Samsung Galaxy 5 - CyanogenMod 7.1 Thread

alexysc
post Sep 10 2011, 09:48 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(need7 @ Sep 10 2011, 09:31 PM)
tq already found it.. but i have problem with wifi.. it can connect for a minute, after than always reconnect but not succesfull. how to fix it?
i use basebands i5503DXJP7
Set your wifi policy to NEVER.
> settings > wireless & networks > wi-fi settings >>> press menu > advanced > wi-fi sleep policy ---->>> Never
Uncheck > use static IP

You can also use wifi blade fix - downloadable from market.

Added on September 10, 2011, 9:55 pm
QUOTE(starz92 @ Sep 10 2011, 09:45 PM)
off topic:i tried to install terminal emulator from market for my sis galaxy ace but i can't seem to type anything there.any solution?
Do you mean cannot download and install.....or already download and installed, but can't type on the emulator?

If cannot download, try this link : http://www.4shared.com/file/ECqth3pV/Bette...ator_Pro__.html

If cannot type on the emulator, it's because of the keypad. You have to use your phone in portrait mode.

This post has been edited by alexysc: Sep 10 2011, 09:55 PM
alexysc
post Sep 11 2011, 01:40 AM

60 posts

Due to some requests, I have for the convenient of everyone, written here :

Guide/procedure flashing/upgrade to CyanogenMod 7.1 version 1.3 from Madteam v.2.0.9 Final, Stock Froyo, Eclair, or any Madteam's roms CM version 6 and below :-

Require :

1) ClockworkMod Recovery [CWM Ver. 4.0.1.5] v0.5 tar - link : http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/%2...cret-projectgt/

2) Latest CM Release : v1.3 [10 September 2011]

3) Hotfix : None (as there is none for this version at the moment)

4) ***Latest Google Apps package: Google Apps (20110613)

Link (for #2) #3) and #4) : http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/%2...alaxy5%27-port/

5) Sdcard partitions : a) FAT32 and b) Ext4 - both must be primary.
If you don't have any partitions, don't worry, you can partition your sdcard with CWM later.

Procedures :

Note - Make sure you have back up your stuffs like your pics, videos, music, etc. etc., before proceeding.

1) Remove mad2sd using Terminal Emulator (for Madteam's roms or if you are using it) -
#su
#mad2sd off
#reboot

2) Copy the downloaded files, v.1.3 and Google Apps (since there is no hotfix for now you don't need the hotfix file) to the root of your sdcard.

3) Flash with ODIN the CWM v.0.5 tar.
b) During the flashing, CWM will boot up. From the CWM menu, select > wipe data/factory reset.
c) select > install zip from zip sdcard ----> and select the CM v.1.3 first and install. After completed installation, select Google Apps and install.
c) Reboot.

4) This is part is require if you want to partition your sdcard :
a) Boot up CWM : press off button > reboot > recovery --->>> CWM will boot up (if not, press > volume up button + off button for approx.
8 - 10 secs - don't worry, this is normal)
b) select > advance > partition sd card ---->> select the size for your partition and the 2nd selection is for swap partition, select 0 (zero)
c) reboot

5) Go to market, download and install Link2sd.
a) Open Link2sd and it will ask you to select your partition type to mount your partition. If your selected partition is not recognized, don't worry, keep selecting one which can be mounted.
b) Reboot.
c) Open Lind2sd again and tick all the checkboxes.

Done!

Note :

1) ***Latest Google Apps package: Google Apps (20110613) - Not all the google apps are available in this package as G5's internal memory is not large enough to hold all of them.
b) If you require more google apps, go to this link : http://android.modaco.com/topic/335141-add...pps-2011-07-12/
DON'T USE THE FULL PACKAGE though you still can install, but most probably they will be corrupted as only partial installation can be performed due to the limited internal storage space of the phone. Use option 1b to install individually.

2) Link2sd :
a) If you encounter any issues with Link2sd, do this :

Delete or move file -

05mountsd in /system/etc/init.d

to sdcard then rebooted the phone because you may have that script which conflicts with L2D.

To do this, use root explorer, go to -

system/etc/init.d

press mount rw on top right corner, now simply move 05mountsd to sdcard and reboot.

b) If you are unable to download apps from the market, which shows you don't have enough memory, even though your phone shows you have a lot of memory, don't worry. This is due to the cache size. To increase the cache size do this :

Run this script in the terminal emulator or adb to fix this issue :

# su
# cd /cache
# mv download download.old
# mkdir -p /sdcard/cache/download
# ln -s /sdcard/cache/download download

reboot.

c) Every time after upgrade to newer rom versions or hotfixes, your phone's internal memory may decrease drastically. To solve this, open
Link2sd, > menu > more >>> select > Relink Library files and then select > Link dalvik-cache files and you phone's internal memory will free back again.

Hope this guide will help. And goodluck flashing to CyanogenMod. tongue.gif

NOTE : THE ABOVE HAS BEEN EDIT. PLEASE READ CAREFULL AGAIN. THANKS.

This post has been edited by alexysc: Sep 11 2011, 01:59 AM
alexysc
post Sep 11 2011, 08:13 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(amedeto8 @ Sep 11 2011, 04:44 AM)
I dun have any prob dload/install app, do i need to increase my cache?? Any prob if do this??
If no problem, then it's alright even if you perform this as it'll increase your cache size. Or if you don't do this, it's also ok.

Added on September 11, 2011, 8:25 amCyanogenMod 7.1 v.1.3 Update :

Hotfix 1 [10 September 2011]: Fixed volume controls on stock FM app.

Installation instructions (for those who are not familiar) :

1) Download the hotfix and copy it to the root of your sdcard.
http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/%2...alaxy5%27-port/

2) Boot up CWM and select > install zip from sd card.

3) Select the hotfix file.

4) Install and reboot.

5) Done!

Note : Don't perform data wipe.

This post has been edited by alexysc: Sep 11 2011, 08:25 AM
alexysc
post Sep 11 2011, 10:16 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(vccy @ Sep 11 2011, 10:04 AM)
Guys got any apps that can catogories our drawer apps? cos to much games and apps d. need to scrool down a lot. zzz

Go Launcher Ex - highly customizations. You can use your own new folders to categorize you drawer apps.

Added on September 11, 2011, 10:18 am
QUOTE(amedeto8 @ Sep 11 2011, 10:07 AM)
Ok tq alex.. i tot pskype fon brick hehe.. hows v1.3+hf1 performance??
It's more or less the same without hotfix, but the volume control in stock radio is fixed.
Yup, Psyke's phone bricked already. He's send to repair.

This post has been edited by alexysc: Sep 11 2011, 10:18 AM
alexysc
post Sep 11 2011, 07:33 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(shafique2511 @ Sep 11 2011, 02:05 PM)
i think better put at 1st post..

i have a question..is it  i5003DXJP8 firmware using JP7 baseband?because i extract amss file from i5003DXJP8 and flash it but it shows my baseband using JP7...
There's no JP8 baseband as far as I know....
Hope Curioso will copy and paste the guide in the 1st post.... tongue.gif
alexysc
post Sep 12 2011, 09:48 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(servant_fox @ Sep 12 2011, 07:35 PM)
CyanogenMod 1.3 + hf1

I got my wi fi problem.. it connected but when i try to enter the market/fb/website.. it failed
Try market enabler. If still cannot, you've to perform data wipe.

alexysc
post Sep 12 2011, 10:37 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(servant_fox @ Sep 12 2011, 09:57 PM)
where to get market enabler?
You can get it from Android Market.
alexysc
post Sep 13 2011, 12:04 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(slaughterer @ Sep 13 2011, 08:29 AM)
so far how v1.3+htfx1 work?
any problem u all had?
going to flash after this....hehehe... ^^
v.1.3 is fine. But the hotfix1 makes the phone lag due to the FM volume control code is causing the lags.

alexysc
post Sep 13 2011, 12:16 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(kut3t @ Sep 13 2011, 12:05 PM)
hi there..

can someone teach me / give a tutorial how to flah to the latest cyanogen?
i'm using 2.0.9 final now..

a bit lost already, since long time haven't visit lyn

Thx
Please read post #110 , - previous page. Complete tutorial is listed there.
alexysc
post Sep 14 2011, 11:37 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(slaughterer @ Sep 14 2011, 11:03 PM)
got problem with android market...
i installed market v3.1.3 from apk downloaded...
i tried to download apps from that market, but it stuck...didn't download..

anyone have tried use this version of market? ^^
currently using CM v1.2 + htfix 1
Where did you get that? Maybe it's corrupted.

Only use google apps from here : http://android.modaco.com/topic/335141-add...pps-2011-08-15/
This site is more trusted.
alexysc
post Sep 15 2011, 12:12 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(slaughterer @ Sep 15 2011, 12:01 AM)
i download from http://www.apktop.com/android-market-3-1-3.html
lot of apps apk...so far no problem, except for market...

for ur link, just download the option 1b file rite?
install using CWM?
Yes, option 1b.

You can install either using CWM : install the downloaded file as-it-is.
Install the normal way - .apk : extract the downloaded file, search for the .apk file and copy it to your phone, while the rest of the files can be
discarded.
alexysc
post Sep 15 2011, 01:04 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(slaughterer @ Sep 15 2011, 12:17 PM)
i upgrade to v1.3 this morning....but after flash, all app lost/can't found..
is it bcause of Link2sd??

did i need to remove "05mountsd in /system/etc/init.d" first??
(actually what this file for?? ^^)
Open Link2sd, press >menu >more> relink library files and then > link dalvik-cache files and reboot.
Your apps will be restored again.

'05mounsd in /system/etc/int.d' is a mount script. It's for mounting your sdcard's partition. However,
this script sometimes conflicts with Link2sd's similar script which will create system's stability.
Therefore, you have to remove it.
alexysc
post Sep 15 2011, 10:12 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(kut3t @ Sep 15 2011, 08:14 PM)
Nope.. 2.0.9 is the best froyo mad firmware till cyanogen pop out.
Now I'm already flashed to cyanogen but don't know how to change the keyboard layout. Really don't like QWERTY in potrait mode.
anyone knows how to change it?
Thx
You can use

1) Swype keyboard which is similar to Samsung stock keyboard : http://www.mediafire.com/?u21ggy7d0vvqgm4

or

2) AnySoft Keyboard - download from market
alexysc
post Sep 18 2011, 11:25 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(sahrilyel @ Sep 18 2011, 06:17 PM)
sorry to interfere.. anybody can help me to upgrade my galaxy 5 I5003 2.2Froyo. Please give me updated link to download and attach to odin or else.. randomly follow the forum but can't see detail way to upgrade my phone..
please somebody...... rclxub.gif
Don't get your meaning..... do you want to upgrade to Froyo 2.2 or to CM 7.1 ? Please provide your current rom version so that we can offer you the proper guide to upgrade.

Added on September 19, 2011, 1:29 amCM v.1.3 Hotfix 2 RELEASED [18 September 2011]: Boot: removed custom lowmemorykiller tweaks; kernel: various updates (smartassV2, TinyRCU, Simple and V® IO schedulers), bugfixes and optimizations, changed default scheduler to Simple IO; libaudio: code cleanup and reduced overall FM volume.

http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/%2...alaxy5%27-port/

Added on September 19, 2011, 1:09 pmReview :

Hotfix 2 [18 September 2011]: Boot: removed custom lowmemorykiller tweaks; kernel: various updates (smartassV2, TinyRCU, Simple and V® IO schedulers), bugfixes and optimizations, changed default scheduler to Simple IO; libaudio: code cleanup and reduced overall FM volume; Framework: enabled hardware-accelerated 2D rendering.

Great noticeable improvements on :

1) Screen lock - formerly it was quite lag and now it's smooth.
2) Switching screens - improvement in speed while switching between home screens which is fast.
3) Battery usage - last longer.
4) FM radio volume reduced.
5) Apps loading faster with screen more responsive.

My opinion : Highly recommended to install this Hotfix2. rclxms.gif tongue.gif rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif thumbup.gif cool.gif

This post has been edited by alexysc: Sep 19 2011, 01:09 PM
alexysc
post Sep 19 2011, 10:16 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(vccy @ Sep 19 2011, 09:49 PM)
do i need to back up if i upgrade from V1.2 to V1.3 or just install hotfix can already?
1) It's advisable to backup with CWM first...just in case if anything goes wrong, you can always restore back.

2) If you're upgrading from v.1.2, you need to install all the three files - v.1.3 , hotfix2 and gapps in sequence.

3) If you're already with v.1.3, just install the hotfix2 only.

4) For all the above, data wipe is not necessary.
alexysc
post Sep 20 2011, 08:52 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(jaithesimpleguy @ Sep 20 2011, 05:56 PM)
I think i have doing it wrongly. So im gonna redo everything. Is it necessary? Secondly, I dont really understand about SD card partitioning thing. So I just wanna make sure. How relevant is swap or not to swap for our galaxy 5? Is there any guide links? Im on 4gb SD card. What is your suggested Ext4 partition size?
Wait wait wait. its a "exe" file. Where do i need to install this? Directly into SD card? Any relevant guide links for this as well?
Thanks!  smile.gif
1) You can read about swap here : http://wiki.cyanogenmod.com/wiki/Swap_and_Compcache

2) Normal usage about 500MB for Ext4 should be enough. If you have lots of apps, then bigger size would be better as Ext4 acts as internal storage for your apps instead of storing them into your phone's internal memory which is quite small.

3) You extract the papago map and copy them to your NaviSea folder in the sdcard.

Added on September 20, 2011, 8:53 pm
QUOTE(vccy @ Sep 20 2011, 08:34 PM)
thanks bro. btw guys got any good video player which can play many types of video format? and any music player also.  laugh.gif
Try Mobo Player or MX Player - from market.

This post has been edited by alexysc: Sep 20 2011, 08:53 PM
alexysc
post Sep 20 2011, 08:56 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(vccy @ Sep 20 2011, 08:54 PM)
alex, if flash to V1.3 can i use back the google app that i install for V1.2 it is the same right? lazy to go dl again.
Yes, use that gapps. But for upgrade rom versions, ie. from v.1.2 to v.1.3, you need to flash all the three files in order - v.1.3 , hotfix (if there's any) and gapps.

For hotfix, you only have to just install the hotfix only and reboot.
alexysc
post Sep 20 2011, 10:55 PM

60 posts

Hey Folks,

Want to make your RAM to the best optimization? This means the best balance between free memory, multitask, speed of launching apps and system speed. Your system and switching between apps or launching apps will be very fast.

Read/Link/Tutorial here : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...249&postcount=1

If you're not familiar with Root Explorer, here's the step by step guide :

1) Download the S97 Ramscript.
2) Extract it with 7zip.
3) Copy the extracted S97 Ramscript to the root of your sdcard.
4) Open Root Explorer.
5) Go to > system/etc/init.d
6) Press > Menu > Bookmarks >SD Card.
7) Search for the S97 Ramscript and Long press it.
8) Press Move
9) Press back button.
10) (You will be directed back to the Root Explorer > /system/etc/init.d) Press top right > Mount R/w
11) Paste (paste the S97 Ramscript from the sd card).
12) Long press the S97 Ramscript and select > Permissions. Tick all. (If it [root explorer] doesn't allow it, press the top right > Mount R/w again and you'll be able to set the permission.
13) Exit Root Explorer.
14) Reboot.

Done and enjoy more/higher Ram on your phone which will give you much much more smoothness and faster response. You'll immediately feel the difference after you've inserted the S97 Ram script.
rclxms.gif tongue.gif rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif whistling.gif
alexysc
post Sep 21 2011, 01:09 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(slaughterer @ Sep 21 2011, 06:57 AM)
wanna try s97 ramscript.... ^^
is it safe to our phone? hehe
Absolutely 100% safe! I'm using it.

Added on September 21, 2011, 1:13 pm
QUOTE(jaithesimpleguy @ Sep 21 2011, 10:37 AM)
Thanks alexysc for your feedback on my sd card questions. =)

Im interested on the RAM optimizer thing. The file i've downloaded is "Juwe_Update-19092011_RAM_Script". It a file named "S97ramscript" without any extension. Do i need to put any extension to make it work? Just a precaution cos I dont want anything bad happen to phone. lol
The download is in winrar .zip format. Just extract it with 7zip and you'll get just the S97 ramscript file.
No need any extension as this file is for inserting to your /system/etc/init.d directory. That's it.
The only thing you need to do is set the permissions - tick all.

This post has been edited by alexysc: Sep 21 2011, 01:25 PM
alexysc
post Sep 21 2011, 01:23 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(jaithesimpleguy @ Sep 21 2011, 12:08 PM)
i Want to clarify how CWM backup & restore works. I read some thread in Madteam forum. They say CWM backup & restore works like a restore point. It means, after you restore, all your update will be cancelled. How true is this? I thought i can skip installing Titanium Backup or other backup app since CWM offers backup and restore features.

My papago says do not support resolution. (i dont install papago for long time already. lol) so what to do?
CWM backup and restore back at the restore point. That means, for eg. you backup today 21/09/11 @ 2.00pm. Suppose you restore back next monday, 26/09/11, you'll get back exactly everything as at today 2.00pm. This is to say that whatever new updates, apps, etc which you installed after 2.00pm today won't be restore back.

So it would be good to backup up your roms every few days to keep the backup update. The updated file will be store in your sdcard ClockWork Mod folder. You can delete the old backups whenever you have new backups.

But note that CWM will not backup your FAT32 partition, which your store your stuffs like pics, videos, music, and also the apps folders like CWM, Go LauncherEX, etc. These FAT32 partition can just be backup using simple conventional way - copy them to your pc.

I don't use Titanium backup because sometimes it messes up with the data files.

Added on September 21, 2011, 1:24 pm
QUOTE(kut3t @ Sep 21 2011, 01:15 PM)
mr. alex,

how to apply hotfix to the phone?
mine already v1.3

thx
Just download the hotfix2 and copy it to the root of your sdcard. Install it with CWM and reboot.
Not necessary to do data wipe.

Added on September 21, 2011, 2:12 pm
QUOTE(jaithesimpleguy @ Sep 21 2011, 12:08 PM)

My papago says do not support resolution. (i dont install papago for long time already. lol) so what to do?
Link : http://www.sendspace.com/file/ge2rso

Extract it and put the NaviSea Folder to the root of your sdcard. Maps are already included. Install the .apk file.

If you want the latest map, which I gave in the previous posts, just replace it in the NaviSea folder.

This post has been edited by alexysc: Sep 21 2011, 02:12 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:50 PM