4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Planted Aquarium V7, not just fish with water anymore

usermode
post Feb 5 2012, 03:41 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(booby @ Feb 5 2012, 03:06 PM)
eh want ask u all, usually wat u all put inside ur tank filter one ah? i usually put sponge and this

user posted image.

but this ceramic thing dam dirty ady want throw and buy new one. should i get anything else good for platned tank? want go shopping ady.  hmm.gif

revamped my tank.

usually i put anything that have micro-holes in its texture. doesnt matter ceramic or larva rocks or whatever shit, i simply put. hu hu hu..!!! some people care on what they put because it'll affect ur water pH most probably. but to me, i simply campak.. tongue.gif

but hey, ur ceramic dirty as in what? actually, people usually keep their matured filter media. u just clean it by washing it with ur tank water whenever u do ur WC. not the dirtiness you want to keep, but the BB in it.
usermode
post Feb 6 2012, 09:13 AM

25 posts

I'm looking for few stalks of downoi (pogostemon helferi). around 4 - 5 stalks. anyone have excess with their downoi would like to sell in small number? i'm buying.

QUOTE(naoki666 @ Feb 5 2012, 05:05 PM)
Usermode, what is the ceramic thing for? is it the thing stabilize the water hardiness or PH in the water to 7? as what rock or stone does....
- the ceramic thing basically is a place to cultivate ur beneficial bacteria (BB) in your filter. some having lava rocks, some having crush corals, some having the ceramic stuff.
- different manufacturer have different 'size' of micro-holes in the texture of their ceramic rings.
- some brands of these things might affect ur water pH. read the details before you buy if you are paying attention on your water pH (especially if you are a shrimp keeper).
- but the bottom line still, once it's matured (usually it'll be dirty by this time)... the beneficial bacteria that colonized in the micro-texture is the one you're looking for. it's the heart of your filter and the filter is the heart of your tank. those BB are the one you need to take care of. NEVER wash those rings or lava rocks or whatever it is you are using with direct tap water (untreated). use your tank water when you do your WC to clean it as ciohbu says, no need until 100% sparkling clean. just to clean those debris.

This post has been edited by usermode: Feb 6 2012, 09:14 AM
usermode
post Feb 7 2012, 08:30 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Feb 7 2012, 01:26 AM)

1) so i heard about those PH, ammonia, nitrate and nitrite level, why should i buy the test kits?
Which one i should buy first and where? and how much do they cost each?
and what brand should i look for? planning to get meself a batch of RCS so do i need to buy all of them or which one (the test kits)?
- get a test kit only when u needed it. shrimp keepers i think will need it (i am not shrimp keeper so cant advice much).
- the price varies according to brands. from RM50 to few hundreds.
- else, just cycle ur tank and u wouldnt need to worry about ammonia,nitrite and nitrate. PH i on the other hand is different. some of the aquarist rely on drop checker for pH.

2) do i need to get a thermometer? no heater required right?
- no heater required definitely in Malaysia even if u have goldfish. heh...
- thermometer as ciohbu said, if you want to see ur water temperature.

3) i already set up myself a 5g plastic tank to be used as my first try planted aquarium for a betta tank,
got meself a few aquatic plants, some small soil pebbles( not sure the type and name),
a filtration system and still doing a full tank recycle process thing and adding my bettas into it(bettas seemed to be happy with the new bigger space and no side effect even though havent finished the full cycle) and install a submersible light rated 16w with white-ish and blueish somesort of flickering light...is it good for the plants? cant see those small bubbles on the plant leaves, is this means that they cant do photosynthesis?  do i need to buy another extra lighting of the same kind or totally change to a new one? if change lighting, what would you recommend since i got myself a small tank.
- 5gal is around 1ft size tank. it's good enough for betta.
- how small is your pebbles and what plants do u have? photos might help.
- submersible? why submersible light?
- those bubbles are called 'pearlings'. not all plants you can see pearlings. and not in all tank. high lights tank for sure will see even from a moss. low tech tank might not but that doesnt means no photosynthesis happens. as long they're not brownish (melted), they're good just growing slow.
- get a new lighting i would recommend. try to find lighting that on top of ur tank. 1ft, i would DIY that lighting because kinda hard to get a proper light for 1ft but not impossible anyway. i have one... 24W bought 2nd hand from mudah.my tongue.gif

4) So if i was intending to keep a school of RCS army, i heard they (invertebrates) can die even with a little bit of copper. how do you detect copper in water?
im planning of using 10-20% of dechlorinate tap water (for minerals) + 80-90% RO water (to prevent copper poisoning), is this ok for RCS?
how do you get rid of those copper in water? do you use heavy duty anti-chlorine? can recommend me one?
They dont require heater right the RCS?
- yup.. u are correct. invertebrates easily die with copper.
- i personally dont like to use RO water because it's fully distilled even with the beneficial stuff in it. just use anti-chlorine or get your tap water stays in a bucket for overnight before your WC. but these are for my planted fish tank. not shrimp tank... ask those shrimp keepers. they would know better.
- RCS (almost all shrimp) prefer cold water. so no heater required.
- p/s: i hope you do not plan to house betta with RCS together inside your 5gal tank. shakehead.gif

5) Im still looking for any kind of moss(spiky,java,flame etc) for my tank, anyone know where i can find them in Subang Jaya? already go round  and round
in Subang and all moss are sold out >.< . how much do they cost and how large the quantity is it?
also i notice riccia is a very cool plant, greenish(almost all aquatic looks like that lol) colour and looks like an underwater grass field...do you think i can plant  those in my 5g? heard they need CO2 injector, afraid it will kill the shrimps in the process and putting extra water pump might make the flow water a bit rough for my schools of bettas. advice?

- just one post above urs, sisaiko is letting go some extra mosses. heh.. PM him.
- or since you're in Subang and looking for moss, goto to NA (Natural Aquatic World). here's the address: No. 17, Jalan SS19/6, 47500 Subang Jaya or CLICK HERE for google map. unfortunately, i dont think they can tell you which moss is what moss accurately (you'll know why) but no worries, moss isnt so expensive. around RM5-7 per palm size.
- riccia, is a small little bugger. they do not grow roots means they do not attach to anything. be ready to keep trimming them low or prepare for them to float (after some time). they would do well without Co2 injection (personal experience) but with co2, the growth rate would be boosted. they need lights but doesnt necessarily high lights. supplement of K (Potassium) is a must.
- why do u need extra pumps for Co2?

This post has been edited by usermode: Feb 7 2012, 08:35 AM
usermode
post Feb 7 2012, 10:41 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Feb 7 2012, 10:02 AM)
Just witness something new for the first time last couple nights.. my lobster just changed it ekso-skeleton. At first I thot wat was it doing at the back cos looked like it curled up. Then with big jump, it came out from it's old shell.

Was a nice view and experience for me smile.gif
i think it's called molting. same happens to shrimps as well.
usermode
post Feb 8 2012, 09:52 AM

25 posts

where is tat? got google map ah? or full address? hu hu hu... always love to know new shopping place~!!! (happy.gif)
usermode
post Feb 8 2012, 10:21 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(acam2812 @ Feb 8 2012, 10:19 AM)
i post my tank setup tonight. Nooby here.
ho ho ho... cool!! looking forward to it biggrin.gif
usermode
post Feb 8 2012, 12:33 PM

25 posts

RANDOM SHOTS

usermode
post Feb 9 2012, 12:57 AM

25 posts

ho yeah...!!! what a great night after office.

- reached home from office.
- make coffee, sit in front tank to enjoy it for a while.
- turn on the lights and...
- walla..!!! shocking.gif my 'die-hard' GHA suddenly having a massive outbreak all-over my tank.
- wondering what did i do wrong this morning before i left while monitoring the tank closely to find the culprit...
- .... after pulling a short CSI scene, i found one of my orange shrimp stucked-dead in my filter inlet. duhh...~!!!

i guess due to that dead shrimp, the phosphate/ammonia (or whatever stuff that decaying things release) going up sky high. haiz... spent a good 3 hours to clean as much GHA as i can and 50% WC. i love u "mr. dead orange shrimp".... now im tired.
usermode
post Feb 9 2012, 09:57 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(weijie @ Feb 9 2012, 09:05 AM)
Usermode:
what is your aquarium size? one dead shrimp shouldn't cause much problem to a aquarium bigger than 1feet.
3ft with direct sunlight till early afternoon and continue on 254watts PLL above it till evening.

heh, size of the tank is nothing except space during scape but the specs and balance in the tank determines the tank health.
the hair algae is already there (just kept minimized as much as i can atm). but this tank have been monitored closely so far and no serious issue happens. but if something goes wrong in the water parameter and worse, UNATTENDED.... ah, FML. anyway, nvm la... at least i was going to do WC anyway yesterday. just having an 'extra longer' steps.

This post has been edited by usermode: Feb 9 2012, 11:13 AM
usermode
post Feb 9 2012, 03:33 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Feb 9 2012, 02:12 PM)
scary to hear so much time spent on planted. I know I'm not gonna be able to do it, that's why staying away for now
Need so much love and passion sweat.gif

btw, my 1.5ft tank, seems to be losing 1 inch of water level every 3 days or so. What's the rate of the rest of you and how often do you do WC or replenishment? I just recently saw that other tanks filled water near to the top whereas I only filled up to 70-80%. I did this cos been thinking this is the way as I watched my dad did like this before. prolly was scared the fish may jump out of the tank. Need to relearn biggrin.gif I think I need to adjust my DIY Fan so it stands vertical on top later
aloh.. once a while like that. that's where the fun in this hobby tongue.gif else it'll be quite boring rite? hahahaha....!!!! (but when failed to control, that's the fu**ed up part).

- my tanks that using fan, i'll topup water every 2-3 days. losing 1inch of water in that timeframe is normal for tank with fan.
- WC, depends on the tank stability, age and specs. i do WC on my matured tank once a week. new tank, twice a week. low tech, once a month.
- i filled my water almost reaching the top as well. fishes dont really jump out of water unless something is wrong with your water or that species is a jumper. so choose ur fishes according to your tank. big fish like arowana also not adviseable to have high level water. full water level in a scape tank for me, because when u have a clean and clear water, u are like looking at a nature through glass only. like no water in it. hehehe... it;s more nicer to look at ur tank without the water level line.
- a fan positioned slightly tilted (30 degrees or so) will have a wider blowing area compare to those straight horizontal. if you put vertical, where the fan will blow? wall? XD

usermode
post Feb 9 2012, 11:20 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Feb 9 2012, 08:07 PM)
just found myself a check valve. not many LFS here want to play with CO2
btw, any JB guys around here??
i think check valve is pretty common in LFS. check valve is not only for co2. it's being used for airpump as well.
i am from JB but i am not staying there. it's my hometown now. LOL!!... but do u know there's 3 VIP aquascape sifu around JB actually? hehehe...
usermode
post Feb 10 2012, 05:52 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Feb 10 2012, 10:19 AM)
ah great to know
yeah about the water level, only now i learn. guess i've been following my dad's tradition until only recently saw what the rest are doing..
sorry on the fan, i meant now it's vertical, need to adjust with bit of angle to horizontal
my fan is DIY fan with a heavy duty paper clip onto the aquarium top and is actually inside my tank! blowing parallel to the surface of the water now

anyone got idea any tools (Clip) that are bendable or anything. My mod is nice and cheap but now after seeing the water level, I need to remod smile.gif

thx
- i use curtain railing clip for my fan. my fan also DIY tongue.gif

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Feb 10 2012, 11:25 AM)
thx sifus..  notworthy.gif

btw, this is my tank.. a nano tank as an experience for my planted aqua.

- why at an angle shot? full-front shot please tongue.gif
usermode
post Feb 10 2012, 06:15 PM

25 posts

how nano it is? that looks like a wall-attached tank. i never saw these kind of tank in size less than 1ft tongue.gif
usermode
post Feb 11 2012, 01:43 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Feb 10 2012, 07:13 PM)
500mm x 100mm x 240mm
(Length x width x height)
it still consider as nano right?  whistling.gif
..err.. ok. to me, it's nano tongue.gif

QUOTE(HCTH @ Feb 11 2012, 12:41 AM)
hi all pet wonderlanders. any filter suggestion for a 4 feet aquarium ?
eheim 2215 or 2217 (if you got extra cash). if u want to cut some cost, go for China cannister filter with minimum flowrate 150litre/hour at least.

usermode
post Feb 11 2012, 02:20 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Feb 11 2012, 01:46 AM)
LOL..
for sure loh.. you wont play smaller than 4ft aqua  whistling.gif
sot jor... i dont even own a 4ft and above tank (sleep.gif!)

Added on February 11, 2012, 2:21 am
QUOTE(HCTH @ Feb 11 2012, 01:56 AM)
whoa how much is those selling. i now owned a eco. but seems not power enuf
sorry bro, im not sure about their pricing because i never plan or needs to have one. my tanks isnt that big.. LOL!!

This post has been edited by usermode: Feb 11 2012, 02:21 AM
usermode
post Feb 11 2012, 11:12 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(korean_girlsclub @ Feb 11 2012, 10:06 AM)
if plan to planted tank then just simple filter is good enough because plant is good filtering system. im having 4ft tank and im using RM20 filter only and WC for 10 months just top up water every 3 days
i hope many do not get the wrong perception about filteration system and i wont go on ur WC once in 10 month.

filter is the heart of your tank. take care of the filter, it will take care of your water, water will take care of your plants and plants will take care of your faunas.
the use of filter is NOT MAINLY focus on filtering debris. yes, plants can be considered as part of filteration system because they might help neutralized your water by consuming excess phosphates, but do plants helps in carrying ur nutrients and co2 across ur tank? do plants makes a good BB colonizations? the answer is no.

why you need a good filteration system?

- for a good BB colonization.
- to creates waterflow to carry your co2 and nutrients across the tank.
- filtering floating debris in your water.
- creating water current or surface agitation for gas exchange in the tank.
- with BB colonized in ur filter and with a correct litre/hour rate, your tank water will always been taken care of from excess ammonia and nitrates (or nitrites? sorry.. im confused with names) that would harm your fishes and triggering algae.
- for easier cleaning and maintenance.
- and so much more to be related to for a healthy tank.

if i have to choose only one thing to spend the most for my tank, i'd choose filter over any other thing else.
usermode
post Feb 11 2012, 01:29 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(playerseeker @ Feb 11 2012, 01:18 PM)
hey usermode..u back active again in aquascaping?? lol..how's your aquascaping dream doing?? Achieved already??
LOL.. not back active. just back in the community. never left my tank.... and my dream, no i didnt. hahaha.... because after i move house, i cant seem to have enough space for 6ft tank unfortunately >_< so just scape as usual... tongue.gif

Added on February 11, 2012, 1:45 pm
QUOTE(korean_girlsclub @ Feb 11 2012, 01:11 PM)
My tank is 4f and i didnt change my water since 10 months, ammonia taster showing 0 ammonia and plants are growing well and fishes and shrimps are not dying. RM20 filter can do filtering also (clean the sponge weekly), waterflow and carry co2 thes why i feel nothing wrong on cheap filter

what i concern here is try not to spend so much money to get a filter.  and try to make this hobby simple, eco and easy so that more ppl will like it.
if u feel nothing is wrong, doesnt mean there's nothing is wrong.

u can make every hobby is simple and cheap and expecially in this pet's wonderland, it;s for pet and do u ever notice that plants are 'living things" ?
- u can keep hedgie in a shoebox and leave it in ur storeroom, dump a whole basket of catfood + 1 jug of water and leave them for a month. cheap, and easy.
- u can have sugar glider in ur closet drawer and leave him with an apple for a week food. cheap and easy.
- u can have a dog and leave them stray by itself anywhere anytime as it pleased and tell him "find ur own food in any dustbin from any house and drink longkang water urself... but u are still my dog". cheap and easy...
- u can even adopt a kid, and throw them a lollipop + mineral water every day. cheap and easy also...

for the above examples, do you think that they're thriving and will live happily?

there's another way to cut cost in this hobby by DIY another stuff but so far i never see anyone DIY a filteration system. to keep any living things, be responsible for them. make sure they're as happy as you are. they are living things even tho they're not dead. cutting cost in a smart way. ask around and people will help to guide.

.... but if on the other hand, ur tank is just having a bunch of java fern on top of those colourful pebbles, then yes... sponge filter will do okay.

i am not asking to spend so much on this hobby but i am asking to spend properly for the sake of yourself and those living things you keep. read my signature.

This post has been edited by usermode: Feb 11 2012, 01:46 PM
usermode
post Feb 11 2012, 01:55 PM

25 posts

plus, that guy asking for a filter recommendation for his new 4ft tank and he never mentioned about his budget how much also. so people would suggest the most suitable for the tank la instead of his budget.

if someone asked you "i need a car for a family of 5, which car you would recommend for me to buy?"
would you answer... "no need to waste money paying car loan.. just take bus. can fit more than 20 people also... cheap and easy mah."

... the heck?

Added on February 11, 2012, 1:55 pm
QUOTE(playerseeker @ Feb 11 2012, 01:51 PM)
I see...i've retired from this hobby already...sold off everything but then it is good to see many people have such passion.. good good
btw, i agree with Usermode, sometime we cant know whether they are happy or not by seeing whether they are dying or not. IF they start to die, it is too late for you to do anything already. It is better to get something basic right 1st smile.gif But for me, i'd invest money into filter system 1st before anything as it is the heart of aquascaping. Well, this just IMHO tho smile.gif
LOL... retired? ceh... why?

This post has been edited by usermode: Feb 11 2012, 01:56 PM
usermode
post Feb 11 2012, 03:17 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(sang gemok @ Feb 11 2012, 02:05 PM)
hahaha. what a funny situation there jowo. tengah2 hari ni lebih sedap membangkong daripada bergadoh. hahaha. bagus gak cite ko nih bro. biar org paham. samelah kes bela anak. org sekarang nih. apelah. merantai anak, kasi dok kt tandas. alasan, sebab pegi keje.xd org jage anak. wtf?? siot jer. xbertamadun tol. bila anak da besar xingat kt dia, ckp si anak tuh kacang lupekan kulit. mane la kacang xlupekan kulit? kulit yang lupekan kacang dulu. ape r diorg nih. xde otak tol
isk.. mana ada gado. cam ko cakap la.. basically memberi penerangan secara tegas yang mudah untuk difahami.
he he he... pasal kes tuh, itu dah off topic sangat dah. tapi berita tuh memang teruk lah. memang tak patut...

QUOTE(playerseeker @ Feb 11 2012, 02:21 PM)
HAHAHA....no passion anymore..lol..and seriously no time for it...lol
alamak... do low-tech la. relax only ma... tongue.gif

QUOTE(HCTH @ Feb 11 2012, 02:46 PM)
wah calm down calm down i just asking for sum opinion.bout budget i tinking if below 300 can get a not. or i have to sacrifice my eco pro den top up. but mostly is tat i duno wat model is gud n reliable

eheim - i used before its advantage is many parts. easy to get separately. in their website i also can find malaysia as their location.

fluval - seems cheap but unsure if next time spareparts is east to get a not. here malaysia duno got ppl do supply a not including its spare parts.

china brand - i can consider as long as no leak.
hehe, no worries. im not in a flame-mode anyway. just basically explaining to her in a way that easily for her and anyone else to see the picture.
btw, since u've experience with cannister filter, then nothing much la. for rm300 budget, u can scrapped away my suggestion for eheim. LOL!!! it's totally out even 2nd hand. i am not really sure fluval or china brand can get or not in that price but as long the flowrate minimum 150l/hour and above, you should be good.

i personally never used fluval but i dont mind go for china brand anyway... in fact, 2 of my tanks is using china filter and so far okay. hahahaha.... (no money also for all eheim).

This post has been edited by usermode: Feb 11 2012, 03:19 PM
usermode
post Feb 11 2012, 07:27 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Feb 11 2012, 07:22 PM)
1920hrs, 11.02.2012.

Dear Planteners,

Today i accomplished my mission to get myself a 1liter++ of ADA Africana Soil for rm10. However i have to tahan malu coz the seller said i cant make planted aqua in my current aqua. i have sad  cry.gif

The end...

BTW,
make love, not war  icon_rolleyes.gif
why cannot make planted in ur current tank? my nano tank is 18cm cube and i still can have it planted (and scaped some more). ur tank way more bigger than mine. ... and what the heck is planteners? LOL!!! hmm.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0239sec    1.01    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:00 PM