Technical PlayStation 2 Tech Talk, Techical problem discussion
Gilthoniel
Oct 13 2006, 01:55 AM
Hey guys,
I just got my Slim PS2 (SCPH-75006). Not really sure what modchip but I'm having trouble playing DVD movies. I've tested it with DVD9 games and all kinds of other games and it works fine. But once I pop in a movie DVD, it doesn't read it. It brings me to this screen where it has the memory card on the left, and a gold disc on the right... then it says pls insert a PS2 format disc.
The shop has already informed me that the PS2 has been modded to be able to play everything. Am I missing out on a step here? I've read elsewhere in these forums that I might have to press reset twice after powering on with the movie DVD inside but when I tried that, it didn't work.
Oh one last thing... I noticed the PS2 displayed on my TV has slight banding at the sides. Like this - ) ( - why is that so? I haven't tried it with another TV but anyone encountered such problems? I'm using the bundled AV cable into my usual AV in on the telly. Never had such problems with my Dreamcast.
Hope you guys can help me out. Cheers!
Gilthoniel
Oct 13 2006, 09:39 AM
@snipersnake,
I'll call the shop today. I dun fancy watching movies on the PS as well but it's more of a "I paid for it so why not let it work" kind of a thing.
Is it possible to run Divx (with the reality media player) on my version? Googling doesn't bring about any answers.
Cheers!
Gilthoniel
Oct 13 2006, 11:16 AM
UPDATE:
Problem solved. I didn't know there's a trick to turning on DVDs for the slim PS2. Anyway, here's how to do it...
1. Pop in the disc 2. Instead of pressing the power button briefly, long-press it while it turns on. 3. The movie will load after the blue Sony Computer Entertainment screen.
Guess it was the other telly's problem. Have no issues with my own tv.
Cheers!
And oh, I managed to get my DivX movies up and running too! with the SMS bootup disc.
Will running divx movies wear out my lens as fast as DVD movies? or is it better?
This post has been edited by Gilthoniel: Oct 13 2006, 11:18 AM
Gilthoniel
Oct 13 2006, 11:28 AM
ehm... can you guys tell me what modchip is inside my PS2 just by how i boot dvd movies?
I have to hold on to the power button longer than usual only when loading movies. Other discs, just turn on normally and they work like magic.
Gilthoniel
Oct 13 2006, 01:28 PM
grey's anatomy, desperate housewives... etc etc... u think wat...  yeah got the latest sms. funny i can't copy it over to my memory card... but i dun think i'll be using it very often. ok thanks, djinn! but how to turn it off in case i wanna play online, ori games?
Gilthoniel
Oct 17 2006, 12:46 PM
Guys, my PS2 is a little psycho sometimes. Sometimes some discs just won't play. I have to take it out, reinsert it, making sure it really fits nicely, then it will work...
is the PS2 really that sensitive? it's not even a week old and I'm already pretty annoyed with it. Old dreamcast never had a problem...
Gilthoniel
Oct 17 2006, 03:30 PM
@snipersnake, greyfox,
you really think so? I'm in Seremban so I'm pretty reluctant to bring it all the way back to Sg Wang...
the thing is... I noticed that it only doesn't work when I don't insert the disc properly; ie: not all 6 spring holders are holding on to the CD. So this causes the disc to not spin properly...
I'm guessing me putting the PS2 upright is causing this problem since I'm having trouble inserting discs...
Will it be okay to put it horizontally? I heard from some others that it's better to put the machine vertically. Is that true?
Cheers!
Gilthoniel
Oct 17 2006, 06:38 PM
no la... not annoying... but i think it'd better if it was horizontal. easier to put it in.
Does placing the PS2 (yea it's a slim) vertically or horizontally make any difference other than freeing up more space?
Cheers!
Gilthoniel
Nov 17 2006, 01:22 PM
QUOTE(snipersnake @ Nov 16 2006, 08:57 PM) my latest project..a working non sony hdd recognised by ps2 as a sony official hdd!  Hey sniper... the last picture... i noticed there's some banding at the bottom right corner of your TV display. is that a common problem? I have that too. different places on different TVs... it's annoying but if it's a common problem, i guess i'll have to live with it. do let me know... cheers!
Gilthoniel
Nov 17 2006, 10:42 PM
hmm then how come mine appears banded/misaligned in all the TVs i've tried so far? DIfferent angles, different severity too... weird right?
Gilthoniel
Nov 18 2006, 04:54 PM
so no one can tell me if they are having misalignment problems with their PS2 and their TVs? My display is off centred to the left by about 0.5cm
I googled and stumbled on a few threads that misalignment is a common problem with the PS2... any here has it?
Gilthoniel
Nov 20 2006, 12:34 AM
QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Nov 18 2006, 04:54 PM) so no one can tell me if they are having misalignment problems with their PS2 and their TVs? My display is off centred to the left by about 0.5cm I googled and stumbled on a few threads that misalignment is a common problem with the PS2... any here has it? mind helping me out? 3rd time asking... thanks
Gilthoniel
Nov 20 2006, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(greyfox @ Nov 20 2006, 10:45 AM) give more details what your ps2 model (scph ??????? pal ,ntsc/j or ntsc/u/c?? slim or fat) what game post the pic . scph 76000, slim. NTSC/J TV is a new Toshiba BOMBA 21inch. it's just off centre... u can just take a close look at your TV screen when you play PS2 and see if the edges are straight and aligned nicely to your TV... i mentioned this during my first post regarding this matter...
Gilthoniel
Nov 20 2006, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(acougan @ Nov 20 2006, 02:39 PM) i'm using an old ps2 fat with china-brand CRTV with 3rd party component cables. yes, i need to re-align/re-center most of my games by few % to the right. i think its a common problem. how do u actually re-align? can't seem to find that option on my TV and only certain games support realignment, correct?
Gilthoniel
Nov 21 2006, 12:43 AM
yeah i thought so too... guess it's a common problem. no idea why is it worse in some TVs and better in others...
guess i'll have to live with it too...
thanks for the help man!
wished others would share some of their thoughts too...