wongmunkeong
post Sep 12 2011, 08:14 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Sep 12 2011, 07:56 PM)
wat else can advice?, our fren dont want his agent C his stament n enjoy the commision  hmm.gif
methinks best revenge is to SHOW the current idiot agent how much he/she is losing out by investing properly with another agent (or self as agent) tongue.gif

"Vengeance is best served cold" - hehe, i interpret "cold" to be "cold hard logic" laugh.gif

Added on September 12, 2011, 8:18 pm
QUOTE(A2Z2U @ Sep 12 2011, 07:37 PM)
Actually don't know whether it's a good idea to sell now. It's just a small amount of money. Yea, now red sea in stock market but I see it as an opportunity to invest for long term. I do have some stocks that I want to pick up.
IMHO the local market's a sea of red with tidal waves now (bearish trend).
U may want to wait for the tide to fall first or risk "being pulled into the deep red sea and drown" tongue.gif

On a flip-side, if U are targeting staples like NESTLE, DLADY or plantation sector - these looks "more" steady than the rest. Of course the "tide" (trend) usually pulls down or raises all "boats" (stocks) though blush.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 12 2011, 08:18 PM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 13 2011, 08:22 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(caseyhoo @ Sep 13 2011, 04:24 AM)
dummy question here... may i know what is VCA ?
Value Cost Averaging.
Some more details/books links
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/690951/+1162
wongmunkeong
post Sep 14 2011, 08:00 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(lowyat2011 @ Sep 13 2011, 09:47 PM)
Hi all,

Just would like to share this info... KWSP earns 0.25% a year on EPF funds that have been withdrawn by contributors and invested 'approved' unit trust funds --- source from The Edge Personal Money September 2011 issue.

Btw, does the charges stated in the statement? Or KWSP bill the unit trust company for the charges... unit trust company charge the investor accordingly... it is part of the service charge?

Dunno about other fund houses but for PM, methinks it's incorporated into the yearly mgt fees, which are calculated and deducted pro-rata daily from the NAV, not the service charges since it's a yearly continuous charge.

Personally, i think EPF is just being a pr*ck UNLESS the 0.25% or the post 2008 0.125% goes back into our EPF a/c1 EXCLUDING EPF's handling costs.

Added on September 14, 2011, 8:01 am
QUOTE(koinibler @ Sep 13 2011, 09:54 PM)
great info there lowyatt2011,
never know that EPF charge 0.25% before.
Personally the 0.25% is no issue BUT the "yearly" is the issue tongue.gif
Er.. note that it's 0.125% since 2008, not 0.25%

Added on September 14, 2011, 8:04 am
QUOTE(lifeless_creature @ Sep 13 2011, 10:27 PM)
yea, i'd like to know as well, where is the 0.125% gone ???
"Admin" fees OR the infamous person who said "U scratch my back, I scratch your back" tongue.gif
thinking of that.. i feel so.. ew... to be a Malaysian. (oops off topic - sorry mod)

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 14 2011, 08:06 AM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 14 2011, 11:27 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Sep 14 2011, 11:00 AM)
What do u guys do with ur EQUITY FUND ?

SWITCH IT to BOND since its dropping like hell.... mad.gif
Personally:
Keep on executing and tracking as per planned
1. 50% of $ for equity funds on DCA + VCA no fear / no greed programmatic investments
2. 50% of $ for equity funds awaiting current bearish Trend to get into accumulation trend

What about U? Share share lar - dont just be angry brows.gif
wongmunkeong
post Sep 14 2011, 06:01 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Sep 14 2011, 05:25 PM)
Public select dividend fund ... average cost = 0.32, currently 0.2678

I plan to switch when it reach 0.28..... (at loss though),

plan to buy more when it is 0.26 ....  then switch when it reach 0.28...

My plan OK ?
Your average cost: $0.32
Current NAV: $0.2678

Plan:
a. if goes up to $0.28 SWITCH to bond fund
b. if goes down to $0.26 buy more

Hm.. just a thought / opinion ar, not gospel truth reality tongue.gif
Scenario 1
U'd switch out of something that goes UP although still at a loss? (exit rule)
a. er... if i am cutting losses, i'd have switched out when market was FALLING into a distribution trend, not when it goes up
b. i'd only switch out when it goes up to take / lock in profits at abnormal profit returns. Mind U, my personal entry rules are either buying value/trend accumulation mode, and value averaging, which by default, controls my risk exposure.

Scenario 2
U'd buy more when going down (entry rule)
THEN switch out of something that goes up, although still at a loss OR break even? (exit rule)?
a. ok.. buy more when going down ie. averaging down the cost
b. switch out when it goes up a mere $0.02? er.. wouldnt that be like below your cost (ie. loss) as U need to factor in service charges and what not during your new purchases?

Thus, just in this old rat's Point of View, the basics dont look too logical.
Of course your reasoning may differ due to other things like needing the cash or just fedup show hand win or lose, etc. notworthy.gif
wongmunkeong
post Sep 14 2011, 07:16 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Sep 14 2011, 06:54 PM)
Wah.. Until 500? Need or not oh?
Hm.. Mois' triggers actually do-able leh but tweak a bit lar

1st point triggered bought in
continue falling

2nd point triggered bought in
continue falling BUT doesnt hit 3rd point of 500

Instead goes up past 2nd point's trigger say about 3% higher, buy in lar coz going up (strengthening market) and still of value mar

Worse case if KLCI does fall to 500, bro Mois would have another 33% of ammo to buy biggrin.gif
Tiuk boh? brows.gif

Of course same flexibility can apply if fall doesnt hit 2nd point trigger and same reasoning as above.
Just a thought.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 14 2011, 07:19 PM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 14 2011, 09:19 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Sep 14 2011, 07:57 PM)
I think I know already what is bearish trend (now!).
Just, I wonder how you determine that the bearish "get into accumulation trend" ?
Heheh - different folks have different calculations to arrive at the 6 phases of a cycle (recovery, accumulation, bullish, warning, distribution and bearish) and even different time-length.

Generally, as i'm aware (i may NOT be that AWARE ar tongue.gif), there's:
a. short term (20days+/-)
b. mid term (50 days+/-)
c. long term (200days+/-)

For example talking about KLCI trend:
Based on how the 20days moving average (MA) of KLCI VS 50days MA of KLCI VS current end of day (EOD) of KLCI is, U get the short-mid term trend
Based on how the 50dma VS 200dma VS EOD, U get the mid-long trend

For example of calculation (using the TrendAdvisor book's formula):
IF EOD<50DMA AND EOD>200DMA AND 50DMA>200DMA = Warning mid-long trend
IF EOD<50DMA AND EOD<200DMA AND 50DMA>200DMA = Distribution mid-long trend
IF EOD<50DMA AND EOD<200DMA AND 50DMA<200DMA = Bearish mid-long trend

If U look at the example above, U'll notice the logic (moving from Warning to Bearish) that the fall becomes steeper and steeper.
Similar REVERSE situation for Recovery-->Accumulation-->Bullish

Please note that a trend does NOT go straight down or up, but there is very high probability it'll shift to either "left" or "right" or stay on current trend

REFERENCE: recovery <--> accumulation <--> bullish <--> warning <--> distribution <--> bearish<-->recovery
eg.
Say we're in a bearish trend now
There is high probability that it'll stay in bearish trend (still falling like a stone)
OR slow down while still falling (moving left to distribution)
OR hit bottom and flat line and crawl slowly up (moving right, to recovery)

Note:
+ve trend = recovery (flat line and crawling up), accumulation (steeper climb up), bullish (holy kaka steep climb up)
-ve trend = warning (flat line and crawling down), distribution (steeper fall down), bearish(holy kaka steep fall down)

Quick quiz
Thus, based on probability AND value, the best time to get into equities IF one doesnt have any running investment program is?
AND
if one doesnt have any proper plans (ie. main tikam) when bought in earlier, when would be the best time to get/stay out?
brows.gif

Oh crap.. i just noticed this thing is in PM thread/topic. Most mutual fund investors arent Trend users but i know some agencies are and some (note only some) are adept at getting their customers in/out of equities and into bonds. Please note that i'm not advocating that U use Trend as a tool blindly. I'm sharing it here for U to digest and see if it fits what U want to learn/use and then go do your own entry/exit plans yar. Your mileage may vary and U may have better methodologies notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 14 2011, 09:28 PM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 15 2011, 06:27 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(aerobowl @ Sep 14 2011, 10:05 PM)
totally newbie here
skim thru some pages and see few posts mentioned to use EPF to buy funds

just curious
let say EPF annual interest 5%
is it meant that these funds very ez to outperform EPF?
Good precaution, any investments U do with EPF, even for paying down mortgage or education with A/c 2 should beat 5%pa with a healthy margin.

Having said that, some funds do perform better & some worse than EPF's 5%, based on historical performances of 3, 5 and 10 years. Be aware that one loses 0.25% to 3% straight away when moving $ from EPF to mutual funds. Thus, time * good long term performing funds are required to beat 5%pa compounded.

Added on September 15, 2011, 6:40 am
QUOTE(koinibler @ Sep 14 2011, 10:36 PM)
Although I've google what 'moving average' mean, just understand it so-so. So, conclude, its an average of price on the duration.
So, the best time get into equity market is during 'recovery' or 'bearish' period  hmm.gif

A good half hour just to understand 1 post  rclxub.gif .

Added on September 14, 2011, 10:38 pmCan we get the data for moving average (MA) anywhere or Mr. Wong, you do it with your spreadsheet?
Hehe sorry yar. I usually don't spoon feed, thus I expect ppl to Google a bit for basic stuff like moving averages tongue.gif. TQ for taking the time & effort to understand.

Best time to get in based totally on Trend = accumulation phase
Coz either left/right/stay in same phase = still going up, remember the high probabilities?

Best time to get in based on Trend & value = recovery phase. U r spot on
Best time to get out based totally on Trend = distribution phase
Coz either left/right/stay in same phase = still going down.

Raw data for personal tracking of trends can be from newspapers for KLCI EOD points or exported from stock booking online systems. For specific mutual funds trend, U can get NAV from online or yr agent with access to price history system. Throw these EOD / NAV into an Excel and cook tongue.gif. Please be aware when cooking fund's NAV that the during distribution of dividends, it will does the trend downwards & thus, U may get faked out that it's in a -ve trend

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 15 2011, 06:40 AM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 16 2011, 08:12 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(milentechie @ Sep 16 2011, 07:58 AM)
Sharing one article .

How Value Investing Works in Unit Trusts?
Value investing was first introduced by Benjamin Graham and David Dodd in 1928. It has been well-practiced by one of the world most famous investor, the Chairman of Berkshire Hathaway- Warren Buffet. How can investors be like Warren Buffet when comes to unit trust investment? Find out more here.

http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=1592
Nice - especially on looking at the fund's underlying theme/benchmark index/stocks.
IMHO, a fund is too convoluted to evaluate value - heck stocks already tough to evaluate, think of a basket of stocks AND U only know these basket of stocks AFTER the fund house prints & send U the quarterly reports! Thus, looking at the fund's underlying theme/benchmark index/stocks is one of the best & fastest way to judge value.

However I suspect they skewed the article for "advertising & marketing" purposes
Note that they showed the UPSIDE potential only in their table, where's the downside potential?
Sorry to nitpick but as a cautious and value investor, methinks one should also look at the down side - like momma says, Look left AND right before crossing the road tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 16 2011, 08:13 AM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 20 2011, 07:59 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Sep 20 2011, 07:19 AM)
I think I'm already become bear's dinner  doh.gif
Thanks Koinibler for being bear bait - now the hunter killers can move in AFTER the bear is full and zzz tongue.gif
Joking! Joking! Pls dont use that voodoo doll on me notworthy.gif

The trend is your friend until the end (when it turns). BTW, most people, including me previously, thinks that Trend analysis = predicting the future. It isnt - it's just seen how the tides ebb & flows, thus, knowing when to go out to sea for crazy fishing or anchor the boats / do anchovies fishing brows.gif
wongmunkeong
post Sep 20 2011, 11:06 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Sep 20 2011, 10:56 AM)
Share market is like you feasting.
Once python finished feasting, what will python do? Sleep
Bear, once finished munching, will sleep or rest..

So sleep or rest = side way. Not much movement at the bottom. (This is the time we open mouth to hamtam)

Wait for the side way after the big dip..
Careful not to bite the bear with too big a mouthful wor as another dip may occur within months 'ala 1997 & 1998
Being clawed to death by bear WHILE mouthful of bear fur isnt fun tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Sep 20 2011, 11:45 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Sep 20 2011, 11:32 AM)
Oh i get it. Let me give an example. Say KLCI stop moving at 1200points at +-<0.5%. That time we accumulate alot. But what happen if it drop to another level? sit tight ah? Or wanna cut lose again?

Added on September 20, 2011, 11:39 am
It might be really dangerous if we attack the wrong bear. So better still buying in stages right?
Mois - perhaps we can learn from "Friday the 13th" and other horror shows here. ie
1. When see dead bear, dont assume dead
2. Shoot the damn bear a few times first, preferably head shots, from afar and have the car engine running (ie. put in a % of investment $ and get ready to run/counter)
3. See any "bad" reaction - as in it jumps and tries to run at U?
No? good, go to 4.
Yes? run like hell since U are far enough and have a car already started to outrun it and repeat step 1.
4. Go nearer and chop the bloody bear's head off + burn the carcass, then celebrate (ie. put the some left over % of investment $ in)
5. Watch out for bear's family members coming for revenge! (ie. thus U arent celebrating your smartness until die also dunno what happened)
6. WHEN not IF, the bear's family member comes - repeat step 1. again

Lots of things we can learn from movies hor tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 20 2011, 11:47 AM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 20 2011, 07:47 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Sep 20 2011, 07:33 PM)
Own customization.

You can put 1300, 1000, 500..
Don't have a model de lar.. Depends on your own appetite and risk.
Just for a "feel":

1997 to end 1998 drop, from top / max point --> to bottom point, was about 80%
2008 to end 2008 drop, from top / max point --> to bottom point, was about 40%

Corrections are "usually" about 20% drops, the above are NOT corrections but major impact thinggies
Note - we are now about 11%+ drop from top / max point of KLCI

Thus, U can take a queue from those based on one's risk/reward appetite. icon_rolleyes.gif
wongmunkeong
post Sep 20 2011, 09:26 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Sep 20 2011, 09:06 PM)
So Wong, what is your targeted point of entry?
Eh? For Trend/Value or my quarterly buta DCA+VCA (TwinVest)?
heheh TwinVest still chugging along every quarter - bit by bit ($xxK EPF held in PSBF + $xK Cash allocated per qtr)
No fear, no timing, just value averaging (75%) mostly blush.gif
-----
for Trend/Value opportunity - when mid-long Trend Accumulation phase in my own calculation tongue.gif.
No idea when the KLCI will by then though - hehe, no idea until KLCI reaches it.

Then i jump in 50% of of allocated $xxk EPF held in PSBF.
Another 50% if Accumulation phase goes on for 3 months AND 1st entry makes net profit %

EXIT both if Trend reverses from Accumulation-->Recovery-->Bearish
OR Trend goes on from Accumulation --> Bullish --> Warning --> Distribution
Scary ride heheh tongue.gif

Gambate!
wongmunkeong
post Sep 21 2011, 08:19 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Sep 20 2011, 11:12 PM)
For easier part, we follow wong's footstep. He enter, we enter. He cabut, we cabut. U lose money, your problemĀ  laugh.gif
Wah liao eh Mois, dont lar "put me on the table" sweat.gif
Like i shared earlier - i dont trust a methodology 100%, thus i'm splitting my investments entry/exit into 2 approaches/methodologies
a. Programmatic (no fear/greed)
+Entry based on TwinVest and amount allocated per program (eg. EPF PAGF, EPF PSSF)
+Exit based on per transaction's net profit of more than >=xx% within 1 yr
OR >=yy%pa if held more than 1 year
SWITCH back to PSBF cost +10%pa expected returns, let the abnormal net profits continue riding
thus win in terms of lowered risk/exposure since abnormal profits liao
+ win in terms of letting the abnormal profits continue going up if the market still bullish

b. Trend / Value
as per earlier posting's (Post #431) Entries & Exits

I'm trying to simplify as much as possible thus any of my family/relatives/friends and even my little girl can do it when she's older biggrin.gif

Added on September 21, 2011, 8:22 am
QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Sep 20 2011, 11:37 PM)
He blindly VCA lar.. Haha, because he started long long ago..
If you are new, probably can wait for good moment, then pump in..
Spread it lo..
Yup yup - i've got a buddy that wants to start with his EPF now.
We've laid out the plans and accumulating ammo in his PSBF
to start 2 TwinVest programs when KLCI goes into Recovery phase
& Trend into PIX, when in Accumulation phase.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 21 2011, 08:25 AM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 21 2011, 04:09 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Sep 21 2011, 03:35 PM)
This is just a technical rebound during a bear game..
Reverse gear is on already now smile.gif
Riding down again smile.gif Let's welcome 1399 soon
9 points up = how many % ar? tongue.gif

Spot on bro.
Visualization (PG18 for graphical goriness):
Bear food / victim is running like crazy, just managed to get slightly out of reach of the bear's claw for now,
AFTER being clawed and bitten 11%+ of body parts (ie. missing a hand and arm?)

Can the bear food / victim continue out running the bear
OR
Bear's claw / teeth going to get the fler again for another toe/finger/arm?

Closing 8.4 points up, but in % = 0.6% of KLCI nya shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 21 2011, 08:15 PM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 21 2011, 09:15 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(BlueSilver @ Sep 21 2011, 08:54 PM)
Right. I think that is why i am lost. I invested blindly and kept on pumping in money every month. Right now I want to set it right, any advice?  cry.gif
When lost or in hole, stop and get your bearings first.
May i suggest back to basics?
Things like $ mgt, risk mgt, Asset Allocation, Target/Goal setting for investments (time horizon, how much per month/qtr/year to allocate to what & how much expecting returns on average yearly, Entries & Exits (how to execute all the above).

Added on September 21, 2011, 9:17 pm
QUOTE(koinibler @ Sep 21 2011, 09:12 PM)
sort only post by wongmunkeong and Bonescythe is a good start  biggrin.gif
Koinibler - hehe, dont lar "put me on table". Bonescythe lar, he's the sifu in equities and funds. I'm a "newbie" comparatively (with vivid imagination & visions, especially about bears & Jason from Fri13) laugh.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 21 2011, 09:17 PM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 22 2011, 07:59 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(BlueSilver @ Sep 21 2011, 09:59 PM)
I don't mind going back to basics. Does that mean I should sell all my units and only invest after studying?
BlueSilver - i'm sorry i dont have a black/white solution for U. I'm not U and in your specific situation.

However, having said that, U may want to switch your equity funds (or at least 50%) back to bond funds WHILE U learn/plan ahead.
IMHO being in equities when one doesnt really know what's happening is akin to driving a car (people usually take classes to handle the power)
VS being in bonds is like running (more dangerous than walking as U are going faster and need to be more alert)
VS being in FD is like walking (er... really basic basics)

Just to share what i did when i found myself "lost" donkey years ago (things relating to mutual funds only, stocks/REITs are another story heheh):
a. I SWITCHED ALL my funds back to Bond Funds
b. While i went back back to basics to learning, testing, tracking
+ $ mgt & risk mgt: these 2 are the biggest impact that shaped my approach now). BTW, U cant manage what U dont track & dont have plans/goals for tongue.gif

+ Asset Allocation: some major stats/research points to Asset Allocation being the biggest impact to a total portfolio, not stock picking or funds picking. Looks to me holistic planning, tracking & managing is the way to go. 2nd biggest impact to my approach now.

+Methodologies / Entry & Exit rules

c. Built my goals/plans
+knowing how much i want/need for my goals
+Asset Allocation + selection of vehicles based on average expected returns pa to reach my goals
+Methodologies / Entry & Exit plans to execute the above
Value investing & programmatic investing
Based on the methodologies i've put $ in to test (only about 2 to 3 years, not 10 yar tongue.gif) + simulated via Excel's random numbers for pricing, these 2 fits my personality (chicken + simpleton).
Value - coz i love bargains and there's less probability for much % drop
Programmatic - coz i needed something else than Value, which has a human-trigger, thus emotions like fear & greed can cloud judgement

Your mileage may vary notworthy.gif

BTW, dont worry about "missing the boat"
Prices/NAV go up slow but falls fast (think gravity)
Think 1998 sloooooow climb up after ASIAN Currency Crisis
then buta kena whacked by US DOT COM bust sharp down 2001
then slow climb up to 2006/2007
then sharp whack down by Credit Crunch Crisis & US Property Bubble 2008
then slow climb back to end 2010
then sharp whack down mid 2011
phew.. just trying to make a point going down = fast, going up = slow

Added on September 22, 2011, 8:05 am
QUOTE(jutamind @ Sep 21 2011, 09:35 PM)
this is my investment strategy for my Public funds:

When the market is up: If the value of my fund is 15% > my investment cost, take profit and switch to bond funds. Will take profit every 15% on the way up.

When the market is down: Will invest more if the NAV is 8 - 10% down from the avg purchase price. Will top up every 8 - 10% on the way down.

Side way market: Just let the fund on auto cruise.

Is this strategy workable? Been using this method since '07.
Jutamind, looks good - holistic enough as long as U couple that approach to a fund house that has "good enough" equity and bond funds rclxms.gif

Just a thought:
IF the market trends up for 8 years SLOWLY after a crash (eg. end 1998 to 2006) ,
the NAV will not go down,
thus U dont participate/buy in (yr current methodology averages down only when 8%-10% down from your TOTAL AVERAGE PURCHASED PRICE)
U may miss a MAJOR part of gains and time lost.

No righter-right or wronger wrong ar. Best methodologies are those that fits one's personality, attitude and time/effort to be spent on donkey things like investing notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 22 2011, 08:12 AM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 22 2011, 08:33 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 22 2011, 08:19 AM)
Wong

i have improved the Edu/Retirement spreadsheet with

a) 2nd child education
b) yearly savings

Gold sifu Phophetjul, share share lar yr modded worksheet
wongmunkeong
post Sep 22 2011, 08:39 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 22 2011, 08:34 AM)
How you attach ar?  biggrin.gif
Zip the Excel first
Then under the posting , there's a File Attachment area.
Click on Browse, select zip file
Then click on Add This File
All above Add Reply button

14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0494sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:46 AM