep 4 2011, 09:48 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

tests on my J

discharging with only furmark... battery powered = 60+- watts

charging with ntg running(gpu is ON but not working) = 20+ ish.... noramally around 24-26....

charging with furmark running..= averaging around 7+- watts.... BUT very strange.... it sometimes drops to 2.3W+-.... then sometimes negative..... means although it is plugged in.... it discharged..@@..... this can be proven when that day.. battery was at 60%... then i played crysis 2 few hours(lappy on AC power).... battery dropped to 50%.. @@...... it was ''charging''... but it is discharging...@@ XD

lolx.... kinda weird....

@@
lee_what2004
post Sep 4 2011, 09:51 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

^means not enough power when plays games, need extra power from battery laugh.gif
IvanWong1989
post Sep 4 2011, 09:59 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Sep 4 2011, 09:51 AM)
^means not enough power when plays games, need extra power from battery laugh.gif
lolx..... 90W pun not eneuf?? me oli gt540m wor..@@ vmad.gif

erm.. i wonder if witout battery

wait ar i do the test

htpkevin
post Sep 4 2011, 10:11 AM

1,052 posts

I asked my fren studying E&E he said if circuit alone won't gives out these high pitch sound one. Its like if the circuit use along with other hardware. He says normally those high pitch yee yee sound is likely circuit overloaded.

I was thinking like, when battery+adapter, and when i started to run the stress test, the circuit is overloaded thats why we can hear the sound. So the gpu in order to protect the circuit underclock itself to protect the circuit. Coz the moment the graph starts spiking, the sound disappear. And the graph never go back to smooth again.

But how to explain why the graph is spiking when either battery or adapter only hmm.gif
htpkevin
post Sep 4 2011, 10:12 AM

1,052 posts

Guys, i discovered something strange. Can u guys N45sf or N55sf users run some test?

First, guys go and get batterycare. Install it, double click on the icon and detailed information. U can see charging and discharge rate.

Secondly, plug in ur battery and pull out your adapter. Note the discharge rate and post it here pls.(if ur battery is 100%, discharge it a bit by playing games or something heavy, coz we wanna see the net wattage here)

Thirdly, plug in ur adapter(battery still in there). Then open up MSI afterburner and furmark test. Start the burn in test. At the beginning of the test the gpu should still be able to run at default speed for some times.(NOTE the charge/discharge rate also, and post it here). Then after a few second maybe the gpu will start to underclock and spiking(note the charge/discharge rate also, and post it here).

And i encounter one problem here. When i started the furmark test with adapter and battery, when the graph is still running at default speed, i hear a high pitch 'yeee yeee yeee' sound from my laptop. Then after some time, when the gpu starts spiking, the sound is gone.

Guys, pls run this test and let us know the result can?

C/D rate(battery): -23.3

C/D rate(adapter+battery and running furmark, gpu still at default clock): +2.3

C/D rate(adapter+battery and running furmark, gpu starts spiking): +23.3

Guys can u pls run this test? No matter N45sf or N55sf. We would like to compare. And pls tell us whether u hear the same high pitch 'yee yee yee' sound. This sound can be some physical circuit problem or some power issue. Pls do help us. Coz this may lead to solving N45SF's throttling problem.

for those who haven't run the test pls do so. Thx in advanced. much appreciated
IvanWong1989
post Sep 4 2011, 10:22 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

moar interesting data coming up

IvanWong1989
post Sep 4 2011, 10:33 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

moar tests reveal interesting data.. enjoy... i aso duno what's happening

CPU at full speed eats around 20-35+watts

GPU at full speed eats a big 40-55+ watts

AC only(battery took out) with prime only, notice core clock

Ac only(battery took out) witht prim+furmark.... notice core clock

nao.. battery only no AC....

battery only with prime, discharge at 60+W

battery only with prime and furmark..@@ see what happens..@@.. when spiked low.. discharge at 30 only...

interesting?@@ brows.gif

i duno how to explain.. previous post pls see too.XD
ineser
post Sep 4 2011, 10:41 AM

1,068 posts

So N45 and N55 i5 using 90W power brick and N55 i7 using 120W?
htpkevin
post Sep 4 2011, 10:45 AM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(ineser @ Sep 4 2011, 10:41 AM)
So N45 and N55 i5 using 90W power brick and N55 i7 using 120W?
ya i7 is using 120W
IvanWong1989
post Sep 4 2011, 10:45 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

yes.. btw... the tes I ran is with my J..... nt n45sf.XD

just helping with data...

any sifus can come and interpret it??

i am scratching head
Koki
post Sep 4 2011, 12:19 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Sep 4 2011, 10:33 AM)
moar tests reveal interesting data.. enjoy... i aso duno what's happening

I think... can't get that high power then straight downclock processor?
htpkevin
post Sep 4 2011, 12:24 PM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(Koki @ Sep 4 2011, 12:19 PM)
I think... can't get that high power then straight downclock processor?
probably, but downclock so enough power for other more important parts like cpu?
Shunz
post Sep 4 2011, 12:46 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(htpkevin @ Sep 3 2011, 08:38 PM)
ya all the way lol. Asus only got 3 service centre, one in KL, one in JB, one in penang. Actually jb one also around 2 hours. but jb there don have lrt monorail those train. So i chose KL instead. Don have a car now so cannot drive up. Bus is my only choices and train lol
Asus have collection from place to place right
Asusta
post Sep 4 2011, 12:57 PM

18 posts

V3 already, and I am 33 pages behind. Err I'll try to catch up another time, but can anyone please give me the measurements to the size of (N55):

- the keyboard by itself
- the keyboard + grill

Looking to buy a silicon cover so have to make sure to get right size.
Koki
post Sep 4 2011, 12:57 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(htpkevin @ Sep 4 2011, 12:24 PM)
probably, but downclock so enough power for other more important parts like cpu?
Based on your results can obviously see that the limitation is when it demands too much power, then it downclocks and let the whole thing "have enough power" again.
I think they downclock GPU instead of others due to the highest demand?
htpkevin
post Sep 4 2011, 01:14 PM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(Koki @ Sep 4 2011, 12:57 PM)
Based on your results can obviously see that the limitation is when it demands too much power, then it downclocks and let the whole thing "have enough power" again.
I think they downclock GPU instead of others due to the highest demand?
well thats one of the possibility. Haiz why doesn't it downclock cpu@@ at least we still can control cpu's clock speed...
Shunz
post Sep 4 2011, 01:31 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(htpkevin @ Sep 4 2011, 01:14 PM)
well thats one of the possibility. Haiz why doesn't it downclock cpu@@ at least we still can control cpu's clock speed...
done some serch, the i5 will consume 35w when running at full power while the 540M is 35W at full speed too
Is this one of the possible reason

171 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 02:26 AM