7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy 5 - CyanogenMod 7.1 Thread

alexysc
post Sep 27 2011, 01:15 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(zam_changloon @ Sep 27 2011, 12:58 AM)
I've followed all instructions proposed by alexs.. Here's my result :-

Have I succeed??  hmm.gif
Yes, how many apps did you installed? I see you have alot of internal memory space - 126MB....

* Cache - this is your cache space, it cannot be totally free or your system will crash. But don't worry it won't be totally free.

* Data - your internal memory.

* Ext - your Ext4 partition.

* SD Card - your total SD card memory including partitions.

* System - your system apps, e.g. default launcher, browser, etc.

alexysc
post Sep 27 2011, 02:12 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(zam_changloon @ Sep 27 2011, 01:42 AM)
I'm not an extreme user like u alexysc.. mine only 82 apps.. i don't know what to download actually.. hahaha... just download those apps recommended through this topic & mad team forum..

Anyway TQ alex.. A person like u, courious9 n others make user like me have confident to flash... really clear guide provided..
LOL... I'm not an extreme user too. I installed and uninstalled lots of apps just to test them.
I like to play around with android. I also used 2 roms on my G5 - CM and Mad Rom 2.4 Froyo. I often
switch between theses two roms to use - just few simple clicks with CWM and I can switch the rom. tongue.gif

My other phone GS2 is using stock Gingerbread and I don't install it with custom roms.

Added on September 27, 2011, 2:12 pm
QUOTE(slaughterer @ Sep 27 2011, 08:27 AM)
really stable... the wifi also had improved....
now can use s2e... just follow alexis instruction in prev post...
it take time to wipe data and to restore it...but result is good..
really enjoy using this v1.4+htfx1... ^^

thanx alex...
You're welcome... rclxms.gif

Added on September 27, 2011, 2:14 pm
QUOTE(wshen6 @ Sep 27 2011, 08:40 AM)
What is the recommended cpu frequency for the following conditions?
1) min for standby (screen off)?
2) max for high speed gaming, hd games?
1) 245 MHz
2) 710 - 729 MHz

This post has been edited by alexysc: Sep 27 2011, 02:14 PM
alexysc
post Sep 27 2011, 11:21 PM

60 posts

Hey Folks,

Try ADW Ex launcher which I'm using, better than ADW free version and smoother than Go Launcher Ex which is much more heavy than ADW EX.

Link :

http://www.4shared.com/get/VfM_gjYk/ADW_La...r_EX_v1331.html

http://www.mediafire.com/?j39enk9cwqc6taa

alexysc
post Sep 28 2011, 11:22 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(vccy @ Sep 28 2011, 10:01 PM)
guys whn i play mtv using mx player the song play faster than the video. and the video is laggy. Did you guys facing this problem? Any idea how to solve?
Set CPU : Min 245MHz and Max 729Mhz.
Governor : Ondemand.
Disable : Dithering surface
VM heap size : 24m

Did you install s97ramscript?

Added on September 28, 2011, 11:33 pm
QUOTE(starz92 @ Sep 28 2011, 10:18 PM)
any link to download papago? and also the installation guide smile.gif
wanted to start testing the gps.xD
1)Papago X5 (Map 011210 included, 226.5MB) - http://www.sendspace.com/file/ge2rso

2)Recent Map: MFM-PPG-110103C
Download link 312MB
http://www.multiupload.com/TPFO9D5ZE6

3) Latest Map (given by amedeto8) : http://www.mediafire.com/?q33yldn3dezrxfc

Guide :

1) Extract the downloaded file. Use the .apk to install.
2) Copy the NaviSEA folder to the root of your sdcard. (Root of sdcard means just anyway in your FAT32).
3) For the latest map, extract the map file and replace the map in the NaviSEA folder.

Enjoy my friend.

This post has been edited by alexysc: Sep 28 2011, 11:33 PM
alexysc
post Sep 29 2011, 01:05 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Sep 29 2011, 12:51 AM)
thanks alex! btw, I am now using compache (18% default) along with "use jit" and "enable surface dithering"

governors Smartassv2 min 245 max 729.

should i change any of that?

and also, any solution to strengthen my wifi? despite the said improvement for v1.4,i still felt my wifi signal is pretty weak. it disconnect often and take time to scan and reconnect back.
Yes, use JIT. As for dithering, if you enabled it, your graphic will be better (but it seems to me not much difference), but it'll slow down your performance.

Hotfix2 test2 is released. Try that. I tested it and it seems to be stronger than hotfix1 and hotfix2 test1.

My max wifi reading (using wifi analyser) :

1) hotfix 2 test 1 : -54 dBm
2) hotfix 1 : -42 dBm
3) hotfix 2 test 2 : -41 dBm

That means hotifix2 test2 has the strongest wifi signals and strength.

EDIT : I use the same governor, but for CPU , 245MHz to 604MHz, except when playing games which lags at this setting, I set my max CPU to 729MHz and reset back to 604MHz after finished playing.

This post has been edited by alexysc: Sep 29 2011, 01:11 AM
alexysc
post Sep 29 2011, 09:24 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(jaithesimpleguy @ Sep 29 2011, 09:35 AM)
New Error this morning

I just repartition my sd card using CWM. (because im not satisfied with my previous setting) I go for 512mb ext4, and 0mb for swap (4gb sd card). Everything went smooth. But later I cant put any files into my sd card after i mount it. (how do i flash my cyanogen then...) Please help.

Dunno what to do with my phone rite now. Just let it stays in Clockwork recovery mode for now...
How's your situation now?

It could be the mounting problem.

If you have problems with /sd-ext not mounting (with "Invalid argument"), and formatting /sd-ext in CWM doesn't work, just do a manual format:

Code:

With adb shell -

$ adb shell mke2fs /dev/block/mmcblk0p2

or

For a manual format open terminal emulator, type
#su
#mke2fs /dev/block/mmcblk0p2

This is the bug with CWM (which can seem to be S2E's fault, but it isn't): CWM doesn't (re)format partitions properly under certain circumstances.

If the above doesn't solve,

1) Re-partition your sdcard again.
2) Wipe data/factory reset
3) Re-install the rom package, i.e. v.1.4 + hotfix 1 (or hotfix2 test5 - in the 3rd post, if you want to test) and gapps (preferably the minimum package).
4) Reboot.

Added on September 29, 2011, 9:31 pm
QUOTE(vccy @ Sep 29 2011, 12:53 PM)
I do install S97ramscript but still the same. I have set the cpu performance to according on your setting. sad.gif

Added on September 29, 2011, 1:13 pm

alex, i plan to use S2E but i am facing some problem and need your help  tongue.gif

-I installed the S2E from market but in the mean time i am still using the link 2 sd.
-then i open S2E, click the Menu key -> Settings. Enable "Mount as ext4" (mandatory)
-then i reboot.
-after reboot my device show low disk space.
-then i uninstall the link2sd. and it takes years~~~

how ah?

i got uninstall the link2sd 1st before i start to use S2E but also take years.

no should i fully uninstall the link2sd 1st and then install back S2E?

Still in the process of uninstalling link2sd.  sweat.gif
1) Uninstall Link2sd.
2) Wipe dalvik cache with CWM.
3) Wipe data.
4) Re-install the rom package again, ie. v.1.4 + hotfix 1 (or hotfix2 test5 - 3rd post, if you want to test) and gapps (preferably the minimum package).
5) Reboot.
6) Download S2E and set the settings as per Psyke's guides.

NOTE : It's advisable to back up your data first before performing the above. For your contacts, you can
back it up :

> contacts > press menu > import/export > export to sd card ---------> your contacts will be backup in a file in the sdard which you can import back later to your phone in the > Import from SD card menu.

This post has been edited by alexysc: Sep 29 2011, 09:31 PM
alexysc
post Sep 29 2011, 11:16 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Sep 29 2011, 11:01 PM)
Hey, i am using S2E and i am sure i partitioned my sd card to an ext4 but now when i checked my sd card using minitool partition,it said i am using ext2.any explanation on that?
Don't worry about that reading in Mini Tool as it gives faulty readings sometimes.

If you have an Ext2 partition, you won't be able to use S2E as it only supports Ext4 partition.

If you want to confirm and see if your partition is Ext4, open root explorer,

go to > /system/etc/mke2fs.conf ------------->

it'll list out your ext3 = {
features = has_journal
}

ext4 = {
features = has_journal .huge_file, blah...blah...blah.....

that is to say, your ext3 is not available as it is empty, but ext4 has contents.... so you have ext4 as partition. tongue.gif

(see the screenshot I enclosed here)

Reboot > Press Volume Up + Off button for approx. 8-10 secs (sometimes takes longer)

This post has been edited by alexysc: Sep 29 2011, 11:17 PM
alexysc
post Sep 29 2011, 11:34 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Sep 29 2011, 11:22 PM)
thanks.btw, can our g5 use zipthemer? why i couldn't find it in market.can i download it from google instead?
I'm not sure about that as I don't use it. But you can read about it here :

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=888171
alexysc
post Sep 30 2011, 09:46 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(amedeto8 @ Sep 30 2011, 09:11 PM)
hi guys..
need sum help here, what shud i do if my ringtones won't work..
i've tried using sound setting, stock player n ringroid to set my ringtone but no luck..
end up now my fon only vibrate.. it happen before in v1.1..
now stil in v1.2  biggrin.gif
It never happen to me before in all versions of CM.

Try to reflash v1.2. Or if you want update to the latest version - v.1.4 + hotfix1 + gapps.

Most users complained that the sound is too loud in CM!

If you cannot resolve the problem, try flashing back (downgrade) to stock rom and if the problem still persists,
then most probably it's the hardware problem. You have to bring your phone to Samsung Service Centre.

alexysc
post Sep 30 2011, 10:03 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(amedeto8 @ Sep 30 2011, 09:50 PM)
i dun tink hware prob..
it just i cannot set my ringtone.. i've change it n after exit from setting it turn back to empty..
Oop, sorry I got it wrong. I thought your phone doesn't have sound! rclxub.gif

go to your sdcard, > media ---> create a folder and name it "Ringtones"

then copy whatever ringtones you want to this folder.
alexysc
post Sep 30 2011, 10:15 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(amedeto8 @ Sep 30 2011, 10:08 PM)
did dat but still d same  rclxub.gif
Do you use task manager/task killer? Sometimes these apps messes with the ringtone.

If not, back up your apps, and do a data wipe. It could be some rogue apps causing the issue.

EDIT : Or did you previously restored your apps using Titanium Backup?

This post has been edited by alexysc: Sep 30 2011, 10:17 PM
alexysc
post Oct 1 2011, 10:34 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Oct 1 2011, 09:41 PM)
How do i use papago?
i already installed everything.but how do i get it to work?
(my location shown in papago is in kl while i am in penang!)
Since the map is Malaysia, the default is KL. You just use it .... search..POI search...nearby POI, road search...etc.
Type some location in Penang...and let it run...
alexysc
post Oct 2 2011, 04:03 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(amedeto8 @ Oct 2 2011, 02:39 AM)
I dun hav any task killer.. yup im using titanium to restore my apps hehe.. so is this d 1 causing prob??

The simple way 2 backup my apps bside using TB??

v1.5 already out..!! Downloading...
I did mentioned that Titanium sometimes (but not always) messes with the data.

Added on October 2, 2011, 4:04 pm
QUOTE(slaughterer @ Oct 1 2011, 11:18 PM)
i just noted that my gps test show my location at south america.... very weird... huhuhu...
This never happens to me before. Try updating to the latest map.

Added on October 2, 2011, 4:05 pm
QUOTE(slaughterer @ Oct 2 2011, 06:51 AM)
nice...v1.5 out....
need alexys comment first before upgrade... ^^
v.1.5 :

One word : AWESOME! rclxms.gif

Added on October 2, 2011, 4:07 pm
QUOTE(zam_changloon @ Oct 2 2011, 09:11 AM)
On 1st page, I suggested that there should be a guide for new user who would like to flash to Cyanogen.. Especially for those who still on stock froyo.. What are the steps if they want to flash to Cyanogen mode...
...over to Curiouso9....

This post has been edited by alexysc: Oct 2 2011, 04:07 PM
alexysc
post Oct 2 2011, 11:22 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(slaughterer @ Oct 2 2011, 05:44 PM)
for v1.5....just flash like always rite?
if from v1.4 (with s2e), no need to data wipe rite?
Yes, flash the package, v.1.5 + gapps. Then wipe battery stats and reboot. No need to data wipe.

Added on October 2, 2011, 11:25 pm
QUOTE(amedeto8 @ Oct 2 2011, 06:53 PM)
I did mentioned that Titanium sometimes (but not always) messes with the data.

D best solution after flasing new rom by installing 1 by 1 again?? Ayyoooo..

May i noe how u do u do it hehe.. o how to get all d .apk for each app installed..
You can restore using Titanium, but use the " App only " .
Don't use App+Data.

If you did not do data wipe, your apps will still be intact.

This post has been edited by alexysc: Oct 2 2011, 11:26 PM
alexysc
post Oct 3 2011, 10:41 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(zam_changloon @ Oct 3 2011, 04:23 PM)
Hi alex.. I'm getting some problem here.. I've flashed my friend's G5 from official froyo to cyanogen..

My steps are as follows:

- Do factory reset *#*#7780#*#*
- flash to ClockWorkMode using Odin
- When it comes to recovery mode, i wipe data & cache
- Flash the packages (CM7 v1.0 + gapps-gb-20110613-signed)
- Reboot

His phone has successfully flashed to CM7 (v1.0) . I flashed to v1.0 becoz his phone still not partitioned..

- I've rebooted to recovery mode again
- Do PARTITION for sdcard
- Flash the packages again to new release (CM7 - v1.5)

Then i proceed to S2E steps

While formating the /sd-ext partition using Terminal Emulator sing the code :
#su

Terminal emulator shows this message :
"mke2fs /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 is apparently in use by the system will not make a file system here!"

Have i done something wrong??? I've stop the next step (installing S2E)..
You have not done anything wrong. It's that
"mke2fs /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 is apparently in use by the system will not make a file system here!" = means that the dalvik cache is in use.

Do this :

1) Using CWM, partition the sdcard.
2) Wipe data/factory reset.
3) Wipe dalvik cache (to resolve the above problem).
4) Install (flash) : cm v.1.5 + gapps
5) Wipe battery stats.
6) Reboot.
7) Install S2E according to Psyke's guide.
8) Done!

NOTE :

1) Make sure use CWM latest version : v.0.5
2) Recommended to use gapps minimal version.
(You can install additional google apps here (use option 1b) :
http://android.modaco.com/topic/335141-add...pps-2011-08-15/
3) Remember that installing/upgrading NEW ROMS VERSIONS in CM, you have to install the whole package, i.e. the cm version, hotfix (if there is any), and gapps.
4) For HOTFIX, just only install the hotfix.
5) Only if you perform data wipe/factory reset, you'll have to re-install your apps.
6) If you're just upgrading/installing New Roms versions, your apps will still be intact.

Added on October 3, 2011, 10:43 pm
QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Oct 3 2011, 07:33 PM)
With v1.4 hf,i found that market is a bit different. Eg i cant find yahoo app in it.. why
Upgrade your market and other google apps here :

http://android.modaco.com/topic/335141-add...pps-2011-08-15/

I have never encounter such problem. BTW, you should upgrade to V.1.5. It's amazing!

Added on October 3, 2011, 10:46 pm
QUOTE(vccy @ Oct 3 2011, 09:04 PM)
I redownload the mixer from the xda-developer, after install no effect de. How come? icon_question.gif
Actually you can just use the themes from xda : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1083055
just install whatever themes you like, open theme chooser and apply.

Added on October 3, 2011, 10:53 pm
QUOTE(chonkit @ Oct 3 2011, 09:19 PM)
hey..i using cm 1.5 but i unable to download large mb file from market..if i not remember  mistaken , we dun need tick the cache option on s2e rite? how to overcome this problem?
Try using App Cache Cleaner download from market.

Your /cache/download folder maybe full in the ext4 partition. You have to wipe your dalvik cache.

Alternately, you can move it to sdcard using Terminal Emu (same as Link2sd) :

# su
# cd /cache
# mv download download.old
# mkdir -p /sdcard/cache/download
# ln -s /sdcard/cache/download download
# reboot.

Added on October 3, 2011, 10:55 pm
QUOTE(curiouso9 @ Oct 3 2011, 09:25 PM)
emm.. previous version its ok. but now it wont work if using ext4, at least on my phone. anyone else got positive result using ext4 with s2e?  hmm.gif
Yes, S2E can only be used with ext4. It works wonderfully for me. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by alexysc: Oct 3 2011, 11:20 PM
alexysc
post Oct 4 2011, 02:31 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(zam_changloon @ Oct 4 2011, 09:14 AM)
Hurmmmm..

Before installing S2E, once again I tried to formating the /sd-ext partition using Terminal Emulator sing the code :
#su

Terminal emulator STILL shows the same message :
"mke2fs /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 is apparently in use by the system will not make a file system here!"

Hurmmmmmmm... Is there any problem if i just proceed to S2E steps?  hmm.gif
You don't need to format the sd-ext again.
alexysc
post Oct 4 2011, 08:22 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(zam_changloon @ Oct 4 2011, 03:17 PM)
Thanks alex.. means after partitioned through CWM, no need to reformat the /sd-ext partition using Terminal Emulator.. Just proceed to s2e steps..

By the way, I've downloaded googles apps. PART B as u suggested..
-gapp-market-3-0-27-signed.zip
-gapp-carhome-2-2-1-4-signed.zip
-gapp-gmail-2-3-5-signed.zip
-gapp-youtube-2-2-16-signed.zip
-gapp-maps-5-8-0-signed.zip
-gapp-streetview-1-6-0-6-signed.zip
-gapp-translate-2-1-signed.zip
-gapp-voice-0-4-2-32-signed.zip
-gapp-voicesearch-2-1-4-signed.zip
-gapp-plus-1-0-5-signed.zip
-gapp-docs-1-0-10-signed.zip

Do we need to install ALL or can choose which one to install.. Not all apps listed I use.. The most frequent only market.. tongue.gif
Just select which ones you need. Not necessary to install everything, unless you use all of them. tongue.gif
alexysc
post Oct 5 2011, 09:06 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(vccy @ Oct 5 2011, 07:57 PM)
Just wanna make sure i am the right track. i check system/etc/init.d for the ram

mine usage is 135.14mb and 33.15 mb free, i got install the S97ramscript

and my S2E information is

data: size: 183mb, Used:150mb, Free:33mb

Sd-ext: sixe: 1196mb, Used: 242mb, Free 892mb

cache: size: 20mb, Used:4 mb, Free: 16mb

when i install or update apps from market. it will show low storage. and after i reboot it is ok already.

am i in the right track?

using V1.5 now.
Not to worry. Everything is fine for you. rclxms.gif

Added on October 5, 2011, 9:42 pmGuys,

Latest hofix release :

Installation guide :

1) Download the hofix1 zip
2) Open CWM.
3) Instal zip from sdcard.
4) choose zip from sdcard.
5) select > galaxy5-v1.5-hotfix1.zip
6) reboot
7) DONE! (No need data wipe nor install anything else).

CM v.1.5 Hotfix 1 [5 October 2011]: Kernel: kernel source re-patched from vanilla to avoid unnecessary/unstable patches; fixed reboot/reboot to recovery hangs; optimized size of kernel modules to free extra RAM; upgraded to newer FSR drivers from I5500XWJQ3 ROM; reverted to stable version of compcache (ramzswap) driver; removed OuNao's dualtouch driver from kernel, but re-added as an optional kernel module. Framework: added new "madconfig" script to configure swap and dualtouch activation; various small fixes and hacks removed.

This means you've the option whether to enable dual-touch or not to.

Using Terminal Emulator :

To check your status,

#su
#madconfig

To select options :

#su
#madconfig dton (enable dual-touch)
#madconfig dtoff (disable dual-touch)
#madconfig swapon (enable swap)
#madconfig swapoff (disable swap)
#madconfig tweak (tweak drives for speed)

Enjoy! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by alexysc: Oct 5 2011, 09:42 PM
alexysc
post Oct 6 2011, 01:14 AM

60 posts

Another latest hotfix release : tongue.gif

Hotfix 2 [5 October 2011]: Kernel: Bluetooth initialization fix; enabled compatibility with new basebands - you are now free to use any Froyo-based baseband with CyanogenMod. Framework: enhanced dual-touch compatibility (enabling/disabling dual-touch will now change the touchscreen permissions to the proper type). If you're using dual-touch, please re-enable via madconfig after installing this update.

Added on October 6, 2011, 1:31 am
QUOTE(vccy @ Oct 5 2011, 10:27 PM)
thank you alex. But for the dual touch, i go read the forum and i am not sure how to activate it and use it. quite confuse. did you manage to use it?  tongue.gif
i think our cm7 auto root.  biggrin.gif

Added on October 5, 2011, 10:50 pmBtw how to delete all the contact for G5? cos i accidentally duplicate my contact 4 times. =.=
If you are just using v.1.5 without hotfix, it's already enabled. You don't have to do anything else.

To use the dual touch, open a website or a picture from your sdcard ,

1) Touch the top-right of your screen.
2) Move your finger to the left side, downward left and then to downward right - anti-clock wise movement untill
you see the zoom. You can zoom-in and out just by moving your fingers anywhere on the screen. All these
movements using without releasing your finger.
3) To zoom back to original size, just tap the screen with your finger twice.

If you have installed the hotfix 1 or 2, you need to enable it (see previous post for enabling) as these 2 hotfixes does not have dual touch enabled by default as it gives the option to enable it or not.

For the contacts, you just have to go to the contacts and delete them.

For all CM roms, they are all already rooted by default.

Added on October 6, 2011, 1:33 am
QUOTE(karadrith @ Oct 5 2011, 09:55 PM)
just to ask.. how do we root cm7? or do we not need to?
All CM7 roms are rooted by default.

This post has been edited by alexysc: Oct 6 2011, 01:33 AM
alexysc
post Oct 7 2011, 04:17 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Oct 7 2011, 02:10 PM)
already update with the latest market.. but the prob still there.
seem that not all app i can see.
eg, yahoo  mail, viber.
and how is market enable function??

thx

icon_rolleyes.gif
Download Market Fix from market.

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0215sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:56 AM