wongmunkeong
post Sep 30 2011, 08:01 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Sep 29 2011, 11:51 PM)
Few days ago everyone talk about doom. Now suddenly flying. So which one you side? Uptrend or downtrend?
IMHO - after a bout of fear, any spark of light may lead to irrational hopes. It doesnt mean that the causation of the fear has been resolved or that the sadness may end right there. Then again, human exuberance and short memory may triumph over an oncoming train as "the market" movements are usually made up of human emotions tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 30 2011, 08:18 AM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 30 2011, 08:05 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kiddo_z @ Sep 30 2011, 07:40 PM)
Is it ? ... I thought the "green" coloured fund prize this few days ... could be early sign of "bullish" ... after 2 months of dropping NAV ...  sad.gif  ...
What you mean by technical rebound ?  ....
bro - usually "bullish" dont follow "bearish" nose-to-butt leh. There is a "cooling off" period after a bear attack where the market just flat-lines, not JUMP or BOUNCE up.

Technical rebound or dead cat bounce, your choice. Dead cat bounce is more vivid and descriptive & easier to understand IMHO tongue.gif.
Just a thought

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 30 2011, 08:07 PM
wongmunkeong
post Oct 3 2011, 02:03 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Oct 3 2011, 01:57 PM)
I m holding PDSF (Dividend select fund) - average cost RM 0.32, losing money. (around 10%). Now, less than RM 0.26

So, I plan to switch it to Bond. Then, when the market drop (undervalued), I only buy back equity...... So, no charge for 5.5% if buy back equity, RIGHT ?

Is my idea work ??

I do not have much $$ to average the cost.

Because I pay lump sum in the PDSF. (RM 0.32)
Yes your costing is correct - pls remember to add the SWITCHING charges to it yar.

Your idea works or not is another Q.
Since U lump sum / sai lang and not doing consistent periodic investment via DCA or VCA:
If U switched to Bonds already
1. When will U get back into Equity? What's your entry rule?

2. What if after U re-enter, it keeps falling?
a. Fall by XX% - what will U do?
b. Fall by YY % - what will U do?

3. What if it goes up and keeps going up?
a. Climbs by ZZ% - what will U do?
b. Climbs by AA% - what will U do?

4. What if it neither reaches a drop OR climb % of the above for ? years?

U've got a good idea - but it's incomplete, thus U need to further refine it, ESPECIALLY when U are just doing lump sum. Those of us doing periodic DCA / VCA has risk management spread out via time. Your's is via entry & exit rules only
Just a thought.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Oct 3 2011, 02:08 PM
wongmunkeong
post Oct 9 2011, 05:30 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Oct 9 2011, 05:01 PM)
Exactly.

1% of income below 5K, give it 4.5k lah, 1% of 4.5k = RM45, what can a RM45 do nowadays? Enough for petrol or for food? Somemore RM45 got to leave in EPF and can't withdraw.
Eh - dont lar like that sis. Big Gov giving spendable $500 cash per household wor for households below $3K pm.
$500 wor - can tah pao lunch for work like 3 to 4 months OR save my mutual funds' average value when i buy in using lump sum of $500!
They are so kind - i sure vote them wan.... IF i was born yesterday tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Oct 9 2011, 05:36 PM
wongmunkeong
post Oct 9 2011, 08:30 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Oct 9 2011, 08:26 PM)
Eh... we are talking about 1% EPF increment, not the RM500 cash per household, also, this budget plan is very brief only, who knows only Bumiputra entitled for RM500 cash per household?
bwhahah - yar lar, in addition to the great +1% employer's EPF mar, got $500

BTW, most folks who went woohoo on the +1% may not "get it" that most employers will most probably deduct the $50 from our monthly pay increment or yearly bonus. tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Oct 10 2011, 10:34 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Oct 9 2011, 09:41 PM)
How many people can get RM4.5K per month salary at age of 25?

Secondly, RM16K only, let say you want to go overseas trip once a year when you are retired, Japan trip is RM5k per person (exclude inflation rate lar..), you can only go for 3 Asian countries in 3 years time only. We aren't talking about medical fee yet! I was told even a grave + simple funeral ceremony costs about RM20K.

Money not enough lar wei!!
err... simple funeral + cremation (ie. EXCLUDING grave plot) for my dad in 2002 was $20K+ leh. Nowadays, no idea inflated to how much rclxub.gif
wongmunkeong
post Oct 10 2011, 12:05 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Oct 10 2011, 11:57 AM)
Why share market drop one ??

Can't believe it  rclxub.gif
Bro - dont need to BELIEVE for markets to rise/fall.
Local sentiments are bad/miffed at Budget 2012 (popularist / sandiwara budget that doesnt do squat in effect)
+ Foreign sentiments are edgy on Europe's issue & USA's "moping around" economy "growth".
Fundamentally (and mentally tongue.gif), nothing's changed yet and the freight train's still coming.

Just make sure our personal economy is stable and we'll be able to come out stronger as long as the filthy grubbing Gov hands are off our wallets tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Oct 10 2011, 12:07 PM
wongmunkeong
post Nov 1 2011, 09:25 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(holybo @ Nov 1 2011, 08:48 PM)
Hi, what do you guys think about the market? It will go down to 13xx again? Should I sell off my equity fund then reenter again?
Yes - it will go down and up and down and up tongue.gif
Bro - it doesnt matter what we THINK, it'll just happen due to fear/greed and unless one comes up with crystal balls that work, no one can advise U better than yourself.
wongmunkeong
post Nov 3 2011, 10:35 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(soulzerowen @ Nov 3 2011, 10:25 AM)
greece when only can settle their debt? haiz~
Bro - if U've been reading the data, Greece cant settle their debts leh.

Ignoring a total default possibility - ie. Greece declares bankrupt and doesnt pay back any of it's debts), the other possibility or given option after the EU Summit is Greece's private bond holders (read as private CREDITORS... not debtors, my bad.. not enuf coffee tongue.gif) are forced to take a 50% hit on their bonds.

Think a bit - if U personally can CONvince yr banker to write off 50% of your debts... that means? Bankers aint that dumb - they'll take some rather than 0, right? Thus, how deep a kaka do U think Greece is in?

Just my 2cents yar - not gospel truth

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Nov 4 2011, 08:02 AM
wongmunkeong
post Nov 4 2011, 08:12 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(soulzerowen @ Nov 4 2011, 07:40 AM)
greece debt had ppl help d? why europe market will increase? so blur
Just an opinion - Greece going down in a blaze of glory, (be it bankrupt / default like Argentina last time) or swallow pride and toe the line to get the $ from EU, is just 1 of the smaller worries i think. It's the effect it would have on bigger but also shaky EU nations (Portugal, Italy, Spain = PIS tongue.gif) and their creditors' & banks.
ie. a smaller spark may ignite a huge chain of explosions

Thus the crazy swings - can they save the day (EU) or not AND how are they going to do it?
Save Greece?
Let Greece die and instead focus on shoring up the PIS countries?
Germans & French are still cheesed that Greece is mulling around whether to take the EU deal and toe the line

Simple visualization:
U offer to help your bro out of his debt dilemma which he'll be bankrupt if U dont, WITH conditions that your bro shapes up
Your bro then tells U that hard lar to shape up & toe the line because his 1st wife no like lar, his 2nd wife say this lar, his children like that lar.
Wont U be cheesed off?

Just my armchair view yar - may vary greatly notworthy.gif .

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Nov 4 2011, 08:12 AM
wongmunkeong
post Nov 16 2011, 07:50 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 15 2011, 10:12 PM)
I believe you need to manually open a new fund account number tied to another agent code like you buy a new fund.

Correct me if I'm wrong. Anybody?
Yup - one needs to MEET & SIGNUP with the new agent (forms not online) to create the new account for a new/existing fund held by one.
Then later, one will be able to select the new agent, old agent or none online when topping up.
wongmunkeong
post Nov 22 2011, 04:17 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(l3iTi @ Nov 22 2011, 04:07 PM)
wat if anglee82 split the 100k investment into two?
initial setup, put 1k
after setup only dump the balance 99k

so only will be charged 5.5% on the 1k only.
and i wish we can "game" PB or PM that way rclxms.gif
Back to reality - nope, still get whacked 5.5%
wongmunkeong
post Nov 22 2011, 07:44 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(anglee82 @ Nov 22 2011, 05:39 PM)
1st thank you desertkids for the pointer

wow...10-15% return per anul? for 10 years?
that means 10k per anul so after 10years can take back 200k?(plus capital)?

reli new to Unit trust...scared to PB salemen want to profit so abit scared to ask much...will take ur advice and look for pb unit trust consultant.

last question...is it wish to invest now during this time..even  the PB salemen talking abt market heading down which i hv no idea..
i tot going down means bad....but this PB salemen said now gud time  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
nope...it seem eveytime u invest or put money into the fund they charge 5%
but if u take money out no charge
er.. AngLee82, based on 10 years stats if the calculations are done now, PB's & PM's equity funds return's ranges from about 10.6623%-14.2944%pa CAGR using PM's FPAdvisor. HOWEVER, please note that this figure (CAGR) is highly dependent on which year the calculation is run - eg. in a dip (end 2008) or during high run (eg. 2011) - the 10 years stats ending 31/12/2008 will show a range of about 6.1203%-9.12%pa CAGR.

Take a peek at both the files uploaded here and compare. Thus, the 10%-15%pa return on average for 10 years you're expecting may not be too realistic.

As for your PB Salesman saying now = good time, when going down.. it depends..
If U are doing lump, it ISNT good.
If U are doing value / dollar averaging, ok ar.
Best Qs to ask yr salesman are:
a. What are U doing yourself now?
b. Can see your track record?
c. What is your entry & exit plans? Why like that?

---------
hm.. DesertKid, U like my "signature" eh? Have me met before?
eh - dont lar say i'm a good financial advisor, i'm just sharing my own views, tested approaches and stats. Afterwards one of the big kahunas here come after my butt leh tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Nov 22 2011, 07:54 PM
wongmunkeong
post Nov 22 2011, 07:58 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Nov 22 2011, 07:57 PM)
wow, like this also can-ah? where got?

service charge will be apllies for every transactions.
Bro - that's his theory, havent tested in real environment yet tongue.gif
Bila cuba, baru tahu (theory workable or not) laugh.gif
wongmunkeong
post Nov 23 2011, 04:32 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(soulzerowen @ Nov 23 2011, 03:59 PM)
ya, i knw ur mean..i buy today i will get 2morrow price from public mutual fund price rite? but now i buy today i get two days after public mutual fund update
er.. sorry ar bro, i serong a bit a Q
Y the need for "faster" pricing update?
IMHO, we're dealing with mutual funds, not gold spot price or KLCI futures, where time is measured in seconds and profit/loss is measured by per tick or even half-a-tick.

It's like getting onto a cruiser / easy rider bike and expecting it to perform/move like a Japanese sports bike tongue.gif
The flow of time and profits/losses are very different... ohm... laugh.gif

Just a thought - apologies if i accidentally stubbed any toes notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Nov 23 2011, 04:33 PM
wongmunkeong
post Nov 24 2011, 10:31 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(soulzerowen @ Nov 24 2011, 10:22 AM)
NOW IS THE TIME TO ENTER PUBLIC MUTUAL FUND~
For Lump sum, value averaging, dollar averaging or split lump sum Entry?
wongmunkeong
post Nov 24 2011, 11:58 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(soulzerowen @ Nov 24 2011, 11:36 AM)
any advise/ recommendation?
laugh.gif sorry ar bro - i thought U were the one recommending to go in, thus asking more specifics

me - i've been doing continuously value averaging + dollar averaging since several years back
+ waiting with lump sum to "SAI LANG" IF financial market goes to hell (major hell IF combo of PIIGS + China slow/hard landing + more unrest in mid-East + more natures' wrath like Thailand, Japan, Turkey).
wongmunkeong
post Nov 24 2011, 08:00 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(soulzerowen @ Nov 24 2011, 06:54 PM)
now market is green... why?
because:
1. More optimistic ppl than pessimistic ppl in the market?
2. More long buying than short selling?
3. A throw of the dice?

I dont think ANYONE can tell for a fact WHY - there are just too many real variables and psychological variables rclxub.gif
wongmunkeong
post Nov 25 2011, 06:55 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Nov 24 2011, 08:26 PM)
my guess t'mrow might be good day to invest,
since its friday, and monday is holiday.
investor don't want to hold for long weekends.
today little green might be just an event created to sell, or cut loss...

also waiting for CNY and GE for another low

just my 2 cent  tongue.gif
10 days is max days needed for repurchase,
might settle for 1 day too,
maybe CS just wanna to answer safe.
Best to see the KLCI movements until mid-day, then only decide and execute online before 4pm lor. Remember - mutual funds uses end-of-day to price their NAV (which we pay + service charges%).

I still remember 2008's KLCI 10% drop by afternoon, kicking up the auto-short-circuit to close KLSE - now THAT's the time to buy into PIX if one had the nuts, then sell off a few days later (assuming one's an agent lar, thus lower cost) tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Nov 25 2011, 06:55 AM
wongmunkeong
post Nov 25 2011, 08:06 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Nov 25 2011, 07:25 AM)
Just wonder, Public Mutual like u guys, what is the sales charge ? (normal people is 5.5%). (What is ur total cost vs normal people?)
For PM's equity funds, cash investments' service charges is 5.5% of which 2.75% goes to agent (pls correct me if i'm mistaken)
For PM's equity funds, EPF investments' service charges is 3% of which 1.75% goes to agent (pls correct me if i'm mistaken)

Thus personal cost to me is calculated as:
Cash investment: 2.75% goes to PM + (2.75% which goes to me as agent *26% income tax)
EPF investment: 1.25% goes to PM + (2.75% which goes to me as agent *26% income tax)

Side note:
There's this thing called Agent Pink - it's like monthly DCA deducted from commissions only (cant put in cash monthly). This is invested at NAV without any service charges. The amount per month is dependent on one's level in the group.
Unfortunately i'm still at the bottom heheh coz i dont recruit actively nor sell sell sell (i'm at heart an investor - cant bullshit ppl to buy buy buy when it's not to their advantage).

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Nov 25 2011, 08:09 AM

14 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0582sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:54 PM