★★★ LYN PROTON WAJA Club - V12 ★★★

cyanboy
post Sep 2 2011, 01:07 AM

257 posts

To sifus,
Any recommended radiator coolant ah?

Tesco, Brothers ada macam-macam and banyak murah-murah one's, any recommended brand / price range to look for?
I'm using stock radiator...

A car with nearly zero mods... hanya guna NGV... itu saje mod.

Another question,
Anyone can note out the product number on Waja Owner's Manual Booklet. It should start with PW------. I'm getting get one from proton hq I think, hope they sell it...

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Sep 2 2011, 01:12 AM
cyanboy
post Sep 2 2011, 01:35 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Sep 2 2011, 01:24 AM)
hey guys, i'm changing my tires soon, any place to recommend that is cheap? Planning to get the yoko C-Drive laugh.gif

or any other better tires to recommend? hmm.gif

btw, recently from thursday to sunday been working part time in Sepang and i noticed my fuel usage. On pure highway, travelling 150+kmh average and sometimes hitting 190, my fuel consumption increased by a whopping 100km per tank! rclxub.gif

now only i know how much difference highway drive vs city drive makes to your fc LOL laugh.gif
You can hit that speed on waja without mod? Manual or Auto? shocking.gif
This few days a lot of Ops in highways, streets had noticeable less white uniforms... jaga jaga... wink.gif
cyanboy
post Sep 2 2011, 02:15 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Sep 2 2011, 01:51 AM)
Manual of course. 2001 waja with 67000km on the clock and expired 6 year old tires on the front and bone stock everything, other than a cleansed throttle body with thundergod's threebond laugh.gif

well, its the highway to sepang so its pretty damn wide and the road is straight the whole time so.... whistling.gif laugh.gif could've went faster i think but then got car in front so have to slow down after i hit 190

but then the speed on my speedo and my GPS is different. when my speedo says 190, my gps says 180 sweat.gif
Saw your A4 paper listing.. Need to change around the same as yours... Maintenance is killing for my 350000km car...

6 years old tyre? Wow... mine 9 months once, 11 months skidding on rain...

You should have opted for Thundergod's ECU flashing... Speed cut will be removed around that speed.

Then that day it shouldn't be 190 anymore... brows.gif
cyanboy
post Sep 4 2011, 05:53 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(boonykun @ Sep 3 2011, 12:46 PM)
just got RM300 tickets for my waja >.<

Brand new tickets for my waja >.<

SUBANG JAYA  11005xxxxx  24-08-2011 09:05:00
SPEEDING

Assuming road is 110km/h

so to hit that speed i need 40km and Above

So 160km/h?

Wow.. that is insanely.. Funny hahahahaha
160km/h on early morning 9.05am? Thats quite insane...
At night less uniforms ma...

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Sep 3 2011, 12:54 PM)
just solved mine yesterday! got elton to just update the rom, instead of flashing the killer rom. you can pm the fella see how much he's charging but its a hell lot cheaper than the killer rom flash LOL laugh.gif

today wake up first thing i do is go to my car and try autostart. it started smoothly after one start  thumbup.gif
The part time alarm installer guy solved your problem with autostart?

QUOTE(mxsteven @ Sep 3 2011, 06:01 PM)
yeah ur car need to calibrate the ISC sensor and might need to clean the throttlebody... check out with thundergod_cid.
u cant calibrate by removing the batt...

the HISS sound i think the battery connection no good...
How about his after stop engine "krak krak krak" sound? I'm having the same issue.
Throttle body is the problem?

Btw how's the firing order of the spark plug? 3rd spark plug cable keep on popping out. Auto car die on red light + junctions + corners then COW power to turn the steering... "P" Sticker din pull out kena honk like mad. rclxub.gif
cyanboy
post Sep 5 2011, 12:17 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(boonykun @ Sep 4 2011, 06:27 PM)
no krak krak krak.

Krak krak Krak is normal if no bat, that i have tried be4 tongue.gif

after a SHORT check like 2 mins after open up the proton engine cover @ the car, he saw the cable that connect to the starter got "destroyed" by mostly rodens.. assuming mostly rats. But that cable is so thick, how the hell rats can kill it lulz.

he replaced one cable (FOC, he say spare one), then can start already... smile.gif

spark plugs all good, denso iridium don't gives problems (that i know how to check hehehe tongue.gif

now... save $$ killerom smile.gif or just wait WAJA turbo (IF there's one nxt year tongue.gif)
Lol. Seems like rats have a new prospect. Mine sounded like something expanding or contracting punye sound, only audible on front outside of the car after off engine.

Well, very interested with the killerom... $$ kena tunggu lagi... Waja TURBO? Tanya steve ada masa tak... rclxms.gif

Bapa company nak ambil balik company car, officially as bystander status until Waja balik ke tangan. Once halted his 400 000 km mission when the car on my hand, now this car going to resume his mission again. This car had enough rest...
cyanboy
post Sep 6 2011, 12:23 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(blo0dLuSt @ Sep 5 2011, 05:52 PM)
haha. the kg is in jhr n tganu. d house in kl. and the uni is in perak. thats explains the journey
Now i full respect not only car mileage... but also the person...
cyanboy
post Sep 6 2011, 02:36 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(blo0dLuSt @ Sep 6 2011, 12:56 AM)
haha wat do u mean by that?
1 week travel so many places... Nanti dulu... by waja all the way or not? brows.gif
If not kena edit jadi respect mileage saje... hmm.gif
cyanboy
post Sep 14 2011, 08:52 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Sep 14 2011, 05:07 PM)
How's your exam? tongue.gif
QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Sep 14 2011, 08:48 PM)
damn lor.. so many don't know== this subject so hard T_T.. might failed sad.gif(

Added on September 14, 2011, 8:49 pmhaiz sien ahhh... daddy like don't want pay for my car installment liao.. have to work + study soon sad.gif
Exam about car's projector lamp + angel + demon eyes? wink.gif
cyanboy
post Sep 18 2011, 03:46 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(jrboy86 @ Sep 18 2011, 03:03 AM)
Hi there all the sifus...Relatively new to LYN and lurk around most of the time and now wants to join in tongue.gif

I'm a super noob, a big one i meant in car...I'm having a Waja 4g18p (year 2001) bought 2nd and no maintenance done yet(guess the previous owner treated the car badly cry.gif)...Engine is noisy and read ThunderGod_cid 3bond thingy...

so now i'm asking for advices...Is the grounding necessary? hmm.gif  and what engine oil you guys recommend? my car is going about 320k+ ady...engine coolant necessary or rather just water?

Thanks in advance first tongue.gif and am a student, so budget abit tight shakehead.gif

and the TT is super near....my exam hall is just around the corner(Bukit Jalil)

To all the sifus, I  notworthy.gif after reading the advices though i only understand maybe 10-20% of it
Your condition about the same as mine when the car handed to me, 350k+. The car is treated like a bull or cow until i took over it.

I'm not that expert in all these, but the list that I did to the car after handed over: (before was driven by parents)
Interior
1. Wash, Vacuum, Wax. DIY, whole interior of car cleared thoroughly, took 1 whole day to complete (Cost: RM20)
2. Waterspot treatment then RainX all glasses. DIY few hours. (Cost: RM12+RM18)
3. Dashboard clean and dashboard shine. DIY Normal warm water cleaning on all dashboards, foam cleanser on seats and door fabrics, then dashboard protectant (Cost: RM18+RM2)
4. Bought a steering wheel cover and useless but high visible steering lock (RM8+RM20)
5. Identified all interior faulty parts such as cigar lighters, blown bulbs, fuses and replaced it. If in trouble looking for spare parts, get from Proton Service Centre but quite expensive. DO compare before considering Proton's.
6. Pandan leaves to get rid of cockroaches. (Active in nights, sometimes purposely stop car at roadside to hit them)
7. Ambi Pur to push down odour of cigar + sweat + a lot of other aromas since year 2003.

I seemed to be very cary about the interior... dunno why but I think interior is important as we spend the most time in contact with the car in its interior. Basically after interior is cleaned and polished the interior can easily return like new. Scratches and spots can be easily gone after dashboard shine. Tough stains all i use WD40. The only regret part is wear and tear of gear shift and steering, kept on flaking while driving. For me steering lock quite important as I parked outside for long hours on roadside during college.

Performance (A lot of repairs has been done before the car is passed down, but still problematic rclxub.gif )
1. Changed to Mobil 1 full synthetic. Before that was Castrol magnetec semi synthetic. (RM149)
2. Flushed radiator and added coolant. Before that was using only TAP WATER... DIY 3 hours by buying radiator flush and coolant. (RM9+RM20)

About the coolant personally I felt no noticible difference after added it. My parents claimed that coolant is just waste of money, just use tap water and masa sampai tukar radiator sahaje. But conversion from castrol to mobil 1 I do felt the difference, but is not much as I'm using NGV all the time.

Other's i'll leave it to sifu's.
cyanboy
post Sep 22 2011, 12:13 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(jrboy86 @ Sep 21 2011, 09:07 AM)
Morning~~~ wave.gif Is the engine cover useful or not? should i remove it?
Mine was removed after installing NGV.
I was informed that due to higher engine operating temperature using NGV, remove the cover gives better heat dissipation, as quoted by dares also.

Another use of removing it is no need clean engine cover frequently. Those main taruk minyak enjin punya spill here and there and leave all those thumbprints on engine cover like i'm working in imigresen.

It also allow me to access my spark plugs easily. My third spark plug cable always jerk out for nothing, gotta pop in after every start to ensure wont mati enjin at corners and traffic lights.

just few cents although not really useful comments...
cyanboy
post Sep 23 2011, 12:55 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Sep 22 2011, 12:25 AM)
working like imigresen hahahahaa, like that sentence.

do you suffer from sucky idling or dry injectors when using ngv?
Idling is a real big problem, that was only few months after installation. The car can even die when change from N to D... Wth... But after went back to the installer few times then got the right idling RPM dy. Because need to achieve a balanced idling RPM to accomodate both gas and petrol settings. When use NGV, idling RPM less than 1000RPM, but when I switch back to petrol, idling is a bit more than 1000RPM. Gotta find the sweet spot so that it is high enough for NGV but low for petrol. So if I use petrol memang minum petrol macam air.

Now my parents are adjusting theirselves if the idling RPM lari. I was informed that the RPM can easily lari if still insist to press pedal on nearly empty gas tank. The car goes jerk jerk like kehabisan minyak when the gas tank is empty, then I switch to petrol and Voila, I seemed like turbo-ed the 1.6L 4G18 power.

I was also informed that if i go for a car battery change, i will need to go back to the installer and retune ECU for free. (Although now closed down dy). But few months ago after I changed the battery, what needs tuning is only adjusting the idling rpm. If not the idling would be very very bad...

Is injectors + Spark plugs? Both installer and service foreman claimed that spark plug wore out faster. I didn't ask my parents about spark plugs yet, but last time the spark plug change is like 1.5 years dy. The only problem is the 3rd spark plug cable kept on too excited and jump out only. To maintain those valves, I will sometimes use petrol to lubricate the parts, hope that it wont spoil so fast..

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Sep 23 2011, 12:59 AM
cyanboy
post Sep 23 2011, 11:04 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(mxsteven @ Sep 23 2011, 01:23 AM)
If the tuning on the NGV is right u shouldnt felt the power lost so much... are u running on sequential system or mixer NGV? if sequential system u can tune the RPM very stable... So far i tune so many taxi last time is ok now no more time to do however i can show u where to do it...
I just came back driving with petrol, kaki gatal gatal sikit...
For NGV power lost bit bit sure got lo. Pick up bit slow but still ok for me. I think i'm running on the mixer system after referred some websites. Mine was 4g18 engine so most probably is mixer system. But for now the RPM seems stsble, at least for few months dy...
cyanboy
post Sep 25 2011, 11:02 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(bigfatant @ Sep 25 2011, 08:56 AM)
I agree.. looks reasonable.. Workshop where?
Tumpang quote... Also interested with the workshop location...
cyanboy
post Sep 30 2011, 02:10 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Sep 30 2011, 11:03 AM)
I'm beginning to hear a rattling sound from the engine when accelerating uphill. I'm assuming it's engine pinging/knocking? if it is, how do I fix it?

I'm using RON95, if I have to change to 97 I'd rather sell the car and buy a Viva... mad.gif
Mine has similar problem, but not knocking sound. It's sounded like I installed a whistle on my exhaust when accelerating uphill. RPM over 2k. Engine noise is unbearable.

I only notice that these few days after a fun drive to KLIA. For the going part is ok, everything normal. But on the trip coming back, engine noise ultra loud and if sudden want boost uphill it seem like no power to pickup...

Maybe after constant revving the engine at high rpm for an hour brought the problem? Or exhaust pecah a?
cyanboy
post Sep 30 2011, 08:13 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(mxsteven @ Sep 30 2011, 03:06 PM)
it seems like the fiber in the exhaust is koyak edi ..... the whistle is the exhaust tip... try to adjust or remove it
Koyak? Waliao... I only 110kmh in midnight le cry.gif
Just remove the screw near the exhaust tip then can see everything dy? Berapa if replace..

QUOTE(dares @ Sep 30 2011, 03:26 PM)
Cool, thanks.

You're using TNT for fuel? Dude you know I am going to believe you right? blink.gif

Added on September 30, 2011, 3:27 pm

Haha drove a Waja there and drove a Jet back.
Yea. Trade in for a jet engine turbo, steven big eyes.
But when have a look at his car, I big eye... shocking.gif

QUOTE(mxsteven @ Sep 30 2011, 04:48 PM)
yeah my favorite guy is Grant Imahara...... he tried to create everything robots hahahaha....

Rattling sound? it can be various.... how it sounds like?

tak tak tak tak?
tok tok tok tok?
ting ting ting ting?
kruk kruk kruk kruk?
krick krack krick krack?
tak tok ting?

laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
all this + shhh shhh when turning the steering... and press brake got szeh szeh szeh from the air con... go through road bump in a turn will combine all these sounds together, like an haromic orchestra playing with my ICE...
cyanboy
post Nov 10 2011, 01:14 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Nov 10 2011, 12:58 AM)
Honestly la, how much diff can you feel? Other than the sound laugh.gif

Pop quiz: How long does it takes 2 full-grown men to change a Proton badge on the rear of a Proton Waja? laugh.gif
Bought the badge from Proton but seemed too complicated so didn't change it yet... Pop it out like wine bottle?
cyanboy
post Nov 10 2011, 02:30 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Nov 10 2011, 01:25 AM)
You've got 2 more tries

And don't try popping it out unless you want to break it. The front pops off but not the back
QUOTE(dares @ Nov 10 2011, 09:03 AM)
Performance-wise my butt-feet dyno can feel the improvement over the 2k-3k range (so is useless in traffic jam  unsure.gif ), haven't got the chance to try anything higher. But definitely not placebo la. The sound I did not expect hahaha, rather loud now

All in all I think it's a pretty reasonable improvement for the amount I paid.
Two. I got it changed before, it really did take two guys

EDIT: By the way how much did you pay for the badges? need to change mine again.
I bought it ori from Proton Glenmarie parts centre. You can go to your nearest Proton SC and ask them to ship in to there for you, may take 3 days, no need to go Glenmarie.

Front badge: RM32.99 (Can choose blue gold or black silver version)
Rear badge: RM32.99 (Can choose color also, for Waja Mitsubishi version only I think)
Side badge (On rear door): RM9.64 (Waja Mitsu version only)
"WAJA" wording: RM14.96
"1.6" wording: RM8.37
"1.6X" wording: RM12.07
""CPS 1.6" wording: RM21.38
"Campro" wording: RM25.34
"Chancellor" Wording: Available but didn't ask
Passenger ciggie lighter cover: RM3-5 (Mine had snapped since the car bought)

Front badge and rear badge Brother's Kelana Jaya less than RM20, but there is no gold lining on the "sides" of the badge, and it's a lot thinner, looks bit cheapo.

Still have no idea how to change the back one, need remove the whole thing above the number plate? hmm.gif

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Nov 10 2011, 10:26 AM)
Good la the sound. Other ppl's sound from the exhaust wan, yours from the engine

And you answered the question wrongly. It's how LONG does it takes for 2 men to change it. Ps: boot filled with Dynamat

Contact Elton about the badge, he bought quite alot from some accessory shop recently. He plans to rebadge his Charade to blend into the club
Rebadge charade into waja chassis thumbup.gif Dynamat really worked well? How about those big D and P rubber to be pasted onto the doors? Wind sound can reduce bit?

QUOTE(dinwaja @ Nov 10 2011, 01:06 PM)
my car already 10 years old now..since 2001...i have no prob with the brake system...still using standard servo+rotor...the brake pad is Bendix CT titanium....always travel long distance...always speeding.....nowadays only follow the speed limit...with 17" i can steel hit 190kmj...last time 215kmj on Elite hywa...speeding with Vios all the way from shah alam to Nilai exit. still can do 3hrs drive from Sg Buloh tol until Alor Setar Selatan tol (with 2 pit stop for bathroom and 1 longer pit stop at rnr gurun)...

engine still smooth...the only loud sound come from HKS Super Power Flow air filter...but the pickup is good. using stock exhaust....just remove the cat con and replace it with bullet. dun trust me? can have a ride in my car.still running on 4G18...

last time i also got poison to change to twin pot (u guys called it 2 pot)..but now i didn't give it a damn anymore.
My parents kept complaining about the lousy brake. I personally felt it is quite spongy as compared to Iswara's too. I think need to ask them service brake dy.

The Waja one month anniversary at insurance workshop... Because of lousy brake doh.gif

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Nov 10 2011, 02:33 PM
cyanboy
post Nov 10 2011, 06:35 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(dinwaja @ Nov 10 2011, 03:18 PM)
i have no comments for ur waja...but i have no problem with the brake.if brake lock problem,it is due to no antilock braking system with earlier version.u have to know how to brake when emergency. we cannot just hit the brake like that.anyway,u are welcome to ride in my car to test the brake.the only thing i had changed,the brake pump,due to leaking.the servo still as it is.

Added on November 10, 2011, 3:21 pm

my waja is auto too....yeah,u r welcome to have a ride,just topup my fuel only..haha...no noticeable noise coming from the brake...only from the engine bay.those old members from Team Imperials should know me and my car....

Added on November 10, 2011, 3:25 pmanyway, the noise coming out from ur engine bay is subjective...it can come from ur'teppet' sound...if that the case,just ask ur foreman to adjust it back...regularly service ur car is important too...usually i change the engine oil and oil filter every 5000km...my 3rd last job had me changed it every month...haha...
Brake lock I did experienced before on my second day to college but I think the braking distance is fairly good eventhough my brakes got lock up, 100km/h to stationary in few secs... The mini cooper in front of me (should have ABS) is very grippy, and I even managed to stop on time without bumping it. So I think "long and full braking" distance is ok, at least better than the Perdana behind me doh.gif

My parents realized is spongy after driving company's Frontier, and I noticed it when driving another Iswara. Normally Waja I press brake need to press release press release, then very cengkam, but if Iswara no need. Never had brake pump prob yet. But I think i'll desak them to thoroughly check brake system after car come out, before another major accident again...

Thanks for the invitation, will have a try if have chance nod.gif

This post has been edited by cyanboy: Nov 10 2011, 06:47 PM
cyanboy
post Nov 11 2011, 12:54 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(dinwaja @ Nov 10 2011, 10:49 PM)
range from rm80-rm150...for me,better change ur water pump too...depending on ur mileage.steering bush can easily check la...i'm using superpro bush for quite some time edy...let hope it's not ur drive shaft...

Added on November 10, 2011, 10:50 pm

actually the correct spelling is 'tappet'...or also known as engine lifter..u can google for it...

Added on November 10, 2011, 10:54 pm

make sure u check all 4 brakes...if even 1 rear brake not working as it should...then accident can happen...if all 4 is in good condition,u can have a good braking system...make sure the brake fluid is in top notch too...do bleeding if needed.if u still not confident enough,u can take ur car to Puspakom...then u can see the result...failed or pass the test.
Good one. Will double check.

Puspakom is seriously the last resort doh.gif
cyanboy
post Nov 16 2011, 05:49 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(mfa2214 @ Nov 16 2011, 11:50 AM)
check the rubber at rear bonet. my car had the same problem. Inside the rubber, there has a rust and water can coming at from that..i fixed it using steel glue..
to drain it, use many2 tissue la...hehehe.. kain oso can  biggrin.gif
Thought at spare tyre there got a steel cap that can just remove and straight use garden hose and "takung" it till bersih...

Thats what I did few years ago...

Good news, Waja will come out from workshop tomorrow... After 1 month suffering inside...

Will inspect brake system at first...

0.0577sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:24 AM