16 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Credit Card v16, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

Gen-X
post Aug 28 2011, 09:35 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Aug 27 2011, 01:42 PM)
@saksoba

Whatever calculations that you use, you still pay interest to the bank and it is just a matter of some interest or a lot of interest. We have seen a lot of readers rant about bank's high interest rate whereas in actual fact they choose to build debt on their credit card thus they should be ready to bear the consequences.

We have said this repeatedly, banks are not charity and they are a commercial entity which wants to make money, pay rental for their branches, pay bills, pay salary to their workers, etc.

To make life simpler, that's the very reason that we do not encourage anyone to build debts on credit cards. You should treat credit card like cash which is to pay in full every month. No need to confuse yourself, just don't ever build debt using your credit card. If you are and that's a sign that you are living beyond your means already.

Cannot afford to buy something then don't buy and don't act as if you can afford it just because you are holding a credit card.
I personally am not too enthusiastic and don't agree about teaching someone about the interest rate calculations as it's like slowly driving you to your own debt grave. If you want to build debt like this then by all means do so and take your own pain to understand the calculation ... cannot understand then take it as a sign not to build debt like that.
+1

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Aug 28 2011, 02:03 AM)
If your debts are accumulating faster than you can pay it, you should reconsider whether it's wise to have any CC at all.
+1

another way of saying not to live beyond your means. I will definitely borrow above statement for my future comments.
Gen-X
post Aug 28 2011, 11:20 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

taking Human Nature comments at Airport Lounge Thread,

Click here to My Credit Cards blog to read my article - How I Benefited from My Credit Cards for My Macau Trip - where I posted some photos of Macau and LCCT airport lounges.

OT: Ladies, you don't need to go to Europe to get cheaper Longchamp handbags, you can get it in Macau. Click here to read about it at my other blog called Money For Luxury. Also photos of the rooms I stayed in.

Gen-X
post Aug 31 2011, 11:23 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(louyeh @ Aug 31 2011, 10:58 PM)
Q: Is it still necessary to transfer Treatspoints from old Maybank CC to new Maybank CC? ie. Apply for Maybankard2, wait for the card then only cancel Maybank VISA + Amex cards.
If you use them up then I guess no need to transfer but it is very easy to transfer. After you get your MBB 2 Cards, call up CS and ask them to transfer the TP and it will be done promptly. I guess better to get the new cards before you go cancel because then you have an account to transfer the TP into.
Gen-X
post Sep 9 2011, 08:26 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(deity01 @ Sep 9 2011, 06:16 PM)
noob question: when do bank start charging CC annual fees? upon approval like the GST? or after u hv use the CC for a year?
it depends, if the card comes with 1st year free annual fee then the next year. Some cards even comes with up to 5 years annual fees. So ask and confirm before you sign up the terms and conditions.
Gen-X
post Sep 12 2011, 06:40 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Sep 11 2011, 12:22 PM)
As mentioned, banks look at your eligibility. In your case, your friend's application went through because of the salary slip and I strongly believe the supp card reference was outrightly ignored. As for you, remember to always read T&C and understand before signing anything. Many times in this forum, people come in and blame just about everything and everyone except their own self - coz if we ask detailed question then it is obvious simple things like making effort to read T&C were simply ignored.

Applying credit card require proof of income (everyone knows that) and supp cards uses the principle card holder income reference and not your own. Surely you could have figure this one out ? So to blame the girl / others is simply not right. Bear in mind (except to the trained bank staff), the difference in supp card and principle card is not noticeable as you need to input the card number before the system tells you.

Reference card information are sometimes and definitely the income requirements are written in the application form ... are you aware of the existence of the T&C and have read the T&C in the first place ? Saying this as the supp reference card would not be able to provide any information regarding your financial profile and possible income then isn't it very obvious that the bank will reject it outright?

So what do you want to do now ? If you want to apply then go to another branch and this time bring all your income documents, read the T&C (however in fine print they are) and learn not to blame others first ... always reflect on yourself.

(I can't believe I'm saying all the above)
I can't believe that you are repeating what is so obvious, hahaha

yes you are right, one cannot apply with supp card.

when my wife applied for her Maybankard 2 Cards before CNY (at 1U booth with MBB HQ staff - not at card centre), she gave two cards for reference, one her own Alliance Plat CC (less than a year) and the her Supp Amex charge card. And when I got home, faxed over borang BE. Found out just before CNY with MBB CS that her application was "rejected ". Then after CNY called MBB staff that took the application and she said checked system it says can't process based on supp card. I guess her Borang BE never reached the processing dept. So refaxed BE Form to the agent and her application was approved.

Click here to read about My Wife's Application for Maybankard 2 Cards. She ended up having her own MBB 2 Principal and also supp from me! So, I get up to total RM100/month cash back from MBB 2 biggrin.gif thumbup.gif Last weekend my wife bought her cake mixer costing RM2K at Best Denki, she charge RM1K to her MBB2 AMEX and the balance to my MBB 2 AMEX and it was like we got discount of RM150 (RM100 cash back and RM50 with 5xTP) smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 12 2011, 07:01 AM
Gen-X
post Sep 12 2011, 08:00 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(onthefly @ Sep 12 2011, 02:46 PM)
looks like my scenario, i go try apply again. this time i will say.  " THIS IS MY SUPP CARD. AND I GIVING U MY PAYSLIP WHETHER U LIKE IT OR NOT"  vmad.gif

btw genx great website, help me alot  icon_rolleyes.gif
thanks for reading my post. If you are in Klang Valley, just goto 1U Maybank Card Centre and you'll get the card on the same day. Do bring income tax documents if you have as it is a better way of proofing your income.
Gen-X
post Sep 21 2011, 06:11 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(virgoguy @ Sep 21 2011, 05:21 PM)
is this the only CC that have such special condition 36 swipe to waived GST? sound better than those need hit certain spending amount or exchange using points
yah, MilesandMore highlighted it EON bank's RM50 GST with 36 swipes sometime back. But I don't think is applicable anymore to new HLB cards i.e. after this year anniversary date the offer should no longer applies.
Gen-X
post Sep 22 2011, 11:44 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Sep 22 2011, 10:17 AM)
Shocking reasons why Malaysians are living beyond their means
By LEE YEN MUN and RAHIMY RAHIM
newsdesk@thestar.com.my

On average, 41 are declared bankrupt every day, mostly due to credit card debts  shakehead.gif , while every weekend, about five million throng the 300-odd shopping complexes in the country.

“In one of our surveys, we were shocked that many children did not even know where money came from,” he said, adding that most replied “the ATM (automated teller machine).  doh.gif  doh.gif

“And, they do not believe that their parents have to work to earn money,” Selvaraj added.

Malaysian Association of Shopping and Highrise Complex Management president H.C. Chan said its statistics showed that one in five Malaysians visited a shopping mall on a weekend. “And the country has about 320 shopping complexes,” he pointed out.

Well, it is not a new story that many people go bankrupt with credit cards. That's why BNM move to limit CL to 2X monthly salary is a good move but I feel they should increase it to those earning up to RM5K/month and not limit to those earning less than RM3K/month. BNM should have also went a step further and limit cash withdrawal to not more than 30% of the CL or even ban it.

As for the statement children do not believe their parents have to work to earn money, well that's the parent's fault for not educating their children.

As for shopping, if you notice, HSBC credit cards promotions are mostly related to shopping (most recent shopping at Parkson). Even the 6% cash back with the MPower cards requires you to spend more than RM3K before you can be eligible for the 6% cash back.
Gen-X
post Sep 23 2011, 11:33 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ppfoong @ Sep 23 2011, 02:37 PM)
I have got my interns to produce a simple iPhone and Android app to calculate credit card repayment period and the amount of interest charged based on the repayment method (pay minimum, pay fixed amount, pay within a timeframe).

Comparison between 2 different payment plans can be made to see the difference in interest amount and repayment period.

You can find it in iTune App Store for iPhone, by searching for "Credit Card Calc", and also in Android Market by searching for "Credit Card Calculator".

Hope that it is fun and useful to you.
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif I will post it in my blog soon the the benefit of ohers. Can update Rev1.1 soon taking into consideration of hye's comments.

*Edited*

I downloaded the Android version to my cheap Huawei Android Mifi Phone and it did not work well. But downloaded to my Galaxy Tab and it works. Like hye said, the graph got no label. For the comparison graph, I could figure out that the nodes represent months for the individual line. However some may not understand it and as if both takes the same time frame to pay of the debt. It's a great tool anyway for those needing to know how long it takes to pay of their balance.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 24 2011, 01:34 PM
Gen-X
post Sep 26 2011, 09:35 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(FastCoder @ Sep 26 2011, 12:02 AM)
That's not true.

Credit cards are not the top contributor to bankruptcy. Car loans are the biggest culprit at 24%, followed by personal loans at 12% and business loans and 11%. I read somewhere credit cards defaulters comprise of around 5% of all bankrupts.

Click the link below:
Car loan takers top bankruptcy list

Many people take car loans without realizing that the affordable monthly repayments are probably just around 33% of the total cost of owning a car.
Thanks for the above info. I was just about to post my latest article when I read your post. So added few comments to my article.

Click here to read my latest article titled Credit Cards - App iPhone & Android, Easy Cash and Bankruptcy.

In the above article I commented on ppfoong's App called Credit Card Calculator on my android tablet and RHB Easy Cash where you can get cash deposited into your RHB CASA. While writing the article, it made me realized that one may even pay less interest with cash advances with credit cards instead of going with Personal Loans rclxub.gif And as usual, got me telling story from my sick imagination.
Gen-X
post Sep 26 2011, 09:05 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(beyond86 @ Sep 26 2011, 07:48 PM)
pengsan with the interest tongue.gif
since you enjoy spamming, why don't complete it by posting in all the threads and then take a screen shot of this sub-section and post here tongue.gif
Gen-X
post Sep 29 2011, 05:19 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(OrangeStreet @ Sep 29 2011, 04:37 PM)
Thanks for the reply.
If applying for Hong Leong cash for call, RM10,000 for 12 months, 4.99% one time interest:
Total money need to pay back in 1 year should be RM10,499? Or is it have other "Hidden charges"?
4.99% sound pretty good but you are charged up front interest and therefore the effective interest is higher. Then again, still lower than Credit card interest rate. Yes, the total you will have to pay back is RM10,499 in 12 equal installments. Should you fail to pay the installment prior to due date, the Call For Cash account will then be considered as a cash advance and you shall be imposed cash advance interest rate.

I just recently wrote an article on RHB Easy Cash which is simialr to HLB CFC but with higher interest rate, click here to read about it.

Oh by the way, HLB giving rebate for BT/COC/CFC, so the actual interest you will pay may be lower. Click here to see promo.

Here's a hint, see if Balance Transfer can be of help to you. And don't PM me and ask what I mean.

To All:

I just read an article at Malaysian Insider where MBB CEO commented on Personal Loans. This guy only last night said he wanted BNM to maintain lower interest rate and today asking BNM to start monitoring Personal Loans. It is as if our BNM award winning governor needs to be told what to do (maybe she does because household debt is now 76% of GDP!). Anyway here is the breakdown of debt in Malaysia

Housing loans meanwhile accounted for 45 per cent of household debt followed by car financing at 20 per cent, personal loans at 15 per cent and credit cards and purchase of securities, each at 5 per cent.

To read the full article click here.

Car Loans and Personal loans are 4X and 3X higher than CC debt.

Following the foot steps of MBB CEO, I also hereby request that BNM governor adopt my suggestions that only people earning RM36K and above can qualify for a credit card and credit limit shall not be more than 2X (combined for all cards from all banks) monthly salary & stop BT and Installment Plans before the debt situation gets worst and I tell you "I told you so". brows.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 29 2011, 06:41 PM
Gen-X
post Sep 29 2011, 07:14 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Sep 29 2011, 06:56 PM)
It'll be interesting to see if our recommendations will ever create ripples in Malaysia.
Our strong analysis of credit card offerings already seeing some impact (My guess only) and some shift in consumer uptake (or downtake) of certain credit card products.

I'm thankful to our many contributors to this section. Especially some standing up to 'worrisome' questions from our readers to build debts in the wrong manner.
LYN Forum is the best source for Credit Card Info, no where else in Malaysia you'll will find a community that consist of people from all walk of life who are into credit cards and are willingly sharing valuable info and even educate people on credit cards for FREE. Doubt we will create any ripples but for those who do read the posts here, they can benefit from them smile.gif

As for my message to BNM governor, doubt she'll personally read it but hoping someone can pass the message to her.

Gen-X
post Sep 30 2011, 11:25 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(psiloveu @ Sep 30 2011, 10:45 AM)
if these things happen, I will lost 98% of my CL as well as settle my 100K++ BT in short period:(
I myself will be worst off lah, no CL and no more 0% loans. But don't worry lah, the banks will find a loop hole for your case. But at least the newcomers will not be caught in the debt traps.
Gen-X
post Oct 1 2011, 01:12 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Oct 1 2011, 12:00 AM)
This is more of a philosophical question and not directed at you personally:

You have benefited from the current situation and we will always have financially foolish people around. Such people will have issues one way or the other. Is it fair to stop other people from potentially enjoying the benefits you are getting?
Agree with you in general. But not everyone is as smart as you.
I have stated that BT and Installment are traps by the banks to make more profits. They offer 0% "loans" but actually hoping one only pays 5% and therefore can charge 18% on the balance. IF no 0% BT and Installment, no one gains or lose. Moreover, these plans are not a standard feature of cards, and if the banks are not making money out of it, why do they offer these promos.
Anyway, benefits that comes with a card should be considered as privileges. For example, the higher ranked cards (Premier cards) have much more benefits than lower ranked cards (classic or gold). And since when the world is fair?
Policies have to change with time (for the better).

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Oct 1 2011, 12:03 AM)
To be honest though, if any group dies it will be the RM3k to RM8k group that dies the greatest death and falls into the deepest chasm.
Agree with you too.

Actually this is what I wrote in my article titled Credit Card Minimum Income Raised to RM24K back in March.

BNM should have taken the following steps:

1) Annual Income Requirement RM24K is okay with me because we should not penalize those who are smart to use credit cards for their personal benefits.
2) For those earning less than RM60K, the Credit Limit should be capped at no more than 3 times monthly fixed salary combining all the credit limit from all issuers or equivalent to 3 times the amount declared in Income Tax Form divided by 12.
3) No cash withdrawal allowed with credit cards or maximum withdrawal of not more than a month's salary. This is the source of most people's debt.
4) Stop all Balance Transfer Promotions. Many people think this is "free" money and those who do not control their spending don't understand that eventually with time their debt will be accumulating as they continue to swipe with their credit card while still owing the banks in the Balance Transfer Plans. These people do not understand the word debt.
5) Increase the GST to RM100. Those who cannot afford it won't use credit cards but will get Debit Cards instead.
6) The banks are not allowed to increase a card holder credit limit if he/she has outstanding balance for 12 consecutive months.

However, with current household debt at 76% of GDP, this is very worrisome (what if you add government debt?) and BNM has announced measures to tackle this matter as reported in The Star today. Anyway, for those who can actually pay in full and need high CL, they get always can AMEX charged card where the CL (yes AMEX Charge Card also got CL) is based on spending pattern.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 1 2011, 08:51 AM
Gen-X
post Oct 1 2011, 10:48 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Oct 1 2011, 06:22 PM)
Hmmm, do you remember which merchant or which service provider? So far, all the slip I signed did not reveal the full CC no.
happened to just see a Jaya Jusco slip that show my MBB 2 Amex card number in full but expiry date **/**
Gen-X
post Oct 4 2011, 03:08 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Oct 4 2011, 03:02 PM)
From googling, min total debts to be made a bankrupt is RM30k (but includes all debts - study loans, car loan, house loan, personal loan, credit card)

Sad to see a person overspend to the point they can't even make a 5% payment

Options
1) cut expenses - stop eating out
2) any assets (FD, ASB)? - take it out as the dividend earned is much less than the interest charged to the card
3) Balance transfer to other cards. usually it will be lower interest but if your friend is not matured enough to control spending, it will just be a bigger hole to cover
Cards with 0% rate now is Maybank and CIMB but I doubt your friend can get a card with a credit limit big enough to stomach that credit transfer, lest settle 13k in 12 months
4) AKPK  - when you are unable to even make min payment, he should know he is already in trouble.

Option 3) does not necessarily solve your "unable to make min payment problem" since it just moves the bill to other cards (just not growing anymore if you manage to get a 0% plan)

Finally CUT the card! Stop him from spending. It is apparent he is not matured enough to handle the responsibility of unsecured credit.
Good advice but it your read his earlier post, his friend cannot pay Balance Transfer RM13K doh.gif Like I said, BT is a trap.

Anyway, thanks for your effort, I learned something today, in order to be a bankrupt, got to have at least RM30K debts.
Gen-X
post Oct 4 2011, 04:42 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(triad @ Oct 4 2011, 04:20 PM)
Guys,

I pay roughly about 40-50% for maybank card and about 10% for my cimb, every month.

I do have some spare cash, totaling about 50% off my entire cc debt. Basically, this is just a spare cash.

My question is, it is better to pay my total bill with my cash or keep with my routine?

TY guys
Well, if the outstanding in your MBB and CIMB is above RM1K, do a balance transfer between them and pay 0% interest. But after dong BT make sure you pay the amount required in full to avoid interest charges. If you already done a BT and paying as you mentioned above, then...... I don't know what to say.

As for the spare cash in hand, yah should use it to pay of your debt instead of being charged (more) interest, unless your cash can earn you more compared to the interest charges.

Click here to read my article Credit Cards are Cash Cow for Banks. Are you Working for the Banks?

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 4 2011, 04:43 PM
Gen-X
post Oct 5 2011, 09:03 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Oct 5 2011, 07:20 AM)
if cant settle rm12k in 12 months BT, go for longer period, such as 24 months or 36 months (but no 0% offered).
To those thinking of doing more than 12 months BT, please understand you'll be paying more than the interest rate quoted. Always find out the actual effective interest rate, you may even end up paying more compared to your current tier interest rate (based on reducing balance) for your credit card. Click here to read my article Credit Cards - App iPhone & Android, Easy Money and Bankruptcy.RE In this article I gave an example where a it shows a 8% loan with interest paid upfront compared to credit card interest rate at 17.5% reducing balance).

To All:

I just published my latest article titled - Entry Level Credit Card - Which Is Best For You? click here to read it. In this article I have for the first time stated the worst credit card in Malaysia!
Gen-X
post Oct 5 2011, 11:35 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Oct 5 2011, 11:28 AM)
BSN BT 24 months, the 4.5% is calculated 1 time only.

so rm12k will be charged rm540 then rm12k/24 = rm500.

meaning, 1st bill need to pay rm1040, followed by rm500 for next 23 months.

like that ar, that means the effective interest much much higher than those plans that charge flat interest and payment divided equally.

16 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0501sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:59 AM