124 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » Bottom

English Clubs Liverpool Football Club - The Kop Talks 2011, Liverpool 2 -1 Wolves : LS7 scored again

Duke Red
post Sep 21 2011, 02:30 PM

6,112 posts

I share the opinion that Suarez operates better as a lone striker. He likes it when the defender is close up against him so he can quickly turn away from him and burst away. For that, he needs space. Having someone with very little mobility like Carroll next to him, you get the feeling that a strike partner will only get in his way. I'd like to see Suarez lead the line with a 2nd wave of support from the likes of Kuyt, Downing, etc. Suarez can get behind defenders with his pace, guile and quick turns but he needs support to play ball back across goal to.
Rotuham
post Sep 21 2011, 03:30 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Sep 21 2011, 02:30 PM)
I share the opinion that Suarez operates better as a lone striker. He likes it when the defender is close up against him so he can quickly turn away from him and burst away. For that, he needs space. Having someone with very little mobility like Carroll next to him, you get the feeling that a strike partner will only get in his way. I'd like to see Suarez lead the line with a 2nd wave of support from the likes of Kuyt, Downing, etc. Suarez can get behind defenders with his pace, guile and quick turns but he needs support to play ball back across goal to.
Dont want lone striker bro.Leads to over reliance on him.We need two to help share the burden.Unless you have a world class midfield and wing like spain then you can play lone striker.Ours currently is nowhere near there.If you see the man city match last season suarez and carroll linked up well and that was our best attacking performance.

To justify why i think we cant play lone formation is we dont have possession 60% or more.Spain,barca are like this and most of the time they are in opponents half
so the striker doesnt get isolated.We on many occasions have to counter attack so once the striker needs someone close.After alonso left torres was very isolated as lucas and mascherano cant feed the ball.I doubt there are many teams that win trophies primarily with lone striker formation apart from barca,spain of course.Please correct me if i am wrong.Even our successful sides were built on keegan toshack,rush dalglish partnerships.
Yluxion
post Sep 21 2011, 03:52 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(80toyshop @ Sep 21 2011, 02:01 PM)
dun know y maxi not playing more, his link up play with kuty & suarez was quite good, end of last season, even manage to score a few nice goals.
That's because KD prefers Downing and Henderson on both flanks. You don't spend 15+ million just to put them on the bench, we're no Man City.

KD put a lot of faith on his new signings, by starting them every league match. Enrique is the most consistent IMO, the others are inconsistent while Henderson is really below-par. They better start delivering to repay the amount of trust KD puts in them. While our No.9 is really doh.gif rclxub.gif shakehead.gif sad.gif
vreis
post Sep 21 2011, 03:53 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

Think the days of 2 strikers are numbered. Nowadays teams played with lone striker supported by AM/wings/auxiliary forwards etc. Fluidity is the word of the day now where most of the forward line can interchange position. Some can even play without out & out strikers with success. Eg include the manc, rent boys, inter/ac, even RM & Bayern.

The problem is the current team is not fluid at all, not when your most creative player is Adam who lack mobility. When the engine room consist of Adam/Lucas, both tend to play from deep without much pace, you'll need more pacy wide players to stretch play. Unfortunately we only have Downing to a lesser extend Bellamy or Suarez. I'd like to see how KD fit in Stevie when he's back.

Currently, the team is limited when Carroll is playing due to his inability to play at quicker pace or interchange position. I'd like to see a MF of Adam-Lucas-Gerrard supporting a frontline of Downing/Bellamy-Suarez-Kuyt. The team can morph into 4-3-3 or even 4-1-2-3 when attacking & revert to 4-5-1 when defending. Not to mentioned most of them can interchange position at will.

Theoretically its exciting but whether it can be moulded into the team play remain to be seen. Oh well, one can only dream
Rotuham
post Sep 21 2011, 04:06 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Sep 21 2011, 03:53 PM)
Think the days of 2 strikers are numbered. Nowadays teams played with lone striker supported by AM/wings/auxiliary forwards etc. Fluidity is the word of the day now where most of the forward line can interchange position. Some can even play without out & out strikers with success. Eg include the manc, rent boys, inter/ac, even RM & Bayern.

The problem is the current team is not fluid at all, not when your most creative player is Adam who lack mobility. When the engine room consist of Adam/Lucas, both tend to play from deep without much pace, you'll need more pacy wide players to stretch play. Unfortunately we only have Downing to a lesser extend Bellamy or Suarez. I'd like to see how KD fit in Stevie when he's back.

Currently, the team is limited when Carroll is playing due to his inability to play at quicker pace or interchange position. I'd like to see a MF of Adam-Lucas-Gerrard supporting a frontline of Downing/Bellamy-Suarez-Kuyt. The team can morph into 4-3-3 or even 4-1-2-3 when attacking & revert to 4-5-1 when defending. Not to mentioned most of them can interchange position at will.

Theoretically its exciting but whether it can be moulded into the team play remain to be seen. Oh well, one can only dream
United play with rooney partnering with either welbeck,berbatov or hernandez.Chelsea play with two or three with anelka,torres,sturridge,kalou and drogba.
They do have a target man but that target man is not the lone striker.Carroll is our target man.
vreis
post Sep 21 2011, 04:14 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(Rotuham @ Sep 21 2011, 04:06 PM)
United play with rooney partnering with either welbeck,berbatov or hernandez.Chelsea play with two or three with anelka,torres,sturridge,kalou and drogba.
They do have a target man but that target man is not the lone striker.Carroll is our target man.
Normally Rooney played as free role. Couple of years back they played without a recognize striker with much success smile.gif
As for the blues, everyone knew they play with 1 out & out striker with wide/wingers support (the wingers role can be played by Anelka/Kalou/Sturridge). Did you see how they fail to pair up Torres/Drogba or Torres/Anelka?
Some team list down 3 strikers but not all of them play the striker role just like Kuyt.
zickey
post Sep 21 2011, 04:48 PM

VAPENESTJELUTONG
2,125 posts

skrtel and adams will face one match banned right? does it include the carling cup?
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Sep 21 2011, 06:01 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(jackjack1988 @ Sep 21 2011, 10:26 AM)
cant wait for tonite Carling cup game against Brighton!
Hope to see Gerrard to be put in the pitch for the final 20 minutes and for the entire 90 minutes in match against Wolves !
Gerrard would be a boost to the team.
Who doesn't..it would be an intriguing Cup match, to witness. If i were Kenny (if), i'll ignore to hit the panic button after a devastating week , as rushing Steven Gerrard back into the lineup could make a bad situation worse. Gerrard is far too valuable to the team to gamble on. Kenny Dalglish won't fall victim to a foolish knee-jerk reaction. Gerrard isn't in a position to come in and save the day. He's still recovering from his groin operation that developed into an infection. It's natural to look to Gerrard after a loss like this, especially after losing Daniel Agger to a rib fracture.

We have been waiting patiently for Gerrard's highly anticipated return. Give it a while..he'll be back stronger than before..
leaF
post Sep 21 2011, 06:03 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(zickey @ Sep 21 2011, 04:48 PM)
skrtel and adams will face one match banned right? does it include the carling cup?
yes , they are not available on tomoro morning match.
DayahKuComeL
post Sep 21 2011, 06:13 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Sep 21 2011, 06:01 PM)
Who doesn't..it would be an intriguing Cup match, to witness. If i were Kenny (if), i'll ignore to hit the panic button after a devastating week , as rushing Steven Gerrard back into the lineup could make a bad situation worse. Gerrard is far too valuable to the team to gamble on. Kenny Dalglish won't fall victim to a foolish knee-jerk reaction. Gerrard isn't in a position to come in and save the day. He's still recovering from his groin operation that developed into an infection. It's natural to look to Gerrard after a loss like this, especially after losing Daniel Agger to a rib fracture.

We have been waiting patiently for Gerrard's highly anticipated return. Give it a while..he'll be back stronger than before..
This is what i'm afraid of.
Some of us put really high hopes on Gerrard to change/boost the team when he return.
Imagine if he fail?I'm not jinxing the team(god's forbid) but then don't put high hopes on him.
feelfree
post Sep 21 2011, 07:05 PM

174 posts

After watching a few matches this season, and also watched a few MU match, actually our players are comparable to those in MU, but one thing MU have, but unable to find on ours, "formation" and "understanding". I really hope Liverpool can show us what they are capable of, unlike those Stoke City and Tottenham performance.
moodswingfella
post Sep 21 2011, 07:21 PM

364 posts

sit too much hope in SG return will do no good. In fact, every player in the squad should buck, improve and learn from their mistake.

If you cant face your defeat, then you wont be able to celebrate your victory.
zickey
post Sep 21 2011, 09:07 PM

VAPENESTJELUTONG
2,125 posts

QUOTE(leaF @ Sep 21 2011, 06:03 PM)
yes , they are not available on tomoro morning match.
so they will available for wolves match?
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Sep 22 2011, 12:44 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(zickey @ Sep 21 2011, 09:07 PM)
so they will available for wolves match?
They will be available for Wolves game. The suspension counts the domestic cups as well. Read this
digilife
post Sep 22 2011, 02:00 AM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

The Reds team in full is: Reina, Kelly, Robinson, Carragher, Coates, Lucas, Spearing, Maxi, Kuyt, Bellamy, Suarez. Subs: Gerrard, Carroll, Downing, Wilson, Shelvey, Flanagan, Doni.
skyz
post Sep 22 2011, 02:19 AM

63 posts

lol... even carling cup doni oso not starting... im expecting a fast pace attacking display, maxi kuyt suarez and bellamy... wow...
TSsolstice818
post Sep 22 2011, 02:29 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

Not surprising that Kenny opted to rest Suarez. Hmm, good for him to get some rest and get us 3 points this coming weekend.Let's hope he start scoring soon
skyz
post Sep 22 2011, 02:36 AM

63 posts

hmm... suarez in the starting lineup, no?
darth6
post Sep 22 2011, 02:45 AM

146 posts

any streamlinks please? biggrin.gif
skyz
post Sep 22 2011, 02:46 AM

63 posts

try this..
http://www.firstrowsports.tv/webmaster/Liv...verpool-fc.html

124 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » Top