6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V11, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

SUSdestEX
post Aug 13 2011, 01:15 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Aug 13 2011, 01:05 AM)
Hi guys, pls add me into the user list. just got my sgs2 today.
My very 1st android smartphone.
welcome to android, this is my first android and smartphone too, make sure you read all the information in page 1, can skip those comparison with other phones tho biggrin.gif
SUSdestEX
post Aug 13 2011, 10:00 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Aug 13 2011, 01:43 AM)
awesome! successfully flashed to litening 5.0
btw guys, any of your tried the page 1 method to access Amazon app store?
I'm stuck at putting default address for 1-click mobile.
I've added the default address but the app is still prompting me to put it in...
yep, make sure your address is from the website, and fill in your city and state and poscode in the seperate boxes

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Aug 13 2011, 07:10 AM)
anyone have problems with the ap news mobile widget? it keeps crashing on startup
clear data/cache or freeze it then
SUSdestEX
post Aug 13 2011, 06:44 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(TtFIRSTZxX @ Aug 13 2011, 06:41 PM)
When i play asphalt 6 on it, it was ridiculously LAG!
and i go check on youtube and everyphone has the same problem
let me guess, ur running android 2.3.3 laugh.gif
SUSdestEX
post Aug 13 2011, 08:13 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(oldKyoo @ Aug 13 2011, 08:04 PM)
and here i was, thought, owh yes man, 2.3.4 is coming to meeeee.

now =,=
u mistaken KG with KE laugh.gif
SUSdestEX
post Aug 14 2011, 12:45 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(devil94 @ Aug 14 2011, 12:30 AM)
sorry uncle ben for my noobness. mind gimme a simple explain where superoneclick and flash the kernel what is the difference ?
thx  biggrin.gif
be very grateful that uncle benny is in a good enuff mood to write an essay for you laugh.gif
SUSdestEX
post Aug 14 2011, 01:05 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(smecksy @ Aug 14 2011, 12:48 AM)
HI, I am planning to get the SGSII. This will be my first Android phone. I have spent a lot of time researching before deciding to jump into this ecosystem. But I still have some questions about it:

1) In Digi's 12month contract plan, it states we get unlimited internet for 68RM per month.

I asked Digi sales rep if there are any qoutas when using the net, and if I will get billed extra. He said I can use the net as much as I want for RM 63.

For me this is too good to be true. And I really doubt it is. So anyone that can clarify this?

2) I have seen people opening threads saying they can't buy paid apps from the Android market without 'rooting' their phones.

I am totally new to the concept of rooting, and even after doing some lengthy research I am still abit dazed. There are so many ROMs how do we know which ones are good? Doesn't the Android Market work for Malaysia or do we have to flash our ROM to a firmware of a different location for us to get the Apps to work??? Any good ROMs you would recommend to a beginner that also allows you to install non-free apps??
1) DiGi =/= maxis, they not suck blood company, after usage quota of 3gb u will be throttled down to 128kbps, from experience, just reconnect a few times and u will get ur fast speed back laugh.gif you will definitely not be charged extra and no sudden huge bill to pay.

2) paid apps is avaliable in msia.
read page 1 read and read and read, best u read the definition first, what is rom what is kernal what is baseband what is csc, there's a link in page 1 explaining in detail every one of it. beginner rom i would suggest lite-ning
SUSdestEX
post Aug 14 2011, 01:32 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(smecksy @ Aug 14 2011, 01:26 AM)
I checked their websites as thoroughly as I could, either I have really really bad searching skills or they did not put up links in proper places. This is why I went to Digi to ask them directly, the person I talked to barely gave me a detailed answer. He told me 'Yes, yes its unlimited, no worry even if you use a lot" he never told me abt the quota and the speed cap that comes after you cross it. Makes the pricing more sensible now.

Anyway thank you so much for the detailed clarification and for the ROM advise benny888 ill definitely look into it.
its hidden in the FAQ laugh.gif actually u can ask them thru the online dchat service, from 9am to 9pm

This post has been edited by destEX: Aug 14 2011, 01:33 AM
SUSdestEX
post Aug 14 2011, 03:36 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(bb.supplements @ Aug 14 2011, 03:20 AM)
guys,i need urgent help..my friends galaxy ace was stolen today.....she didnt install any apps to recover.....any idea how 2 recover it or atleast lock the phone,so the stealer cant use it....really appreciate any help coz less than 1 mth only d age of d phone....pity her...
pity her, i'm not sure if the galaxy ace has the samsung dive installed, google didnt help hmm.gif
SUSdestEX
post Aug 14 2011, 03:43 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(bb.supplements @ Aug 14 2011, 03:38 AM)
wats samsung dive ah bro?
a samsung app that comes with the phone in the sgs2 sgs and sg tab that allows u to track phone lock it and make it ring, from the samsung dive website http://www.samsungdive.com/

This post has been edited by destEX: Aug 14 2011, 03:44 AM
SUSdestEX
post Aug 14 2011, 04:04 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(bb.supplements @ Aug 14 2011, 03:50 AM)
comes with sgs2? i check in my phone..dun have aso..must download is it?
settings>location and security>remote controls
SUSdestEX
post Aug 14 2011, 10:48 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(Teng N @ Aug 14 2011, 07:11 AM)
However one must stay with touch wiz UI to enjoy this features. Once flashed AOSP ROM s dive cannot detect your phone.
not touchwiz ui la, it's samsung framework, u can freeze or even uninstall touchwiz

QUOTE(Kris187 @ Aug 14 2011, 08:52 AM)
I see, im in the office right now and the phone is 10% already, will try to charge 100% then try to recalibrate, will update this thread..

im thinking of flashing the ROM now.. hmmm.. but i still wanna enjoy the stock.. biggrin.gif
install batterbatterystats and check your wakelocks, your problem is with the wakelocks

SUSdestEX
post Aug 14 2011, 01:44 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(sLapshock @ Aug 14 2011, 01:29 PM)
I learnt that CWM doesnt work with Litening ROM (Based on Litening Rom FAQ)

I have one last question before i flash, which version of Litening rom should i flash?
Litening_Rom_v5-0.rar

Litening_Rom_v4-2.rar

Litening_Rom_v4-1.rar
they meant u cant flash the rom through CWM, the CWM and CWM app still works. read the changelog for which to flash, latest is 5.0 b4 dat was 4.2 and 4.1, 4.0 then 3.2 ..... i would suggest 3.2 or 4.1 or 5.0 each based on different roms and have different stuffs, for eg. 5.0 removed the overscroll glow but 4.1 has the oveerscroll glow etc. etc.

This post has been edited by destEX: Aug 14 2011, 01:45 PM
SUSdestEX
post Aug 14 2011, 03:59 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(SihamZhai @ Aug 14 2011, 02:38 PM)
Eh bro.. wats ur problem la... ppl just go their phone and is still new.. u know ur already good with this things.. u expect us to read the pass thread like 11 version ago and find the question being answered is it? U search for me la.. come on la.. u wanna help the community don give this kind of answer.. or without just don help at all.. geez.. community service  rclxub.gif
QUOTE(SihamZhai @ Aug 14 2011, 02:45 PM)
If u wanna help the community then your heart should be there even if the question gets repeated 20 or lets say even a thousand times. Everyday, new SGS2 users get into this place.. everyday you get new questions... some questions are old questions that have been said thousands of times. But come on... if you wanna help these people, then help la... don complain... if you wanna complain and whine about people not reading the guide, then don't help. Sometimes people might not understand the FAQ written, sometimes its vague to new users. Then you have to be prepared to tutor this specific person right?
pity this guy, he ask the wrong question at the wrong time laugh.gif i remember asking the exact same question in v5 tongue.gif
sihamzhai, try asking these question in xda forum, their replies is worst than uncle benny's 5x. next time learn, wanna confirm go pm someone other than uncle benny laugh.gif

QUOTE(sLapshock @ Aug 14 2011, 03:03 PM)
Sorry guys for the mishaps.

Anyway i have a Q.

Previously, when i press VOLUME UP/HOME/POWER

it will boot and bring me to the CWM options which the text in orange, but now not anymore instead it goes to ANDROID SYSTEM RECOVERY <3E>, reboot system now and clear/wipe data etc, wipe cache partition

why is that so?
The reason why we emphasize on reading so much, bcoz it's effing dangerous to root/flash without knowing a shit. u wanna risk a 2k phone? yes u ask us, we can tell u the exact procedures on how to flash/root, so u successfully do it, then how? u think u'll stop? no u'll start flashing more and dis and that, one day ur gonna effing brick ur phone. then ur gonna come here and beg for help, if it's a softbrick we will usually help, but a hardbrick then bye bye and u'll sit down in the corner and cry. why? bcoz u lacked the basic knowledge on how things work, so go and read the fiz page, dun und, read it in the xda forum, like a freaking bible, and be very grateful that uncle benny replied you.
Your question that i quoted is also bcoz of ur lack of understanding on how things work.

QUOTE(kazama82 @ Aug 14 2011, 03:25 PM)
good idea, or u can post this too http://tinyurl.com/1c2
SUSdestEX
post Aug 14 2011, 04:19 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Aug 14 2011, 03:51 PM)
some noob questions.. can any1 intro me a free gps?

what is the benefit of rooting mentioned in the 1st page?

it says to extend battery life its better to off the phone b4 charging.. does it affect much cos charging with phone on is a frequent for many..

is the apps and widget intro free apps or paid apps?

sorry.. was reading through while setting my phone and didn't really understand..
1 & 2 go here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1991378
3)dont worry so much about battery, main thing, dun charge when it hits rock bottom, around 30-40% u better charge ad, always better to charge plug it in wherever and whenever u can, li-ion is different from the old one. another thing is, once it hits 100%, better switch off and use ur phone abit till it hits 95% bcoz staying at 100% will fasten the corrosion of the lithium ion or smtg, there is supposed to be a safety switch that prevent battery to stick at 100% for too long, but i prefer it manually plus u save ur electric bill smile.gif
4)if u mean what's posted in fiz page, most of them are paid apps

QUOTE(sLapshock @ Aug 14 2011, 04:10 PM)
Oh i see, now i understand, anyway regarding the version, does it matter which version i took?

Lulz-Kernel-Build-11-for-I9100-XXKG6.tar
*includes Tegrak Kernel Build 25
*includes XXKG6 initramfs

Lulz-Kernel-Build-12-for-I9100-XXKG6.tar
*includes Tegrak Kernel Build 25
*includes XXKG6 initramfs

taken from: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1118918
bro u know what i stock? doh.gif
QUOTE(Ryutaro @ Aug 14 2011, 04:15 PM)
haiz 3rd day of using lite'ning ROM and YES it really have random reboot prob zzz...i experienced it once everyday LOL...and battery drain issue urmm...not that much cause i charge my phone all da time xP

p.s.: i know frequent charging made battery short
nahhh research has proven it's better smile.gif

This post has been edited by destEX: Aug 14 2011, 04:20 PM
SUSdestEX
post Aug 14 2011, 04:32 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Aug 14 2011, 04:23 PM)
hey guys, who here DOESN'T root theirphone? hehehe... cause I just bought this phone and it's pretty darn good out of the box. I got a completely hacked and modded N900 so, don't feel like dabbling with the SGSII that much...

... anyone complaining about their unrooted device being too boring?
best u dun root, once u root u will kena poison and will keep flash here flash there then u'll mod here mod there then u'll test here test there, then u will start asking stupid questions to uncle benny laugh.gif then u will get flamed then u will be lifeless then u will....

QUOTE(Ryutaro @ Aug 14 2011, 04:29 PM)
research by who u mean? LOL i am quite pissed by random reboot thingy only other still fine
http://byrong.com/PowerTesting/

This post has been edited by destEX: Aug 14 2011, 04:39 PM
SUSdestEX
post Aug 14 2011, 05:21 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(kazama82 @ Aug 14 2011, 04:46 PM)
anyone tried this kernel?..looks like improve battery life

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1213339
flashed it after i saw ur post, gonna see how well it does biggrin.gif

SUSdestEX
post Aug 14 2011, 05:27 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(cadmus @ Aug 14 2011, 05:22 PM)
Need advice.

any way to access ad-hoc network using sgs2?

i only have stock rom and kernel+rooting.
there's a way by modifying a root file but its quite a hassle.
easier way u go download a software called connectify, and use it to make ur laptop into a wifi hotspot, settle smile.gif

This post has been edited by destEX: Aug 14 2011, 05:27 PM
SUSdestEX
post Aug 14 2011, 06:53 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(uhavenot @ Aug 14 2011, 06:45 PM)
Guys, just wanna find out if anyone facing this prob ? I've noticed this facebook for android app is draining my battery because my battery history shows that it is awake constantly even when my screen is off..

This morning i uninstall the facebook app .. and the problem was resolved, no more awake when the screen is off..

btw im on stock roms..

cheers~
are you using any task managers, or the advanced task manager from the market? I once went and use that and close fb in the services and woke up with 15% thumbup.gif went and check with betterbatterystats and found out facebook was the culprit whole night phone awake mad.gif

This post has been edited by destEX: Aug 14 2011, 06:53 PM
SUSdestEX
post Aug 14 2011, 07:04 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(sLapshock @ Aug 14 2011, 06:59 PM)
Dont ask too much, here got alot of KEYBOARD WARRIOR. WELL some really help but some extra dont help at all but kao pei kao bu act smart, some worst things happening last 10 pages then still extra wanna comment hoping to join the club to gain attention, still can say noib go strike and what gonna happen to this world. What a joke, benda dah lama habis kau skrang nak extra extra pulak, mcm sial. Clown.
sry i cant help it but wow this is serious butthurt laugh.gif laugh.gif
SUSdestEX
post Aug 14 2011, 07:11 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(Ic3pRInc3sSsIcA @ Aug 14 2011, 07:07 PM)
hi uncle benny,from wat u said, my gps also hard to lock using gps status in open area... shuld i get exchange or just upg firmware?
u shud check fiz
gps with 3g on compared with gps with 3g off bcoz gps sure slower when 3g off but not slow till 30 mins la, 1-2 mins is normal, also u muz look at where u are, open space? under a tinted car? cloudy? raining? haze? all these affect the gps, also these days they have solar flare, gps signal getting more and more interference blabla whistling.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0461sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:55 PM