30 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

Nemesis1980
post Aug 1 2013, 10:43 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(jurlique08 @ Aug 1 2013, 05:33 PM)
Thumb up Nemasis. Do you have any fallback plan? If cant get any job, will you continue to stay and find odd jobs or will you return to MY?
Do you hv friends there/Renting a place? What is ur strategy?
I wish you all the best Nemesis
Thanks!
Actually i do have a plan. There's no turning back in my dictionary. I don't mind to work on odd job or starting from lowest range of my profession. No one is laughing at u working on the substandard job coz you're far better than Ozzie who don't even wanna move their butt.
I actually checked thru their medical benefits, insurance and education opportunities. These are the main concern for me so far. My generation might not making me rich or poor, but my children will definitely have better future here. Sometime things need to be sacrifice.
Yes, we can earn money in malaysia and will make u rich pretty easy, but u'll lost something valuable. Please note this may not apply to everyone. Just the matter of decision. When you guys become parents like me, you'll definitely know what i'm talking about.
The perception of thinking earning big money in Oz is incorrect. But medical, social welfare and education is world class here including employee rights is good which u hardly seen in malaysia.

Talk about work nature, here the scope of work is very specialise on doing on one duty. Not like malaysia, cover mountain cover sea....haha.
Most Ozzie work in construction doesn't have a degree, but they have higher salary compared to u with a degree.
I do found immigrants from US, UK and Irish found their job within weeks while Asian will only get their job on the left overs.

Anyway, always stay positive on every hour and day. You won't starve till death here

Nemesis1980
post Aug 2 2013, 07:58 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 1 2013, 11:03 PM)
That is the reason why Australia such an expensive country. The minimum wage is too high that the rent and foods are high as well. Also with the strong backup from unions, employee is actually the boss instead of the real boss
Yeah, besides that, the union keep on require increment of their wages every year for minimum 2 - 5%. When u reach 7 years working in 1 company, u'll entitled long service rewards.
So far, Ford has confirm to pull out from Oz due to high operational cost. They're making lost every year due to high salary here which end up they claiming for plant shut down.
Food wise, Oz still consider high as compared to US. Most of the farms and food production almost owned by foreign company. I'm just wondering what else do Australian owned so far. This is the same case in telecommunication company. I know this is free trade country. But seems they're selling off everything here.
Yeah, stamping on product saying it's Australian grown or owned, but the big boss actually sometimes from China, India or any country. hmm.gif

Nemesis1980
post Aug 2 2013, 08:00 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Aug 1 2013, 11:53 PM)
Wao, at least you have a job. I have friends that graduated for a year and yet to find a job.
Yeah, i think shouldn't be picky now. Getting a job ain't easy here. I think construction now is slow here.
When booming time, my friend told me they won't even ask u too much question as they need people they'll give u. When industry in deep shit, they'll give u watever shit reason.
Nemesis1980
post Aug 2 2013, 12:03 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Aug 2 2013, 10:56 AM)
Perth is unfortunately a bad place to be when it comes to the construction industry.  Even in places such as Sydney where things more or less stabilised, companies are still adopting a no-hire strategy and are just in the process of consolidating the various disciplines.  As it stands now, the no-hire strategy is expected to extend into 2014.
Exactly, perth is a mining city. If mining in deep shit, all industries will sink. Yeah, i knew syd & melb should be stabilised coz they're not rely heavily on mining. It's sad that perth still in the state of recession now. Saw everyone seems waiting for durian to fall down.
It has been 5 years perth in this condition. Still no traces of improvement. Maybe after 6 mths if nothing happen, might shift to other cities
Nemesis1980
post Aug 3 2013, 07:13 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 2 2013, 08:23 PM)
Kinda envy that you have PR and able to settle down. I have exactly 2 months left in Australia and I don't want to face the working life in Malaysia.

Fortunately, I save enough money for a house in Malaysia
I'm settling down yet coz still looking for a job. If within couldn't find a job here might work for nightfillers in woolworth or coles. Pretty bored here if u staying in a house waiting for reply.
I knew one of the housemate who actually work in woolworth for 7 years. Now he's a manager here. Wow, 7 years as kuli but still it's worth it...he's an IT guy, i think he just sacrifice his degree
Nemesis1980
post Aug 3 2013, 07:23 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(alimony @ Aug 2 2013, 08:56 PM)
hi all. i have been fruitless and frustrated searching for jobs here, so i am seriously thinking about joining my sister in australia in search of a better life there. i need some advice from experienced sifu here (:

firstly, what is the procedure in preparation to work in australia? i have checked via many 'free' assesments and it would seem i qualify for a visa. would i need a job offer already, or can i apply first, go and look for a job later? if the latter, do i need to go immediately upon approval of visa (assuming approved), or can i apply now and go at a later date?

please do share your experiences... hopefully can have a brighter future there.
Always bear this principle in applying visa here:-
1) No PR No Job.
2) Got PR doesn't mean u got ur job profession
3) U won't getting too poor or too rich, life's so so here

Good thing is:-
1) social welfare is good
2) insurance coverage is damn good, for a family of 4 cost AUD240/mth. Includes dental and optical, even acupuncture in the list. Malaysia insurance coverage is shit, paid so many but limiting ur coverage. If u got cancer, Oz insurance still cover ur back ass
3) cars and gadget pretty cheap based on ur income here to buy

My advice, take the free assessment 1st in DIAC webpage. Get IELTS score, apply EOI. This can be DIY or agents.
Please note that the application fees has increased recently. So better check DIAC website for further info. Always do ur own homework 1st before proceed further

If u hardly find a job in Malaysia, doesn't mean u could find it here. But i'm not sure what's ur profession. Sometimes ur profession 'maybe' highly required here. Maybe malaysia doesn't require ur skills?

This post has been edited by Nemesis1980: Aug 3 2013, 07:28 AM
Nemesis1980
post Aug 3 2013, 07:26 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Aug 2 2013, 10:41 PM)
You need to secure a job then the com will apply a work visa for you. But this is highly unlikely unless you are very very senior or have very very niche skills that cannot be filled by australians or the hordes of pr.

If you have trouble finding jobs in msia, then your chances of finding job is australia is even less even with a pr let alone with none. Unless you have niche skills.
Oz has restricted very much on 457. Thanks to 'rich' migrants from the north. I heard the local immigrants saying they actually look for a company here to sponsor them from china to Oz with a amount of $$. 2 years later, they could apply directly on shore. DIAC found out this realise it has being abused and put up so many restriction on this visa.

Nemesis1980
post Aug 5 2013, 12:02 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 4 2013, 10:54 PM)
What I can see here is Aussies are indeed lazy but they are smart when there are opportunities. No doubt Asians are kinda bit disadvantaged but hey, I know you will do the same in Malaysia too (eg. give chances to local than foreigners like bangla,indon,etc).

Nowadays, most of the companies don't really care about the race,etc. My friends, who mostly are architects, working in a small company and their bosses actually like to hire Asians because they are capable, can handle stress, fast and efficient whereas local will take their time, like to ban bosses ideas and pretty much stop their works 10 minutes before end of working hour. Even in my working place, 30% of my team from Asia, 40% from local another another 30% from other countries. They only care whether you can perform and contribute. Also, why hire  local when you can pay much lesser to foreigners with same skill?

IMO. cost of living in malaysia and australia is about the same. You earn and spend here then will be fine.  Eg, You earn RM4k per month and the house cost you RM400k. You earn AUD$4k and the house also cost $400k. Each have their owns.
Foods are expensive in Australia compare to Malaysia but most of them cooking from home.Electronics are cheaper if you earn in Australia ($1k for 55" TV compare to RM5k in Malaysia for the same TV). Cars are way cheaper(overrated Honda Civic in Malaysia cost RM110K but Australia only $20k). Travelling to oversea is achievable earlier if you earn in Australia.

$50k of course not enough if you have family but is enough if you just out from university or few years experience. Also, not sure if the mentioned $3k per month for rental is just an example but no way a studio apartment can reach that amount. I can easily rent 3 br apartments in the Melbourne city with $3k.
I am now living in 1 bedroom apartment(not studio) that cost me $1.5k per month and only 10 minutes walk to my working place in the city. $150 for electricity(every 3 months), $80 for internet, $40 for water(every 3 months), and $30 for phone bill. Malaysia have cheaper rent but exp for cars,electronics,etc and work out both countries are actually almost the same.

But the most important thing is Australian residents(PR and citizen) can get equal benefits like medicare, first home buyer redemption,etc and I only can get those in Malaysia if I am a Malay

I could be leaving Australia to Malaysia soon due to my visa issue and I don't even dare to think my situation there. I don't have the power to purchase electronics frequently, can't get my dream car, stuck on the jam everyday and have to save many months of salary just for travel. The only good thing is I probably can get a house with my savings here
Talk about cost of living, i did research and observe on the price tag for groceries in KL. I actually paid the value of AUD in dairy products. Even it's local production, they put the price tag same as imported goods. Ex. Milk cost me RM11/bottle for 2 litres which is extremly expensive. I pay AUD2 for 2 litres here. Thanks to our inflation back home and don't forget we have our own milk!
Most Malaysian back home still thinking working cleaner or supermarket is something which is shame of or treat it as sub-standard job. If they manage to pay u AUD25/hr, why not? They even got training course to train u so that u could have passion and will have a good career with them. My housemate who was IT guy shines successfully in Woolworths. He's branch manager now. He got 2 houses and cars and forming family. Why not??
I even knew that some cleaners work for 5 years manage to form their own cleaning company accepting contract to clean the offices. Hey, that's a damn good business!

Hey hihihehe, i've checked with my friends here, IELTS issue u better take from KL. My friends here have the same issue as yours. Resit paper for 3 times coz they need band 7. Most of them going back home to take the test.
Put double effort, u wouldn't want to go back KL to stuck in jam again, are you??I've gone thru that and very tired of the worklife and traffic there. It's hectic!

Nemesis1980
post Aug 5 2013, 12:50 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Aug 5 2013, 12:46 AM)
Its a substandard job becuase of its (lack of) career opportunities.
Yes it pays higher at 25/hr but what are your chances of being promoted?
Some do, most don't.
Sure you heard sucess stories (like those who went on to open their own cleaning services) and I'm not saying there isn't any.
But for every 1 that suceeds, thousands of others fail. The question is do you want to gamble your future?
If you're working as a cleaner in Aus there is no turning back. You can't come back to M'sia and waltz into an executive position with the same pay dollar to dollar.
You are stuck. Dead end.

I mean, those who qualify for a PR are probably degree holders studying on Aus.
If they would to go back to M'sia and work for a bank/MNC i am quite sure they will earn much more than the cleaner in 10 years time.
Of course there are always execeptions but again the question begets "do you want to gamble on your future?"
So what's ur suggestions?
Nemesis1980
post Aug 5 2013, 07:33 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Aug 5 2013, 12:57 AM)
Don't take up such jobs if you are a uni degree holder.
There are still plenty of oppurtunities back home.
Work in something that adds value to your career in the long term and then if you really want to go back to Aus, it will be much easier.

No point wasting your degree (paid with your parents hard earned money) only to end up being cleaners or supermaket cashiers (no disrespect to those jobs) just eaking out a megre living in a foreign land. You won't get to save much anyway with 25/hr over the long run.
Ur opinion may not be untrue, however, I don't mind to get hands dirty or doing sub-standard job here but for the sake of children's education and healthcare.
As a parent of 2, i will make sure they have their education and healthcare here which i've working out so many years back in KL with so much money wasted there. Thanks to our bolehland.
Imagine that u're working in KL and yeap you could earn your hard earned money but dont forget you gonna pay for something like RM300,000 for a kid to a uni.
I read news back home when some bunch of outstanding STPM students with full A's being rejected entering local uni. WTF?!? Not to mention their scholarship.
The lesson tells us that if you're bright and genius, there's no way you could enter uni or scholarship in bolehland. Even you really did, you'll end studying some other course which you're not expecting to study.
My closed friend was offered a subject in UM for Spanish language while actually she's try to get engineering or accounting. She got STPM 3As and graduated. Now work in a small company as office administrator. This is just the tips of an ice-berg.
Supermarket and hypermarket is a recession proof. I remember US recession few years back. Most firms collapsed while Walmart has its growth every year. People losing their job at that time while they are hiring people almost everyday

Nemesis1980
post Aug 5 2013, 08:59 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Aug 5 2013, 08:05 AM)
Its easier to suceed back home coz u got home advantage. You know the people, the culture, the pitfalls. Most importantly it is easier to secure a good job if u are a grad from aus.
But you forgot to mention the rights of the employee.
How many hours you spend with your family per day,week or months?
If you're not relying your family financial backup, based on your own, how many can succeed?
Yeah, i have a good job and a high salary back home. But i lost my children's childhood where i only could see them less than 2 hours everyday. Both of us r working to keep make sure the food on the table
Nemesis1980
post Aug 5 2013, 05:38 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Aug 5 2013, 10:49 AM)
Your situation is different. I'm talking about fresh grads straight out of uni. 1st they dun have a family. Second you will probably want to see less of your family if you're not bringing in the dough. If you get my drift.
My houseowner once a Malaysian now is Ozzie. She did mentioned how their parents come over 20 years ago. Yeah, they're a rich family those days but sell off everything for the sake of children's future. One generation has to let go everything for children's future.
Now her 3 siblings all are chartered accountants and lawyers with their own firm here.
Yeah, it's a big price to pay, but if you're saying in malaysia, I might only afford 1 children but might not giving any better to the rest.
Talk about freshies, if they can secure a job within a year, they should stay. If not, going back may be an option but has to think family's future
Nemesis1980
post Aug 5 2013, 05:40 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 5 2013, 04:35 PM)
I wanted to but a bit too late for my case. My result will be released this week and I worried about my speaking as I was nervous for no reason that day. EOI invitations were being sent out today and apparently people who have 60 points in IT occupation are not included in this round whereas other occupations are fine. I would assume that DIAC is holding off the IT applications for a moment as it is filling very fast
Since u've local exp, u supposed to be easier than us! I think u better 'shit' out no matter wat or else ur future will be doom if u wanna come back here. doh.gif
Nemesis1980
post Aug 6 2013, 11:23 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Aug 6 2013, 08:03 PM)
1. I'm not saying every supervisor in a factory can afford to send their kids overseas. Dun put words in my mouth. I only said i know of one such person.
2. How much do u think a cashier in a supermarket in aus earns? AUD 10k pm? Aud20k pm? Cammon. Of course not.
3. If a cashier pay in aus is that good, why do i see hordes and hordes of australians wanting to get out and go to asia? HK and SG are prime destinations.

All I'm saying dun gamble yr future on a dead end job. And dun believe rumours of high paying cashiers. If any supermarket were to pay that much they will be brankrupt in no time considering how low the margins are on their products.
Well robert my friend, if a couple is working as driver nor cashier, they still manage to buy a bungalow house here. Life may be hard, but that's life. It's the matter of choice. They still manage sending kids to school, uni and still some social welfare, why not?
Property market in Oz is very much rely on supply and demand. Currently it's gonna come down any moment. Yeap, it's a sub-standard job all right, but still can manage to get world class uni and most parents won't starve till death.
I suggest that freshies when they finish their uni here, try their very best to apply a job locally. Give themselves a year and see the outcome. At least they're trying their very best. If not, come back to malaysia and work.
Not all Ozzie is really that lazy bum. Some who really manage well financially is going through pretty well. Some are really bad-ass.
Cashier do have high pay. It's AUD20/hr. Check it out in IGA/Woolies/Coles

My advise to freshies, a year to look on ur job profession while working casual. If not, get ur arse back home.
If u manage to get PR, come to job market asap. Since they don't recognise malaysia working experience then better come early. Come later also same case.

Nemesis1980
post Aug 7 2013, 10:23 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 7 2013, 11:30 AM)
Sorry but for that person who still in cashier position after 10 years is probably unrealistic. I don't believe one won't get the professional job(in related field) if you keeps looking. It may take 1,2 and even 3 years but 10 years is too long unless you don't have qualification and skill at all.

Since you put it that way, what if one in Malaysia unable to find a decent job after graduate and work as cashier for 10 years?

Career in Malaysia still pretty good considering many developed countries outsourced their jobs to Asia but is just the environment that I don't like. Most importantly is the employees in Malaysia are hard to fight for their working rights whereas Australia have a law and everything must comply with FairWork rules. Eg, being bullied? refer Fairwork. racist and discrimination in work? refer Fairwork. No salary after few months? refer Fairwork. Unfair dismissal? refer Fairwork.

Also, house might be expensive in Australia but at least those people with PR get the first home buyer discount(compare to bumiputra only in Malaysia). They also provide first home saving account for future first home buyer where you can put your savings into high interest account. This is what we call benefits and know where our tax gone to
Add somemore here, 1st home buyer has another option called kick start 1st home. I do heard that government is giving like 20% to pay upfront while the rest 80% u have to figure out from bank loan. There's some terms which i need to do some research as my friend took the 1st option. And this guy is damn young. He's just 27 and owned 2 house in perth....yeap, it's a house!Asking money from daddy?No. Due to he's still single and he's earning like AUD60k a year. Not bad for a youngster who plan well! Even i couldn't do it. Salute to this young man!
Nemesis1980
post Aug 7 2013, 10:27 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Aug 7 2013, 02:10 PM)
I also doubt cashiers get paid A20 an hour as well. I used to work part time while studying in an upscale fine dining restaurant in sydney and my pay is only A15 an hour excluding tips. But that is about 8 yrs ago. So i gave a benefit of a doubt.

And if you have the experience and skillset u won't be going to aus or malaysia. Those places just don't pay enough. Try SG, HK or China. Those pay shit loads if you have the right skillset and low taxes.
I was in sydney 10 years ago was like AUD10/hr. AUD20/hr not much if look at current inflation.
Nemesis1980
post Aug 7 2013, 10:32 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 7 2013, 12:42 PM)
Let's get back to the fact. Cashier in Australia hardly earn $20 per hours. Period.

Like I said, career in Malaysia is still good but some people prefer a fair and square jobs. Firstly, why Malaysia has a shortage of talents? Because it was caused by the employer and probably the government. Their works are not appreciated and treated like slave. Secondly, people always don't get paid for OT and have to work even on weekend. I am fine working on weekend but at least pay me extra. Thirdly, if you have skill, you can have your good career anywhere including Malaysia and Australia. No such thing as Australia don't appreciate my skill compare to Malaysia because I am "yellow" but it will be the case if you can't speak and write good English. You have to be confident enough to mix with local(learn their jokes, have a Friday outing with them, watch the way they speak,etc)

Anyway, Malaysia still a good country and has a potential to be even better if the people can pick up the pace rather than only think of fast money in incorrect  way(MLM,etc)
Hihihehe pin point the fact. Malaysian actually doesn't request much, what they need is the respect and proud to their job which employer is appreciate on their hardwork. I worked for 10 years, helping my boss earn so much money. Not a single word of thank you or appreciation. One month bonus has to cut 25% as company's requirement. It's a typical chinaman company. Company public listed ex. 40cents, forcing staff to take 50cents!We are those idiots who's balls were squeeze by them vmad.gif
Nemesis1980
post Aug 7 2013, 10:34 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 7 2013, 02:56 PM)
A little stress doesn't make you a good person.

I am not saying Australian don't have stress at all but at least they know when to stress and when not to stress. I could be working in SG but to see me settling down there is kinda impossible. The whole island is just a CBD and don't have a space for relax.

You could like the Malaysia working hours(from morning to night) but not me
I think u have to move ur arse here man...you're not suitable in malaysia.
Tomorrow i got interview, hopefully can get it. Wish me luck! smile.gif
Nemesis1980
post Aug 8 2013, 12:50 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Aug 7 2013, 10:36 PM)
Umm then its not a country problem its a company problem. I've not encountered any such thing in msia before. Mainly coz i avoid chinaman company at all cost.
Lucky for u, who knew that company act like bandits not until u put your feet in? Who shall i report to?Fairwork??
My feedback given by friends is i'm idiot to serve this company. Why don't u try ABC company or XYZ company? I've heard so many bullshit in malaysia.
Well, in my field, almost every company is the same. Construction in malaysia is a damn ass working culture.
Many people dunno that most construction company which is really rich today, their fathers all are bandits or gangster background.
I dun wanna name them here... doh.gif
Nemesis1980
post Aug 8 2013, 10:08 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 8 2013, 12:27 PM)
It will be better if I can get all 8 where I will get 65 points but kinda doubt it
If I get all 7 then I will have 55 points then I might go for State Nomination for NSW to nominate me(extra 5 points) with System Administrator occupation. I will have to start over again from there but provided I have working experience in one of the famous organisation in Melbourne, I guess I can get the better change for the interview.

I don't think there is any city in Australia that can be enjoyable compare to Melbourne. No offense but Brisbane full of bogans, Sydney is the second Singapore,and  others are boring. Melbourne is well deserved as world's most liveable city.
I think u got higher chance getting hired since u hv local experience.
Yeap, besides melb & syd is liveable city, others really a very ulu place. Australia is a huge vast land which i think it might not fully occupied for another 100 years.
Talk about industry, Oz has the money and resources. They should propose more construction development. Look at WA, 1/3 of the land are theirs and yet the whole state is ganasai! No government project, residential building not enough. They're very conservative on spending money to boost the economy.
I think Vic and NSW doing pretty well and not rely heavily on mining like WA. Mining crash, everyone suffer.
Interviewed today with a singaporean company. Yeap, still the asian bully asian here. Paying peanuts and working long hours. May have high chance of getting it.
Oh well, no choice for the sake of so called Ozzie working experience.

This post has been edited by Nemesis1980: Aug 8 2013, 10:11 PM

30 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.1031sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:10 PM