QUOTE(Lurker @ Jan 28 2014, 08:06 PM)
yes, arnie looks pretty worn out!stallone looks good, bruce willis (in red2) still ok, arnie not so good...
This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 29 2014, 10:39 AM
What 1080p Movie did You Watch Today?, Its supposed to be a midnite...
Jan 29 2014, 10:38 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,454 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
Jan 31 2014, 09:55 PM
these two are good movies for the festive holidays, available in 1080p dts 5.1, recommended:
more teenage fantasy than adult syfy... but entertaining. hk veterans in stereotype druglord-gangster story but packed with bullets, grenades, gunships and rattling guns! white storm 掃毒 (is defintely better than simon yam's constable 2013 冲锋战警) |
Feb 2 2014, 08:48 PM
as a diehard fan of director ridley scott, i had to watch this one.
but this counselor... err... 2/5. despite all the stars... michael fassbender, cameron diaz. javier bardem, penelope cruz, brad pitt, edgar ramirez.... this one will go down as one of scott's failures in the like of gi jane and robin hood vs his mighty success with blade runner, alien, black hawk down and prometheus. we'll wait for his next one, exodus 2014 starring christian bale, joel edgerton, aaron paul, ben kingsley, and sigourney weaver. |
Feb 8 2014, 07:07 PM
gravity - i'll give it 4.5/5, one of the best in recent years. deserves 10 oscar nominations.
however, many things in the show are scientifically inaccurate, e.g. the hst or hubble space telescope and iss or int'l space station are on very different orbits, far apart, not possible to space drift from one to another. but i think the zero gravity fire is correct. it's not syfy, not sydoc but just fy in a space environment. at the end of the 90 min movie, it's wow. then, after another 100 min of the extras, it's a wow-wow. great creativity, innovation and technology put into it. the cgi and special effects are in the same league as matrix and avatar. enjoy it best in 1080p dtshdma 5.1. one thing, might be a very different experience if watched in 3d as there are many minutes of rotating-gyrating-bouncing against a background of a space shuttle, iss, hst, shenzhou, the earth, 12,000 stars from actual mapping multiplied many times to give millions! This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 8 2014, 07:30 PM |
Feb 9 2014, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(pltan @ Feb 9 2014, 01:12 PM) What media player? My Wdtv live hub does not do pass thru of HD audio i m surprised that wdlive dun handle dtshdma...?No problems from blu ray obviously. but seems that is the case... dts only: http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=330 still, i must be wrong as even a rm180 archgon from china 2 yrs ago player can handle dtshdma! 1st gen ac ryan can't handle dtshdma but later ones all can. i assume most android boxes can... himedia q5ii onwards, all can. dtshdma 5.1 or 7.1... .. better than dolby truehd .. source can be 5.1 or 7.1, 7.1 can be downgraded to 5.1 by most equipment .. old avrs if cant handle dtshdma usually will downgrade to dts .. some old avrs can't downgrade dobly truehd to dolby, no audio at all - which makes dtshdma a better choice .. can be found in latest 10-15gb mkv files .. almost as good but not quite as the 40-50gb bdmv/m2ts files (these r as gud as bds) if u dun hv a good ht sound system, dts is good enough - yr ears can't tell the difference. but if u have a good ht capable of dtshdma, that will the best audio u can get today - use it! This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 9 2014, 07:36 PM |
Feb 9 2014, 10:56 PM
QUOTE(paskal @ Feb 9 2014, 08:38 PM) not really. bitrate are more important than the type of codec. the recently gravity for instance, tho in dtshd, is only ~2mbps. not much higher than the dts core which is at 1.5mbps. there's a lot of better titles released in truhd which have a bitrate of more than 4mbps. transformers for instance. i try not to get too much into the detailed specs and numbers.... i just notice: ... all the bds i have with dtruehd dun sound as good as dtshdma to my ears on my ht ... the file size of a ddtruehd movie is usually a lot smaller than dtshdma, like 1/2 (i mean bdmv m2ts, not mkv container) ... also, like i said, one of my old avr does not prcoess ddtruehd at all, so i stay away from it anyway, just enjoy whatever we can get! |
Feb 10 2014, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(klimal @ Feb 9 2014, 05:26 PM) Thor-The Dark world I rather enjoyed this episode the most out of the first one in the franchise. The hero is more likeable and 'human', getting my empathy as well. The villains are not really evil in the true sense of the word. Their reality and universe is just not the same as ours and to them, we are as evil and cruel as they are to us. thor tdw... no good. i tot it is as bad as the 1st one! story is poor, editing is poor, loki's bit is a farce. rather amusing to see horses and swords and then suddenly laser guns and rocket launchers. i'll give 2.5/5. ironman, batman, superman are all better shows. |
Feb 10 2014, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(Lurker @ Feb 10 2014, 03:24 PM) since you guys on this topic, I would hope someone can share some info. in this case, i suggest mp4, those that end with ".mp4" which can be 1080p, 720p, hdtv...I do not hv a ht system. only using a 2.1 pc speakers setup plugged into headphone out jack of the tv. how do I check which types of files to get that doesn't compromise on PQ, but without the bloated audio encodings that I won't utilize. good video, 2.0 or 1.0 audio only. much smaller files. |
Feb 11 2014, 04:46 PM
Feb 23 2014, 06:50 PM
this 140min movie is based on nelson mandela's autobiography. neither as grand as the last emperor 1987 nor as impressive as gandhi 1982, mandela long walk to freedom is highly watchable with a fine performance by idris elba (of prometheus, pacific rim, thor 1/2...).
one of the last century's highest profile world political figures, it's good to know a bit more about the man esp his views on democracy, violence, race and race hatred - something we can relate to very well here. This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 23 2014, 06:53 PM |
Mar 2 2014, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(skeelee @ Mar 2 2014, 06:42 PM) The worst experience I had with our local cinema? tis is why i stop going to the cinemas. very low level people manning them (banglas n myanaris these days), some operators not really keen, dun care it close down.I watched a Chinese movie quite sometime ago, I was the only customer in the cinema hall. The aspect ratio was totally out. I shouted for attention and someone who I assumed was a worker there came in and I told him the problem. Despite that the entire movie was shown in the wrong aspect ratio except for the last 10 minutes. But since I was the only paying customer of the show, I reckoned the cinema is losing money on that show, and I didn't want to add salt to the wound by lodging a complaint. Just to support the local cinemas. best to bring the cinema to your home. a dozen ways these days.... many enthusisasts here can attest. i am one of them, enjoying my home theater dd, dts dtshdma all the time. |
Mar 3 2014, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Mar 2 2014, 10:24 PM) The Relic (1997) Wow, for a 1997 movie, I am actually quite impress by the transfer. i remember this one, was impressd then. peter hyams-gale anne hurd movie. and i thought this is the film i first saw tom sizemore who went on to do great supporting roles incl heat, saving private ryan, black hawk down, strange days, natural born killers... will look for a new version then! |
Mar 3 2014, 02:08 PM
from the list, seen gravity, great gatsby and frozen. will watch 12 years a slave soon. american hustle won nothing...
QUOTE List of winners at Sunday's 86th annual Academy Awards presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Best Picture: "12 Years a Slave." Actor: Matthew McConaughey, "Dallas Buyers Club." Actress: Cate Blanchett, "Blue Jasmine." Supporting Actor: Jared Leto, "Dallas Buyers Club." Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong'o, "12 Years a Slave." Directing: Alfonso Cuaron, "Gravity." Foreign Language Film: "The Great Beauty," Italy. Adapted Screenplay: John Ridley, "12 Years a Slave." Original Screenplay: Spike Jonze, "Her." Animated Feature Film: "Frozen." Production Design: "The Great Gatsby." Cinematography: "Gravity." Sound Mixing: "Gravity." Sound Editing: "Gravity." Original Score: "Gravity," Steven Price. Original Song: "Let It Go" from "Frozen." Costume: "The Great Gatsby." Makeup and Hairstyling: "Dallas Buyers Club." Animated Short Film: "Mr. Hublot." Documentary Feature: "20 Feet from Stardom." Documentary (short subject): "The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life." Film Editing: "Gravity." Live Action Short Film: "Helium." Visual Effects: "Gravity." This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 3 2014, 02:10 PM |
Mar 6 2014, 01:53 AM
american hustle....
i didn't enjoy this one. didn't find it funny; the con story is not that interesting. the only consolation is it has a star studded cast - christian bale, bradley cooper, jeremy wenner, robert deniro. i give it 2.5/5. This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 6 2014, 01:53 AM |
Mar 7 2014, 01:17 AM
12 years a slave is a good movie. an intense drama about a kidnapping for slavery, true story based on a book.
all drama but never a dull moment. deserves the best picture oscar. i almost couldn't recognize michael fassbender in the show; brad pitt was a guest star. i haven't watched dallas buyers club which won best actor and best supporting actor but i really thought that could have gone to hiwetel ejiofor and micheal fassbender in 12 years a slave. highly recommended. |
Mar 7 2014, 10:24 PM
2 chinese shows for you to check out...
after cold war, drug war, whitestorm, there is firestorm. andy lau, hu jun and ray lui face off in this cops n robbers action thriller, where it crosses the moral area in the line of duty. a high budget movie no doubt with andy lau at his best as a cop with a "dark" side" (but not quite like in infernal affairs). a fair story, plenty of action, a bit too many bullets and grenades in the last 20 min, imo. my rating 3.5/5. if u like the four, u'll like the four 2, the second episode in the trilogy. one might find it strange to have wuxia mixed up with wolverine and mystique... but it's still enjoyable. This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 7 2014, 10:27 PM |
Mar 13 2014, 07:06 PM
anyone remember dustin hoffman, rene russo, donald sutherland, morgan freeman and kevin spacey in outbreak 1995? to me, that was the first and still the best killer virus outbreak movie ever. but that was about ebola, hanta, hiv....
20 years on, many similar movies been made. h1n1, h5n1, h7n9, etc... the flu 2013, is a korean movie, not unlike outbreak 1995. but more dramatic, faster paced, some action, punched with a little humur and romance. i give it 3.5/5, very watchable. This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 13 2014, 07:07 PM |
Mar 17 2014, 11:10 AM
this one... either u like it or dislike it.
3 hrs long, filled will soft porn, drugs and foul language. but is also comical and funny of the hangover genre. while i thought dicarprio and jonah hill put on a fine performance, this movie will not stay in memory for long. 3/5. |
Mar 17 2014, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(peter32 @ Mar 17 2014, 03:32 PM) Do you like Martin Scorsese in general ? If you do, what do you think of this one, as compared to his previous feature films ? i hv watched many of his shows...taxi driver - a classic with deniro; jodie foster was just a kid raging bull, cape fear, casino, gangs of new york, departed (infernal affairs) - good hugo, boardwalk empire - ok aviator, shutter island - dun really like wolf on wall street falls on the not so good list. what do you think of wolf? |
Mar 17 2014, 09:34 PM
QUOTE(peter32 @ Mar 17 2014, 06:27 PM) I haven't watched it yet. LOL. But Martin Scorsese's film is always on my list. Some commercial pieces are pretty good, eg. The goodfella, Casino, Cape Fear, raging bull. While his style is unique, what brought me more to his film was his cinematography and editing. I do enjoy those minor details from his film. The only one film I do think he'd better avoid in future would be 'The Age of Innocence'. sure, he is one of the most recognized directors, like ford coppola, david lynch and chris Nolan. however, I know there is a good chance I will not like their works too much. my bets are more with steven spielberg, james cameron, ridley scott, quentin tarantino n current hotshot jj abrams. these, I never miss. His editor Thelma Schoonmaker did a lot of good for most of this stuff. So I can't wait to watch his latest offering. I think I will post up a minor review once I did. This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 17 2014, 10:28 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0513sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:07 AM |