106 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Technical PlayStation 2 Tech Talk, Techical problem discussion

chibi_tenko
post Oct 10 2006, 04:14 PM

I see. I pinch. I squeeze
1,250 posts

I've got a problem that I would really like to ask you guys. You see, I've this PS1 console for 5 years and recently, after a 4 months hiatus ( of non game playing ), I took my console out to play FF7.

As usual, the loading screen with the PS logo starts.

My problem begins when my game loads - everything's in black and white! Can anyone help me with this problem or at least tell me what's wrong? The Saved Game section ( before we put in a game disc ) and everything is in colour, but it's black & white when I start to play games.

(T_T) My beloved PS1... I'm saving very hard for a PS2 console but for now, I can't live without PS1...
Lakum
post Oct 10 2006, 04:40 PM

Slave New World
690 posts

QUOTE(chibi_tenko @ Oct 10 2006, 04:14 PM)
I've got a problem that I would really like to ask you guys. You see, I've this PS1 console for 5 years and recently, after a 4 months hiatus ( of non game playing ), I took my console out to play FF7.

As usual, the loading screen with the PS logo starts.

My problem begins when my game loads - everything's in black and white! Can anyone help me with this problem or at least tell me what's wrong? The Saved Game section ( before we put in a game disc ) and everything is in colour, but it's black & white when I start to play games.

(T_T) My beloved PS1... I'm saving very hard for a PS2 console but for now, I can't live without PS1...
NTSC or PAL setting on the TV? Maybe..?
snipersnake
post Oct 10 2006, 09:34 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

select auto on the tv
chibi_tenko
post Oct 11 2006, 06:42 AM

1,250 posts

shocking.gif There's a difference between NTSC and PAL setting? Even though the loading screen ( with the PS logo ) is in colour at first and only in black and white when playing a game?

Ok, thanks a lot, I'll try it as soon as I get back. Thanks a million guys! Shall update the results ^^ flex.gif
Lakum
post Oct 11 2006, 07:41 AM

Slave New World
690 posts

QUOTE(chibi_tenko @ Oct 11 2006, 06:42 AM)
shocking.gif There's a difference between NTSC and PAL setting? Even though the loading screen ( with the PS logo ) is in colour at first and only in black and white when playing a game?

Ok, thanks a lot, I'll try it as soon as I get back. Thanks a million guys! Shall update the results ^^  flex.gif
Yes it is. Maybe your TV is set to NTSC and ur console is NTSC so it can displayed the PS logo n color. But then ur game is PAL so it will be in black or white. Like snake said..set ur TV tu auto should settle it.
snipersnake
post Oct 11 2006, 10:21 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

thanks lakum. the elfs u sent me work like a charm!
Lakum
post Oct 11 2006, 03:04 PM

Slave New World
690 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Oct 11 2006, 10:21 AM)
thanks lakum. the elfs u sent me work like a charm!
Ya ka...? Okay..no problem brader...
chibi_tenko
post Oct 12 2006, 12:49 PM

1,250 posts

Yeap guys, problem solved. XD Domo arigato~ I've set my TV to auto. Thank you thank you.
bomberkenny
post Oct 13 2006, 01:13 AM

Gun Down your MOM!
1,617 posts

Sorry I've been asking questions that might have been answered many times, but yet get a right description to the condition of my console.
my v14 console was bought in april, not recon set if i'm not wrong. Seldom abuse it (highest can get to 6~7 hours but not always), and played in an aircon room.
1. I've played my bro's RE:code veronica, it hangs. I've bought a new one, it hangs in the same event as the previous one. the condition is like the power wasn't turn off, but no sound no video, dvd still spins. games I bought recently like suikoden IV,V , black, fatal frame 1(got 2 pieces as well, and both hangs on same location/event) has this problem
2.some old games like GTA:SA (from my bro as well) I played for 6-7 hours, "never" hangs.

these 2 conditions gives me an unclear idea of the current condition of my console. I don't know it's the DVD problem or the lens/modchip problem. What's the problem and what can i do about it?
Gilthoniel
post Oct 13 2006, 01:55 AM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

Hey guys,

I just got my Slim PS2 (SCPH-75006). Not really sure what modchip but I'm having trouble playing DVD movies. I've tested it with DVD9 games and all kinds of other games and it works fine. But once I pop in a movie DVD, it doesn't read it. It brings me to this screen where it has the memory card on the left, and a gold disc on the right... then it says pls insert a PS2 format disc.

The shop has already informed me that the PS2 has been modded to be able to play everything. Am I missing out on a step here? I've read elsewhere in these forums that I might have to press reset twice after powering on with the movie DVD inside but when I tried that, it didn't work.

Oh one last thing... I noticed the PS2 displayed on my TV has slight banding at the sides. Like this - ) ( - why is that so? I haven't tried it with another TV but anyone encountered such problems? I'm using the bundled AV cable into my usual AV in on the telly. Never had such problems with my Dreamcast.

Hope you guys can help me out. Cheers!
snipersnake
post Oct 13 2006, 08:28 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(bomberkenny @ Oct 13 2006, 01:13 AM)
Sorry I've been asking questions that might have been answered many times, but yet get a right description to the condition of my console.
my v14 console was bought in april, not recon set if i'm not wrong. Seldom abuse it (highest can get to 6~7 hours but not always), and played in an aircon room.
1. I've played my bro's RE:code veronica, it hangs. I've bought a new one, it hangs in the same event as the previous one. the condition is like the power wasn't turn off, but no sound no video, dvd still spins. games I bought recently like suikoden IV,V , black, fatal frame 1(got 2 pieces as well, and both hangs on same location/event) has this problem
2.some old games like GTA:SA (from my bro as well) I played for 6-7 hours, "never" hangs.

these 2 conditions gives me an unclear idea of the current condition of my console. I don't know it's the DVD problem or the lens/modchip problem. What's the problem and what can i do about it?
1.have u tried the cds on another ps2?

snipersnake
post Oct 13 2006, 08:33 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Oct 13 2006, 01:55 AM)
Hey guys,

I just got my Slim PS2 (SCPH-75006). Not really sure what modchip but I'm having trouble playing DVD movies. I've tested it with DVD9 games and all kinds of other games and it works fine. But once I pop in a movie DVD, it doesn't read it. It brings me to this screen where it has the memory card on the left, and a gold disc on the right... then it says pls insert a PS2 format disc.
The shop has already informed me that the PS2 has been modded to be able to play everything. Am I missing out on a step here? I've read elsewhere in these forums that I might have to press reset twice after powering on with the movie DVD inside but when I tried that, it didn't work.

movies dun play..hmn..ps2 slim has a higher movie playback capability. i dont recommend u watching movies with it..but if you still insist, i would say go and see the shop keeper. if ps2 fast u need to tweak the white cog a bit..slim i m not very sure of.
Oh one last thing... I noticed the PS2 displayed on my TV has slight banding at the sides. Like this - ) ( - why is that so? I haven't tried it with another TV but anyone encountered such problems? I'm using the bundled AV cable into my usual AV in on the telly. Never had such problems with my Dreamcast.

Hope you guys can help me out. Cheers!

i would suspect its the tv. try to test ur ps2 on another telly.
dman
post Oct 13 2006, 08:50 AM

540 posts

Need help here...My newly bought PS2 hardly play GT4 which is dvd9 game (it played nicely on my frens console). I mean hardly play is I reset the console 10+ times, it only read it 1-2 times onli.

The condition to make it read is to cool down the console 1st...eg like rest for 2 hours after play or play it in the 1st time in the day. The chances for it to play is very low.... and i tried DVD9 movies as well, it cant play at all....i heard the lens working hard to read it...my console is 70006 btw...

Anyone know why and how to solve it?

thx smile.gif
Gilthoniel
post Oct 13 2006, 09:39 AM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

@snipersnake,

I'll call the shop today. I dun fancy watching movies on the PS as well but it's more of a "I paid for it so why not let it work" kind of a thing.

Is it possible to run Divx (with the reality media player) on my version? Googling doesn't bring about any answers.

Cheers!
snipersnake
post Oct 13 2006, 09:50 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

somethig is wrong. if got warranty, please go claim.
Gilthoniel
post Oct 13 2006, 11:16 AM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

UPDATE:

Problem solved. I didn't know there's a trick to turning on DVDs for the slim PS2. Anyway, here's how to do it...

1. Pop in the disc
2. Instead of pressing the power button briefly, long-press it while it turns on.
3. The movie will load after the blue Sony Computer Entertainment screen.

Guess it was the other telly's problem. Have no issues with my own tv.

Cheers!

And oh, I managed to get my DivX movies up and running too! with the SMS bootup disc.

Will running divx movies wear out my lens as fast as DVD movies? or is it better?

This post has been edited by Gilthoniel: Oct 13 2006, 11:18 AM
DjiNn
post Oct 13 2006, 11:19 AM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

QUOTE(dman @ Oct 13 2006, 08:50 AM)
Need help here...My newly bought PS2 hardly play GT4 which is dvd9 game (it played nicely on my frens console). I mean hardly play is I reset the console 10+ times, it only read it 1-2 times onli.

The condition to make it read is to cool down the console 1st...eg like rest for 2 hours after play or play it in the 1st time in the day. The chances for it to play is very low.... and i tried DVD9 movies as well, it cant play at all....i heard the lens working hard to read it...my console is 70006 btw...

Anyone know why and how to solve it?

thx  smile.gif
mostly slim problem that won't read disc is either the lens, or the modchip ... and the wiring workmanship.
Gilthoniel
post Oct 13 2006, 11:28 AM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

ehm... can you guys tell me what modchip is inside my PS2 just by how i boot dvd movies?

I have to hold on to the power button longer than usual only when loading movies. Other discs, just turn on normally and they work like magic.
DjiNn
post Oct 13 2006, 11:40 AM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Oct 13 2006, 11:28 AM)
ehm... can you guys tell me what modchip is inside my PS2 just by how i boot dvd movies?

I have to hold on to the power button longer than usual only when loading movies. Other discs, just turn on normally and they work like magic.
slim sp2 that sold around in malaysia all are clone modchip..

super 7, Modbo , and etc.. I forgot the others name
snipersnake
post Oct 13 2006, 12:00 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

i never use sms bootdisc before, since my movies are stored in the hdd..make sure u get the latest sms yawn.gif) what knid of movies la u guys watching in avi format?hehe!

106 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:20 PM