8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v8, Tan vs Tan vs Tan vs Tan

seantang
post Sep 24 2011, 07:09 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

To help yinyum find her Mr Perfect, I found this interesting website: Singapore Administrative Service dedicated to the recruitment of elite civil servants.

How elite is elite? The AO's (Administrative Officer) entry salary level is SR9. The average entry age is 32 years old (mid career). The salary scale is based on the 15th highest salaried tax payer from the group of 48 individuals comprised of the top 8 tax payers in a selected 6 professions. Google and you'll see that in recent years, the total annual package is between $330K to $400K per annum.

How many of these elite AOs are there? Apparently recently (ie. last few years), it was published that 15 AOs had left the civil service, and that they comprised 5.5% of the total AO population. That puts the AO population at roughly around 300.

So, is $330-400K a fair wage for them?

Singapore's GDP is around US$250B. Govt revenue is around US$55B (ref). "Sales" (to make it comparable to corporates) would be somewhere in between, as GDP is not strictly due to direct govt effort, but measuring only govt revenue (mainly taxation) is more like measuring "profit". No hard and fast rule here.

The Singapore civil service employs 127,000 people (ref).

Compared to the largest companies in the world (ref)... I think we can more or less say that the Singapore govt's "size" would be generally be amongst the Top 100 MNC companies in the world.

In such companies, the top 300 2nd tier employees (ie. direct reports to the CEO/CFO/CTO/C-level execs, because remember, the C-suite execs in the govt is the PM and his cabinet) would be approximately be equivalent to the Global VPs, Global Directors and Business Unit GMs.

If that's the comparison, I think $330-400K is not an unreasonable starting salary.

By the way, if you want to apply, the application form is in the first link. Apply for Administrative Service, I mean. But I think yinyum can also use the same form for her suitors.

This post has been edited by seantang: Sep 24 2011, 07:22 PM
seantang
post Sep 28 2011, 08:23 PM

6,624 posts

Is cigar a metaphor for penis? Maloa likes cigar, lester got long one?
seantang
post Sep 30 2011, 09:23 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(LYR @ Sep 30 2011, 09:11 PM)
ok. same as what i thought. however, is it even legal for them to do this? i'm bonded for 2 years and yet they can simply force the staff to take unpaid leave. it's more like a part-time job to me. whenever they need me, i must work. when they do not need me, they can just kick me away without even having to pay me? what nonsense is that?

the reason for having no job is plain an excuse. the firm doesnt have job during non-peak is not my problem right? it's the industry cycle they have to bear but i become the victim? what do you think?
So... what options do you think you have? Complaining and reporting them (to whom I wonder)... will that make them suddenly want you to come to work everyday, be nicer to you and give you paid leave instead?

Why don't you just resign and work somewhere else?
seantang
post Oct 2 2011, 04:23 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(emmaus @ Oct 2 2011, 02:38 PM)
what are your thoughts, peeps??
Thoughts on what? Not so good at tackling wide open questions.

seantang
post Oct 2 2011, 08:16 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Oct 2 2011, 07:50 PM)
Tun is understatement. u r Sultan of Johor!!!! JB King Lester
Ooooo... that's some Lese Majeste right there. The punishment for which is an insane old man coming to beat the crap out of you with a golf club.

seantang
post Oct 2 2011, 09:23 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Oct 2 2011, 09:12 PM)
they stop using guns?
I think they save the guns for really serious crimes, like overtaking his car or not letting him pinch your girlfriend's ass.

Added on October 2, 2011, 9:24 pm
QUOTE(Laine @ Oct 2 2011, 09:15 PM)
we went to khatib view a master room just now.. it is only few minutes walk from khatib mrt station... $800 per month... only an old couple staying.. they will pay pub $110... anything extra... we need to pay... is this a reasonable deal? thanks...
You will get no answers until you change that utterly disgusting avatar photo.

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 2 2011, 09:24 PM
seantang
post Oct 4 2011, 03:11 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Oct 4 2011, 02:49 PM)
bus fare will be raised 2 cent per trip in 4 days time..hmmm...

although it is only 2 cents, add up together will be quite alot.
0.02 * 2 trips * 7 days * 52 weeks = $14.56 per year. If you add a +/-30% variability factor, it's within a range of $10-20 per person per year. Quite a lot?

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 4 2011, 03:12 PM
seantang
post Oct 4 2011, 04:39 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Oct 4 2011, 03:33 PM)
yes for me ONLY. a penny saved is a penny earned.
Yes, sure. But what that little phrase doesn't say is that a penny doesn't make a difference in anybody's life. Concentrate less on pennies and more on real dollars. Buy 1 pack of cigarettes or 1 beer or 1 app less each month, you'll be doing some much more for your savings than trying to micromanage or stress over your bus rides. Spend your energy on what makes a difference.
seantang
post Oct 4 2011, 05:19 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Oct 4 2011, 05:13 PM)
Without the ciggy, beer and the clubbing, what's the use of holding that extra pennies??? Got no meanings....... tongue.gif
That's small boy stuff lah. Big boys still have wine, fast cars and fast women.

seantang
post Oct 4 2011, 06:04 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Oct 4 2011, 06:02 PM)
fast women - pls define this
They deplete your money (amongst other things) very quickly.

seantang
post Oct 4 2011, 09:49 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Oct 4 2011, 06:41 PM)
fast and furious - geylang

More in terms of those to whom you give a condo and open a little flower shop for her to be 'low pan liang', or someone who gets together with you after school or after office.

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 4 2011, 10:04 PM
seantang
post Oct 5 2011, 08:10 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(shoograd)
iPhone 4S hits Singapore October 28th! Time to pinch those pennies
Not a big deal this time. It's just a facelifted iPhone 4.

Added on October 5, 2011, 8:11 am
QUOTE(Jurlique @ Oct 5 2011, 12:56 AM)
Goodnite, tomolo Apple share price gonna hike like mad...
On the contrary, it tanked on a night when the DJI bounced back due to bargain hunting.

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 5 2011, 08:11 AM
seantang
post Oct 5 2011, 12:59 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Oct 5 2011, 09:25 AM)
if remember correctly, P1 - 6mths, P2&Q1 - 2yrs
There's no time requirement. You can apply for PR anytime. Even if you don't have a permit of any kind nor ever set foot in Singapore. There is nothing that disqualifies anybody from applying. Each application is assessed and approved on a case by case basis... even though there's all sorts of guidelines on education, employment, age etc. This allows the SG govt to approve people who don't meet any of the guidelines but whom they like. And to decline people who meet all the guidelines but whom they don't like.

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 5 2011, 01:01 PM
seantang
post Oct 5 2011, 02:38 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Oct 5 2011, 08:27 AM)
Ok. My contract ends in Nov. I am not a techie and how/what does iCloud work/do? Am at a borderline to decide to stay faithful with iPhone.

I was checking the net yesterday midnight and last minute rumors was released, just minutes before the announcement. iPhone 5, with 4.4inch screen!

Now it is really a major bone of contention to pay a premium for this overhyped 4S unless I understand how superior are iCloud and Siri functions.
My contract ends in December. So yeah, I'm also thinking of which phone to get.

Alternatives are the Samsung Galaxy S II LTE (4.5" WVGA screen), Galaxy S II HD LTE (4.65" HD ready) or Galaxy Note (5.3" HD ready). Announced but not launched yet in Singapore. Hopefully by year end.

As for iCloud, my impression is that it's Apple's version of Google Docs, Freedrive or Dropbox. Sounds good, but I struggle to see how anyone would want to spend hours to upload movies and songs so that they can spend even more time downloading it again to view/listen. Much easier to get a phone with a micro-SD card slot. You'll live longer too without all that frustration dealing with your stuff being hostaged online. More so if your stuff is not exactly ori.
seantang
post Oct 5 2011, 06:28 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Oct 5 2011, 05:31 PM)
Well someone posted this in Kopitiam to highlight the secrets behind 3.5" iPhone design.

http://next.dustincurtis.com/2011/10/03/3-point-5-inches/
That's true. Apple's cornered the market for one-armed amputees.

Anyway, it depends on how big your hands are, no? And how you hold the phone?

Added on October 5, 2011, 6:30 pm
QUOTE(keelim @ Oct 5 2011, 05:31 PM)
iCloud sounds like a good virtual storage for someone that travels frequently. I would love it if uploading and downloading the files are seamless.
I'm using Google Docs. Works on any OS anywhere as long as there's a browser.

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 5 2011, 06:30 PM
seantang
post Oct 6 2011, 08:41 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Oct 6 2011, 12:51 AM)
But i thing i cant deny is Android still lags compare to iOS...

In terms of lagness, SGS2 still lags sometimes compare to iPhone 4 despite SGS2 specs are more superior.

This is my exp since i own SGS2 and my gf owns the iphone4.
That's due to the fact that your SGS2 would have been utilising flash, multi tasking, accessing apps installed on and media saved to the slower microsd card instead of onboard memory, playing all common media formats using many native codecs, accessing a much greater range of OS customisation without rooting etc etc.

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 6 2011, 08:45 AM
seantang
post Oct 7 2011, 11:40 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Oct 7 2011, 10:31 AM)
nah. you should really see my boss collections
I might pay tribute by buying my first Apple product. Might get the 4GS if it can be jailbroken.
seantang
post Oct 12 2011, 04:54 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(trythis @ Oct 12 2011, 04:49 PM)
Hi all, may I know anyone know any housing agent? Coz I want to finding a conman room to rent. Or maybe you guy know any place to intro me. I am finding a room to rent on the green line MRT after Eunos station, prefer Chinese owner, rate around 500~600per months, and better is 5~15mint walking to MRT station. If you have any agents number or you noe anyone is want to rent his/her room, please pm me. Thank you!
Must be conman? If it's a nice, honest guy, cannot?

Added on October 12, 2011, 4:55 pm
QUOTE(jhcj @ Oct 12 2011, 04:53 PM)
why is this thread called "working" in singapore? sounds all serious and kiasu-ish. tongue.gif
Oh... it's Singlish. Working is actually Singlish for something else. Just replace the "or" with "an".

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 12 2011, 04:55 PM
seantang
post Oct 13 2011, 02:00 PM

6,624 posts

The China job doesn't sound like a good deal. The 30% pay differential all goes toward income tax. The relo allowance will set you up... (how much is it? My company pays around a one-off allowance of 13 months SG salary tax free to move from KL to SG). But you have no ongoing financial benefit (ie. there's no net after tax salary increase, no allowances, no housing and other benefits etc. You can argue that if you stay in SG, you're paying all your own expenses anyway, which is true. But the thing is... what's the point of uprooting and going to China if you practically have no financial benefit to do so?
seantang
post Oct 13 2011, 02:16 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Oct 13 2011, 02:13 PM)
The plus point going to china is potentially you may be able to get a beautiful china mei-mei as your wife. There are lots of them out there. One of my friend is now happily married with a Chinese mei mei there and still employed by Western Digitals and still an expatriate there although live and stay there for more than 10 years already.....Every year got few free flights to come home...... tongue.gif
You try going to China without a fat expat package, and see how many "beautiful china mei-mei" will give you the time of the day. You can probably get one very kampung one who sees you as her meal ticket out of the rural slum and you'll have to support her whole kampung with your salary tongue.gif .

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0502sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:40 AM