124 Pages « < 119 120 121 122 123 > » Bottom

FD rates in Malaysia, Which bank offer the highest FD rates?

soul2soul
post Oct 7 2011, 10:31 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 7 2011, 09:49 AM)
Then add RM10 or RM100 cash , settle  smile.gif . According to definition CASH is new fund.
wah worth it boh?

Pay parking , fuel and 1 hour every month to deposit .... Unless it's a very large amount but for fewty thousand ringgit, might not be worth it IMHO.
Gen-X
post Oct 7 2011, 10:44 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Oct 7 2011, 10:31 AM)
wah worth it boh?

Pay parking , fuel and 1 hour every month to deposit .... Unless it's a very large amount but for fewty thousand ringgit, might not be worth it IMHO.
Bro, we talking about eligibility for promo FD rates where we have existing FD in the same bank. But you are right, have to consider parking, fuel and time.
aeiou228
post Oct 7 2011, 12:46 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 6 2011, 06:20 PM)
Open esaver a/c on 1/10/11 Saturday and deposit a cheque but in the online statement it is recorded as 3/10/11 transaction.
If what you say is true, just get a bank draft from other bank a/c @rm2 and deposit it in SCB anytime of the day. It is cheaper than the rm9 RENTAS fee which can only be done b4 noon(I actually wasted one day to do RENTAS the next morning).
The RENTAS way is better if SCB counted the interest from chq clearance.
Need to check with the manager this Sat. all these issues.Hopefully he knows better then his staffs. Different people gives diff info.
I quoted from the personal financial consultant who attended me. I opted for rentas because I was not a new customer to SCB and it was more convenient because I don't need to go back to SCB to deposit the chq/draft.
Gen-X
post Oct 7 2011, 08:30 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

FYI, OCBC got promo again, 3.5% and 3.8% for 3 and 8 months respectively but with SCB 5%, the 3 months not so attractive.
gsc
post Oct 7 2011, 09:22 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 7 2011, 09:49 AM)
Then add RM10 or RM100 cash , settle  smile.gif . According to definition CASH is new fund.
according to some members here this is acceptable to HLB. Last month 30th, when my FD mature in UOB, I tried the same approach by topping up. The counter said no, need fresh fund. Luckily UOB rejected me because I withdraw and deposit it into Std Chartered on 1 Oct - getting much better rate than UOB.

Gen-X
post Oct 7 2011, 09:45 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Oct 7 2011, 09:22 PM)
according to some members here this is acceptable to HLB. Last month 30th, when my FD mature in UOB, I tried the same approach by topping up. The counter said no, need fresh fund. Luckily UOB rejected me because I withdraw and deposit it into Std Chartered on 1 Oct - getting much better rate than UOB.
Here's a thought, open 2 joint accounts. First account, you as the principal and second account your wife as the principal. Withdraw cash from 1st account and deposit into another 2nd account.
echoesian
post Oct 7 2011, 10:17 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 4 2011, 07:43 PM)
The above policy applies to exiting customers only.
Existing customers will get 5% interest on each month top up of each single deposit only, not
flat 5% rate for 3 months of total deposits.

For example, exiting customer A makes a deposit for 3K in October, then a 5% rate for 3K will pay to existing customer A.
Then, existing customer A makes another deposit for 4K in November, a 5% rate for 4K will be paid; but the 3K deposit made in
October previously will not get 5%.

For new customers, they can make deposits anytime (or top up) during October only.
New customers will get flat 5% interest rate for 3 months from October to
end of December 2011.

Interest will calculate on daily basis.
if I wanna open this eSaver account but I do not have any existing account with SCB, how do I transfer my fund from MBB via GIRO?
ronnie
post Oct 7 2011, 10:42 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Oct 7 2011, 10:17 PM)
if I wanna open this eSaver account but I do not have any existing account with SCB, how do I transfer my fund from MBB via GIRO?
Go to MBB branch or use Maybank2u.com to perform the GIRO at RM2 per transaction (there's a limit amount per day)
echoesian
post Oct 7 2011, 10:47 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 7 2011, 10:42 PM)
Go to MBB branch or use Maybank2u.com to perform the GIRO at RM2 per transaction (there's a limit amount per day)
I know but the thing is there is no account no. as I don't even have an account with SCB
ronnie
post Oct 7 2011, 10:59 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Oct 7 2011, 10:47 PM)
I know but the thing is there is no account no. as I don't even have an account with SCB
You go over to SCB to create the eSaver account first.
They allow creation w/o initial deposit. Just state that you will GIRO the amount from another bank.
If they don't allow, put in RM10 as initial deposit lah doh.gif
aeiou228
post Oct 7 2011, 11:55 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 7 2011, 09:45 PM)
Here's a thought, open 2 joint accounts. First account, you as the principal and  second account your wife as the principal. Withdraw cash from 1st account and deposit into another 2nd account.
Haha.. I was about to say the same thing but for different kind of trick for SCB e$aver account. It's not just a thought, it's actually workable if one wish to deposit more than the e$aver's RM500K limit per account with join name condition. (For big amount, better open join name account)

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Oct 7 2011, 11:56 PM
echoesian
post Oct 8 2011, 12:33 AM

3,294 posts

I'm wondering is there any penalty charges if close the account after getting the 5% and the end of the 3rd month?
nomen
post Oct 8 2011, 01:07 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Oct 8 2011, 12:33 AM)
I'm wondering is there any penalty charges if close the account after getting the 5% and the end of the 3rd month?
Yes if you close within 3 months they will charge you Rm20, so it is better for you to close the account after 3 months.

MGM
post Oct 8 2011, 06:54 AM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 7 2011, 10:59 PM)
You go over to SCB to create the eSaver account first.
They allow creation w/o initial deposit. Just state that you will GIRO the amount from another bank.
If they don't allow, put in RM10 as initial deposit lah  doh.gif
I think GIRO would take 2 days. For every rm10000, u earned rm2.74 less interest.
If you are a new customer, better to open the account with a cheque or Draft which is considered as same day deposit, and it costs less.

Added on October 8, 2011, 7:00 am
QUOTE(echoesian @ Oct 7 2011, 10:17 PM)
I think a better choice would be:
Go to MBB and buy a draft with your funds, I think it costs rm2.
Go to SCB, open the account and deposit with your MBB draft.
Your deposit should be considered as same day deposit.

Added on October 8, 2011, 7:03 am
QUOTE(echoesian @ Oct 8 2011, 12:33 AM)
Just leave a small amt in your account and closed it after 3 months.

This post has been edited by MGM: Oct 8 2011, 07:03 AM
Gen-X
post Oct 8 2011, 08:48 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Oct 7 2011, 11:55 PM)
Haha.. I was about to say the same thing but for different kind of trick for SCB e$aver account. It's not just a thought, it's actually workable if one wish to deposit more than the e$aver's RM500K limit per account with join name condition. (For big amount, better open join name account)
Bro, for SCB no no, open eSaver and the Islamic or Super Saver (but got to top up monthly min RM1K) under same principal and get the TV for example, that's what I was told.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 8 2011, 08:52 AM
echoesian
post Oct 8 2011, 09:46 AM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 8 2011, 06:54 AM)
I think GIRO would take 2 days. For every rm10000, u earned rm2.74 less interest.
If you are a new customer, better to open the account with a cheque or Draft which is considered as same day deposit, and it costs less.

Why must deposit on the same day in order to get 5%? I thought as long as my eSaver has the RM3000 balance in Oct I'll entitle to the 5% ?
MGM
post Oct 8 2011, 10:33 AM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Oct 8 2011, 09:46 AM)
Why must deposit on the same day in order to get 5%? I thought as long as my eSaver has the RM3000 balance in Oct I'll entitle to the 5% ?
Did I mentioned that? I am just trying to tell you by doing so you get 2 extra days of interest.
Moreover your ADB will be higher. See previous pages for formula.
To qualify for 5% bonus interest it is your ADB must be >= rm3000, not your balance.
Try to open the account on the day you deposit your funds because of the way ADB is calculated (if ADB ~rm3000)

This post has been edited by MGM: Oct 8 2011, 10:39 AM
xproc
post Oct 8 2011, 11:41 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

which bank give best 1 month rates?
nomen
post Oct 8 2011, 03:02 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 8 2011, 06:54 AM)

I just opened an e$aver account with StanChart with a MBB banker's cheque on Oct. 5 (Wed) but
there was still a float and was not considered as same day deposit. The banker's cheque was
apparently cleared only on Oct. 7 (Fri). When I logged in to check it showed a 'O' balance on Oct 5
and Oct 6.
Btw, MBB did not charge me for the banker's cheque.
solarwing
post Oct 8 2011, 08:16 PM

aR u LoOkInG fOr mE ?""
1,202 posts

Any difference open account between esaver & supersalary? pls advise..

124 Pages « < 119 120 121 122 123 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:33 PM