Chubbie Hamster V14

Memories_Fallen
post Sep 23 2012, 02:54 PM

:)
2,119 posts

note:
-never bread hamsters from the same family members, they could come out dead or deformed.

not quite true, the hamsters that i sold to tjaime1984 was from the parents which were sibling..theres nothing wrong in breeding family members..only if ur lucky enough like me, thats why tjaime's hamster are healthy..
tjaime1984
post Sep 23 2012, 06:55 PM

32 posts

they are all healthy. even the babies nw ok too,no cacat.
TSinfernoaswen
post Sep 23 2012, 08:24 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Memories_Fallen @ Sep 23 2012, 02:54 PM)
note:
-never bread hamsters from the same family members, they could come out dead or deformed.

not quite true, the hamsters that i sold to tjaime1984 was from the parents which were sibling..theres nothing wrong in breeding family members..only if ur lucky enough like me, thats why tjaime's hamster are healthy..
this is totally unethical. You shouldnt do inbreeding. Period. There is a reason why even we humans cant marry our sister & sister marry with brother. If you studied biology you will know this reason, its something to do with our genes. I am not going to explain biology here, but if you want you can look it up & same concept applies to hamsters.

Tips & Warnings
If sibling hamsters are inbred, you risk birth defects and health issues. Birth or congenital defects are not guaranteed when a brother and sister mate, it is only a risk based upon their genetic makeup. When siblings are bred, the genetic health problems they both inherit from their parents are amplified in any babies they have. The risk is primarily in siblings that have or carry genetic defects or health issues. If two healthy siblings mate, their offspring should also be healthy, based on the genes of both parents. Since not all health issues are apparent just by looking at a hamster, there is always a risk when mating siblings. It is less risky to mate a parent and child hamster, since they do not have the same genetic makeup.

quoted from: http://www.ehow.com/how_8694068_breed-hams...l#ixzz27ILhLc2G

more links:
http://uk.answers.yahoo.com/question/index...09162755AAUQBK1
http://breeding-hamster.blogspot.com/2007/...r-breeding.html

& you can find more online, just google hamster inbreeding.
Memories_Fallen
post Sep 23 2012, 08:54 PM

2,119 posts

but why my baby hamsters that were born by my previous siblings set that i sold to tjaime1984 doesnt have any problem?
TSinfernoaswen
post Sep 23 2012, 10:08 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Memories_Fallen @ Sep 23 2012, 08:54 PM)
but why my baby hamsters that were born by my previous siblings set that i sold to tjaime1984 doesnt have any problem?
because its genetics, hard to explain. Defects dosent mean physical only, it could also be visual, smelling sense, health, behaviour etc...we might not be able to see sometimes, or the hamsters was just lucky.

Either way, never practise inbreeding.
Nekochan
post Sep 23 2012, 10:22 PM

324 posts

Yeah. Inbreeding can cause weak gene to be passed onto the next offspring. you might not see any defect now but later on, you will see how it can cause problems to the hamsters.

Inbreed hamsters may be susceptible to certain type of diseases easily which are not dangerous to normal hamster due to their genetic makeup. There's a reason why most animals like lion and elephant kick the male away from their family. It is because they too know the important of having a larger gene pool.
starrynight
post Sep 24 2012, 10:12 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(Memories_Fallen @ Sep 23 2012, 08:54 PM)
either the problem is not visual or haven't arise yet .. or you just got lucky .. the others are right .. inbreeding is unethical and it will cause lots of genetic problems .. actually breeding should only be done if you really know both genetic background (gene problem, diabetic background etc) of the parents .. separation of male and female hamsters should be done when they're about 5 weeks old since they are sexually matured at a young age..

hamsters act by instinct, it is up to us, the owners to prevent this from happening ..

I known someone who had hamster babies because the mother was pregnant from the pet store .. and the babies died off one by one .. not due to being eaten but by gene defect .. born blind, born with 3 legs etc.
Zzorro
post Sep 24 2012, 04:27 PM

*retirement™
1,023 posts

hi guy... tongue.gif

TSinfernoaswen
post Sep 24 2012, 08:29 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Zzorro @ Sep 24 2012, 04:27 PM)
hi guy... tongue.gif
why is it upside down? lol drained the water from your loop?
pieplushie
post Sep 25 2012, 01:43 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(Zzorro @ Sep 24 2012, 04:27 PM)
hi guy... tongue.gif
lol! What is it doing there? o.o
Zzorro
post Sep 25 2012, 10:30 PM

*retirement™
1,023 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Sep 24 2012, 08:29 PM)
why is it upside down? lol drained the water from your loop?
bcoz is it BTX setup..not drained just new build biggrin.gif

Added on September 25, 2012, 10:34 pm
QUOTE(pieplushie @ Sep 25 2012, 01:43 AM)
lol! What is it doing there? o.o
're probably warm up.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Zzorro: Sep 25 2012, 10:34 PM
TSinfernoaswen
post Sep 25 2012, 11:21 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Zzorro @ Sep 25 2012, 10:30 PM)
bcoz is it BTX setup..not drained just new build biggrin.gif

Added on September 25, 2012, 10:34 pm
're probably warm up.. laugh.gif
i see, cool setup though...love seeing compression fittings with tight loop biggrin.gif
kingsing84
post Sep 27 2012, 10:58 PM

117 posts

My babies!

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
kingsing84
post Sep 27 2012, 11:00 PM

117 posts

One of my female. Shes a poser.

kingsing84
post Sep 27 2012, 11:08 PM

117 posts

My bibi. She is changing fur now. From grey to white. Another good poser

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
starrynight
post Sep 28 2012, 07:16 AM

21 posts

omg .. she's so cute .. there's those cute little black innocent eyes!! precious!
tjaime1984
post Sep 29 2012, 04:29 PM

32 posts

so cute.i be a grandma again. got 4 healthy one 1 week old ady.can c their color n crawling around.so cute n happy. another gv birth to 7 but i saw 2 survival onli n the mother no nursering them like another mother. can i take her baby to the another mother for nursering them? i scare both oso didn survive.
Memories_Fallen
post Sep 29 2012, 05:01 PM

2,119 posts

QUOTE(tjaime1984 @ Sep 29 2012, 04:29 PM)
so cute.i be a grandma again. got 4 healthy one 1 week old ady.can c their color n crawling around.so cute n happy. another gv birth to 7 but i saw 2 survival onli n the mother no nursering them like another mother. can i take her baby to the another mother for nursering them? i scare both oso didn survive.
You have to wait..because the mother could be tired when she is nursing them when your not around, dont worry, just take a spoon and scoop the babies to the nest..everytime the mother puts the baby somewhere else, just scoop it back to the nest so they get enough milk, if u want them to grow faster, feed them with kitten milk, very cheap only, can get rm7 for one small packet, use a stringe and inject them to the mouth so they can drink..

better dont put the baby to another mother, if the smell is different, the mother will kill it as she knows it isnt her baby..message me on fb if u need more help.
TSinfernoaswen
post Sep 29 2012, 05:55 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(tjaime1984 @ Sep 29 2012, 04:29 PM)
like what memories fallen said, you have to wait. She is probably tired, dont worry mother hamsters knows what is the best for her young. Its totally natural for her to eat her babies or leave it abandon if she thinks the young dosent have high chance of surviving. You just cant do anything about this.

And to answer your second question, NO. You shouldnt bring the babies to the other mother. She will kill the babies because she might think its a threat to her babies or just eat up her babies or the other babies because there is too many for her to nurse. You will just make things worst.

I strongly advice you not to carry the babies or disturb them because they will start crying & the mother will think there is a threat. This will just stress her up & in the end she will kill them. Yes babies hamsters do cry but we cant hear it because its in the ultrasonic range which is beyond what humans can hear. If there is a baby accidently came out then you can try to remove the mother hamster by luring her out with food & quickly carry the baby into the nest & yeah just use a spoon. But if the mother herself remove all the babies then that means she dont want to nurse them because she thinks she dont have enough energy for that.

ps: also stop inbreeding incase you plan to breed again sad.gif

This post has been edited by infernoaswen: Sep 29 2012, 05:56 PM
tjaime1984
post Sep 29 2012, 11:16 PM

32 posts

thanks all for the info. just wana make sure everything ok before i left them 1 week coz going to kuching for training. all the supply i ady double up.if nt enuf my hsbd wil add for me. i saw the elder babies ady try to eat n crawl around.happy!

122 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0231sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:44 AM