°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V4 °°,, The Power Of Hybrid. Owners Welcome ! !

iTrump
post Dec 29 2011, 11:37 AM

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Dec 28 2011, 11:15 AM)
Finish my 3rd stages n get the trophy at 11.3k k m

The filter is made in Thailand. Not import from Japan. Go home I take photo n upload here.I believe it should be share with there model also.if car manufacturer always make specific part for every model then is hard for them to earn money.

part number for the filter they replace

the filter being take out

but guys...i check the part number online, it seem like for jazz and city one...and the part number is diff compare to web that is 80291-TF0-E01. tio con?

Added on December 28, 2011, 1:50 pmok...fellows, honestly i not very "song" now after know that the replacement cabin air filter is so expensive and not really actual part for insight. so i write this DIY for u all. it really that simple until gal also can do it.

What tools u need: nothing...just you hands and confirm it wont dirty ur hand at all.

Steps:

1. open ur glove box and remove all things inside
2. check on the top part on the glove box, press in both side and glove box will go down.

3. there is one hook on left bottom that act like a slower when u open ur glove box. just push toward the firewall n the hook will come out

4. after the hook come out, it look like this and ur glove box can open until all ur things drop out (if u no remove them at step 1)

5. now u see the air con blower behind the glove box

6. take out the cover and u will see the filter (my one already remove to snap photo and comparison). pull out ur filter and slot in a new one. make sure the air flow sign is facing down (the sign is on the filter itself).

7. put back the filter cover.
8. install back ur glove box to it ori place.
9. lastly only put back the hook.

Here are the comparison on the ori and the newly replace filter

The ori one have those small black things.

For those who already change the filter during last service, if u dont mind pls check if this also happen to you. If they return u the old filter inside the new filter packing, pls have a look on the part number. If their standard is using 80292-TG0-Q01 to replace our cabin air filter, then i will recommend others go outside and buy this filter urself and DIY. no point paying RM90 (after discount) for such an easy job
Moderator, bring this useful info to the 1st page. thumbup.gif

iTrump
post Jan 2 2012, 01:23 PM

QUOTE(kopmerah @ Jan 2 2012, 12:16 PM)
Just got fc 26++ km/l during hot weather with full blast aircond..and driving like a mad man...traffic is very clear (kajang - cyberjaya)
So you will be getting 30++ if you drive smoothly? lol

iTrump
post Jan 9 2012, 10:40 AM

QUOTE(onesky @ Jan 8 2012, 07:10 PM)
RM99.8k with 1.5k rebate or more but some area is already sold out (that's for year 2011).
I got alert from my honda sales agent.
Honda insight clearance: rebate rm3k or 1.75% interest.
He is from Honda sutera JB

Added on January 9, 2012, 10:55 am
QUOTE(babysmile @ Jan 7 2012, 11:40 AM)

Hope everyone can understand this tutorial. I try to explain as simple as possible.

I divide into 2 parts. Part 1 is installation of Boot Lamp Cover. Part 2 is getting the correct wiring for the boot.

Things you need to get ready to have OEM Honda Insight boot light

1) boot lamp cover Part number 34265-SFE-003.  Another cheaper version part number 34261-S5A-003
2) wiring 5 meter
3) cable ties
4) led bulb ( T10 version )
5) Pen knife
6) Scissor & Black tape
7) Wire coupler (optional)

Difficulty : 3 out of 5
Time spent : 5-6 hours.

Part One : Installing Boot Lamp Cover

Step 1 : Open the boot and locate the plastic cover on left side. Use a flat screwdriver cover with cloth to pry out the plastic cover on the top left corner. There is hole for the purpose to remove the plastic cover.

Step 2 : Check the cover and turn opposite way and see there is a shape which you can create the hole. I use a dremel to drill the hole then sand paper to smooth the edge.

Step 3 : Get the boot lamp cover to match with the plastic cover to ensure it fit properly. 

Part Two : Finding The wiring

Step 1 : Get the negative source -> boot lamp source wire. Open the boot and slowly peel out the black protective rubber on right side. Locate Orange Wire.  Try use wire coupler or expose the orange wire with a new wire to connect our boot lamp. You need around 4 meter. Please do not cut the wire.

Step 2 : Once wire is connected, tidy the wire to the boot lamp location on left side.

Step 3 : You need to dismantle the boot cover, spare tyre, the accessories on the bottom section. Slowly peel the plastic cover one by one .

Step 4 : Locate the positive wire ( Pink color ). Just like step 1, get another wire ( 1 meter ) to link with the positive wire.

Step 5 : plug the wire and connect with the boot lamp. To make it simple, put the pink color on top and orange color on the bottom. Later you shall know which is Positive and which is negative.

Step 6 : Take the boot lamp plastic and connect it with LED light

Step 7 : Test with the LED and the wire connection.

Step 8 : If everything is alrite, assemble back the boot compartment and the boot light is completed.
This is awesome! Thanks for sharing.
Where can we get the boot lamp cover easily?

This post has been edited by iTrump: Jan 9 2012, 10:56 AM
iTrump
post Jan 10 2012, 10:59 AM

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 10 2012, 08:19 AM)
Prius c is a different segment car. Its a jazz competitor and we best look at the spec sheet before deciding.

Added on January 10, 2012, 8:22 am

That the CVT character. Happened to me as well.
For sure, people looking to get a hybrid will take a hard look on prius c. Not like last year... we dun have a choice... but only Insight.
Anyway not regret! thumbup.gif
iTrump
post Jan 12 2012, 11:54 AM

QUOTE(Kiding @ Jan 11 2012, 09:45 PM)
Some of you guys always mention the engine size in 1.x cc, bro, 1.5cc is 50% of your semen volume when you are siok! do you want your engine so small?

The engine displacement is in Litre (L), 1L = 1000cc, a 1.5L volume is a typical coca cola bottle (big size)

So remember, coke and cock are different!
Out of no way come a math lesson in a honda insight forum. doh.gif
iTrump
post Jan 16 2012, 10:10 AM

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Jan 13 2012, 09:20 PM)
This is what I share @ autoworld forum..

My Insight is hitting 10K service now...

After all the hoohaa about Hybrid... let me share my experience of driving it...

I will compare to my previous car City IDSI 2006 and compare the performance with my friend BMW 320i (Unfair rite hahaha I'm evil!!!)

(Kepong Carefour -> Sg. Buloh -> Subang Airport and back) My journey to work milage
My average Honda City IDSI will give me around 350 to 400KM mileage
Insight will give me around 650KM mileage.

Highway (Kepong-> Sg. Buloh Tol -> Taiping Perak)
The best City IDSI milage meter is 17.5km/l (YES I MANAGE TO HIT THIS MUAHAHA)
The best Insight is 25.8km/l (It can do better but so far this is the highway record) so far I have seen people hit up to 28km/l

Exterior
City Exterior is pretty good but the looks is a debate since 2004 haha
Fit and finish is OK paint job is smooth.
The bumper clip is horrible it always give way even minor hit it look pretty bad...
The light is Standard H4 clear reflector helogen (you install HID police will be very happy) it is not HID ready.

Insight Has better fit and finish the join and gap is much refine and you will notice it is made in japan
Paint job is not as good as Malaysia CKD, it is very rough you can see the orange skin effect under sunlight... it is mainly due to thick anti rust... it is good for rust proof but not so nice to look at haha
The clip is stronger more support and stronger clips
Headlight is Projector with manual electronic levelling yes it is HID ready
The looks is good... with Mugen kits even better

Interior
City Interior is mainly Beige in colour vs Insight is Black
The seat overall is better than city cause there is more back support and side (semi bucket seat) support
The rear Head clearance is very bad on insight if you are tall you will have problem...
The split rear glass you need to get used to it... some hate it...
The boot space City is better but loading stuff Insight is better. I still like City ULTRA Seat...
Insight is very quiet way more quiet than City the NVH is superb!!!

Performance - Top Speed
City IDSI top speed : 170km/h (On S mode paddle to the metal)
Insight top speed : 200 km/h (Econ - Off / D mode / Still can press the accelerator paddle) it can still go but 200 is scary!!! We test this during Seremban-KL highway run with my friend BMW 320i even he is impressed by the 1.3l car haha!!
(P/s: I cannot overtake 320i but manage to keep up with his car which is awesome)

Performance - Acceleration (Hill Start)
City IDSI - The CVT will have a little lag while Engine build up the torque to boost you will feel city boost at around 2000 rpm range... you will notice this when you stop at the hill

Insight - The electric motor will kick in very fast and boost you so in hill start it is easier and you will notice the CVT work less in this scenario.

Performance - Acceleration 0-100++ km/h
City IDSI is not very strong at 0-100 as it is IDSI you want strong you have to op for VTEC...
Insight - Electric Motor kick in very fast and strong you will notice tire skids and VSA kick in to hold it to the road and sling shot... the electric motor will very fast drive the engine to 5K RPM and will let the engine take over from there overall you will feel a little G-force pulling (very mild) overall it is fast!!

Performance - Breaking
City IDSI basically all the City will suffer soft breaking due to ABS thats because this ABS does not come with BA (Break Assist)
Insight have 2 Break Regenerative and Normal Brake... it have ABS / BA / Traction Control / VSA / Panic Stop
The break is very light and the break is very strong... some say the Drumbrake at back of the car is bad but the breaking power is there and it all thats matter... you can have super 4 disc and if you cant stop you are doom anyway.. haha!!
Because of regenerative brake the brake pads wear is very minimum...

Performance - Handling

Both car has very good handling but Insight is on the harder ride side... City ride is softer...

Conclusion.

Is it worth is :
1. YES if you are looking for a replacement for a everyday family car.

Compare to TDCi / TDi turbo diesel...
- Different kind of car.. a Diesel car can achieve what Hybrid can do but @ malaysia Diesel quality is still very low... my experience with 2 Diesel pickup truck you need to overhaul the fuel injector filter as it become dirty easily... another thing is price... if you can afford a Polo why not... but put into consideration of maintenance. maintaining a conti car is not cheap...

Compare to Prius
- Prius is a better hybrid if you dont mind spending additional RM40K. some say Prius standard offering not available on insight...my answer with 40K you can have all their fittings!!! haha

Battery How very scary!!!
- Try google.. the Insight battery is basically D cell NimH joint together so I believe there is cheap aftermarket replacement in the future in U.S. people are retrofitting aftermarkets D cell into the 1st generation Insight at a super cheap price... I have no worries unless D cell went extinct... (Insight batteries is D cell nimh made by Sanyo)
- On Prius batteries I believe it is proprieties and you will not have after markets parts... and I believe it is more expensive to replace although it last longer by additional 3 years... think about it... (Prius cell is a custom size made by Panasonic)

Should I wait...
YES but price and Government policy may change it may go lower or may go higher the RISK is yours...
Nice post. My previous drive honda city vtec 06 suffers on the high way, engine is loud when reaching 150. For honda insight.. no sweat.

iTrump
post Jan 16 2012, 11:01 AM

QUOTE(watonk @ Jan 16 2012, 10:54 AM)
Thanks bro!! thumbup.gif
[attachmentid=2642632]
Can you share with us where to get boot lamp cover Part number 34265-SFE-003?
iTrump
post Jan 19 2012, 12:27 PM

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Jan 19 2012, 02:54 AM)

Each and everyone have their own limit in everything.

And I think we've reached our limit

To solve everything once and for all , those who have TOP UP and HONESTLY feel it is not worth the money. start out a list, we would return back 100% of the top up money to you guys.

So here's the list

1 ) Happyman

Frankly speaking, other than bro ahkam77 , those who came to our place to get it installed would never get such problem of door visor falling and etc. Due to the fact that we apply 3m chemical at both side of the door visor and also the body of the car.

So we are here for a long term business , so those who felt cheated cause of topping up , WE WILL PAY BACK 100% of the cost of the top up..

And I hope there would not be any other so called unsatisfactory .

Its the best we can do, and lessoned learned. Future sales will remove the double tape included ( cause its lousy ) but if we din remove, ppl will complain selling lousy stuff.

p.s when the wiper nut fall off, did anyone complain to Honda? or buy it from Honda?
*think about it and try putting yourself in our shoe*
Cool down... Customers always king. Dun expect them to give you praises all the time...

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0388sec    1.08    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:42 PM