Planted Aquarium V7, not just fish with water anymore

usermode
post Feb 12 2012, 03:36 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Feb 11 2012, 07:56 PM)
hmm.gif
or maybe i should address us as gardener..

sifu usermode,
can post some photos of ur nanotank? maybe i can copy ur idea  whistling.gif

notworthy.gif
first of all, i am not sifu... im like you also. still learning.
my nano tank is not same size with urs. but some is smaller and some is wider, etc. but here are all my nano tanks:

std 1.5ft tank (45cm)
(old photo..lazy to take photo of new one. my first scape tank)

std 1.5ft tank (45cm)

18cm cube
user posted image user posted image

QUOTE(HCTH @ Feb 11 2012, 10:10 PM)
usermode wher u get ur china canister. i cant get a big 1 here. my location kl wangsa maju
errr... i already told u, i dont have 4ft tank so i never search for such filter and my current filter is not for 4ft. try to go to NA Subang. they are pro and reputable LFS and also carry a wide range of stuff for aquascapers. maybe they could help you out to get your filter.

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Feb 12 2012, 02:52 AM)
got a noob question here,

why should i use ADA soil substrate or any other good substrate and avoid using small pebbles and sands only as my main substrate?
is it got to do with the fertilizer thingy?

- ADA Aquasoil are rich with nutrients and even micros like iron. it's formulated not to leach any color to the water column expecially Amazonia II. some type of ADA aquasoil have the feature to lower down pH and kH. they also have few types like Amazonia, Africana and Malaya and differs in color, granule size and amount of the organic elements in it.
- avoid using pebbles if you're planning to plant carpetting plants like HC, HG or glosso. they need more tighter and smaller granules for the roots to hold and most importantly, stay without floating. but u still can plant stem plants in sand as long u provide enough base ferts. ferns and mosses, they only take nutrients from water column and they also do not require to be buried. so these 2 types of plant, u can even have a bare bottom tank and they still can thrive.

This post has been edited by usermode: Feb 12 2012, 03:38 AM
usermode
post Feb 12 2012, 11:45 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Feb 12 2012, 11:32 AM)
add on : u dont even use co2 on your 1st 2 tank. izzit???
and this nutrients from water column, how can we provide them?
- i have co2 on both tank. but not the 3rd one.
- nutrients in water column: liquid ferts.

p/s: hehehe... it's okay, i am javanese also and yes, i love tempe tongue.gif

This post has been edited by usermode: Feb 12 2012, 11:46 AM
usermode
post Feb 12 2012, 01:59 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Feb 12 2012, 12:36 PM)
huhu... couldnt see your co2 line.
thumbup.gif
it was under the gravel.

....... LOL!! just kidding. it was taken out for cleaning that time along side with all the other equipments. plus, i dont really like to see equipments in my tank photo (except lily pipe).

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Feb 12 2012, 12:36 PM)
for moss and fern, i just need to dose them with nutrient, enough??
cant wait to get mine from sifu sisaiko
yup... just squirt it in ur tank accordingly.
usermode
post Feb 12 2012, 04:51 PM

25 posts

i only can help answer few of the questions...

QUOTE(kurangak @ Feb 12 2012, 03:26 PM)
hi...im newb to aquascaping here....i hav several questions for u guys, hope u can answer me

1. i hav 1.5ft tank, im currently using eheim liberty 200 HOB filter, it the filter any good?

2.a) what is the temperament of Hong Kong lobster?
b) can it be in the same tank as shrimps or tetra?
c) is it hard to be keep?

3. im planning to do a diy co2. is it hard to be done?is it any good?

4. im planning to do a diy peltier cooler. is it do-able? anybody in this forum has any success in doing it?

4. how to treat thread algae issue?anybody has any experience?

5. let say im rescaping my tank, can i reuse my ADA substrate/top it up with same kind of substrate?

thanx in advance sifus!
1 - im not experienced with that particular eheim HOB but with 1.5ft, i also using HOB (not eheim) and so far no issue. eheim should perform better.

2 - im no shrimp expert. someone else will answer u on this.

3 - it's easy and cheap. it would perform as pressurized co2 as well. just with higher more maintenance (keep doing it and shaking it).

4 - what is peltier cooler?

4 (not 5?) - i believe almost all aquarist will face thread/hair algae. easy to remove, but hard to eliminate totally. just remove it manuall using hand or toothbrush. increase your co2 or add some excel or other liquid carbon in ur tank. the most impotant, get your tank balanced in nutrient dosing > lights > co2 > ammonia. i never success eliminating HA from my tanks but the most, keep them at bay and minimize their growth as much as u can. help your plants to compete with them.

Black mollies will eat established HA as long u starve them. SAE will eat the young ones and also keep your tank in check to keep the newly growth HA. 1.5ft tank, i would have at least 3-4 SAE minimum to be effective.

if your tank have a serious issue with it, u can try Blackout for few days.

5 . yes u can as long it's not yet becoming mud or too old (3-4 years?).

This post has been edited by usermode: Feb 12 2012, 04:52 PM
usermode
post Feb 12 2012, 09:23 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Feb 12 2012, 07:21 PM)
something like this

- i believe there's people in MAC and here done this. i am not good in this kind of thing, so cant advice much.

let say im doing it in 5.5L mineral water bottle. how long will it lasts?

- that's like engine oil bottle shocking.gif i never saw such big bottle DIY Co2 before ... anyway, last time my 2 x 1l coke bottle co2 lasts me about 3-4 days only. LOL!!!... sweat.gif

my aquarium temp now is around 27-28 deg C, how low can i lower my temp using a cpu fan, n will my shrimp be able to thrive in it?

- the most u can get is 26C and if you're lucky during rainy days perhaps, can get to 25C.

what is the best for carpet-like foreground plant if im dosing seachem excel or api co2 booster only, no CO2 (this two product got glutaraldehyde inside it rite? wont it kill the beneficial bacteria? just wondering) some say glosso, some say HC, im confused.

- here's the thing... both glosso and HC to me considered a medium to high-lights plant. with more lights, plants requires more Co2 for photosynthesize. without Co2 but high lights, high chances you'll trigger GSA or greenwater and maybe more other algae will come with other nutrients u dose.
- both plant is not suitable for low-tech tank IMO.
- Without sufficient lights on the other hand (if you try to balance ur tank without co2), glosso might grow tall instead of carpetting and HC might melt before new shoots came out especially in the initial stage of planting.
- you can opt for Elatine Gratioloides, Marsilea Hirsuta or Lileopsis. They might grow slow, but it makes a good low-tech carpets.

btw usermode-san, ur 2nd 1.5ft tank is really beautiful.i believe u've made a video of it pearling in utube, rite?  shocking.gif  drool.gif  shocking.gif  drool.gif

- thanks... yes, i've uploaded its video in youtube.

sorry for asking alot of question. ive read alot of articles in the internet, just that the more i read, the more confused i became  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

- hahaha...!! even i also having that problem still. that's why i decided to just go on with what i believe after i read, then learn from experience myself.

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Feb 12 2012, 08:13 PM)
abg jawa, ni bukan noob punye keje  whistling.gif
bukan expert juge... masih belajar dan berkongsi ape yang aku tau dari tank-tank aku yang 'hantam' aje tu. XD
usermode
post Feb 12 2012, 10:09 PM

25 posts

QUOTE("sisaiko")
algae is trigger for us, if its exist in our tank, something is not right

- i am sooooooooo agree with this. i dont have any test kit (even i dont have dropchecker). plants, algae and fishes are my test kit. LMAO!! tongue.gif
usermode
post Feb 12 2012, 10:45 PM

25 posts

oi oi oi.... not as lab rat lah.. XD
usermode
post Feb 13 2012, 11:29 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(shinshishio @ Feb 13 2012, 11:04 AM)
animal abuse!! report to ISA!! hahaha  drool.gif
ISA been abolished... XD

usermode
post Feb 13 2012, 10:02 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(shinshishio @ Feb 13 2012, 11:56 AM)
abolished? what is abolished? damn cold-head-winter-effect

- means ur dearest PM Najib already said it is no more and close down on last year Malaysia Day... hahahaha!!! (but just say only to abolished, last December already put in 12 more new people. mcb).

QUOTE(kurangak @ Feb 13 2012, 05:23 PM)
-20 to -35 in moscow rite? damn cold i know...if u walk out on the street, even ur snot can turn into ice lol...

btw usermode-san... can u show me what kind of lighting u had for ur 1.5' tank? please... tongue.gif

edit :- my glosso is melting  cry.gif been planting it for 10 days now... but funny coz some of it come out new 'pucuk' already, any idea how to control dis melting? im scared later all melt... TT_TT
so far i got only glosso in my tank...no fish too...
- my 1.5ft tank was used as my 'playground' tank. not as display tank. so i put 2 x 1.5ft side by side and use 2 x 3ft lights (4 x 36W). basically each tank is receiving 72W.
- assuming u plant ur glosso in a right way in the first place, ur glosso is melting most probably because of the conversion from emersed to submerged. if it totally melted, ur new leaf also will melt as well (or u wont even get any 'pucuk'). during this initial stage, pay close attention to ur tank and hopefully u managed to have more 'pucuk' before the old leaves dead or else, say good bye to ur glosso. LOL!!!
usermode
post Feb 14 2012, 12:20 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Feb 13 2012, 11:38 PM)
So what should i do? Cut those melting leaves? Leave it be? Should i do water change? How frequent? Sry if i ask too much..i wanna learn but duwan to experiment on my beloved glosso...kinda feel attached to them already...watching them reviving from semi dead state, sprouting new leaf, n then come this melting issue... T_T

Btw where did u all get ur deco stones? U guys bought it?
- this is just me la... (not a pro advise.. just personal way), i'd leave it and just take care of the tank without touching it. LOL!!! 10 days is just too early to know anyway. i'd leave it at least 2 weeks minimum and if after that still no new growth and only melting keep going on, i'd plant new one (and of course figuring out what did i do wrong like increasing co2, lightings, etc). LOL!!!
- and yes... most of us bought the stones. very few that are super hardcore would go out in the nature and find it themselves, then treat the stones/woods. it's just superbly ma fan.. sweat.gif
usermode
post Feb 14 2012, 11:02 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(weijie @ Feb 14 2012, 08:48 AM)
it is very hard to find a suitable light with correct power for 1.5feet tank.
Maybe you can make another 1.5feet and buy one set 3feet light set? LOL~

And yes, we usually brought the stones from store.
One thing that i notice is that those stone you collected from waterfall are from different colors (some red/grey/black/white stripes), they does not fit each other if you are trying to make landscape design.
Most probably you will found bogwoods in waterfall area only.
- hahaha... that's what i do for my both 1.5ft tank. use 3ft lights tongue.gif can get more lights also.. hu hu uh!!!
- and the only things i always looking for at waterfall are mosses (and plants if im lucky).

oh, btw weijie bro... let me know if u want to borrow my UV filter for ur tank if u still dont have any. It's an old UV filter (1 year+ ) but just being used once for 3-4 days. i think the bulb still okay since not used.

This post has been edited by usermode: Feb 14 2012, 11:04 AM
usermode
post Feb 14 2012, 11:29 AM

25 posts

of course la can... because i also not using it at the moment. my UV filter is just for any of my tank if kena greenwater. LOL!!! if not i also didnt use it... (and after that one time, i never got greenwater.. so i also feel kinda wasted also).

jsut let me know if u want to borrow it and when u wanna take it. i need to 'selongkar' my storeroom to find it back. it's somewhere in the dark room.. LOL!!! XD
usermode
post Feb 16 2012, 12:14 AM

25 posts

@Luqee,

1 - looks like somekind of ramshorn snail. i am not a snail experts so cant give exact names. i guess it's no harm to ur community tank as long u can bear with the eggs and more of them since from my limited knowledge, ramshorn is an egglayers.

2 -
a) looks like rotala indica to me and the behind one maybe is ludwigia ovalis.
b) one of the cabomba family (they all looks alike anyway).

3 - not sure what lights is that (the one that like rugby ball). i never see any rugby-alike MH lights. photos might help. as for the xenon, if u can get it for free (since it's in recycled bin).. u still can use it. people dont use it because of the price mostly. i am not sure about the electricity consumption as i never used it before but i wouldnt use it just because of it's beamed and not really widespread unless u have more of them on top of ur tank so the light would spread evenly (which again... expensive and for its price, can go for a good actual aquarium lights like MH).

Added on February 16, 2012, 12:15 amanyway, im no expert in all ur questions... so i stand to be corrected by anyone (especially #1 and #3).

This post has been edited by usermode: Feb 16 2012, 12:15 AM
usermode
post Feb 16 2012, 09:53 AM

25 posts

err.. the shrimp news really a shocking one. shocking.gif
luckily (or unluckily?) i'm not shrimp-players... well, because erm, simply put... shrimp god hates me i guess. LOL!! so the news doesnt affecting me so much. according to our daikor, king Stan, almost all LFS in Malaysia stocking plants from one same supplier. which i dont know where.... but Stan already posted something like this in MAC rite? where he already talked to the farm owner regarding this kind of case as well (happens recently to our Malaysian hobbyist as well).

QUOTE(weijie @ Feb 16 2012, 09:12 AM)
oh.. haha. i seldom buy from local fish shop geh.
the only place i buy my plants is NA ss19. other shops i dont trust them.
if possible then just buy from other planted tank hobbyist.

P.S.: do not buy from AquaShop in Lelong. i had bad experience dealing with them.
- i almost bought some downoi from AquaShop couple of weeks ago. Since downoi isnt a cheap plant so I'm concerned about his delivery methods. But didnt buy it because one MACer is selling few days after that (nutralife). Bought from him... fresh from farm in submerged version, handed over by hand and way more cheaper. ho ho ho... buying from hobbyist is always the best option for me tongue.gif weijie, later when we meet again... tell me the story about the AquaShop. saw in their catalgue, they have quite a number of plants also.
usermode
post Feb 16 2012, 02:07 PM

25 posts

sisaiko, the first pic definitely not pogostemon... i had that plant before. thrown away because doesnt suit my scape after grown. but i am very sure not belong in any pogostemon family.
usermode
post Feb 16 2012, 02:35 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Feb 16 2012, 02:33 PM)
mind to explain wht do u mean by sucker plant??
hmm.gif
i believe what sisaiko means by sucker plant is a temporary plant to suck-up nutrients during initial stage of planting.

usermode
post Feb 16 2012, 08:34 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Feb 16 2012, 08:20 PM)
only setup my tank for 4 days, now all the plant already affected with spiderweb look a like thing. even my marimo..

i think it too early to introduce sae..

should i try this cambomba??
always no harm trying.... smile.gif but it wont solve ur problem in just a day... heh.
usermode
post Feb 19 2012, 06:17 PM

25 posts

wow... really lucky to get otto eggs... >_< that's something to brag about.. LOL!!!

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0463sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:53 AM