RPG Diablo III v2, Q2 2012

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Dec 28 2011, 11:39 PM

4,474 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Dec 28 2011, 02:09 PM)
is Diablo III will be like Diablo II playing offline? or is it like WoW ?
Diablo 3 is a hack and slash genre. I would also say it's more of a SEMI mmorpg. Meaning it's has co-op multiplayer, but max 4 people in a party when doing co-op. Also unlike WOW, D3 has a single player mode (although i personally find that less fun, although it's there if you like that sort of thing). For pvp, it's done in an arena, max 3 vs 3 if i'm not mistaken.

There is another game called Guild Wars 2 being made. It's also a hack and slash genre. But it's a proper mmorpg but what sets it appart from World of warcraft is it is NOT a pay to play system. You just buy the game and play as much as you want without further payments needed.

I'm not sure if Blizzard would want to go down a MMORPG without a p2p system, since they made such profits from the likes of Wow. But the fact of the matter is, they will have to comepete strongly against the likes of Guild Wars 2 which will attract a lot of people because of the lack of p2p (pay 2 play).

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Dec 28 2011, 11:40 PM
xeonsam
post Dec 29 2011, 08:40 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Dec 27 2011, 02:14 PM)
I hope i'm not the only one who is unhappy about this  hmm.gif

You are not alone.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 27 2011, 05:02 PM)
Replies like this just makes that over ten page rant about Malaysian e sports totally f***ing valid, which imho is just really f***ing sad.

How about you answer me this instead: do you play a game to increase your income, earning major us dollars and what not, or do you play a game because it is fun? Depending on your answer, you will have your own answer, which I don't even have to go out of my way to provide you one.

like Deimos Tel`Arin said "both"
Is not that i'm not having fun playing the game, it just there a limitation on the system which is annoying. Just think of it as starcraft 2 which limited to region play, say if blizzard limited the SEA region that not allow to join US region what would you feel? same go for the custom game which so F*** up with population system.

QUOTE(WilliamG @ Dec 28 2011, 08:44 PM)
Sry but wats RMAH? is it must play online or got offline mode also?
RMAH = Real Money Auction House
Both single player and multiplayer must go online.

This post has been edited by xeonsam: Dec 29 2011, 08:42 AM
dishwasher
post Dec 29 2011, 09:56 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(xeonsam @ Dec 29 2011, 08:40 AM)
say if blizzard limited the SEA region that not allow to join US region what would you feel?
He'd say 'wwwwwwwwwwwwww', cos like me, he got the US version straight out. HAHAHA SEA HAHAHA.
Quazacolt
post Dec 29 2011, 10:20 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Dec 28 2011, 11:39 PM)
Diablo 3 is a hack and slash genre. I would also say it's more of a SEMI mmorpg. Meaning it's has co-op multiplayer, but max 4 people in a party when doing co-op. Also unlike WOW, D3 has a single player mode (although i personally find that less fun, although it's there if you like that sort of thing). For pvp, it's done in an arena, max 3 vs 3 if i'm not mistaken.

There is another game called Guild Wars 2 being made. It's also a hack and slash genre. But it's a proper mmorpg but what sets it appart from World of warcraft is it is NOT a pay to play system. You just buy the game and play as much as you want without further payments needed.

I'm not sure if Blizzard would want to go down a MMORPG without a p2p system, since they made such profits from the likes of Wow. But the fact of the matter is, they will have to comepete strongly against the likes of Guild Wars 2 which will attract a lot of people because of the lack of p2p (pay 2 play).
do you know what the first m stands for? how does 4 player multi player justifies that?

ps: if you're casual enough and feel that you can play gw/gw2 without purchasing any of the additional content, that is fine. for everyone else especially if you are serious about the game/being competitive about it, good luck.

Added on December 29, 2011, 10:33 am
QUOTE(xeonsam @ Dec 29 2011, 08:40 AM)
You are not alone.
like Deimos Tel`Arin said "both"
Is not that i'm not having fun playing the game, it just there a limitation on the system which is annoying. Just think of it as starcraft 2 which limited to region play, say if blizzard limited the SEA region that not allow to join US region what would you feel? same go for the custom game which so F*** up with population system.
RMAH = Real Money Auction House
Both single player and multiplayer must go online.
welp. dishwasher has already replied it on my behalf. so... yea. not a single f was given.

if you want me to be detailed anyways:

neither d3 nor sc2 is really limiting my experience.

rmah? i earn enough money for my life, not enough money for my dreams, yet. and rmah wouldn't change that unless i devote myself more to the game which is impossible with my current job.

ps: hero attack is hella fun

Added on December 29, 2011, 10:34 am
QUOTE(dishwasher @ Dec 29 2011, 09:56 AM)
He'd say 'wwwwwwwwwwwwww', cos like me, he got the US version straight out. HAHAHA SEA HAHAHA.
aiya dun la curi my thunder w

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Dec 29 2011, 10:34 AM
xeonsam
post Dec 29 2011, 12:13 PM

46 posts

^ then i think you already get the answer, diablo 3 won't have any region but the battle.net account will lock you to your region which make your diablo 3 RMAH lock region as well. The problem is (ofcause it not your consent since you dont care RMAH) will the battle.net is lock you account by IP address or by register.

PS: difference player difference play style so you cant force your play style to other.

This post has been edited by xeonsam: Dec 29 2011, 12:14 PM
Quazacolt
post Dec 29 2011, 12:20 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(xeonsam @ Dec 29 2011, 12:13 PM)
^ then i think you already get the answer, diablo 3 won't have any region but the battle.net account will lock you to your region which make your diablo 3 RMAH lock region as well. The problem is (ofcause it not your consent since you dont care RMAH) will the battle.net is lock you account by IP address or by register.

PS: difference player difference play style so you cant force your play style to other.
wait, i was looking for an answer? laugh.gif
xeonsam
post Dec 29 2011, 01:32 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 29 2011, 12:20 PM)
wait, i was looking for an answer? laugh.gif
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 27 2011, 05:02 PM)
How about you answer me this instead: do you play a game to increase your income, earning major us dollars and what not, or do you play a game because it is fun? Depending on your answer, you will have your own answer, which I don't even have to go out of my way to provide you one.
Yes, you looking for an answer which you play it for fun but other people play for their fun ways as well which i quote back my self.
QUOTE(xeonsam @ Dec 29 2011, 12:13 PM)
Quazacolt
post Dec 29 2011, 02:00 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(xeonsam @ Dec 29 2011, 01:32 PM)
Yes, you looking for an answer which you play it for fun but other people play for their fun ways as well which i quote back my self.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=47760055

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=47761069

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=47762242

hope the above helps.

also, you need to identify the difference between play style, and gaming priorities/opinions as i am fairly certain that it has nothing to do with the game play style itself whether one plays a game to have fun/casual, or play a game to earn a living/professional. to further clarify, i am not questioning how people have fun, nor am i even forcing how one should have fun with their games. someone is seeking for an answer, and i have provided (technically, they provide themselves the needed answer) accordingly.
GameFr3ak
post Dec 29 2011, 02:00 PM

3,849 posts

I don't get it. This is a Diablo 3 discussion thread, where interested gamers can discuss about the game.

Don't understand the reason for such intense arguments.
Quazacolt
post Dec 29 2011, 02:03 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Dec 29 2011, 02:00 PM)
I don't get it. This is a Diablo 3 discussion thread, where interested gamers can discuss about the game.

Don't understand the reason for such intense arguments.
isn't that what we are doing?

obviously if someone have specific concerns, i do felt that i have the need to address them, albeit it would be my fault for not taking it to PM instead sweat.gif
GameFr3ak
post Dec 29 2011, 02:22 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 29 2011, 02:03 PM)
isn't that what we are doing?

obviously if someone have specific concerns, i do felt that i have the need to address them, albeit it would be my fault for not taking it to PM instead  sweat.gif
Yes, I'm aware that you guys are actually discussing about the game. Hence, I said that we're all interested in the game. What I wanna bring out is the intense arguments biggrin.gif

But the game is out, I guess we can only wait for the release to actually know the exact mechanics behind it in our region sweat.gif
Quazacolt
post Dec 29 2011, 03:23 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Dec 29 2011, 02:22 PM)
Yes, I'm aware that you guys are actually discussing about the game. Hence, I said that we're all interested in the game. What I wanna bring out is the intense arguments  biggrin.gif

But the game is out, I guess we can only wait for the release to actually know the exact mechanics behind it in our region  sweat.gif
some people tend to interpret/exaggerate things more than they need be.

that said, it is their interpretation/opinions and i have no say in that, so for example, if people say i mad, then i am mad and what i say otherwise wouldn't really make a difference smile.gif
xeonsam
post Dec 29 2011, 05:27 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 29 2011, 02:00 PM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=47760055

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=47761069

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=47762242

hope the above helps.

also, you need to identify the difference between play style, and gaming priorities/opinions as i am fairly certain that it has nothing to do with the game play style itself whether one plays a game to have fun/casual, or play a game to earn a living/professional. to further clarify, i am not questioning how people have fun, nor am i even forcing how one should have fun with their games. someone is seeking for an answer, and i have provided (technically, they provide themselves the needed answer) accordingly.
Yes i know you answering Deimos Tel`Arin and i'm not defend him nor arguing over it. Now I'm saying is player play style not the game mechanism or game play style. Here the example, if a player found an unique item, it is the player decision (play style) whether s/he want to sell it on RMAH or ingame gold or keep for his character or whatever play style s/he want and it not our decision to force him/her to follow other player style.

Just like i said, if you dont care about RMAH and only wanted to have fun then yeah... you had no problem with the current RMAH game mechanism but not other people. We do care about the RMAH and of cause we wont boyscotting the game even if blizzard already make the decision (it not like we going die over the RMAH problem). But please do concerns to people that care about it.

PS: sorry for my bad english.
SpikeTwo
post Dec 29 2011, 06:32 PM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

i care too. i wanna sell some soul stones...
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Dec 29 2011, 08:30 PM

4,474 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 29 2011, 10:20 AM)
do you know what the first m stands for? how does 4 player multi player justifies that?

The fact that there are millions and millions of players logged in on the bnet network ;_;

yet despite that awesome number of people on the network, it's a SEMI mmorpg because unlike wow where you have thousands all on at the same time in a single region server, Diablo series is limited to 4-8. In D3 it's 4 doh.gif

Added on December 29, 2011, 8:42 pm
QUOTE(xeonsam @ Dec 29 2011, 05:27 PM)
Just like i said, if you dont care about RMAH and only wanted to have fun then yeah... you had no problem with the current RMAH game mechanism but not other people. We do care about the RMAH and of cause we wont boyscotting the game even if blizzard already make the decision (it not like we going die over the RMAH problem). But please do concerns to people that care about it.

I totally agree. Basically people who are going to make use of RMAH feature are getting derided for it simply because 1 person if of the opinion that they are too good to use it, and hence automatically makes everybody else who use it a sucker. Hence the lecture to force their beliefs onto others, and if they don't agree, bash them some more .... shakehead.gif

Hitler killed those who didn't agree with him that his race was superior, this is what i refer to as step2. Step1 is just arguing in forum and forcing down other peoples throats your own preferences, how you should play game or what not rolleyes.gif

It's kinda like that one thread on blizzard forum. One guy wanted a gore reduction option. I personally like the gore because it's part of the series. But as long as it won't affect the rest of us, i don't see the problem with it. But lots and lots of people ignored his question to confirm the statement by the blizzard lead developer who at some point mentioned adding gore reduction option, but was later conflicted with what bashiok said, which led to some confusion. So this one guy was bashed to kingdom come by others not interested to discuss whether there was a gore reduction or not, but instead more interested to bash him on his preferences lolz ....

@GameFr3ak yeh so thats what happened basically doh.gif hopefully we can move on from that situation which is rather pointless. To each their own tongue.gif

Anyways for those using RMAH, add this site to bookmark, they got some nice info and tips about using RMAH.

http://diablo3markets.incgamers.com/

Added on December 29, 2011, 9:05 pmWow just watched a preview of lineage 3 o.o;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GXhcK7KEuGo&hd=1

http://feature.mmosite.com/lineage_eternal/feature.shtml

For those wondering what the heck battletag is doh.gif

Added on December 29, 2011, 10:18 pm
Keep RL Names Out of Gaming

Blizzard Quote (Source)
New patch shows "GamerTag (Real Name)" in the client. I don't want that in any game ever. Blizzard needs to address this privacy issue immediately.

I want to kill virtual critters. I don't want RL hassles from some social misfit annoyed at my AH pricing or whatever other random crap perturbs him.

To be clear - BattleTag does not display your real name to anyone. It's an anonymous nickname system. The entire point of BattleTag is to be a unified, anonymous nickname you'll use across all Blizzard games.

The Real ID system, of course, does display your real first and last name. But you have to choose to be mutual Real ID friends with someone, and only then will you both see each other's real first and last names.

Real ID and BattleTag are separate systems, and they don't intersect. The intent with BattleTag is specifically to offer all the great features we've been able to offer with Real ID (cross game chat, etc.) but with an anonymous nickname.

The game displaying your own real first and last name to you, I understand, is a concern for some, and we appreciate that feedback. It is not, however, displayed to anyone else, or part of the BattleTag system. The only way someone else can see your real name is if you've both mutually agreed to become Real ID friends.

The current implementation of BattleTags in the Diablo III beta is of course a first go, and we've already read a lot of feedback and are aware of a number of issues. Keep it coming, though.

so i think you can add friends to battletag friend list without exposing your real name. Now people are whine and moan why you don't real ID friend them, but instead use battletag doh.gif lolz.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Dec 29 2011, 10:21 PM
Quazacolt
post Dec 29 2011, 10:39 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(xeonsam @ Dec 29 2011, 05:27 PM)
Yes i know you answering Deimos Tel`Arin and i'm not defend him nor arguing over it. Now I'm saying is player play style not the game mechanism or game play style. Here the example, if a player found an unique item, it is the player decision (play style) whether s/he want to sell it on RMAH or ingame gold or keep for his character or whatever play style s/he want and it not our decision to force him/her to follow other player style.

exactly, to each his own opinions right? who am i to "force my opinions down other people's throat" right? really, how exactly am i doing just that?
the CLOSEST you can get me doing that would be this:
- you answered yourself ma, you want earn money, blizz dun let you earn marnee, ma dun play lorh. no fun liao ma since no marnee, no meh? you ma tell blizz dun be liddat lar, tell me for wat?

and *lets just say* all i am doing is exactly that - forcing my opinions down other people's throats, let's be VERY objective here:
what does whining/b****ing in LYN do regarding RMAH? something that in my opinion has NOTHING to do with the game at all, (and hell, from the looks of it a lot of people seem to be forcing THEIR OPINIONS ON ME that it does!) serve?

on a logical basis, the reason one would complaint/b****/whine about an issue, is that they expect it be heard, and hopefully someone will do something to address it.
so would doing so over LYN serve any purpose? my message was simply (though really vague at that) is that they should really stop with the whole RMAH thing, and perhaps take it up to blizz (be it forum/hate mail/death threats w.e) instead and *MAYBE* something would be done. however, let's be look at the situation we have here, not only my "forcing of opinions" did not work, i get people attempting to troll me, and reporting me to mod (AT LEAST they took my opinion on that, amirite?) rolleyes.gif

but yeah, as i highlighted in your post, even if it happens, if you really want to play the game, you'll still play it, the world moves on. which you know, is all i am basically saying in general if you actually put some thought into it.
xeonsam
post Dec 29 2011, 11:38 PM

46 posts

I do agree that whining in LYN is not helping, I just to share the discussion and thought about it. But whining, complaining, arguing, (flaming and trolling which both again the forum rules) is part of internet forum. The best ways to handler it is by ignoring it, you cant aspect everyone or every thread is clean. Or are you really that free to counter every thread/reply that whining, complaining (or whatever) about it? If so then I had nothing to say about it.

This post has been edited by xeonsam: Dec 29 2011, 11:38 PM
Quazacolt
post Dec 29 2011, 11:48 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Massively_mul...le-playing_game
Massively multiplayer online role-playing game (MMORPG) is a genre of role-playing video games in which a very large number of players interact with one another within a virtual game world.

of course, if you consider the bnet chat room (lol) a part of the game world, that's that then doh.gif

as i said on prev post:
it is not. MORPG maybe. MMORPG then 100% no.

its either morpg or mmorpg, nothing semi about it.

oh and touché on yet moar Hitler references smile.gif
just keeps making that cracked.com article funnier and funnier.

and honestly i find the whole "to each their own" rather amusing coming from you as you couldn't accept me for not giving a flying f*** to RMAH and giving a tad bit of f*** to people who b****es about RMAH being restricted (which isn't final anyways, which brings back to lol sc2 bnet decisions OMG REGION LOCK THE WORLD IS GONNA END SC1> SC2 doh.gif )

Added on December 29, 2011, 11:53 pm
QUOTE(xeonsam @ Dec 29 2011, 11:38 PM)
I do agree that whining in LYN is not helping, I just to share the discussion and thought about it. But whining, complaining, arguing, (flaming and trolling which both again the forum rules) is part of internet forum. The best ways to handler it is by ignoring it, you cant aspect everyone or every thread is clean. Or are you really that free to counter every thread/reply that whining, complaining (or whatever) about it? If so then I had nothing to say about it.
well said and i do agree with you. while to be VERY honest, i am not really that free to reply every thread, i do have the time to make small remarks on threads i frequent out of my interest (eg: diablo 3, which i am clearly interested in) and especially since i would very much rather read more information about the game itself over someone being REALLY dramatic over RMAH, i obviously would voice that out.

clearly, some people just takes it REALLY personal on said remarks/comments, while me on the other hand, whatever goes. i even went as far as suggesting people to report me, in which if i am wrong, i would definitely get a vacation and *i think* people would be happier that way since i can't make any replies while being on vacation smile.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Dec 29 2011, 11:53 PM
Sichiri
post Dec 30 2011, 01:05 AM

1,192 posts

Use it.

*walks away*

Quazacolt
post Dec 30 2011, 01:34 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts