4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V4 °°,, The Power Of Hybrid. Owners Welcome ! !

mrsafwan
post Sep 10 2011, 01:23 AM

hi. i just booked my insight today, after weeks of research and reading on the net, not to mention test drove the car at 3 different sales centres, finally i made up my mind and booked this car...my predicament doesnt end there, coz after that i am back at decision making process of selecting which color i want pulak. want black, dont have stock, in the end, took up blue color.

anyway, hi. hope i can share my experience later in this thread.

"GO GREEN"
mrsafwan
post Sep 10 2011, 10:19 PM

http://www.insightman.com/mag_photos/2010_press.htm

insight development phase
mrsafwan
post Sep 13 2011, 03:26 PM

http://blogs.insideline.com/roadtests/2009...walkaround.html

check this one out.

Added on September 13, 2011, 3:28 pm"The Honda Insight's brakes use a single-piston sliding caliper and a one-piece ventilated rotor. The term "regenerative braking" is associated with hybrids, but that's an independent electricfied version of engine braking that has nothing whatsoever to do with the standard brake system, which operates in an utterly normal way"

it uses the crank rotation to charge the battery eh, instead of the brake itself.

Added on September 13, 2011, 3:31 pmi'm getting my insight this friday, do we need to 'break-in' the engine? what speed? coz i plan to go straight back to perak for the holiday. leceh la if have to 'break in' at slow speed

This post has been edited by mrsafwan: Sep 13 2011, 03:31 PM
mrsafwan
post Sep 13 2011, 03:55 PM

ok, thanks chizzu and watonk, i'll keep that in mind

Added on September 13, 2011, 4:00 pmerr what's Creep Aid?

some more checking out activity

http://www.insideline.com/honda/insight/20...pact-coupe.html

http://www.insideline.com/honda/hybrid/goa...arly-sales.html

This post has been edited by mrsafwan: Sep 13 2011, 04:00 PM
mrsafwan
post Sep 14 2011, 07:55 AM

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 13 2011, 11:51 PM)
got this for my insight. tongue.gif

white color looks nice in car.

http://www.sharp.com.my/product.php?ProductID=IGBC2E
how much?
mrsafwan
post Sep 14 2011, 11:44 PM

SHOCKINGG !!!

THIS GUY IN JAPAN WENT ON EV MODE FOR A FULL 3MIN+ . SPEED 30KM/H

correct me if im wrong coz i dont understand japanese.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y_OoNVAbntw&feature=related
mrsafwan
post Sep 19 2011, 10:45 AM

Got my dyno blue pearl on 15/9. straight went back to kampung and "ter" reach speed at 150km/h. done first service and immediately "ter" reach speed of 180km/h.

fc getting around 19-20km/l. no complaints. love every bit of the car.

have i damaged my car with such high speed?

Added on September 19, 2011, 11:07 ami wonder if our insight was caught in a flash flood. will that damage the IPU (as it located at the lower part of the trunk?)

will water find its way into the compartment or is it watertight? . dang i look at the news of flash flood and i started to think abt the IPU, scare the tutt out of me

does insurance cover it? water damage to IPU.

furthermore, can we wash the engine bay?? coz a lot of wiring and gadgetary n fancy electronic stuff is in there.

This post has been edited by mrsafwan: Sep 19 2011, 11:07 AM
mrsafwan
post Sep 19 2011, 12:24 PM

QUOTE(eltaria @ Sep 19 2011, 11:32 AM)
FC 19-20 at 180kmph? sleep.gif
ya, i hit 180km/h for a few seconds onli. after that 115-120.
mrsafwan
post Sep 20 2011, 09:53 AM

QUOTE(chidorizzz @ Sep 20 2011, 07:55 AM)
they got ready stock but only white n black color.. i want blue~~ icon_rolleyes.gif 
Wah? got rm500 discount ka.. better check with my SA.

I donno anything about 2012 budget rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif .. busy working~ cry.gif ... the price will increase or wat?
blue lawa. very rare on the road. he he he (puji my car nampak)

Added on September 20, 2011, 9:54 am
QUOTE(rigmortis @ Sep 19 2011, 10:19 PM)
You are getting the car after budget 2012 is announced?

Anyway, changes wont take place immediately. I hope you wont get affected and I wish you luck, sir!!

There are ready stocks everywhere. Unless you are looking anything deeper than the standard RM500 discount, there is no point waiting so long.

I got 2.65% 9 year loan from Hong Leong Bank. You can try Affin or Maybank. I heard they are quite competitive.
i've got 2.60% from affin bank.

Added on September 20, 2011, 9:56 am
QUOTE(rajamohdrafy @ Sep 19 2011, 06:02 PM)
Ter-reach speed 150 kph huh? Uh oh, you reached that speed during break in period eh?   shocking.gif   I thought on 1st few pages of the manual warned about driving below certain speed for the 1st 1000 km or you may affect the car (i am not sure what exactly, but you may refer your manual) for its lifetime...  unsure.gif

Good question on engine washing..  nod.gif  i have been thinking about the same thingy too. i am sure water shouldnt be allowed to get to the battery side at the rear compartment of the car. the boot i am not sure... we may need to go back to the Manual to find out. There's the IMA motor in there...
i think i'm not only break-in the car i break-the-car already. he he

i suppose wiping the engine with a micro-fiber cloth by 3m would suffice. provided there is not much water stain in there. i think the bay is sufficiently covered from external water splasing hence minimal cleaning.

Added on September 20, 2011, 9:59 am
QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 19 2011, 10:13 PM)
same as me, i am driving dyno blue pearl as well, it is rather rare on the road as comparing to white. almost see no other blue one on the road other than my one.  thumbup.gif

ya, at first i wanted black, but since the stock will arrive sometime in mid-oct i settled for blue instead. a wise decision because now i think i love this blue color. its darker, i supposed thats what the "II" insignia signifies (a more darker blue).

This post has been edited by mrsafwan: Sep 20 2011, 09:59 AM
mrsafwan
post Sep 21 2011, 09:31 AM

anyone using MEX on a daily basis? issit just me or the IMA system really malas to work on this hiway. the IMA doesnt assist much, eventhough im climbing an inclination..most of the time the IMA is in charging mode (though im going uphill)..

or im getting paranoid with my own car.

help
mrsafwan
post Sep 21 2011, 10:29 AM

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Sep 21 2011, 10:07 AM)
It is normal laaa... IMA is not design for highway high speed cruise... the 1.3 engine is sufficient for it....

IMA works great on low speed and usually will stop working above 120km/h unless you floor the throttle lah then IMA will kick in on acceleration then soon after that will go back to sleep...

reason : our car 1.3 engine is very cost efficient on highway cruise...
yeah..hope i can stop thinking too much abt it. thanks
mrsafwan
post Sep 22 2011, 11:38 AM

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 21 2011, 08:35 PM)

Added on September 21, 2011, 8:42 pm

serious because that time i drove to KL and Penang, my speed is abt 160 but IMA battery did kick in all the time. and acceleration is good comparing to my sold NHC.
last nite drive in puchong..the engine is doing all the work, but the ima is either off or on charging mode, when accelerating, the assist was very minimum then back to charging pulak. i end up having my ima batery full..puchong where got hilly areas sgt (im talking LDP).

mrsafwan
post Sep 26 2011, 08:52 AM

QUOTE(paull98 @ Sep 26 2011, 04:50 AM)
Hi fellow insighter,

Just want to find out what was the package you guys opt for when first paying booking for this car, I just paid booking to the SA since he offered me 1k discount and a full tank of fuel then the other SA tried to undercut sale by telling me i should be getting 12 months free service and V-kool elite + RM500 discount.
wow, what a deal.

Added on September 26, 2011, 8:56 am
QUOTE(iphone @ Sep 22 2011, 04:14 PM)
anyone know where is that reverse sensor buzzer fixed in the car? I wanna relocate it so that only audible from inside the car.  doh.gif  now engage reverse the car beep like a lorry in reverse. The whole world know I am reversing.  sweat.gif

Added on September 22, 2011, 4:33 pm
hehe nothing beats genuine leather texture and feel   wub.gif
I just love fondling the wheel each time I get into my car.  laugh.gif

what do u use to make your dashboard shine like that. nice.

Added on September 26, 2011, 8:57 am
QUOTE(yipguseng @ Sep 22 2011, 06:31 PM)
anybody having this issue on the steering? the part where the wiper is. It seems quite uneven on the connecting part.

wow man, thats quite big a gap

This post has been edited by mrsafwan: Sep 26 2011, 08:57 AM
mrsafwan
post Sep 26 2011, 10:05 AM

check out my FC http://www.fuelly.com/driver/dynoblue/insight
mrsafwan
post Sep 26 2011, 03:39 PM

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Sep 25 2011, 09:25 PM)
im using osram HID 4200k for main and fog so far no issue at all and liking it so far
The small parking light bulb i change to led look nice so far

Added on September 25, 2011, 9:27 pmFor white car im thinking going for nano coating my friend did it on his peugeot gti white and it is so eady to take care
what is small parking light bulb? which one is that
mrsafwan
post Sep 27 2011, 10:03 AM

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Sep 26 2011, 04:03 PM)
positioning light (the small bulb in your hi-light area)

how much is the HID headlight cost. and the foglight?

is it just plug n play, or need some rewiring. pls advise bro.

thanks.

Added on September 27, 2011, 10:16 amsince my ima is very lazy assisting me on MEX hiway. i have came up with this theory.

hypothesis :
a. ron97 burns better n give better pickup, hence the engine produce more power at the same power band compared to same engine that uses ron95. therefore a ron97 engine more relax than ron95.

b. ima motor assist when the engine need some power (uphil/accelerating).

since im using ron97 since day one, can i assume that my engine performs better, thus requiring IMA to lazyly assist my engine???

im gonna try ron95 in this few week to feel and check out my theory.

Added on September 27, 2011, 10:44 amhttp://www.themotorreport.com.au/6915/the-real-mccoey-on-ron-research-octane-number

This post has been edited by mrsafwan: Sep 27 2011, 10:44 AM
mrsafwan
post Sep 27 2011, 11:17 AM

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Sep 27 2011, 10:47 AM)
but our car ignition timing is based on RON91.... in theory it should make no difference at all... (Reason why RON91 is because thailand petrol is RON91)

you can give it a try but based on my personal experience RON97 or/and RON95 make no difference to our car unless you drive CIVIC Type R lah...
i agree. i have no qualms with ron95. my concern is my IMA. going uphill going on charge, going downhill also on charging. my ima battery end up full lehh..im gonna ask the service centre to have a look.

by the way, regarding ron95 and 97, i have 2 friend using insight and RON95 (both of em). here are simple stat from their fuelly.com data:

(a) their consumption is 6.0L/100km and 5.0L/100 km respectively, while my car is 4.7L/100km (RON97).

(b) cost per km is 9.6cents/km and 11.17 cents/km respectively while my car hovers at 13.1cents/km (RON97).

© for the same 3,000km (average travelling per month) basis, they will consume 150litres of fuel (5.0L/100km), 180litres of fuel (6.L/100km) while my car will only consume 141litres of fuel (4.7litre/100km) RON97.

(d) their average cost (based on 3,000km distance) would be RM285 (5.0litre/100km), RM342 (6.0litre/100km) respectively while i will fork out RM395 (4.7litre/100km).

in conclusion :

(a) ron97 gives slightly better mileage (4.7litre/100km) vs 5.0litre/100km.

(b) since ron97 costs RM2.80/litre, the average cost per km is at 2cents/km extra than RON95. if RON97 is priced at slightly RM2.50/litre i guess RON97 its worthwhile to use.

© for the same 3000km basis, RON97 will have to fork out extra RM50 for the same mileage, consider the extra RM50 for better acceleration and cleaner and smoother engine.

will i use ron97 again? i guess, weighing on the extra cost and the benefit it offers, i will definitely use ron97 for a cleaner and smoother engine in the long run.

all these are facts, compiled via fuelly.com. not some advert feel good feelings.

5.0L/100km (http://www.fuelly.com/driver/insectisight)

6.0L/100km (http://www.fuelly.com/driver/sheen86)

and my fuelly (http://www.fuelly.com/driver/dynoblue/insight)

feel free to discuss. thanks.

mrsafwan
post Sep 27 2011, 11:41 AM

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Sep 27 2011, 11:26 AM)
they have heavy foot you have light foot (Muahahaha)

just joking..........
he he he..true oso...
mrsafwan
post Sep 27 2011, 12:23 PM

QUOTE(STC @ Sep 27 2011, 11:46 AM)
RON95 Shell- Highway- 4.4l/100km
RON95 Petronas - Morning/Evening Jam in KL - 5.9l/100km. So far 300km and there is another half tank of fuel left.

I will be most likely hitting the first 1000km this Saturday.
wow not bad. almost no difference.

mrsafwan
post Sep 28 2011, 08:05 AM

QUOTE(psyeo @ Sep 27 2011, 10:08 PM)
Lol cannot compare to mine la,I'm a bad benchmark, my driving style/condition not the best for FC. My home to office less than 2km with 2 traffic light and 3 junctions. Thus very low speed travel <40km/h and start stop condition. While on highway/longer travel distance sometimes I FLOOR the accelerator for speed of more than 160km/h or when accelerating/overtakin/ hill climbing

Thus my not so good FC tongue.gif

if full tank fully travelling with FC in mind on highway or for longer distance travel, I should definitely be able to achieve <4.7/100km.

Try pressing harder on the accelerator or set it on cruise control while climbing hill, You should see more assist when the car try to maintain the speed
wah, so near..ya i agree with your points. hehehe. i put the fuelly data just for discusion, comparing between those two fuels in terms of cost n savings. i cant say much about the performance though, because there are no benchmark that can be compared of.

when i think of it, yeah, RON95 is better than RON97, and our insight is an awesome fuel sipping machine. even with your driving style, u still manage 6l/100km. if i do that with my previous waja, that would be a disastrous 9-10litre/100km.

i'll try to press the accelerator harder, so far i have been light footed and very concious about accelerating..cannot turn blue, cannot turn blue..hahaha

sorry mate, if i made the reference without your consent.

good day.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0288sec    1.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:12 PM