10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

What 1080p Movie did You Watch Today?, Its supposed to be a midnite...

AVFAN
post May 18 2014, 01:59 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ May 18 2014, 10:16 AM)
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (2013)
Captain Phillips (2013)
Life of Pi (2012)
Django Unchained (2012)
Skyfall (2012)
Transformers: Dark of the Moon (2011)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2011, Hollywood version)
Hugo (2011)
Unstoppable (2010)
True Grit (2010)
Tron: Legacy (2010)
Toy Story 3 (2010)
let me add to this good list with my fav list of movies in the last 2 yrs or so which i enjoyed most in dtshdma. biggrin.gif

battleship
cloud atlas
elysium
fast and furious 6
fast 5
iron man 3
man of steel
marvels the avengers
oblivion
pacific rim
prometheus
star trek into the darkness
the dark knight rises
the hobbit an unexpected journey
world war z

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 18 2014, 05:11 PM
AVFAN
post May 21 2014, 06:11 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 18 2014, 01:59 PM)
let me add to this good list with my fav list of movies in the last 2 yrs or so which i enjoyed most in dtshdma. biggrin.gif

battleship
cloud atlas
elysium
fast and furious 6
fast 5
gravity
iron man 3
man of steel
marvels the avengers
oblivion
pacific rim
prometheus
star trek into the darkness
skyfall
the dark knight rises
the hobbit an unexpected journey
the Hobbit: the desolation of smaug
world war z
above is complete my fav list tier 1 for last 2 yrs or so.

below is tier 2, watch in 1080p dts/dtshdma, enjoy! wink.gif

47 ronin
act of valor
after earth
ender's game
europa report
gi joe retaliation
jack reacher
jack ryan shadow recruit
olympus has fallen
robocop
the bourne legacy
total recall
white house down
zero dark thirty

AVFAN
post May 22 2014, 12:07 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(johannong @ May 22 2014, 12:01 PM)
Hi d_r, through out the titles I couldn't experience any sound coming out frm any 7.1 short clips thru the back surround speakers. Then I got into worry quickly went back to set up screen-test tone.. Huh the sound frm the back surround sounded brightly! Hah finally there is another page frm the disc where the track will enable one by the speaker staring frm the front left! So when the back surround speaker take turn to turn ON time, the screen showed the speaker output signal but the sound went to rear surround speakers. I think somehow the pirated disc when copying time, the additional 2 back surround signals already mixed into the rear surround. Is this making sense?
I have 4 four more disc to test, if all yield the same, *^%% will go return all the discs and exchange with P Ramli classic !!
u seem very thrilled everyday by yr new hts?? tongue.gif

dun be so sucked in by the hitech audio effects that u lose sight of the movie itself - the story, choreography, script, message, acting..! wink.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 22 2014, 12:09 PM
AVFAN
post May 22 2014, 11:25 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(pj_guitarist @ May 22 2014, 10:30 PM)
no about time? sads.
didn't watch that one.... romantic comedies not really my cup of tea...
AVFAN
post May 23 2014, 04:55 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Lushtree @ May 23 2014, 04:35 PM)
How about In Time (2011), this is no a romantic movie either.

Another is Disconnect (2012), very compelling storyline.
in time (not about time)... yes, this one is a good syfy-drama, like it. it was 2011, so did not fall into my list of 2012-2014.

disconnect 2012... this one, i watched it, i remember it was ok, but not much else!

there is just simply too much to watch. i not only watch movies but lots of tv series (eng+chinese+korean+french), miniseries, documentaries and concerts. some tv/mini series are very good, worth the time more than some movies.

the ones i really like, i keep and watch again some other time. the rest, will not remember much.

just re-watched the jason bourne series of 4 movies.

always fearful to start rewatching bond 007 and star trek movies as the lists are way too long!! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 23 2014, 05:14 PM
AVFAN
post May 24 2014, 02:17 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(pj_guitarist @ May 23 2014, 12:38 AM)
try la its not the your typical ones. pls!!!
since recommended, i just watched this about time.

yes, it is an interesting one.

a fresh perspective on our everyday lives, using the idea of time travel to remind us all of the way we live and treat our love ones. with some good humor.

a light movie, no need dts7.1 blast to enjoy it! biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post May 25 2014, 05:22 PM

24,454 posts

when the lights goes out is worth watching. i give it 3.5/5.

this one is quite good, among the best of the numerous fire disaster movies from hk.

to me, it's the only good fire-fighter movie since backdraft 1991.

not too much action but good intense drama. bit like stallone's daylight 1996.

star studded cast: nicholas tze, shawn yue, simon yam, andy on.

AVFAN
post May 27 2014, 06:29 PM

24,454 posts

not too bad, this non-stop. 3/5. the buildup of the suspense was good, liam nesson is as usual good, but alas... the finishing is a bit weak. a french-american production.

AVFAN
post May 28 2014, 05:56 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ May 27 2014, 09:40 PM)
Haha is it just me who notice the latest generation hk stars is sucks unlike the older ones like andy lau simon yam chow yun fat the 2 tony leungs 2 name a few laugh.gif doh.gif
i do think the older gen incl simon yam, andy lau, chowyf n tonyleungx2 are very mature now.
but hv u forgotten how shitty they were 20 yrs ago?!! andy lau especically... always appear as some cranky playful bum...
can add sean lau, louis koo, aaron kwok...
they have all come of age after decades. lets hope to see them acting even with grey hair or bald!

new fellas like nicholas tze, shawn yue, nick cheung... plus non-hk actors like andy on, william feng - they r maturing, give them time.

if we live long enough, we'll see them very matured in 2050. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 28 2014, 06:36 PM
AVFAN
post May 31 2014, 05:59 PM

24,454 posts

lua phat or once upon a time in vietnam is the first vietnamese fantasy action movie, a courageous debutant. draws inspiration from good old kungfu, hillbilly cowboy towns and final fantasy's cloud-vincent-sephiroth's bikes and blades.

directed and acted by dustin nugyen with choreograhy help from roger yuan, a veteran american martial artist and dtshdma audio effects from thai studios.

does not come near to thailand's ongbak/protector or indonesia's redemption raid. but for its courage and fearless attempt albeit a little crude, i give it a 3/5. hope to see more of such films from vietnam.

give it a watch!

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 31 2014, 06:00 PM
AVFAN
post Jun 1 2014, 12:07 AM

24,454 posts

this is one excellent animation movie - the lego movie. supposed the highest grossing animated film for warner bros.

creative, refreshing and humurous, with a heart warming ending.

i say it's the best animation film since the croods. i give it 4/5.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jun 1 2014, 12:12 AM
AVFAN
post Jun 3 2014, 11:01 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Hartigan @ Jun 3 2014, 12:24 AM)
Haha....you forgot to mention Harrison Ford in Air Force One (1997), Ray Liotta in Turbulence (1997) plus Wesley Snipes in Passenger 57 (1992), all of them made in 90's
Same genre, equal action & thriller
those 3 are surely among the best air disaster or near disaster movies. must have been 100 or so of them!

i can remember a few more that were i thought were good too - connair 1997 (cage/cusak/malkovich), flightplan 2005 (jodie foster) and flight 2012 (denzel washington).
AVFAN
post Jun 6 2014, 07:00 PM

24,454 posts

300 rise of an empire is.... good! thumbup.gif i give it 4/5.

gory and graphic, great battle scenes. the sea battles in some ways remind you of red cliff 赤壁. fine performance by sullivan stapleton and eva green. gerard butler is there only in flash back.

this sequel to 300 is really about an historically significant event called battle of salamis in the greco-persian wars in 4xx b.c. the movie takes you to athens battling for survival before, during and after sparta's leonidas and his 300 were wiped out at the battle of thermopylae at the hands of persian king xerxes. at that time, greece was ununited with separate kingdoms of athens, sparta, olympia, argos, etc.

the soundtrack is excellent, much of it persian/middle eastern style. so, watch it in dts at least, best in dtshdma. and if you get there, you will notice the closing showed some graphics presumably from the yet-to-release comic from frank miller.... and the song "war pigs" by black sabbath - anyone here know black sabbath? tongue.gif

given the ending, we can sure there will be 300: III or something like that. that will probably depict the final greco-persian war(s) that sent the persians home leaving greece to continue on its path influencing all europe and the subsequent roman empire. the rest is history...

AVFAN
post Jun 13 2014, 10:04 AM

24,454 posts

i had watched these 2 before brazil wc2014 started. will have little time for movies for the next 30 days or so!

oculus 2013 is pyschological/supernatural horror film. not as scary as insidious but has a good chilling buildup in the story. i don't recognize the main actors except katee sackhoff from battlestar galactica tv series. 3/5.

that demon within 2014 is a pyschological action crime thriller from dante lam. stars daniel wu, nick cheung and many familiar faces. a crime drama that is a little different from the rest with a mystery that hangs on until the end. daniel wu makes a fine performance. 3/5.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jun 13 2014, 10:07 AM
AVFAN
post Jun 17 2014, 06:58 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(pg84 @ Jun 17 2014, 04:37 PM)
thats malaysia unique culture , sometime u can see a few projector at same mamak.

u forgot part2...

robbers waiting for this... will come at the wee hrs of the morning.

next, polieez will scold u deserve it, shud stay at home... tongue.gif

AVFAN
post Jun 23 2014, 05:23 PM

24,454 posts

with all that soccer, have not been wtaching much except for raid2: berandal, an indonesian martial arts action thriller.

it is a sequel to the raid: redemption. the sequel has the same amount of violence but lower fighting scene quality compared to the raid. storywise, some similarity to infernal affairs and has a bit of the kill bill style. iko uwais (some liken him to thailand's tony jaa) stars again. however, there is no great opponent in the sequel unlike the first one.

raid2 was banned in the local cinemas, probably due to its violence content. i give raid2 4/5.

the raid is reported to get a remake by hollywood. now, got to find uwais' first movie called merantau, also written, directed and produced by gareth evans.

AVFAN
post Jul 14 2014, 01:23 PM

24,454 posts

noah 2014... not sure if it is called spiritual or supernatural or...?

as a movie, it is alright with reasonable special effects and good dts audio. russell crowe and emma watson performances not bad, with glimpses of anthony hopkins. 3/5.

AVFAN
post Jul 18 2014, 11:43 PM

24,454 posts

appleseed alpha is 2014 cg motion capture movie, a prequel to appleseed beginning 2004 and appleseed ex-machina 2007.

a touch better than the previous two. enjoyed it, great cg, not excessive, very good dts audio. based on work of shirow masamune who also wrote ghost-in-the-shell movies and series. 3.5/5.

if you have not watched any appleseed or ghost-in-the-shell movies, try it. appleseed is more towards post-apocalyptic themes while ghost-in-the-shell dwells on futuristic crimes and terror. both franchises are considered excellent works in the syfy cyberpunk subgenre.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jul 18 2014, 11:44 PM
AVFAN
post Jul 27 2014, 11:07 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Mickey C @ Jul 21 2014, 12:37 AM)
TQ will watch it..
Still have some more animation movie like Appleseed.... ????? thumbup.gif
movies like appleseed... appleseed, 3 movies. if u like the genre, then ghost-in-the-shell is a must, also 3 movies. i actually like gits more. currently there is a 4-part miniseries gits: arise on-going of which 3 have been released. all these are available in 1080p.

then there is final fantasy... but there are only 2 real movies - advent children which i think is among the best japanese animation works, and holloywood's the spirits within.

and... if like shinobi-ninja stuff, try the naruto/shippuuden movies and series! tongue.gif

talking about cg/animation, i didn't find rio2 good. mr peabody and sherman is not bad. 3.5/5. the best one since lego movie - heartwarming, good for family watch.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jul 27 2014, 11:23 AM
AVFAN
post Jul 28 2014, 01:42 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jul 28 2014, 12:54 AM)
The Raid 2: Berandal (2014).
Absolutely freaking amazing movie especially for its much lower than Hollywood standards budget. I'm just going to brand Iko Uwais as the Jason Statham of Jakarta.
u watched the first one, the raid: redemption yet?

better fighting scenes with more worthy opponents.

10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0563sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:13 AM