13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

empire23
post Feb 4 2015, 08:39 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Anyone here going up to Barrow Island on werk?
empire23
post Feb 4 2015, 01:40 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(m0r31d8ng3l @ Feb 4 2015, 11:00 AM)
what kind of work being offered?
Tons. E&I, SMP, NDT, Scheduling, Contracts and so on with the KJV and CKJV. But roster like shit lah, 4:1.
empire23
post Feb 5 2015, 05:13 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(m0r31d8ng3l @ Feb 4 2015, 01:48 PM)
E&I? SMP? NDT? KJV? CKJV? erm, I'm in electronics engineering, and I never seen any of these..
If you're an EnE you should know these lol. Here's a terminology of regularly used terms in Australian engineering we use to weed out people who have experience in industry;

E&I = Electrical and Instrumentation
KORDIA = Microwave Backbone
HA = Hazardous Areas
EEHA = Electrical Equipment for Hazardous Areas
SMP = Structural, Mechanical and Piping
NTD = Non Destructive Testing
OSBL = Outside Boundary Layer
NACAP = Pig launcher electronics line
SCMM = Single Core Multi Mode

Generally if it has a JV behind it means Joint Venture.

QUOTE(azrb.com @ Feb 4 2015, 09:23 PM)
Can explain how 4:1 roster works?
4 weeks work 1 week off?
Yup.
empire23
post Feb 7 2015, 06:48 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(azrb.com @ Feb 6 2015, 08:16 PM)
Hey guys, anyone else moving to Australia?
I was just granted my 189 subclass  smile.gif

I'm moving over to Queensland, going job hunting over there (am in the construction industry)
was wondering if I would be able to get into a civil & structural consultant firm as I was previously working on construction sites.
Probably the worst possible time to move over lol.

Laing O'Rourke just made half of their civils redundant and so has Leighton and UGL.

Worley Parsons, ParsonsBrickenhoff and Monodelphous have laid off the civils and structural divs as they move into sustainment phase. Even E&I + SMP is not expected to last more than a year here in Queensland. That's why I'm moving on to capital sustainment or alternative energy projects.

I think the issue is that you'll be competing with a lot of other well qualified Dirt Doctors with Australian experience.
empire23
post Feb 7 2015, 08:42 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(azrb.com @ Feb 7 2015, 08:32 AM)
Sigh, going to have a hard time job hunting
It's so shit that I've already submitted forms for Talentcorp's REP to balik Malaysia and filled out transfer requests for Origin's sustainment projects in Sydney. I dot not expect projects to last past October.

My boss has already put us all on marching orders from the APLNG in September, some might pull the pin later. It seems SANTOS is already doing so.

Want my advice? Don't move to Australia at least until shit recovers. If they're offering grad engineers 3 to 6 month contracts, you know the economy is poo.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/business/p...0-1227208293055

This post has been edited by empire23: Feb 7 2015, 08:49 AM
empire23
post Feb 7 2015, 10:50 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(m0r31d8ng3l @ Feb 7 2015, 09:30 AM)
I'm actually moving to sydney in March.
That's scary to learn. Guess I'm really gonna have to start figuring out a career change?
Try finance, it seems good and they're always open to hiring engineers.
empire23
post Feb 8 2015, 04:22 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(m0r31d8ng3l @ Feb 7 2015, 02:28 PM)
I've considered that too. Will need to work from bottom up again. But I guess its a better move compared to moving to a technicians work.
I see a lot of engineers from Malaysia want to start again as techs.

But the reality is that technicians here must have a trade which stems from an apprenticeship for most work.

If you dare pick up a tool on site as an engineer and not a qualified tradesman, expect to get fired on the spot.

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Feb 7 2015, 04:23 PM)
LNG construction industry in Oz seems pretty bleak.

I get a call from Inpex for their LNG project at Oz. Any comment for their project?
Inpex is looking good with at least 2 solid years of work on Ichtys, I'm trying to get in as E&I, but as the other projects are ending they have a lot of people to choose from.

If you can get an Inpex deal with more than 1k AUD a day, take it. The lifestyle in Darwin isn't too bad compared to APLNG's Roma.

Take the 2 years then lompat katak to operations on a 2/2 roster. Balik KL chill, company pays air fare.

This post has been edited by empire23: Feb 8 2015, 04:22 AM
empire23
post Feb 8 2015, 07:38 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Feb 8 2015, 07:02 AM)
Thanks for the info smile.gif will trying to get 1k daily rates as you mention else I just stay with my current project, seems that there will be an oversupply for QS at Oz for LNG construction, so my chances kinda slim. I believe you are with APLNG? I do have an uncle from Bintulu who work with Santos on contract basis, his name is Saifuddin.
If he's at Santos he's on the GLNG, lol I left that project 2 years ago.
empire23
post Feb 10 2015, 03:09 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Feb 10 2015, 01:00 AM)

bro, u damn loaded k...i forsee /k like u earning 40k per month..in b4 kopitiam come in laugh.gif
I earn near to that, but I gave up everything else

I just got an offer from Bechtel to go back to Malaysia for a 9-5 job in Lumut for /k/ standard monthly salary inclusive of 250 ringgit a day living away from home allowance.

I think I'll take it. Interview in KL on Wednesday. It is a downgrade, but I'm only 28, for a 28 year old to be doing that kind of money signing off tick and flick sheets for the Wheatstone project in Malaysia, it's pretty damn sweet.
empire23
post Feb 14 2015, 08:02 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Feb 10 2015, 10:57 AM)
wuttt? is there such? sweat.gif or you refer to WEED and a stone project?
Yes, the Wheatstone project's PAUs are being built in Lumut, much like how APLNG's PAUs were built by BJC in Thailand.

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Feb 13 2015, 04:47 PM)
Sounds good on the offer. With that $$ will lead you pretty good decent life in MAS...especially Lumut.
Just talk about dollar to dollar, you'll get a 'maid' for yourself.....hehe biggrin.gif
It's 12 month contract anyways, after that I go bek to QLD and FIFO into WA for project EPC.
empire23
post Mar 11 2015, 04:31 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(tommy3679582 @ Mar 9 2015, 11:38 PM)
Good day.

I am an electrical engineering students which graduated last year November (transcript and graduation ceremony in this coming June) and been start working as project engineer (construction) till now. Before this, I have some experience on hands-on electrical work and AutoCad as i work as part-time technician and draftsman during my 4 years degree. Currently I am interested in Australia Professional Year Program. I did check their requirement and I am eligible for the course as well as the application for the visa. However, the classes are only conducted at night or during weekend. So, I am planning to work during daytime (the visa allow me to work) to support my living expenses and to attend the class at night/weekend. I am wondering, with our Malaysia engineering degree (I will have two degree; one from the university and another from UK), am I easy to find an engineering job in Australia ? I dont mind if I have to start from the bottom.

I will be staying with my relative, thus my major concern is my daily living expenses (if possible I would like to save for my course fee as well). Will it be easier find a job at the store like ALDI or Woolworths as compared to engineering-related job?
Do you have an existing visa? What visa do you plan to apply for?

Because if you're a UK grad, your UK Degree might not meet EngAus requirements for engineer status, but you did say 4 years so you should be ok. So ensure that you are eligible for registration before anything else.

Usually an overseas degree from a Malaysian uni without large amounts of professional experience is viewed negatively. The engineering market is heavily depressed with a lot of jobless grads, for people like me that are already experienced, things are usually far easier but currently with major resource projects winding down, you'll find that you have to compete with 10 years post-grad qualified engineers with CPEng status in the job market.

Also HR departments everywhere generally require you hold a PR before they give you a shot at even making the short list. They usually ignore job applications from non-PR/citizens unless you're a top of the crop grad with specialized experience. Also your electrical technician experience doesn't really count here as employers know that only Cert III qualified persons with a license and apprenticeship can work as techs/sparkies.

As for NZ. If you thought the Aussie market was bad, wait till you look at NZ lol.
empire23
post Mar 13 2015, 09:26 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Mar 12 2015, 06:31 PM)
isnt kiwi better now than Australia? like Kiwi need the infra work and real upgrade. correct me.
wink.gif
Even with infrastructure projects, how many EnEs does one project need anyways? Even being client side I manage the EnE for a 1 billion dollar plant with 1 other guy. So out of 1500 workers, you have 2 electrical engineers. The contractors will have 3 more maximum.

That's not a big market bro. Better off doing an instro trade.
empire23
post Mar 15 2015, 04:20 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(tommy3679582 @ Mar 14 2015, 07:47 PM)
Hi empire23,
Thanks for your feedback. After reading and surveying at whirlpool forum for few days, I am seriously reconsidering my plan. I remembered I read on a post which an US professional engineer didnt manage to get any jobs at Aus after seeking for 6 months and finally he go back to his hometown. From most of the comment and feedback from locals (i presumed they are) at whirlpool, there is many locals fresh grads that did not manage to get any jobs as well. Their comments really scare me off. LoL

Empire 23,
May I know which engineering field are you in ?
Market is typically shit at the moment. Back in 2008, there was 9 to 10 times the demand for engineers compared to now. Now most positions typically have a good 200 applications each.

I'm in the OnG electrical + instrumentation field, specializing in project construction, completion and commissioning (C1 to C4) + EEHA. Generally a 1 trick pony.
empire23
post Apr 9 2015, 12:51 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Just booked my visa medicals. Goddamned BUPA is charging 580 dollars for a medical these days and that's a Class A ripoff.

Somehow feel these days that the economy is going into the shitter soon. I'm going to save up and sign on for a more permanent role while keeping my loans paid ahead so I can take long repayment holidays if required. I have a feeling that a lot worse is just hiding over the horizon.
empire23
post Apr 9 2015, 01:02 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Apr 9 2015, 12:58 PM)
where ya going? sweat.gif ,tripple the worst icon_rolleyes.gif
Finishing up my Canada PR liao. Just need medicals.

Might do one more tour of duty up north in Darwin if INPEX needs more folks or move to Snowy in an attempt to convert my current home to an investment property. Either way, ready to bail!
empire23
post Apr 13 2015, 12:52 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Propernormal @ Apr 10 2015, 11:28 AM)
Hi All,

Can you pls give me some advice:-

I am not able to migrate to Australia as I lack the points for visa application. So , I wish to plan ahead so that my son could migrate in the future.

Problem is he is 18 this year and both of us are not sure what he should study for degree next year. I cant afford to send him to Australia for his degree, which means we need to decide what area he needs to study for his undergraduate to ensure he will qualify to apply for PR in the future.

1. Does it matter where he studies here in Malaysia?

2. If the university he studies does not confer any foreign university degree but just local degree of the university, would that jeorpadise his chances of it being recognized as suitable qualification in Australia?

3. Any suggestion which area of studies that my son should pursue in order to increase his chances of getting his PR in the future?

4. Is it a good idea to meet up a Migration Agent like Auslife at Mont Kiara and ask them advice for all the above questions?

I'm sorry if this a wrong place to ask but if anyone could share their words of wisdom as to how shall I prepare for my son so that he could get PR in the future and migrate overseas?

Thank you so much.
1. The government doesn't really give a shit as long as it is accredited and recognized by the assessment body for the occupation your son will nominate (Read the SOL list to find out)

2. No, see answer number 1.

3. I'd say medicine to be honest but even with a medical degree and 2 years worth of housemanship you still need to score 8s on your IELTS in all bands. You're better off being an electrician/instrumentation techie or plumber.

4. Don't bother, immi.gov.au has all the answers and they won't sugar coat it.

QUOTE(yeahh @ Apr 13 2015, 07:54 AM)
i think this statement is rather useful ...  accountants and engineers are usually part of the  'in demand' job list .. these are the normal job routes for us malaysians anyway in general

but health care, aged care, child care, trades (plumbers, electricians etc) is not something common that we get here and i believe it is somewhat a specialty. i'm not sure about the qualifications of ... a plumber or electrician .. usually this one call the shop punya appointed person to come fix my stuff. so perhaps a bit difficult to find a recognised qualification here to start with.

having said that ... i believe singapore's work experience weighs a lot more than malaysia.
I think they've recently mooted removing accountants, and that engineers might be next on the list.

Remember that trade qualifications are assessed by the TRA which will take into context work experience, certificates, skills and licenses. They aren't as rigid as a professional body.

Singaporean experience is not viewed any differently than Malaysian exp to be honest with you.
empire23
post Apr 14 2015, 04:30 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(yeahh @ Apr 13 2015, 02:51 PM)
haven't updated myself on the list but was lucky enough to have gotten PR based on accountant job skill. possibly my malaysian experience isnt widely recognised as my industry experience has mostly been palm oil sad.gif
It is pretty hard to predict what will be on the SOL because the requirements will evolve and change by the time our kids graduate. by that time probably just hope what he studies can get him on that SOL
Who knows the SOL might not even exist soon due to the lagging economy these days.

QUOTE(evieta @ Apr 13 2015, 03:05 PM)
Where did you get the info that accountants may be removed? Reliable source anot? What I know is, this has been an ongoing rumour for years…
Usually the AWPA announces the occupations they're assessing as "borderline" by asking for extra submissions from interest/professional groups before they finalize the list every year.
empire23
post May 9 2015, 07:50 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(blacksunday @ May 7 2015, 06:09 PM)
well i actually hoping to be there physically to attend interviews and so fort and ofcourse i will go according to the legal process such returning back here to get the proper paper works done by legal system. main point is that, would i stand a better chance getting employed when im physically there?
No. That doesn't work. Get a PR, fly here and live here. Most employers will laugh you out the door once they prescreen you via VEVO.

QUOTE(Aventador360 @ May 7 2015, 09:04 PM)
funny thing about foreigners working in Oz. They never want say they are from their homeland.
Suddenly everybody is form Oz mate.  smile.gif
Naw, I'm always pretty upfront that I'm Malaysian.

QUOTE(Soony @ May 8 2015, 07:28 PM)
Well, if you have been only applying through seek.com, most of the jobs don't even exist.
Depends a lot on what industry, for oil and gas, most jobs are via friends.
empire23
post Jul 2 2015, 05:10 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ May 20 2015, 09:26 PM)
Anybody here resides in perth? We should have a gathering smile.gif
Just got my offer for Barrow Island / Gorgon.

CKJV/Chevron to fly me out of Malaysia/Brisbane. So I'll be making the move back to KL. But I will have 2 stopover days per swing in Perth, so if gathering falls on those days, I can join.

You still working on Pluto LNG?
empire23
post Jul 3 2015, 07:17 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Jul 2 2015, 10:40 AM)
I'm also in the midst of applying for Aussie PR (Subclass 189), left passing IELTS test remaining before submitting EOI.

Looking at what's happening in our country and the government really encourages me to migrate for good. But then again, job market in Aussie is not in its best state, as well as its currency and economy. I heard iron ore price dropped gau gau, not to mention global oil price, which has its effect on Aussie as well.

Sometimes I'm hesitating. I'm not worried about getting the visa, I'm more worried about getting a job and a stable income to survive there.
It's farkin shite now lol.

We've got 2 engineers on the APLNG who are driving for Uber now. Which is painful. We've cut our team from an original 50 man engineering team to 4. I'm one of them.

The job market is tough. Most of our Australian exports are based off 3 key areas, Iron ore, Oil and Gas and agricultural products. The first 2 do not view Malaysian experience highly and the last is outside the area of most people.

If you think the MYR to USD slide was bad, we used to be at 1.1 USD per AUD, now at 0.75. A near 30 percent slide.

13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.0901sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:26 PM