wongmunkeong
post Feb 15 2012, 08:29 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 15 2012, 07:48 AM)
Of course I'm aware of that. Before I got PMO access, I topped up using PBebank Internet Banking under Investment menu.
Oops - i "fingered" the wrong posting (fat finger + smartphone, not too smart user tongue.gif) to reply to, i was aiming for Aurora Boreali's post.
Coffee hadnt kicked in yet notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Feb 15 2012, 08:30 AM
wongmunkeong
post Feb 23 2012, 12:03 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Feb 22 2012, 11:58 PM)
RM1.00 = 1 MGQP

if ur total investment is rm10k, ur points is 10k.

so u need another 90k points (or RM90K) to become mutual Gold Member.

not sure abt low-loaded units. anyone can confirm?

Based on my on MGQP, $ left in low load units = 0 MGQP.
Loaded units however, even SWITCHED into bond funds, seemed to be still points, thus i suspect it's more of a "rebate" scheme - spend more on "service cost", earn more MGQP tongue.gif

I may be in lalaland on this though notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Feb 23 2012, 12:19 AM
wongmunkeong
post Feb 27 2012, 01:50 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Feb 27 2012, 01:44 PM)
You're right man, I tried to open an account without the agent code, looks OK now.. sorry for the incorrect statement. It wasn't a good news for agents anyway.
hehe - uncle KParam didnt tell the bad news.. we, as a customer, still get hit 0.25%, 3% or 5.5% leh.
Recipient is PM (fully i think), not shared by PM & Agent as per norm for 3% & 5.5% cry.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Feb 27 2012, 08:14 PM
wongmunkeong
post Mar 6 2012, 10:18 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(dewVP @ Mar 6 2012, 10:09 PM)
A lot of people seem to have investment in Public Mutual Bonds Funds (PB Bonds and all). But somehow I have none. Haha! The only one I'm holding is only AmDynamic and Hwang Select Income.

Still trying to surf around and learn.
I think it doesn't matter what "a lot of people" are doing. More importantly is WHAT U are doing and WHY - right or right?
wongmunkeong
post Mar 10 2012, 04:54 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(MSS @ Mar 10 2012, 04:13 PM)
PM can do online like internet banking?.
When I ask consultant, he said cannot.
It's true?
If U have a Public Bank a/c can invest online OR apply for Public Mutual Online a/c and U can invest, switch, redeem/sell back to PM and also check yr mutual funds' units & value.

Tell yr CONinSULTANT to go learn up about something called a computer and Internet first, then ask him again shocking.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Mar 10 2012, 04:56 PM
wongmunkeong
post Mar 10 2012, 05:09 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Mar 10 2012, 05:04 PM)
LOL, or either trying to get a cut from being an agent to u
laugh.gif but the dumb a** thing is forumer's agent STILL gets the commissions if forumer DIY online to manage/buy/sell/switch from his existing accounts to other accounts!
If i was the forumer's agent, i'd be more than happy to teach forumer to DIY doh.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Mar 10 2012, 05:10 PM
wongmunkeong
post Mar 14 2012, 03:32 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(eddiv3dd3r @ Mar 14 2012, 08:34 AM)
Hi everyone, I kinda new here but I really need everyone advise for the investment of funds here and also how I can help my clients to enhance their investment too. Currently I invested in the PIEF which is based on the advise by my agency manager and he asked me to encourage my clients. I mean that's it?

I had read thru all the posts & I had to say bravo to those who contribute informations which really help me. But what I'm lacking is how can I suggest which fund is best for my clients? When should I advise them to exit in case of unforseen happen? Really need the guide line.

Thanks for all sifus who can help me will be much appreciated.
If U really READ THROUGH THE ENTIRE Public Mutual thread V3 (and perhaps V2?), and
a. yet have NO IDEA how to filter for mutual funds which are better than average
b. dont know about Asset Allocation & investment methodologies
c. dont know about Public Mutual's FP Advisor software for analysis purposes
and still haven't come up with some structure for your clients?
and still looking for "the guide line"
.... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Mar 14 2012, 03:38 PM
wongmunkeong
post Mar 14 2012, 03:45 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(g1bber @ Mar 14 2012, 03:42 PM)
I was guilty of this once upon a time ago before I met you  sweat.gif
Dont lar compare yrself to him, G1bber.

That fellow forumer said READ THROUGH wor.
U upfront asked Q + U aint an agent.
He is wor - though it's good that he intends to improve himself to help his clients, he seems way too lazy and "want the guide line" to be injected or fed intravenously into him laugh.gif

BTW, the things he wants, "the guide line" are all in my reply to his post. He just has to google or buy books on them tongue.gif, or perhaps attend classes for FP Advisor (PM's own software for agents!) shock! horrors! doh.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Mar 14 2012, 03:49 PM
wongmunkeong
post Mar 14 2012, 03:52 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(g1bber @ Mar 14 2012, 03:48 PM)
Yeah I guess so

If wanna learn about investing, I think it's must easier to ask questions then look for people to spoonfeed you sleep.gif

Wanna meet up again this weekend ? Lots I wanna show you and ask opinion, done a bit of excel and more or less settled my asset allocation, all thanks to you ! biggrin.gif
This Sat is good, i'm "free" 2pm to 4pm. My place?
Sorry Mod - a bit serong though really still about Public Mutual heheh. I'm sharing with G1bber on PM's stuff, tracking, calculations, automation, etc.
wongmunkeong
post Mar 15 2012, 02:30 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(eddiv3dd3r @ Mar 15 2012, 10:38 AM)
Thank you for the advises. Really appreciate. As you know I newly joined this industry. I wish to improve myself before I go out prospecting. The market is huge and I hope we all can learn some experience out of it rather keep the knowledges to ourselves and thinking we are able to to conquer the market.

Mr. Wong, how I wish my agency manager will teach me all the question you posted but unfortunately he want me to be another typical sales agent. For your information, I still haven't dare to sell the fund to my friends due to lack knowledge. It will be helpful if you can give basic guideline. I know there no free lunch in this world but just a basic for me to start from here. Ie. when is the suitable entry / exit of fund. I read thru your posts but still blurish. How to prepare analysis for my client. Do you prepare every 3 months or 6 months?

Thank you for the advise Mr. Wong
Bro, it's not a matter of me wanting to keep knowledge to myself (checkout the Excels and ideas i shared here + V2, Fund Investments and Personal Finance Management threads/topics). It's a matter of reading & learning about investing, money and risk management, estate management.

If U really have read through the entire topic/thread, U'd have noticed those things i stated:
a) Asset Allocation (the big momma of them all)
b) Investment methodologies (Value investing, Dollar Cost averaging, Value cost averaging, Trend, etc.) for opportunities approach VS no fear/greed approach, both entries AND exits
c) Before (a) & (b), the most important aspect as an investor is in reality, "money management" and "risk management". Google these and/or take a peek at Personal Finance Management topic/thread where lots of folks shared ideas
d) Retirement / Uni education / financial numbers planning to hit these goal(s)
e) Estate planning - we invest/build/etc. for what? spending, securing AND giving them out loved ones and/or back to society during our life OR after our life time.

If one does not even have the above, how to share and help clients properly?
Invest = to make $ only as fast as possible? Might as well buy lottery ticket right? That's not investing - unrealistic, no risk mgt, no time horizon, no goals.

Read, google, get books and read or pick investors' brains herein LYN and other forums with SPECIFIC questions after U did some reading/research.
Asking for "give me the best.." "best time to buy/sell..." "what is the best..." is as good as "what is the meaning of life". It DEPENDS - especially if those who reply "for sure.." or "100% this and that..", please ensure their crystal balls are working tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Mar 15 2012, 02:31 PM
wongmunkeong
post Mar 20 2012, 10:28 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(sovietmah @ Mar 20 2012, 10:25 AM)
I think it is quite peak to buy any unit trust fund now. you might need 1-2 years to recover ur modal.
Peak? not for all equity funds in my humble opinion.
If U mean just domestic focused equity funds, U are generally right EXCEPT for some small caps focused funds
+there are several foreign focused equity funds which are definitely not at peak like PFES, PRSEC, etc.
wongmunkeong
post Mar 20 2012, 10:35 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Mar 20 2012, 10:29 AM)
If lumpsum investment with no topup, yes. But if apply DCA, no.

I have an investment bought at quite high price. But i applied the DCA method. now already making profit of 5%.
True though, assuming U meant simple net profit % returns (my bad if assumption is wrong notworthy.gif), one should also look at the %pa compounded or CAGR as well - time-value of $.

Added on March 20, 2012, 10:39 am
QUOTE(izzudrecoba @ Mar 19 2012, 11:53 PM)

p/s: Whoever can answer this in excellent way will be rewarded with an excellent Casey Research Gold Investor Guide for 2012  rclxms.gif
i. Whats the difference between Public Strategic Small Cap Fund and the Award Winning Public SmallCap Fund?
Read the Prospectus for official variations tongue.gif

ii. Is it wise to invest in small cap fund in this current economic environment?
IMHO,
Yes - if U have an overall plan (eg. Asset Allocation) which is going to run at least 5 years or more
Maybe No - if U "feel" it's good to have

So, do i win the "no prize" award of Gold Investor Guide? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Mar 20 2012, 10:40 AM
wongmunkeong
post Mar 20 2012, 11:08 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Mar 20 2012, 10:41 AM)
MK, what is CAGR?
Compounded Annual Growth Rate
In normal talk, % per annum compounded growth/returns, which takes into account time value of $

eg.
Year 1: $100 *(1 +10%) = $110
Year 2: $110 *(1 +10%) = $121
a. If one were to take $121 (end value) / $100 (principal) MINUS 1 = 21% simple returns calc
b. If one were to see the actual per annum growth, it's 10% pa.
It's easier to compare per annum compounded to other returns like FD, EPF, etc. thus is easier to use (though harder to calculate) to compare similar classes of assets/investments.

another eg.
my Prudential (now changed to dunno what Eastern) SmallCaps shows me 90%+ returns BUT in %pa compounded / CAGR, it's only 11%pa+ to 12%pa+
See the huge "marketing" difference?
Wah! I made 90%+!
vs
Wah! I made 11%pa + only VS that dude 90%+ (for the blur)
wongmunkeong
post Mar 20 2012, 11:43 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Mar 20 2012, 11:12 AM)
Haaaa...ok. I get what u mean.

But if pa % better than other places, then it is ok rite? Eg, epf.

Let say invest with PM for 10 years and make 150% profit.

Per year, it would be 15% profit. Epf only give average 5.5% per year.

Are we get into same conclusion?
er.. that's the "different conclusion" as your 15% is (150% / 10yrs) is simple average returns %.
This is NOT per annum compounded VS EPF's 5.5%pa compounded, thus not too right and may give not too right interpretation.

There's quite a huge difference when U use simple average returns % for "long term" time-value
eg.
15% simple average yearly returns VS 7.18%pa compounded / CAGR.
Looks TOTALLY different right? Same $40K end value in 20 years tongue.gif
Most "marketing" BS is using total % (eg. 150% in your example above) or simple average yearly returns % to CONvince layman.

Understand the "danger" in comparing non-CAGR vs CAGR results in your example of 15% average pa profit VS EPF's 5.5% pa compounded

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Mar 20 2012, 11:48 AM
wongmunkeong
post Mar 20 2012, 12:12 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(sovietmah @ Mar 20 2012, 11:58 AM)
wongmunkeong, how u calculate the 15%?
simple average per annum:
(End Value / Principal) -Principal 100% / Years Held
OR in eg ($40K / $10K ) -1 / 20

Did i miss something out? hehe - pls correct me yar if i blur notworthy.gif
wongmunkeong
post Mar 20 2012, 12:19 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(sovietmah @ Mar 20 2012, 12:17 PM)
i think got 2 brackets there?
((End Value / Principal) -Principal 100%) / Years Held
Ya, then i can get 15%.
Oh yeah - whoops. Heheh - baaaad finger, bad bad finger.
Thanks - was in Excel but didnt translate properly to "English" last post notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Mar 20 2012, 06:56 PM
wongmunkeong
post Mar 20 2012, 05:49 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(xjia @ Mar 20 2012, 05:34 PM)
I really have no idea how to calculate all these....  rclxub.gif

solute  notworthy.gif
needn't notworthy.gif, it's simple really - most of us here are no rocket scientists, nor brain surgeons.
heck SPM maths also credit only & add maths.. didnt even take (ran off to commerce/accounting stream due to add maths tongue.gif)
wongmunkeong
post Mar 20 2012, 06:55 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(wiggleman888 @ Mar 20 2012, 05:59 PM)
wow so complicated ke calculation? i tot jz need to ask the consultant n u see for urself?
Well, U can choose to trust some CONinSULTANTS 100% or U can verify their claims to see whether they are indeed good advisors or CONs.
Your money, your choice.

Me - i'd still check / verify even my most trusted insurance and mortgage agent (sorry ar Brian, if U are reading this), coz no one will care for my money / assets as much as me brows.gif

Use sweat, tears and life force / death time to earn ($) wan U know - what U think, fall from sky (unless born with silver, gold or platinum spoon lar)? hheheh. notworthy.gif
wongmunkeong
post Mar 20 2012, 08:31 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(g1bber @ Mar 20 2012, 08:05 PM)
yeah just keep asking those agents

i kept asking my fellow agents, consultants or whatever fancy name they call themselves non-stop

some are true investors, like my cousin who is also my upline and if i ask a simple question he'd ask me to sit down and pull a flipboard and explain to me about basic fundamentals about investing, which usually turns out into some sort of economics class haha

most however are just salesmen, chasing after commission, after i keep asking questions they usually just lose their temper, especially if i ask what funds or stocks do THEY invest in sleep.gif
Heheh the ULTIMATE Q for consultants eh - what do U invest in and how rclxms.gif
Very good logic - if they themselves dont take care of their own investments, U think they can help U? notworthy.gif
wongmunkeong
post Mar 20 2012, 10:25 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(xjia @ Mar 20 2012, 10:06 PM)
Aiya... as usual ... agent wants commission only... better i ask wongmunkeong... more info than my agent..
XJia, not all agents are CONsultants. Unfortunately, more "pure sales agents" than "investor & advisor" agents around though.
BTW, i am a UTC too - generally as my own "bestest" agent + customer & once in a blue moon "picky as hell agent" tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Mar 20 2012, 10:39 PM

14 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0523sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:33 PM