Working in Singapore v8, Tan vs Tan vs Tan vs Tan

shoograd
post Aug 24 2011, 03:04 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Aug 24 2011, 10:12 AM)
hi guys, does anyone know where to report landlord if the landlord tries to breach contract in terms of notice period?
The notice period is 1 month till mid september and I have paid rental until then. How to complain the landlord who tries to get tenant out of the house with tons of accuse and lies? Agent is engaged but she took agent fee and gone with the wind already.
Most agents are like that mad.gif When I first rented a place here the bloody agent promise this and that but never heard from that scum once the contract is signed and the commission paid.

Anyway, if it gets really bad you could lodge a complaint to Small Claims Tribunal (http://app.subcourts.gov.sg/sct/index.aspx). In the meantime, try to continue to track down your agent. Is she registered with agencies like PropNex? If she is you could try and contact the agency itself.

This post has been edited by shoograd: Aug 24 2011, 03:08 PM
shoograd
post Aug 24 2011, 09:35 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Aug 24 2011, 04:21 PM)
i think 1 month commission from landlord. he said he only gets agent fee from landlord side not tenant.
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Aug 24 2011, 04:58 PM)
no free lunch and trust no one    shakehead.gif

Added on August 24, 2011, 5:00 pm

i think will u see move again soon
ivanswk is right. This is the first time that I've heard a landlord willingly pay the full agent commission. Either you are VERY lucky and found an extremely generous landlord or there something fishy going on.

If I were you I would read the contract very, very carefully and check the agent's credentials.
shoograd
post Sep 2 2011, 07:27 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 2 2011, 12:38 PM)

Anyway to stay on topic, if any of you are gamers, I found this nice shop at Tampines Mall that sells pretty cheap 2nd hand games. I picked up mgs4 and some other random game (ps3) for like $35 for both.
Nice. Whats the name of the shop?
shoograd
post Sep 7 2011, 09:48 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(XavierKee @ Sep 7 2011, 09:40 PM)
what is an EP? and how do i qualify or make EP? thanks~
Employment Pass. Long story short, it's a document that allows you to work in Singapore legally.
shoograd
post Sep 12 2011, 04:16 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(reinforcism @ Sep 12 2011, 04:05 PM)
hi guys..i had been called for an interview  by IT company at Singapore..but the problem now, I don't  know whether i can secure the job or not..i don't want to waste my time and money go to Singapore and interview for nothing.. i asked the expected salary and the JD but he did not replied my request instead just asked me to asap go interview there..please advise..
Put it this way lah. If you do not go, then you definitely will not secure the job. If you go to the interview having done your homework beforehand (research the company, prepare your portfolio, update resume etc etc), then you will have a fighting chance.

Also, don't inquire the expected salary too early. You will come across as a bit shallow.
shoograd
post Sep 12 2011, 04:33 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(reinforcism @ Sep 12 2011, 04:24 PM)
im still in my final sem bro..final exam is nearby, money also just enough for for me..that why i need to ask ur advise la.
Haven't graduate hor? Chill la bro focus on what you have to do now and take your time to find a job once you have graduated.

No one lies on their deathbed wishing they have worked a little bit more.
shoograd
post Sep 12 2011, 04:41 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(reinforcism @ Sep 12 2011, 04:36 PM)
its hard to resist..but lot of people told me like this..
Singapore will always be here, and such opportunities will always come around. Why you die die also wanna interrupt your revision to come to Singapore for an interview when you haven't even graduated. Concentrate on doing your best in your exams, take some time off after that to live a little and relax, then only you start your search.
shoograd
post Sep 12 2011, 04:57 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(reinforcism @ Sep 12 2011, 04:51 PM)
such opportunity does not always come around to people like me
What exactly do you mean by 'people like you'? What are you studying anyway?

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Sep 12 2011, 04:51 PM)
rest between job  drool.gif ,
for people like me kais pagi makan pagi, that is so far away  sweat.gif
More like rest after years and years of formal education biggrin.gif

Come on lah, we are humans, not machines. Stop and smell the roses. Live a little. Then get your ass back to work.

This post has been edited by shoograd: Sep 12 2011, 04:57 PM
shoograd
post Sep 14 2011, 08:17 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(wickedghost @ Sep 14 2011, 07:18 PM)
I was hoping for EP visa...so that I can apply PR in future...aih...maybe I should demand for higher pay!
Are you willing to sacrifice every aspect of your social life for S$2.8k?

I was sent to Bintan when I was under the brief employment under a Singaporean company. The thing about Bintan is that while their resorts are generally awesome, the industrial estate is largely undeveloped and smack dab in the middle of nowhere. It takes 45 bloody minutes to travel by car from the resort port to the industrial estate!

There, you will find no shopping malls, no movie theatres, no restaurants, nothing. The closest semblance of civilisation you will find will be some small convenience stores and a nearby village which doesn't even have a proper tar road. I'm not too sure about your accommodation, but I was assigned one of the same hostel rooms that was occupied by the Indonesian operators. FYI, there won't be any fixed Internet connection, so your phone will be your best friend there.

Now you know why I was only 'briefly' employed in that company. They did not mention Bintan at all during the interview or in the contract, and their conduct was pretty unscrupulous, probably because they knew they would have a hard time getting professionals to stick around in Bintan for long. I was sent there on my third week with the company with little warning with an Indian engineer and a Filipino admin staff who were also newly hired, and all of us left by the second week.

If you die die also want to earn that S$2.8k and are willing to surrender your life for it, then go ahead. Otherwise, I am positive that there are plenty of better opportunities in Singapore. You just have to look hard enough.

Edit : If you want to get into the OnG industry, FMC Technologies is hiring graduate engineers a while back. Why don't you try applying there?

This post has been edited by shoograd: Sep 14 2011, 08:19 PM
shoograd
post Sep 15 2011, 07:25 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(xyyz @ Sep 15 2011, 05:03 PM)
Hi guys, i'm on my second attempt to apply for my EP. (different position, different employer as last attempt failed even after appealing)

Wish me luck.
Why did your first attempt fail?
shoograd
post Sep 16 2011, 03:21 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Sep 15 2011, 10:03 PM)
I took few times they never validate my identity when collecting tickets...

Anyway I'm thinking to get a used iPhone 4, where can I find the best deal? Hardwarezone? or get from Malaysia instead? Most important is low in price coz want to use as temporally phone until i5 out...
doh.gif

Wait patiently for the iPhone 5 to come out in a few months la. There are strong indicators that it will be released in the US in early October, so it should hit Singaporean shores by early 2012. Using a basic, non-iPhone phone for a few months cannot die one.
shoograd
post Sep 16 2011, 02:49 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(blinkblink88 @ Sep 16 2011, 02:21 PM)
may I know how can I check whether my working pass is approve or reject by myself?
https://eponline.mom.gov.sg/epol/PEPOLUAMT0...isplayAction.do

shoograd
post Sep 16 2011, 11:05 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Sep 16 2011, 10:08 PM)
But if you are working in SG and staying in JB, JB folks will respect you coz u manage to get into SG and work there. so in other words, u are more high krass than them.
What utter nonsense.
shoograd
post Sep 23 2011, 02:58 AM

156 posts

Guys, know anywhere in Singapore where you can get an affordable and reliable medical check up?
shoograd
post Oct 5 2011, 02:38 AM

156 posts

iPhone 4S hits Singapore October 28th! Time to pinch those pennies

This post has been edited by shoograd: Oct 5 2011, 02:42 AM
shoograd
post Oct 8 2011, 09:23 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(gg8989 @ Oct 7 2011, 12:38 PM)
As a fresh graduate student. is there any chance to work in sg?
Yes.

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Oct 8 2011, 03:22 AM)
the FT range is very wide, only PR can't buy Msia properties if the owned a HDB apartment.
Really? Even PR who are Malaysians?

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 8 2011, 08:14 AM)
Still no news from all the company i've applied in jobstreet jobsdb and so on.. Need a sg number badly ><
A Singaporean number helps but it isn't a golden ticket. Write a proper cover letter, ask someone to proofread your resume, look for openings beyond job websites and keep your fingers crossed.

One more thing, did you just mash the quick apply button or did you go beyond that?

This post has been edited by shoograd: Oct 8 2011, 09:26 AM
shoograd
post Oct 11 2011, 10:09 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Oct 10 2011, 10:14 PM)
read this bro: http://stronglifts.com/gomad-milk-squats-gallon-gain-weight/

I also took 4everfit whey protein bro every morning. One of my objective is to get bigger biceps and V shape.
Pull up is good right?

Added on October 10, 2011, 10:18 pm

full cream nestle one free from my offices + milo
Where do you work out bro?

QUOTE(francisbacon7 @ Oct 11 2011, 05:19 PM)
Are u sure MOM will take this kind of consideration?
Anyone in here tender within their probation period?

I will only tender right after my new pass application getting approved (Is it a normal practice?), the application will do without knowing by my current boss...I will tell my interviewer also..
Not good to be so sneaky man, the MOM doesn't take too kindly to that. Besides, I think you cannot submit an EP application while your current one is still valid.
shoograd
post Oct 11 2011, 11:42 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(aVexRikuu @ Oct 11 2011, 11:15 PM)
Take it from me mate, I job hopped. joined first company 1 1/2 months later quit to join second company. EP got rejected for the first time, called up MOM ask why, as usual they dont give reason, ask company to appeal. company submitted appeal, then MOM request for the followings;

1) hard copy, chopped & signed offer letter
2) A letter from the hiring company stating why they believe my skills sets are needed within the company
3) reference letter from you from your previous company
4) re-submit Educational qualifications

and it took them another 5 weeks to revert.

so lesson learn, dont mess with MOM.
sweat.gif wah, so jialat one?

I was lucky I wasn't put through that. Left my first job after 3 months and got into my current one with a few hiccups on the way. I was worried the MOM would brand me as a job hopper but thankfully my EP was approved with no intervention from them whatsoever.

All hail the MOM! notworthy.gif
shoograd
post Oct 13 2011, 08:06 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(LYR @ Oct 13 2011, 07:16 PM)
guys, i'll be jobless soon after 3 months work. is there any regulations by MOM saying that we cannot leave the job for a certain period of time?

i concern about the work pass if i got another job in SG.
Nope, but they will tax you 15% of your salary in total (3 month's worth in this case) and cheekily send you a letter thanking you for your contribution to nation building.

If you get a job soon after I think you can request for a tax refund or something though.
shoograd
post Oct 13 2011, 08:10 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(LYR @ Oct 13 2011, 08:08 PM)
i'm not a job hopper. they have better candidate and sack me before i'm confirmed as permanent staff. what to do? does the company have to submit the reason when they cancel my employment pass?
What, just like that? blink.gif

What company are you working for?

0.0469sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:26 AM